Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Back

McDaniel Toyota

Marion, OH

not yet
rated
11 Reviews

1065 Mount Vernon Avenue

Marion, OH

43302

Directions

11 Reviews of McDaniel Toyota

Sort by
August 03, 2020

"I called about the rav4 filled out application went up..."

- darleneshd

I called about the rav4 filled out application went up same day and drove it home. Mr. Lane was very kind and helpful. Great experience again. I bought a new yaris there in 2010.

Read More
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Matt Reynolds
5.0
Other Employees : Mr. Lane
July 30, 2020

"AWESOME MINUS GREG "

- lilstvn313

Honestly I would give them 5 star if I didn't have Greg as a salesperson, the entire time Greg will just ignore you until you have to reach out to his boss who would likely come down on Greg and make him talk to me....YOU"RE xxx GROWN MAN acting like a 7 year old. So I bought a 2018 mazda6 and I love my car but the blind spot monitor went out or something like that so John the sales manager said to take it in and they'll pay for it. Super nice thing and I really appricated it since the mazda dealership by my said it would be an 1100 dollar fix meanwhile, Greg just ignored me because he believes that once the sale is done he no longer needs to talk to you keep in mind I drove 3.5 hours for this car. So long story short they actually send a driver to pick up my car and give me a loaner so they can get it fixed at a local mazda dealership (Probably to get it fixed at cost) I don't blame them one bit It's fine because they really were super nice minus Greg. So Greg finally text me because again John probably is yelling at him because he's busy being a manager hey your car is going to be fixed tuesday and you'll have it wednesday 7/29/2020 so 5 o' clock rolls around and I text greg "hey am I getting my car today." No sorry." I texted back So what happened is there a reason why?!? GREG JUST IGNORES MY CALL AND TEXT.....DUDE you have my car still just ignores me. So now I've gotta get John involved again and he actually gives me the updates....So long story short the problem came back so they took it back to get fixed. IF YOU GET GREG AS YOUR SALESPERSON WALK AWAY AND ASK TO TALK TO SOMEONE ELSE. I'M NOT SURE WHY MCDANIAL TOYOTA EVEN EMPLOYEES HIM IT'S A REALLY BAD LOOK FOR THEM AS A COMPANY. Everyone at this dealership is so freaking nice I came in hungover from Put in Bay for a bachelor party and they gave me water and ibuprofen like they're so nice...Greg told me the car had two keys and it only had one and gave me floor mat that isn't even for my car....Through all of the bad experiences with Greg everyone else is so nice so yes I do recommend them but I would honestly tell you to stay away if your salesperson is Greg if you have to wait trust me it'll be worth it not to have Greg as your salesperson but to buy a car from them because they will take care of you.

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
GREG
April 26, 2019

"Highest Merit"

- Jatisfied2019

Walking into a car dealership, I figured dealers would make me feel dumb because I know little about cars and would jump all over me to get me to buy a car. This was the absolute opposite of how I felt when I walked into McDaniels Toyota. Everyone was super nice, and I felt like I was with my own family. I was greeted by multiple employees (Austin, Aaron, and John), before I went in to look at the cars that my dad picked out, the Corolla and Yaris. Austin was knowledgeable with both vehicles and allowed me to sit in each car. Once I picked the Corolla and stated my dislikes of an older version, he was able to pick out an upgrade that matched my desires. Austin allowed me to test drive and showed me all of the safety features on the road. John was able to look at my trade-in vehicle within reasonable time and provide me with a price that they were willing to deduct from my new car cost. Although we had to sit and go through documents twice, Jeremy thoroughly explained each document both times. This was great because I was purchasing my first vehicle and had no idea about GAP or any of the other services that are provided. Scheduling my first service check-up was fairly simple. Bob was able to inform me of the business hours and schedule me within a week. Danielle was able to be a chauffeur and take my vehicle to another building and explain the paperwork that followed what was done to my car. While my car was being worked on, I sat in the lounging area and spoke to a few friendly employees.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Austin McCann, Johnathon Hess, Jeremy Davis, Aaron Tumbleson, Danielle, Bob
February 06, 2017

"Seamless and actutally pleasant..."

- JoshC

I was really in a time crunch while buying my wife a Highlander. I was in before and spoke to Jeremy Dunn and he explained what needed to be done. We had about 30 minutes to stop and do the paperwork. The car was cleaned-up and ready to go with a full tank. I can't thank them enough for being prepared and having everything ready to go so we could be on our way.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Jeremy Dunn, Mark Vicars, Ryan Bales, John Halko
July 08, 2016

"Had a great experience"

- Liz61124

We recently purchased two vehicles from Toyota in marion and our whole experience was phenomenal. The whole staff was very polite and pleasant and made the whole transaction less stressful for us. We will most definitely be going back there again for our next car purchase.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Matt Reynolds, Knight
September 26, 2015

"A waste of time"

