About Us
Copyright 2018 DR Media Holdings, LLC
Search
Back
Write a review

Mike Johnson's Hickory Toyota

4.7

247 Lifetime Reviews

435 U.S. Highway 70 SE, Hickory, North Carolina 28602 Directions
Sales: (828) 328-5586

Is this your dealership?

...and take advantage of all we have to offer with our Certified Dealership Program.

247 Reviews of Mike Johnson's Hickory Toyota

Sort by Write a review
April 15, 2018

"Miserable Experience"

- Kim Hinson

First,I know this is long but I believe in buyer beware. It all started when me and my grandmother went to buy me a car at Mike Johnsons. We were talked into a straw purchase at another dealership and we were not aware of what this was so we wanted to get the car in my name as well. We worked with Kent and Andy and we decided on a new camry. Going in there were a few hicuups, there was a payment showing late with Toyota on the current vehicle which we proved was not late by showing our bank statement to Toyota. We were assured though that we were ok so we went in to sign. Where you used to sign carbon copies, that doesn't happen anymore, you actually sign on a giant ipad the size of the desk. After being there for 5 hours we were done for. We were ready to sign so the gentleman that assisted us with this is taught very well to rush you through everything and enlarges the signature area which covers most of what you should be reading. We really messed up because we thought we read the contract in detail but after getting home we realized that we signed a contract that included $4000 in add on warranties and such on a brand new car mind you. So now its time to go home, they give us a great tutorial on how to use the car and tell us it is ours. Fast forward to Monday and they tell us there is a problem in finance and that we need to give it time to be worked out. Tuesday rolls around and we are told to bring the car back that financing fell through due to the late payment. Crushed, I couldn't understand why we have a signed contract in hand yet they want it back. So, I contacted our lawyer and he handled the situation for us all while we were threatened to be arrested for not returning the car that day. I have emails to prove the threats. THe next day my attorney contacted them and their attorney and they send over something that lead to the truth. We were led on to believe the car was ours when in reality it was a spot delivery. They turned in a form we supposedly signed stating we would return the car if financing fell through but its funny they didn't include that form in all of our paperwork. Again we were threatened with being arrested which scared my grandmother. Our attorney told their attorney we would return their car that evening but we would like our $2500 down payment back which he was told we would. On our way there he berated me on the phone and said I had been shopping at other dealers in "HIS" car which he got the information from our finance company. When we got there they did not have our check because we came after 5 and the guys that write the checks were gone for the day. I then made Andy the Manager signed a form stating they would bring the check to us the next day which they did. But when we were ready to leave and retrieve our keys they only had one and we know for a fact we left both there and unfortunately they had to have lost it. I asked them to make it right but Andy refused. Well a week later I called to speak with a manager and no one was available. A little later I got a call back from andy after I told the receptionist I did not want to speak with him specifically because he had been very condescending and rude to me several times throughout this experience. Well as we are discussing the missing key I asked him to make the whole situation right by them making another key for me. He then proceeds to start being rude and condescending again saying things like you are the one that made a straw purchase at the other dealership and saying well if you are going to review us you need to tell the whole story. Those were his exact words. In the end I did not get a new car and I'm now out a key that they lost and refuse to make me another one. We don't deserve all of this bad customer service and being talked to so rudely just because the deal did not go through. So please steer clear of this dealership and its employees.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Andy and Kent
April 05, 2018

"Excellent customer service"

- Twilla

Nick Julian is always at the top of his game with my vehicle. I can count on him and I don't have to worry if I'm going to breakdown or be back in the shop in a few days because he fixes me up every time. He has excellent customer service skills also.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Nick
Apr 11, 2018 -

Mike Johnson's Hickory Toyota responded

Thanks so much for the awesome review. We appreciate your business.

March 01, 2018

"Gutwrenching ordeal "

- meadowlark71

My credit is not great. Told the agent that upfront. Was expected to be told no quickly, not 2 weeks later. Was told I was approved for a 2014 Chevy Crude. Took car home, had temporary tag, it was on MY insurance. For 2 weeks I dealt with calls needing another way to prove my boyfriend's residence. He's on the lease but not utility bills. After 2 weeks of this we were finally told it wasn't going to work to return the car. I have anxiety and going through this was he'll! We now have a 2018 from another dealer who was smart enough to know that all we needed was the landlord to sign the lease and we was good to go.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Connell Davey and Brian in Finance
Mar 23, 2018 -

Mike Johnson's Hickory Toyota responded

We hate to hear you were no happy with the services provided to you. Unfortunately sometimes there are challenges with the banks that are out of our control. If you would like to speak with our GSM, Andy Lawhon, regarding this situation please feel free to give him a call on his direct line at 828-443-1531. He will be more than happy to answer any questions you may have. Thanks for the review.

January 25, 2018

"Impressive "

- Lex

Buying a car is rarely a pleasant experience, but my time at this dealership was just that. Everyone was hospitable; coffee, food, and my wife got her nails done all while buying a car. I haven't had the car but a few days, but if the car doesn't brake down, I'll becoming back.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Nick
Mar 23, 2018 -

Mike Johnson's Hickory Toyota responded

Thank you so much for the awesome review. We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you again soon.

