Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Back

Plaza Hyundai

Brooklyn, NY

3.4
1,120 Reviews

2740 Nostrand Avenue

Brooklyn, NY

11210

Directions

1,120 Reviews of Plaza Hyundai

Sort by
September 02, 2021

"The very worst dealer I have ever purchased from. They..."

- hkuritzky

The very worst dealer I have ever purchased from. They break deals, kept me waiting 8 hours to pick up my car, never did the right paperwork for the Insuranse company etc etc. The also don’t answer or respond to numerous calls and e-mails. This is a real situation. Don’t be abused by them!

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Glenn
July 20, 2021

"This negative review is not to criticize the $10k markup..."

- Tsam

This negative review is not to criticize the $10k markup they tried to charge me on a $24k car ($34k just for MSRP - not including taxes and additional dealer fees), but it is a criticism of their disorganization. I went to the dealership on a Sunday afternoon after making an appointment, the day prior. When I walk in, no one was there to work the front. Instead there’s a man who looked like Juvenile from Cash Money Millionaires, dressed in ripped jeans and cheap/tacky polo shirt, wreaking of ax body spray, who mean mugged me for 5 minutes straight… Didn’t say a word to me. I figured he was just another customer but days later I learned he was a salesman. After about 10 minutes of waiting I was politely greeted by another salesman, Mfon Durant, but only after i asked him who was working the front. I showed him the exact vehicle I wanted that was advertised at a discounted price of $22k. Unfortunately the vehicle I want wasn’t there that day and supposedly at their warehouse, which meant I had to come another day. Instead of leaving with a car that day, I put a down payment to take it off the market and submitted my credit application. We never discussed price, financials, etc. He made it clear that I would discuss that with only the Finance Manager and he had no negation power. So far, I was fine with the process. He later said he would call me when the vehicle arrive at the dealership and I’d be able to leave with the car that day. He eventually calls me on Tuesday at 5pm and ask me if I can come to the dealership that night to pick up the car. He claimed that they’re doing me a favor and they’re keeping the car on the street because there wasn’t any room in the dealership to hold the car. I was at work and explained to him that I couldn’t randomly leave. Additionally it would take me 2 hours to get there from my job. So he instead asked me to come on that Thursday, to arrive by 7pm and there would be no issues. He expressed that he would make the proper arrangements to insure the deal could get done that day. After shifting my entire work shift to accommodate the dealership’s appointment, Thursday comes and I arrive at 6:30pm - 30 minutes earlier than my appointment. When I get there, Mfon explains that he spoke to the Finance Manager to stay late for overtime to work the deal. However, her husband “suddenly became ill and she had to leave abruptly without explanation.” Life happens, I get it. But then he goes on to say he worked with the Dealership Manager to have my car placed in the dealership even though they’re over capacity. By his account, they were doing me a favor by getting it off the street and the car needed to be moved immediately. He shows me the car, which was all the way in the back of the dealership (getting fishy - exhibit # 1). How were they intending to get the car to me in a timely manner when it was behind several other cars that would need to be moved? Not my problem, I guess - if they truly intended to sell me the car that night they would have figured it out, being short staffed and all, a few hours before closing. It’s getting fishy exhibit # 2 - he then introduces me to the Dealership Manager who practically throws Mfon under the bus. The first words out of his mouth was, “why did you come so late?” - to which the salesman interjects and says “it’s so sad that the Finance Manager had to leave because of a family emergency.” I read that as “oh, you weren’t even expecting me.” This also told me that they were either running game to postpone the sale of this car and gather other potential buyers (which Mfon mentioned several times) or you were completely unprepared even though you begged me to come in to get the car as soon as possible, even after I made it clear it would be a hardship on me to come on a weekday. So he reschedules the next appointment for that Sunday (a week from when I started). Getting fishy exhibit # 3 came in when I asked him if he could run through the financials so my time wasn’t completely wasted, but he automatically said no. I asked him what the Gross Capital Cost would be and he pretended to be completely clueless as to what that meant. He literally said, “gross capital cost? (Scratches head) Huh?”. So a salesman at a dealership doesn’t know what Gross Capital Cost means? - Okay. Sunday comes and the process takes hours before I could review the financials. Some of it was at no fault of the dealer - getting insurance took longer than anticipated. However, when trying to process the insurance, we learned an inspection was done for the wrong car at the dealership. They were only made aware of it after I pointed it out while I was trying to insure the vehicle. The insurance rep kept referencing the wrong car. Once they realized their mistake, they took the right car (my car) to be inspected, which took some time. After hours of working to get the insurance right, I finally got to see numbers. They show me the monthly quote which was 3 times more than what I quoted on my own - I was so confused. I asked to see the final numbers, but they told me I had to make a monthly payment choice first, but I refused. So he eventually brought me over to the Dealership Manager who was way more transparent. He straight up told me the Cap Cost would be $34k. I told him the internet price was $22k (original msrp of $24k), and he said that would be impossible that it was advertised so low. I immediately pulled it up on my phone and showed him his own advertised price, to which he replied by saying that it could not be honored. So I asked for my deposit to be refunded and left. While Mfon was processing my refund, he clearly had an attitude as he was explaining that I won’t be able to find any car for MSRP. As I write this post, I’m now the proud owner of a car that I found for slightly lower than MSRP at another dealership. Thanks Mfon Durant!

