About Us
Copyright 2018 DR Media Holdings, LLC
Search
Back
Write a review

Peter Pan BMW

2.3

38 Lifetime Reviews

2695 S El Camino Real, San Mateo, California 94403 Directions
Sales: (866) 462-7124

Is this your dealership?

...and take advantage of all we have to offer with our Certified Dealership Program.

38 Reviews of Peter Pan BMW

Sort by Write a review
April 05, 2018

"Charged $9000 for nothing & employee joyrides for 100+ miles"

- disappointed

I took my car in for a "drive train malfunction" was told after they had it for over a week and after maintenance work had supposedly been completed that I needed a new engine. I was told BMW was going to cover most of cost. Almost 2 months later I'm told my cars ready. The initial estimate had been approx $2000 I ended up paying $9000 and was told I had a new engine. The detail I had paid for both interior and exterior wasn't done and when I looked at the "new" engine it certainly didn't look new to me. Less than a week later same "drive train malfunction" and back to dealership. Another month sitting there at the dealership, oh wait, that's right, apparently my car wasn't at the dealership the entire time. Nope apparently BMW now lets it's employees take YOUR CAR HOME! Yep you read that right! I show up at the dealership unannounced to get something out of my vehicle and after waiting 45 minutes for someone to bring me to my car I'm informed by the service manager that my service advisor took my car home the previous day and wasn't going to be returning to work until the following day. EXCUSE ME??!! He said with total indifference, "Oh, I thought you were aware of this?" No I was not aware of this and totally not okay with it at all. The advisor calls the following afternoon and leaves a voicemail stating that she had driven my car around 85 miles but she was allergic to something in my car and had to allow someone else to drive. YOU HAVE TO BE KIDDING ME! The next day I receive an email that my cars done and theres no charge. I was informed no work was done because they couldn't figure out what was wrong. They didn't do anything but let their employee drive my car around and they had it for almost a month. When i drove off the alignment was horrible so I took it to Wheel Works to check the alignment for $100+ dollars. They asked me if the car had crashed into a traffic island or if I hit a curb at 50 miles an hour because the alignment was so far off. I contacted the dealership both by phone and email requesting information on just what had happened to my car and requesting them to fix it. I never received a response. I took my car to another BMW service center and when they checked my cars records I was told that Peter Pan BMW NEVER PUT A NEW ENGINE IN MY CAR! They charged me for it and gave me a receipt for it but never actually did the work!! AVOID this place like the plague unless you want to be scammed out of a lot of money for nothing.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Service Manager, Jordan Carrick -service advisor
March 28, 2018

"Horrible customer service"

- Dimo

Horrible customer service. I've brought my car in for 3rd time complaining about extremely high pitch loud squeal coming from the front brakes. The noise is so loud that people across the street turn to see where it is coming from. My neighbor asked me what's wrong with the brakes because he keeps hearing them in the morning when I leave for work. The SA and her manager kept telling me that's "normal" for performance brakes that BMW uses and refuse to do anything to fix the root cause. The manager David Brom just told me to take it with corporate as they won't let him replace parts to fix the problem. Called corporate they told me to go back to the dealer. They were just passing the responsibility back and forth and not taking ownership to fix an obvious issue. Keep in mind the car is under warranty. After some research it turns out I wasn't the only one with this issue however BMW doesn't care and hides behind a piece of paper issued stating that it is normal to have noise brake. I've owned many other cars including Audi and Mercedes and none of them had this horrible problem of brake squeal. BMW let me down and certainly didn't provide the "ultimate driving machine" experience as they claim to be. Can't wait for warranty to be gone so I can take it to competent shop that will take care of the problem instead of Peter Pan refusing to acknowledge there is one.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
David Brom
October 11, 2016

"Purchasing a new car"

- JP

I purchased a 2016 X3 D. Found exactly the car we were looking for. Used the Costco discount plan. Great car and dealer was easy to work with. Adam Locke was great.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Adam Locke
March 18, 2016

"Best buying experience ever!"

