Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Back

Nissan of Garden City

Hempstead, NY

4.2
375 Reviews

316 N Franklin St

Hempstead, NY

11550

Directions

375 Reviews of Nissan of Garden City

Sort by
September 30, 2021

"This dealership is the worst. I purchased two vehicles..."

- Tm

This dealership is the worst. I purchased two vehicles which had problems. This dealership lies to you. They just want to sell cars without caring about the condition of the car. They do not properly check to see if the cars has any issues. Be very careful.

Read More
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Sales and service
August 20, 2021

"I purchased a 2015 Nissan Juke in April 2021. The car..."

- Tm

I purchased a 2015 Nissan Juke in April 2021. The car was nothing but problems. From April until August the car needed a transmission,alignment, a battery , axel boot. They lied to saybthe car was checked. I returned the car and got a 2018 Honda Civic EX. They lied again to say the car was checked before I left the dealership. I did not even get down the block and the AC was blowing hot air. I took the car back. I asked the manager in the service if the car was checked, he told me no. So once again they lied. When I got home the light came on for the tire pressure. Also the car has a bad odor like someone died. Nissan said they cleaned the car. But the odor is still there. It is making me sick. I would not recommend anyone to this dealership. They just want to sell cars at any means necessary. Leo was really nice.

Read More
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Leo
August 16, 2021

"Surreal Experience! i was told that in order to quote me..."

- marsamor

Surreal Experience! i was told that in order to quote me on my lease i needed to test drive the car ,that it was company policy,Mr Diaz said it was not negotiable and i stood up and left. Believe it or not!

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Victor Diaz,sales manager
August 06, 2021

"SCAMMERS ALERT!!!!Worst car buying experience I’ve ever..."

- delanobailey99

SCAMMERS ALERT!!!!Worst car buying experience I’ve ever had. Very dishonest and most distasteful people I’ve ever come across. Poor customer service. Greed over run this establishment and nothing else. Turns out they didn’t learn a lesson from the settlement they were includes in in 2017. Final sales price of my contract was not what was agreed upon and discussed and they are unable to itemize the additional charges that brought a $43,000 vehicle to $60,000. Quoted from the attorney general of New York’s settlement announcement listing Garden City Nissan as a party involved: “In addition to the over $1 million in restitution, penalties, and costs, the settlements prohibit the dealerships from: • Selling, offering for sale, or marketing credit repair and identity theft services in connection with the sale or lease of a vehicle; • Selling, offering for sale, or providing to consumers any after-sale product or service unless, prior to such sale, certain material terms, including price, are disclosed verbally and in writing; • Misrepresenting the price of the vehicle in final lease or sale contracts; • Failing to provide consumers with sales or lease agreements that clearly and conspicuously itemize each after-sale product or service and its price.” Multiple calls and speaking with multiple employees at the dealership has gotten me no where. They cannot explain or tell me where $20,000 in fees came from, just a vague explanation stating “ fees, taxes, and registration” when asked to itemize each charge. They clearly have not learned from past mistakes.

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Yazan Durar Abualy,Victor
July 29, 2021

"Totally dishonest! The first salesman lied about the..."

- dmg3

Totally dishonest! The first salesman lied about the title of the used car we were there to look at. The manager helped us and we got the information needed. We bought the car. They overcharged for the car by over $2000 on the finance papers and included a never discussed $2000 service plan! When we went back to straighten things out, there was no explanation given and no apologies. Stereotypical used car salesmen!

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Victor & Ian
May 20, 2021

"Let me start off by saying that, salesman, Shawn P. is..."

