Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Back

McKenna Volkswagen

Huntington Beach, CA

3.7
155 Lifetime Reviews Review Dealership

18711 Beach Blvd

Huntington Beach, CA

92648

Directions

155 Reviews of McKenna Volkswagen

Sort by Write a review
December 10, 2019

"I purchased a CPO 2016 Jetta from Mckenna on Friday..."

- sarah

I purchased a CPO 2016 Jetta from Mckenna on Friday (11/30) and within a week I had a flat tire, two bald tires, a dead battery cell, a major alignment problem, brakes that needed replacing and a vehicle that was unsafe to drive. ONE WEEK after driving my car off the lot and I've already racked up $1,285 in repairs. When viewing the vehicle, I noticed that the front driver's side tire was completely flat. Before test driving, my salesman had it filled up with air. When I decided to purchase the vehicle, he promised me that the tire would be inspected and replaced if necessary. Before I drove off the lot on Friday, my salesman confirmed with me verbally and via text message that my vehicle had been seen by their service department, the tire was replaced and my vehicle was safe to drive. I was later informed by McKenna's service manager that there is absolutely no record of my vehicle being seen by their team that day. It was reported my on vehicles certification inspection paperwork that my battery had been checked and was in good working condition, my tires had the minimum level of tread on them (not even going to mention the flat), there wasn't any major structural damage and that my rear brakes had 50% life remaining on them. HOWEVER, I have documentation from the technicians that serviced my vehicle after I purchased it which states otherwise. My front tires were absolutely bald (not to mention my front drivers side tire was never replaced as my salesman confirmed with me), my battery had a dead cell, my rear brakes were at less than 4mm, and the alignment was so far off on my vehicle that my technician asked if I had gotten into a major accident. Is there something that McKenna isn't telling me? I would like to have a representative from McKenna explain to me how a vehicle with two bald tires, one flat tire, a dead battery cell, major alignment issues and brakes that are about to go out passed the CPO inspection. It is clear to me, and everyone who has worked on my car since I purchased it, that McKenna fraudulently reported the condition of my vehicle as meeting the minimum standards for certification in order to make it more appealing to buyers AND CHARGE MORE FOR THE CAR. I understand that wear and tear items such as brakes, batteries and tires are not covered under my CPO warranty. However, it is absolutely unacceptable to allow a customer to drive any vehicle off the lot in this condition. McKenna misreported the condition of my vehicle as it pertains to the items specifically not covered under the CPO warranty (how convenient) and KNOWINGLY let me drive off the lot in a vehicle that was ABSOLUTELY UNSAFE TO DRIVE. In all honesty, I am GRATEFUL that my car's problems surfaced so quickly. It was reported to CarFax that my vehicle received the 40K mile service (McKenna's service manager has yet to provide me with any documentation of this), so I would not have been due for another service or inspection for another 10K miles. It is obvious that I would not have made it that far without being in a major accident that very likely would have been caused by either my bald tires or expired brakes. The sheer level of negligence and complete disregard for my safety displayed by McKenna VW is appalling to me. I wrote McKenna a check for $15,045 and they let me drive off the lot in a vehicle that ended up costing me over $1,285 in repairs AFTER ONE WEEK of owning it and was ABSOLUTELY UNSAFE TO DRIVE!!!! McKenna has agreed to cover the cost of my battery and one tire replacement. This puts a very small dent in the total cost of the repairs. Hans (service manager) has been pleasant to speak to and has been the only representative willing to get in contact with me – Thank you! However... I want to warn anyone who is considering purchasing a CPO vehicle from McKenna. It is VERY likely that my vehicle is not the only one who's condition was falsely reported on the certification inspection. YOU MAY BE IN DANGER! If you purchased a CPO from McKenna please go get your car inspected immediately. If I wouldn't have had my car looked over by my own service technician, it is extremely likely I would have been in a major accident due to my vehicle's bald tires and worn out brake pads - both of which were reported as being in sound condition.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Hussam Mostafa
4.0
Dec 10, 2019 -

McKenna Volkswagen responded

Hello Sarah, We are displeased to hear about your recent car buying experience with us here at McKenna VW Surf City. We are sorry to hear that your car was purchased with some issues, and that our staff had confirmed they were fixed. We certainly don't want you to feel unsafe, and don't want you to pay more than necessary. If you could please contact our customer service management team right away, we would like to start that conversation with you on how we can better your experience. We sincerely look forward to hearing from you Sarah! customerservice@mckenncars.com

October 25, 2019

"Joel Renner"

- JS

Beyond excellent customer service. He is an asset to your dealership. Joel went out of his way to service this car including calling Pacific VW regarding extended warranties. I only wish all Service Personnel had top notch customer service.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Joel Renner
Oct 30, 2019 -

McKenna Volkswagen responded

Hello JS, Thank you for sharing your recent 5 star experience with us here at McKenna VW Surf City. We are thrilled to hear that Joel went out of his way to make sure your experience was exceptional. Thank you for your feedback. We hope that you enjoy every mile ahead!

September 11, 2019

"Very Easy to Deal With"

- davehman

Dan Westerfield at McKenna VW Huntington Beach made the car buying experience very easy. He answered all of our questions. He didn't pressure us. We're really happy with the deal we got. Dan's a good guy. Thanks Dan and everyone that helped us.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Dan Westerfield
Sep 17, 2019 -

McKenna Volkswagen responded

Hello Dave, Thank you for sharing your recent 5 star experience with us here at McKenna VW. We are pleased to hear that Dan helped make your car buying experience easy and enjoyable. We are glad to hear that all of your questions were answered. Congratulations on your new VW! Thank you for choosing us, and we are here for you anytime in the future! Enjoy every new mile ahead!