January 10, 2018

"FANTASTIC!!"

- Jane

The service department is top-rate!! I can always trust Scott Wheatley to provide an honest assessment. We have bought and serviced three Toyotas at Mike Johnson's and have never felt "cheated." I know I will get "straight-talk" without adding service I don't need. After driving Toyotas for over 15 years, I made the mistake of trying a Honda--What a bad decision! The Honda service department doesn't compare to Mike Johnson's--The Honda service department makes it difficult to schedule an appointment, appointments take much longer than expected, and the service managers are NOT friendly. I do not feel welcome. I never see the same people. Thank goodness Mike Johnson services Hondas!!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Scott Wheatley
Mar 12, 2018 -

Mike Johnson's Hickory Toyota responded

Thank you so much for the awesome review! We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you again soon.

October 11, 2017

"Superior Car Shopping Experience by Elizabeth Dupuy from Val"

- Elizabeth Dupuy

Superior Car Shopping Experience by Elizabeth Dupuy from Valdese, NC October 9, 2017 Kudos and sincere thanks to Andy Lawson and Matt Elliott for a superior shopping experience. Buying a car can be such an overwhelming experience and one that I dreaded, but the entire staff worked very diligently and professionally to help me purchase the very best car for the very best price. I was particularly impressed with their determination, integrity, and patience with me. They researched the car carefully, showing me every step of the process on the computer. I felt as if I were the most important customer in the dealership, but I could not help but notice that they were giving every client the same valuable service. I would like to express my sincere appreciation and gratitude to Andy and his staff for their expertise, assistance, and cooperation. Mike Johnson Toyota is truly what a dealership should be!!!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Andy Lawhon, Matt Elliott
Oct 13, 2017 -

Mike Johnson's Hickory Toyota responded

Thank you so much Elizabeth!! It was our pleasure to assist you in your vehicle needs. We look forward to seeing you again in the future! Enjoy your new ride!

October 01, 2017

"Service advisors are dishonest about service."

- Misty

Service advisor Scott Wheaty which is now service manager try to sell services already paid for through Easy Care on the 30 k service. Which is synthetic oil change and filters. However he tried sell my wife filters. Now Toyota says we don't train out advisor to sell things customers don't need. That's true but they do nothing to stop those that do. It's clear to see the ones that do abuse it by looking at average sale comparing those sales to others that consistently retains a high sale month to month.This abuse is daily and remain the same. If my wife would have paid it no attention she would have paid $80.76 plus the filter for $30.00 and the 30 k service valued at $150.00.Totaling a sum of$260.76. Which was already paid for at the time we purchased the car.Labor sale for the advisors bonus for the month bank on these types of sales and the owners reep the profit . So they say nothing. How do I know? I quit my job because of all the dishonest sale attempts on women and senior citizens that did not know better. It sickens me to the core. Why now say something? You messed up by messing with my family! I will not buy another vehicle from Mike Johnson because of the advisors he employs. I disclosed all this to Andy Longhorn because this effects sales the next time but didn't act too concerning about the issue.Disappointing as well when said he would take care of it.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Scott Wheaty/AndyLonghorn/Stacey
Oct 02, 2017 -

Mike Johnson's Hickory Toyota responded

We apologize for any issues you may have had. Dennis Carson, our service, manager is going to reach out to you to try to resolve any issues you may have. We hope to help in any way possible. Thanks again for bringing this to our attention. We look forward to speaking with you.

September 22, 2017

"got ripped off on a easy care extended maintanance "

- rippedoff

mike johnson toyota thanks it is ok to sell a easy care plan that says 60 mo. but is only good for36months sucks .The assistant manager called after I sent a bad report to toyota.I got the ideal he wasmore concerned toyota was going to find out than the fact that he had ripped off a 100% service conected Vietnam vet.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
derrick andy
Sep 26, 2017 -

Mike Johnson's Hickory Toyota responded

We hate to hear you didn't have a 5 star experience. We want all our customers to have a great experience. Please feel free to give our GM, Andy Lawhon, a call on his direct line at 828-443-1531. He will be more than happy to help in any way possible. Again, thanks for the review, and we look forward to hearing from you soon.

July 24, 2017

"Best toyota service in hickory area"

- Otrinidad12

The best service!, recommendations, wait time is good, friendly staff, make me feel welcome. Place to go, to buy or service your car! Costumer service is great, they go beyond to satisfy costumers! I recommend toyota hickory ,nc

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Nicholas
Jul 26, 2017 -

Mike Johnson's Hickory Toyota responded

Thanks so much for the awesome review! We appreciate your business and look forward to working with you again soon.

February 28, 2017

"Satisfied"

- Toyota girl

Went to have my first service done on my car customer service was great didn't take too long and even got a manicure while waiting complimentary sounds crazy but for a girl what a deal. Liked how they went over what they done and walked me out to ensure I was satisfied. Makes a big difference. Thanks to Cynthia Hall for your help and kindness.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Cynthia Hall
Mar 01, 2017 -

Mike Johnson's Hickory Toyota responded

Awesome! We look forward to seeing you again!

1
...
1 - 10 of 247 results