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Mfon Durant
July 20, 2021

"I am giving it 1 star, because that's the minimum allowed..."

- arbennaco

I am giving it 1 star, because that's the minimum allowed here. It was a bad experience. I went with my daughter, so she could lease a car from Hyundai. It was her 3rd lease with the automaker. She made the mistake and let them know upfront that "she has a small baby home and doesn't have the time to shop around". Oh boy! What a mistake! The did tear her apart with lies, and delays. My advice to her was to "just walk away"! As not to account for the delays, predatory tactics, and rudeness - to top it off there was a sign hanging over the salesperson reading "due to extreme market conditions, Plaza Auto Mall is disclosing to the consumer that an Additional Dealer Mark-up of 5,000 has been added to this vehicle". What a scam! Hyundai would be ashamed of these thieves acting as representatives of the company! Please do yourself a favor and don't go there!!!

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Mfon Durant
November 13, 2020

"This dealership just won a prize for the worst customer..."

- Dima R.

This dealership just won a prize for the worst customer service experience ever. This review is for a particular dealership and NOT of a Hyundai as a car Summary: Terrible experience. Very rude sale person, who for some reason did not want me to buy a car there. Detailed explanation: I had an appointment, for a test drive, and to talk over the opportunity of purchasing a car. Appointment which I honored coming a few minutes before. The young lady at the front desk had me signed in and told me to walk around while a sales manager will talk talk to me. So I did. Some sales person or a sales manager, seeing me looking at the car, opening doors, told me to come over and sit and talk to him. He seemed a little moody and rude, but I thought since it had nothing to do with me, since I just got there, and it will pass as a conversation would progress. Well, it did not. For starters, he did not introduce himself, so I did not tell him my name either. (I am a customer who came to bring him my money !!! ) From the get go, he told that a ($29000) dollar car would cost me $550-600 to lease and when I mentioned that is there is a car "little" cheaper in other places, he told me that I "can go and grab that deal in that other place" because I will "not get anything better here, and they do not give test drive if I am not happy with the price". !! I quote his exact words removing the names of the dealerships I mentioned. He was very rude, and the price he told me was obviously not the price of a car, but a purposeful move to make me get up and leave.. Our conversation lasted less than 1 minute, just about the time for him to say what he said and for me to say "OK, well, I will look elsewhere" . Something like this should not happen at any conversation, let alone a conversation with the sales person at the car dealership. But, maybe this Plaza Hyundai sells thousands of cars per day, and they just did not feel like making this extra sale. The rudeness is inexcusable !!! There are plenty of dealerships in the neighborhoods, so not to have to go through such experience.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Did not introduce himself
October 19, 2020

""Another Misleading Dealership Who Hires Internet Staff..."

- MCNYC

"Another Misleading Dealership Who Hires Internet Staff to Lie" I submitted a request for vehicle online and Juan calls me, I mentioned that a family member of mine and I both want to purchase two vehicles together and we mentioned we are Costco members but Juan tells me this dealership doesn't work with Costco but they can honor us the Costco discount since we are buying two vehicles so he decided to scheduled me with Jean (the store manager). I drove 45 minutes and took 3 hours off from work to make this trip only to get there, another sales rep takes me, I mentioned I have an appointment to see Jean (the store manager) about purchasing two vehicles and store manager doesn't come out, only to have his sales rep tell me "No they don't honor discount even through we are buying two vehicles", I requested to speak to Jean, and all he was doing was sitting in his office where his sales rep was just a messenger to deliver that message of a NO. My message is don't tell potential customer MISLEADING information to get us in your door especially when I have to take 3 hours off (45 minutes to get to dealership and another 45 minutes to return to work) from work to come meet with you and only to find that the store manager wouldn't even come out to to explain this me.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Juan, Jean
July 12, 2020

"Best car service in my life"