March 08, 2018

"GTI purchase "

- 1bixby1

I had great experience working with Danny on my GTI lease. He provided all the senders to my questions and was a pleasure to work with. Even after the fact, he checked in to make sure I was enjoying my car. Great service, great people, highly recommended.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Danny Maynor
5.0
Julie Prescott-Ramos
5.0
May 23, 2018 -

McKenna Volkswagen responded

Hello, and thanks for sharing your experience with both Danny and Julie here at McKenna VW Huntington Beach! Thanks for being a part of the McKenna Family, and we sincerely look forward to seeing you in our store anytime in the future! Enjoy the road ahead!!

February 26, 2018

"Smooth and Easy "

- lanwhiz458

Lee - made the overall experience smooth and easy. I am not one who wishes to spend a ton of time waiting around the dealership. A Visit to the McKenna VW in Huntington Beach, yielded a Jetta that I wanted to purchase. In only a few phone calls after the visit, Lee too control of everything and I was in and out of the dealer very quickly. I purchase a truck, in early January from a different dealer, and I am still waiting for some items to be completed, about to lose my mind. Not here - McKenna VW and Lee - made this process super easy, complete, timely and efficient. Thanks Lee

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Lee Miller
5.0
Feb 27, 2018 -

McKenna Volkswagen responded

Hello, and thanks for sharing your recent 5 star experience with Lee here at McKenna VW Huntington Beach! We're thrilled to read your kind review, and we'd like to congratulate you on your new VW Jetta. Welcome to the McKenna family, and we look forward to seeing you in our store anytime in the future to assist with all things VW. Enjoy the road ahead!

February 24, 2018

"Thomas was great!"

- Margaret A Hogan

This is my second car from McKenna VW and its the customer service that keeps me coming back. Thomas knew more about the Jetta and took the time to tell me just what a great car it is!!! He went over and beyond and continues to do so asking me if I have any questions about anything! I never thought I was a bother and now question too small. I enjoy my new Jetta it fits me perfectly!!! Thank you! Margaret

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Monika Perez
5.0
Other Employees : Thomas Zimmer
Feb 24, 2018 -

McKenna Volkswagen responded

Hi Margaret, Thanks for sharing your 5 star experience with Thomas and Monika here at McKenna VW Huntington Beach! We're pleased to read your review, and we'd like to congratulate you on your VW Jetta. We sincerely look forward to seeing you in our store anytime in the future. Enjoy the road ahead!

February 15, 2018

"Surf City Vibe is a win!"

- lovemycar

I visited 5 dealerships over Presidents weekend before I decided to choose McKenna. I did my homework and test drove many cars. McKenna was by far the best experience of them all. Friendly, down to earth, geniune people...helpful, knowledgeable, and not the typical "pushy" type at all. Bob went out of his way to make sure I got exactly what I was looking for at the best deal they could offer. Great experience! I am definitely a VW person now (:

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Bob Torres
Feb 17, 2018 -

McKenna Volkswagen responded

Hello, and thanks for sharing your recent 5 star experience with Bob here at McKenna VW Huntington Beach! We're thrilled to read your review, and we're very happy that after visiting five stores you chose ours. That means a lot, and we'd like to extend warm welcome to the McKenna Family. Enjoy the road ahead, and we sincerely look forward to seeing you in our store anytime in the future!

February 09, 2018

"Car service"

- Tiguan Owner

Carlos was very helpful. He explained everything, answered all my questions, did all that I asked. He even offered me an Uber to take me home so I wouldn't have to wait.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Carlos
Feb 10, 2018 -

McKenna Volkswagen responded

Hello, and thanks for sharing your recent 5 star service experience with Carlos here at McKenna VW Huntington Beach! We're thrilled to read your kind review, and we'd like to thank you for choosing us here at McKenna for your VW service needs. Enjoy the road ahead, and we're pleased that our Uber service worked for you as well!

February 01, 2018

"Always great service at HB McKenna"

- MRC

I've had the pleasure of several visits to this dealership and always had a great experience. Maybe we could call them the UN-DEALERSHIP because they are personable and genuinely interested in helping, which is on a higher level that your regular dealership of most manufacturers. I am happy to drive straight past my local VW dealership to the folks at McKenna because they give me great treatment and are genuinely on my side. Many thanks to Alex in service, Brian in parts and Dean, the manager of sales (other good people in there also). All divisions working well with the customer and also well together. I've done Yelp reviews for many years and many other businesses don't fare as well.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Jose Andrade
5.0
Romy Bhardwaj
5.0
Alex Wong
5.0
Brian Luke
5.0
Feb 04, 2018 -

McKenna Volkswagen responded

Hello, and thanks for sharing your continued 5 star sales and service experience with Jose, Romy, Alex, and Brian here at McKenna VW Huntington Beach! We're thrilled to read your kind review, and we'd like to thank you for being a part of the McKenna Family. We sincerely look forward to seeing you in our store anytime in the future!

February 01, 2018

"friendly people"

- dave

Tina and Romy were friendly and offered my straight forward service. It was a great experience buying my new car. They took as much time as I wanted.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Romy Bhardwaj
5.0
Monika Perez
5.0
Tina Marie Boyd
5.0
Feb 01, 2018 -

McKenna Volkswagen responded

Hi Dave, Thanks for sharing your recent 5 star experience with Romy, Tina, and Monika here at McKenna VW Huntington Beach! We're thrilled to read your review, and we'd like to congratulate you on your new VW. Thanks for being a part of the McKenna Family, and we sincerely look forward to seeing you in our store anytime in the future. Enjoy the road ahead!

1
...
1 - 10 of 155 results