- crabyjm

My Husband and I have just bought our new 2016 M3 from Peter Pan BMW. This is a car that is very hard to get a hold of. We worked with a sales person Ray Alcini on the entire sale. He was very professional, and very informative about the entire process of ordering the car and gave us regular updates on when the vehicle would arrive. I would encourage anyone to go to Ray! He is a perfect example of what a professional car salesmen should be.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Ray Alcini
January 08, 2016

"The Ultimate Screw You Over Dealer "

- LaithS

I purchased my BMW in San Luis Obispo California. I had driven up to San Francisco and the car broke down. Not only was road side assurance terrible, Peter Pan never seemed to get old on how horrible they could be. (Pun intended) My 2012 528i with only 50,000 miles on it gets towed in for a fuel malfunction. They refuse to look at it or even help. When I explained I live 4 hours away and need to go home tonight they simply just said well you can leave here tomorrow and we can probably look. (I just said j need to be home tonight) Now, I understand they were busy but no loaner car was offered. Even if I had to come back next week to get my car as long as I had a loaner car to drive around in while my cat was being serviced I don't mind but this dealer did of course. So I offered to come back when the dealers about to close and I could try and take a loaner there since hopefully there would be one available. Basically was told there is no way to help me and I need to get my at out of there an go somewhere else. I called AAA to get my car out and it won't go into neutral now. Finally I demanded they help me get it in neutral when they replied "We have to go under the car and would have to charge you for it," to which I had to finally yell and scream and finally they did it. Got my car out and towed all the way home. And basically explained to my dealer here thanks to the experience of Peter Pan BMW I will no longer purchase another BMW. I'm going back to Mercedes purely cause the service was so piss poor. Thanks Peter Pan, I'll enjoy my ultimate driving machine on the back of a tow truck while dealing with you! The Ultimate Screw You Over Dealer.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
All
December 27, 2015

"Dealer Does Not honor Customer Committments"

- Scharol

The worst service from any luxury car dealer I have ever used. I have worked with Porsche BMW in East Bay and Jaguar and have never had a problem with the manager of the dealership honoring the promises to the customers. I made an offer on line with the sales person and scheduled a test Drive to make sure I wanted the car for the next day. The price was agreed upon before I went in to test drive, so all I had to do is drive and pay for the car. When I arrived my sales person told me another couple wanted the car but I had first place because I arrived first for the test drive. I drive the car and returned to purchase it. When I went in to buy the car they had already sold the car to the other couple even though they arrived after me. The manager was terrible, he acted like it was just "too bad" they already started the paperwork for the other couple. My salesperson was very surprised and even brought the other salesperson that agreed I would have first choice to talk to us. He did say he had agreed that the first one in would get first choice but didn't really give a dam, he obviously is just as bad as the manager when it comes to honoring their word to the clients. I would never recommend Peter Pan to anyone interested in a BMW. Go to Waterford BMW in Berkeley or Mt. View BMW. I expected them to be at least honest.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Sales Manager on duty 12/27/16 in the afternoon
November 06, 2015

""Wonderful new car buying experience""

- bettyboops

I want to express my complete customer satisfaction with Raj Poorjay in purchasing my new car at Peter Pan BMW. Raj was very courteous, kind, professional and had in-depth knowledge about the car I was purchasing. It was obvious he cared about the product he was selling. He was not pushy and took the time to explain and answer any/all questions my nephew and I had. I’ve never had such wonderful experience in buying a new car. Raj, thanks again for the Excellent service! B. Bryant

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Raj Poorjay
July 29, 2015

"Peter Pan BMW Service Moronathon"