- excrvguy

Since the majority of the reviews for this dealership are negative, I hesitated to rate this dealership, but since they did waste my time I owe them an additional negative review. I visited their store with my 1 year old Prius and discovered that my mint condition car had depreciated $800 per month (based on the actual discounted OTD paid for the 2014 Prius and their projected OTD price for the 2015). Later my neighbor who was also shopping for a 2015 Prius found a dealer that had the right car at a significantly lower OTD price (with trade-in) - he subsequently purchased. The saga continues. The McDaniel "Business Development Manager" Jeremy Dunn emailed me in response my email rejection of their offer. He stated that McDaniel would try to aggressively match a better offer from another dealer. I made an appointment, but I never met Jeremy Dunn (he might be a fictitious character!). I originally dealt with Jim Hensley, but he was 'out of the picture' at my request because previously he had lied to me about the availability of a car in stock (and he failed to return my insurance card!). The salesman assigned to me , Mike Crum was proficient at his job, but the same scenario with management occurred with no change from my previous visit. Then, I was offered cash for my car (lower than an offer I had received from Carmax) and a 2-year lease on the 2015 at an inflated rate. It was a complete waste of my time. Save yourself some time and go elsewhere to buy a Toyota.

Read More
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
J. Hensley & M.Crum
May 20, 2015

"Liars"

- tacojojo

Let me start this review by saying I was a repeat customer at McDaniel Toyota; I had bought 2 brand new Tacomas there, and had spent over $50,000 on those 2 trucks. My wife and I test drove a used Corolla at McDaniel Toyota on a Saturday, and although we really liked it there obviously was brake issues. We said we would buy it if they fixed the brakes. Our salesman, Greg Layne, said he would have it taken back into the service area, although he said they had already OK'd it. I said it definitely had warped rotors, and he said "They probably didn't even check them." That didn't make me feel very good about their service department. Greg assured us he would call us on Monday, but he didn't. My wife called him and asked if it was fixed, so we could come over and complete the deal - she was leaving on a trip out of state on Wednesday, and this was going to be her car - and he said "Don't worry, we have had this car since February, it isn't going anywhere, it will be here when you get back. I will call you when it's done in the shop. We will hold it for you, and we can bring it over to you so you can drive it out." My wife offered to put a deposit on the car, but he said "No, we'll hold it for you." Greg Layne never called back. My wife called when she got back from her trip, only a couple days later. When she asked Greg if the car was fixed, he said "Yep, and we sold it!" We were shocked. When we said we had a deal in place, Greg got defensive, and denied any type of agreement. My wife and I both spoke to 2 different sales managers, who really acted like they could care less. For a dealership that promotes a "family" atmosphere, and says they want to build a relationship with repeat customers, they lied to us. It's "Just That Simple", to quote McDaniels motto.

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Greg Layne, Larry Knight, John Halko
February 16, 2015

"it's like they don't want to keep customers"

- vcmcnary

I had seen a vehicle they had just taken in and had yet to post all of the details online... I contacted a sales associate by phone because I didn't live nearby.. I requested photos and info.. They took my email and then failed to send me anything.. Their next business day I called again 30min after they opened to request the same photos and info again because I was going to drive over later and see it for myself... The same sales associate apologized and took my info AGAIN... Several hours later I still had no call or info and was driving there because I wanted to see this thing before it was gone and once again their sales associate had left me hanging... I called when I was about halfway there and got a hold of the same sales associate who then told me that someone had just purchased the vehicle that I had been trying to see for 2 days... It was rather clear that the sales associate had no intention of informing me of this thereby allowing me to drive an hour and 15min for no reason... FAIL....

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
can't remember
January 14, 2015

"Great dealership "

- Elishia4513

Everyone here is very helpful & understanding. I went to a few other dealers before coming to McDaniel they worked with me very well to get my payments and price at what I needed and also even stayed late! I would recommend them to anyone!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Austin McCann
July 09, 2014

"Seller with no Integrity"

- Integrity789

Drove 1 hour to see pre-owned car that I had talked to dealer about during several calls during the day. Confirmed car was available right before leaving house by calling dealership and talking to Cat Prince (Internet Sales). Was told car was available and was parked out front of the dealership waiting for me to test-drive. Called again 10 minutes before arrival to verify directions and availability. When I arrived, I was shown a different car (same type with much higher mileage), assuming I wouldn't realize it wasn't the same car. Only after my questioning, did I find out the car I was there to see, had just been sold. Went in showroom to speak to store Manager, Terry, and was told to wait until he completed the sale of the car to the new owners right in front of me. He suggested this happened only as a result of miscommunication, when if fact, he chose to make a sure sale rather than keep his word as promised less than an hour earlier. I wasn't asking nor did I expect for him to 'hold' the car for me. I was only asking for the 60 minute driving time to get to his dealership from Columbus. I took them at their word. After 4 emails and 3 phone calls and a 2 hour drive to see this car, it should have been obvious my level of interest. I was a cash buyer who will NEVER shop at this dealership again and will communicate my disappointment publicly. They do not put Toyota's reputable brand in a good light. You fit the profile of a sleazy car salesman. What you did may not be illegal, but it sure is unethical. Shame on you.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Terry, Cat
1
1 - 10 of 11 results