- Fnissan2020

Let me start off by saying that, salesman, Shawn P. is one of the nicest ones there. Otherwise, the entire dealership is full of crap. This one may take a while to read, but it must be typed out. Since this is going to Nissan HQ and other outlets for the sleezy, lies, and dishonest work that is done here. I first bought my 2020 rogue sport in late 2020. Unfortunately had an accident where it was totaled. Possibly not even 4 months into the lease. When I went back to the dealership, since everyone was amazing the first time, I had thought going back for another lese would be easier. But boy, was I wrong. I simply went in, saw Shawn, told him, “Hey Shawn, its going to be a easy sale for you, just point me to Eli” – the finance manager during the first transaction – “and I’m going to need another car, unfortunately the first on was totaled.” And Shawn being the nice guy that he is, showed his concern about my health and safety from the accident before calling a finance manager over. This is where the fun starts, Victor Diaz came and sat down and I told him the story of the accident, and what happened and asked for the same deal as the first one since it was not even 4 months ago. Since we played hardball the first time to get the amazing deal that I had (which I will share so the people have power of the corporation, so they do not get ripped off later on – $182 down which covered the DMV fee, and $240 a month). To me that was way under what I initially told them what I was looking to do. Don’t know how they went under what I said I wanted. But that is another story. So, we played hardball the first time, and thinking since we were loyal customers going back to at least try to get the same. But no, were back to playing hardball and nowhere near what I had paid the first time. Now mind you, my lady and I are sitting there, not in the best of physical health due to the accident thinking this would be a easy in and out process wound up to be a 4.5 hour hassle. After telling Victor the story, he decided to play the emotional game on us saying “That car saved your life, it’s worth paying extra. What would have happened if it were another vehicle that was as safe as this?” This is when we told him to not bring up the accident or anything pertaining emotional distress about the accident. But he did not stop, a few mins later in he kept bringing it up, and a story of how he was the only survivor in an accident with 3 other people in the car. At this point, my girlfriend was crying out in tears and had to step away. We were getting ready to leave due to him not having any sort of emotion (I guess this is where everyone says most car salespeople have no souls, but not all of them…) When I had tried to calm her down, he came outside and said “Ok, I’ll give you the same deal, I’m sorry” To where I replied, “apologize to her, not me.” So, when it came time to sign the papers, the monthly payments were the same, but now it was $600 down. I do not understand when someone says “Same deal” you throw in a $600 down payment? At this point, we were already worn down, guess this is how they play their game to whittle down the “customers” physically and mentally over the entire transaction. Tried to look for him to discuss this $600 down payment but couldn’t find him. We were tired, hungry, and extremely upset. I had no choice to put it down since we didn’t have a car and just bite the bullet. So that takes care of that visit. Now onto the installation of the remote start where in actuality, costed us money and a full day wasted when the first time it took 45 mins. We initially booked an appointment to be first in, first out like the first vehicle we did it on. On the phone we booked it for 8:00am which was the first car to be seen. We came from Staten Island to Garden City from 630am and drove it in, confirmed with the service dept rep that we were the first for the remote start. Went upstairs to the waiting room and waited. Hour goes by, then another 45 min. I go downstairs to see what’s going on. And I was told “Oh, I thought you were dropping it off, this is a all day service call.” To when I replied “I don’t know what you are talking about, when we made the appointment, we were told it would be an hour since we were the first ones in. And why didn’t you tell us this would be an all-day event? We are schedule to be back at work at noon since we took a half of day off for the remote start.” The rep had nothing to say but, “this service was always a all-day service.” When I asked to speak to a manager there was none in for the service dept. We went into the dealership part to see who we can talk to and also bring it to managements attention of the encounter we had with Victor from the time we bought the vehicle. Went to the front desk and told the receptionist “Can we please speak to a manager, but NOT Victor Diaz.” With an emphasis on NOT him. Mind you, this is during the pandemic so masks where on – for the most part of the dealership – and when she came back, we were greeted by a manager, but since mask were on, we didn’t know it was him. After we discussed very briefly about the incident, we had noticed it was victor. The guy we had an issue with and was part of the complaint. So we asked to see someone else. Who in their right mind would bring you someone, that you specifically asked to not speak to? Apparently, someone who does not know how to follow simple instructions and not care about their job and being the face of the dealership. Guess that is why they are working the front desk. After asking to speak to someone else, they called another manager who just came in for the day. I do believe it was a guy named Scott. Who said he was the Service and Floor manager. Told him the story from the beginning as I am typing it here. After discussing with him the issues, we brought up the $600 initial down payment to see what can be done about. Long story short…. nothing was done. As for the issue with the remote start not being done on time… Long story short again… nothing. After al the trouble and emotional stress dealing with this, absolutely nothing was done to correct their ways. Mind you, this manager at leas took time to hear us out, and said “this would not fall on deaf ears and will be passed up to the store manager (Ramsey), and this room we are in does have video/audio cameras.” But guess what everyone…. Its been 4 months and NO ONE has contacted us to rectify this situation. Sorry for the long post, but this is what happens when you screw over loyal customers. This is the last time I, and 3 families will ever lease a Nissan, The reason they have high stars is because when they say they are filling out the paperwork is to “Real quick before we go finalize everything, leave us a 5 star review.” And they legit hover over you until you do so. So, everyone has a different story when they go car shopping…and this is mine.

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Victor Diaz
March 23, 2021

"Horrible experience. The will say anything to get you in..."

- Shontaesilva

Horrible experience. The will say anything to get you in the door. A bunch of liars and they stole my papers when I questioned them about. They even tried to bully me. One guy threatened me in the parking lot. Avoid this place. Plenty other delearships around.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Freddy Roman
1.0
Irving Cruz
1.0
Kenny Dellaporta
1.0
Nicholas Beddoe
1.0
Belma M
1.0
Other Employees : Thomas Valerius
March 10, 2021

"Amazing sales experience with David Narine. He was..."

- marnilefkowitz

Amazing sales experience with David Narine. He was extremely professional and helpful. David answered all my questions and was patient and kind during the process. I would highly recommend this dealership to anyone looking for a Nissan vehicle. My Nissan rogue 2020 is beautiful and the experience was extremely pleasant.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
David Narine
December 14, 2020

"Nissan of Garden City has terrible customer service..."

- Zhong Ying

Nissan of Garden City has terrible customer service policies. First, they force you to test drive any vehicle you're invested in, ok minor inconvenience. Then when we finally get to the table, the sales person disappears for about 15-20 minutes. Ok fine, maybe they are short because of covid, even though it wasn't busy there. Finally, this being the worst, they will NOT discuss pricing without you filling out a credit check!?!? Why am I getting a hard pull when I don't even know I'm purchasing the vehicle there?!?! First the salesperson hands me a form and says we just need some information from you. I read it, and it's a consent for a credit pull!! The managrr said he wouldn't know numbers unless he knew how my credit was. I calmly stated that I have tier 1 credit and if for some reason it comes back less I would understand if the numbers had to be adjusted. He refused to discuss further and asked me to fill out and sign the credit disclosure form again. I walked out. What a waste of time. I've had more success on the phone with other dealerships in regards to speaking about pricing. It's a ridiculous process and I've purchased or leased 8 vehicles in my lifetime.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Irving Cruz
1.0
November 17, 2020

"I have been a customer of this dealership for over 10..."

- Metsrule707

I have been a customer of this dealership for over 10 years and I have been lied to on my recent purchase and promised a vehicle that was never delivered for my wife.Sales manager Victor Diaz acts like he will help you but just lies to you the entire time, doesnt return phone calls and will not let me speak to the general manager Ramsey. My salesman Qadir Mohammed also lied to me, say he could get my second vehicle and did not. You would think that they would be willing to help a customer who has been as loyal as I have. Go elsewhere if your looking for a nissan, this is not an honest dealership!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Victor Diaz
1
...
1 - 10 of 375 results