- alex777

Suddenly, a compressor on my Palisade has died but the compressors were backordered. I called Hyundai case management and they promptly shipped a compressor to Plaza Hyundai. Both Hyundai case management and Hyundai Plaza service management called me almost every day notifying me about the status of my case. The new compressor has been installed and tested ahead of expected time. I am incredibly grateful to William Bonilla, the Assistant Service Manager of Hyundai Plaza. He was extremely helpful and friendly. Overall, it was my best experience with car service. Alex. Reznitsky.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
William Bonilla
May 23, 2020

"Service "

- sptheresa

Went to the service department for a recall and was ready to be aggravated as I have been in the past and I was so surprised at the professionalism there today, Starting with the young lady on the phone who made my appointment, the lady who took the info. for my car when brought in, gentlemen outside taking care of everyone to the gentleman who brought my car out and Hugo who I spoke to after receiving my car in perhaps five minutes after I arrived to pick it up. Thank You All for being the best team this place ever had and I will be back and hope that others return as well. Theresa

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Hugo didn't get anyone else's name
May 09, 2020

"less than professionals"

- dwaynegj05

for the last year i've been bringing my 2006 hyundai sonata V6 to be serviced here. from day 2 i had problems. i leave the car with the dealer, tell them to throughly check the car for any problems that are not normal. 120 inspection, they claim they fixed the car for the reason i bought the car in for, a check engine light or in a recent case today a ESC ELECTRONIC STABIILTY CONTROL LIGHT. the moment i pay and 15 minutes on the road the check engine and esc lights come back on. i've never been treated so poorly in my life. i purchased an original hyundai part a Steering angular sensor from another hyundai because it was cheaper than what they were charging. hyundai plaza told me the esc light in my car comes on and stays on because of the sensor. they replaced it. with the original part from hyundai and aligned my car and i paid $486.67 and had to wait 2 days to get it back after dropping it off the said time friday morning 7am. hugo the service manager at hyundai called me with 30 minutes left in thier day till closing to tell me the car was ready. i picked it up this morning. paid the cashier $486.67, got my car, 15 minutes into my drive off, the esc light returns. did they fix the problem no. they told me they test drove it aligned it for 30 minutes or more and nothing the day before i picked it up. i called the manager and staff there again but only get unprofessional childess little girls answering the phone covering for the service manager that they are busy. think i'd get a courtesy return call, i haven't. get it right the first time we wont have a problem. this has happened on 3 occasions with them the same service people with sensors and check engine lights issues. they say they completed the job and less the 30 minutes the check engine light is back on. 1000's of dollars spent there in the last year servicing my car. at least between 4 or to 6,000 dollars in repairs and labor that aint worth it.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
cintina rodriguez, will Hugo
December 21, 2019

"Happy again; bought 2nd car with this dealership. Kudos ."

- Ummul

Super Sales Professional Michael Dakir and his extraordinary Manager Louis greeted me warmly and provided outstanding service. It was a frigid morning and I was immediately offered a cup of tea. Michael and Louis worked with me and offered me a deal within my budget. Thankfully, I received several deductions and a rebate. I’m very pleased they made it possible for me to purchase my 2020 Hyundai Elantra. Michael was; knowledgeable, kind and patient to coach me to use the wonderful features in the car. Also, Christina wisely and thoroughly guided me to choose the best protection policy. She also kindly and patiently answered all my questions. The completion of the transaction was celebratory! Louis gathered his team and invited me to bang a beautiful bronze bell, Wow, everyone happily cheered me.. It was a signal of a job well done! With big smiles, and a full heart, I felt appreciated and valued. Michael continues to be accessible with grace via his cell phone to provide additional coaching with the features. He assures me I can reach out to him anytime with questions and concerns. Christina too offered me similar support. Overall, my experience was beyond my expectations and I'm grateful I chose this dealership for a 2nd time. Thank you, Michael, Louis and team, for great professionalism, warmth, kindness and support. Wishing you all the best for 2020

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Michael Dakir, Louis, Christina; they were outstanding
November 27, 2019

"Lying sales person"

- Dorito136

Call to get a price quote on a Hyundai palisade Limited I’ve been quoted price I like the price and make appointment to come the next day for test drive of course I got there they couldn’t sale me the car in that price i’m trying to negotiate price that $4000 telling me that there is no such a price and the guy that called me that price is a marketing guy And not a sales person’s don’t waste your time go elsewhere The sales parson in the show room was very nice and blame the marketing department I blame the Management who give order to do the marketing department

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Michael Dakar
1
...
1 - 10 of 1,120 results