- KKoehler

Here's my story. I took my 2001 325i in to get an oil change and to get my passenger airbag recalled. The service was done quickly and well. My issue isn't whether they can service a BMW, because they can. They service my car quickly, and my car even looked clean afterwards. My issue is more focused on their management and how they handle themselves when things don't go well. To put it simply, while my car was being serviced my radio knob was broken. When i discovered this in the parking lot, I walked back in to talk to my service advisor, John. He brought the car in the back and looked it over. When he returned, he did so with his manager David and an apology. "Sorry, sir. We didn't break your radio." He went on to explain that none of the service technicians touched the radio as the oil change and airbag replacement didn't require it. Manager David didn't even want to get in the car and look at the knob. After going around and around with David for ten minutes, even me going so far as listing the NPR headlines from that morning's commute to prove that the radio was working when i dropped it off, he ended the discussion with the mantra "I'm not going to buy you a radio." My radio was working wonderfully that morning. But, when I picked the car up, it wasn't. They wouldn't accept responsibility and called me a liar. As someone who is new to the Bay Area, and is looking for a place to get my car reliable and responsibly serviced, the search for professionalism continues. Oh, and Peter Pan also pays for their 5 star reviews on Yelp with a travel mug. So, if you feel like taking a walk on the wild side by trusting the word of someone whose opinion can be bought with a travel mug, enjoy the Peter Pan moronathon you may inherit.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
John DePalma and Manager David
February 18, 2015

"Simply the worst dealership around."

- fonetik

I took my car in for service here several times and asked each time if they could fix a recurring issue with the "Powertrain malfunction" that seemed to be happening more and more often. It would put the car in limp mode, then be fine after a restart. Over and over, I take it in, no response and no issues found. Finally the car just dies on the way into turning the lease in, early, to just be rid of it.. They just left the car on the side of the road for 4 days while I thought the car was being fixed. I finally intervened and had the car towed to Fremont who actually did the proper troubleshooting and had the car fixed within a day, so I didn't have to turn the car in early and enjoyed 3 more months of having the car. Peter Pan will do nothing but the most basic troubleshooting. They are the least competent BMW dealership I have ever encountered in my 9 BMWs I have owned across over 10 states. Absolutely terrible. They simply bank on the fact that they are close to all of the customers who don't know better, and take every opportunity to upsell their goods. Whatever you do, don't give them your email address. You will never get off of their mailing list. It's a sad fact that you'll just have to get used to driving to the east bay when you need service to have it done correctly.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Jim Thomas, Jim Cyr
December 16, 2014

"They don't even try. Move on. "

- fonetikly

What can I possibly say about these xxxxxxxx that isn't already mentioned. I've owned BMWs exclusively for over a decade and I've been to dealerships all over the country. Nowhere will you find such incompetence than here. I brought in my 2012 335i for a maintenance and an infrequent "Powertrain Malfunction". It wasn't a big deal, it just popped up, you'd pull over, stop, restart.... it's going great. This happened once or twice in a few months time. I chalked it up to some recall or electronics or even getting some bad gas. (Though, always premium.) Cut to months later, I can barely drive the car 20 miles without it coming up. And the car goes into limp mode when it happens, so on the freeway, I gotta maneuver out of the way. Bring it in... they all but call me a liar. Finally, after getting video, they offer me $2k off the purchase of a new car. You can get better than that on the website. However, they never failed to try and upsell me when I was in on a service. And, despite their dogged troubleshooting techniques, they never drove the car more than 1-3 miles. Really bang up job guys. To top it all off, I just want rid of this thing so I barely drive it for 9 months just waiting for the lease to expire. I finally get the option to turn it in early, at my own cost, for the problems their warranty should have fixed. But I was just sick of taking off work to go get it and deal with them. On the way to literally drop the car off, it dies completely. I was told by their "General Sales Manager" that there was nothing that would be done. They didn't honor their warranty... oh well. And proceeded to try and sell me another. Unbelievable. The real shame is that it was a wonderful car until this. And I've been a loving owner of so many for so long. Now they just have me looking at other companies. Well, that's enough for me. I needed a hobby. And my new hobby is telling everyone how terrible Peter Pan is. Shouldn't be hard.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Jim Thomas "General Sales xxxxxxx"
1
...
1 - 10 of 38 results