Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Back

Plaza Motor Company - Service Center

Creve Coeur, MO

N/A
25 Lifetime Reviews Review Dealership

25 Reviews of Plaza Motor Company - Service Center

Sort by
July 21, 2018

"Always over the top!"

- DianeL

The service department at Plaza has always been over the top. Craig Guenzler took care of my service this time and had me in and out quickly. I only have good things to share about Plaza!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Craig Guenzler
June 01, 2016

"Don't go to Plaza - Tried to Cheat me out of $6,000!!!"

- KRange

I had my Range Rover towed because the key would not turn in the ignition. I told the service advisor a tiny piece of plastic had gotten into ignition hole and threw the vehicle into "lock out" mode. Jason King, the advisor told me that it's probably steering column. He called me an hour late after they looked into it and said it would be $6200 for a new steering column. I told him that is not true and this is probably caused by plastic falling into ignition switch. I refused to get it repaired and got it towed home. I did some internet research and put my key in ignition and tapped it with a screwdriver and it started!!! Problem fixed!!! And to top it off...the service guys left my gear shift cover off exposing wiring. Their excuse was they didn't know it was getting towed. Wow!!! They tried to get me for $6200. Plaza has no ethics!!! Never take your car there. I'm going to make sure I post this story at work (Monsanto) and I might call Fox2 News. I still have a print out of the estimate for $6200.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Jason King
Jun 17, 2016 -

Plaza Motor Company responded

Hello, After reading your review I would like to apologize for the entire experience that you had to deal with. It looks as if you may have meant to write this review to Plaza Land Rover-Jaguar. This is the Plaza Mercedes-Benz dealership. Feel free to reach out to GM James Allmeroth at 314.919.8171. I let him know about this situation yesterday. Regards, Keith McLain GM

May 05, 2016

"From Good to Very Bad"

- Nancee

I purchased a BMW 6 series a couple of weeks ago. My experience in purchasing the vehicle was outstanding. The Salesman, Charles Smith was fair, professional, not pushy and probably one of the more pleasant purchasing experiences I've ever had. Part of my agreement was that Plaza would repair the scrape marks on all 4 of my wheels. I scheduled this repair about 2 weeks after my purchase. When dropping my car off for the repair, the service rep was very rude. He never introduced himself to me, and proceeded to be very business like. That's fine with me although I think very rude. He requested an IOU form that stated that this repair was owed to me. I produced every piece of paper the dealer had given me in the transaction and it was not there. I offered to go get my salesman to back me up but he wouldn't even acknowledge that I was talking. His actions made me think that he thought I was being dishonest. He had me follow him to the service desk, handed my paperwork to the girls there, turned his back and walked away. The girls were standing there not knowing what to do. I saw my salesman and he came over and assured them it was in my purchase agreement. Okay.... I figured maybe this gentleman was having a bad day. Next I had a young lady take me to my loaner vehicle. She never spoke to me other than to tell me to look the vehicle over for damage and to sign off on the paper saying there was no damage. I inspected the body of the vehicle, even pointed out a couple of mars that she said were safety tape. I didn't see anything and signed her from. I barely drove the car, basically putting it in my garage and driving it back the next day. When I returned this same young lady tells me there is wheel damage and I'm responsible. I know I didn't do it. I explained that I looked the car over but didn't inspect the wheels nor was I told to do so. But she and another man were insisting that I had damaged the car and I was responsible. Not giving any consideration that maybe she too didn't look at the wheels or that she didn't tell me to look there too. The Service Manager got involved and just point blank looked at me and said, you damaged our car. If I had knowingly damaged the car I would have been the one telling them and taking full responsibility. But I know I didn't bump up on a curb or have any type of situation that could have caused a scratch on the wheel. They weren't even nice about it. They just repeated themselves over and over saying you damaged our car. So, I asked what the damage was. They said $75. Two weeks earlier I had paid cash for my BMW so it wasn't the $75 or even had it been more, that was the issue. It was how I was treated. They made me feel in both scenarios that I was dishonest. They didn't say, we understand that maybe you didn't look a the wheels in the inspection or it could have been missed in their inspection. It was a hard, blatant accusation to my guilt. And for that, I feel there was no gratitude for my being a customer of that organization. And I had been a service customer for 9 years prior with my previous BMW. So I paid the sales manager $75 cash and left. Like I said, $75 is not the issue. But for $75. Plaza lost the following: All future car purchases (and we are purchasing a second car in the fall), all future service work (why would I put myself through that again?), my referrals (I'm a business owner and absolutely know the importance of referrals and gladly give them when they are deserved), and lastly, this review which I also know is important in building a positive reputation and brand. They lost my trust in a brand that up until this week I had always had great respect. That $75 sure was important to them. I hope they think it was worth it. Makes me wonder how often they do this to other customers and what other areas they put a measly $75 over the satisfaction of a good customer. I didn't ask for my $75 to be returned. I asked for an apology for embarrassing me, for making me feel like I was a criminal. Other than my salesman going to bat for me and striking out, I got nothing. My business, my referrals and my trust will from this point forward will be going to another BMW dealership in town.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Jeff, Service Manager
May 11, 2016 -

Plaza Motor Company responded

Hello, After reading your review thoroughly, I would like to apologize for how you were treated by our service staff and front desk employees. I assure you that this is not a reflection of our dealership, and the strict standards we hold ourselves to. I would like to speak with you further regarding this situation so that we can ensure that this does not happen again, and rectify the situation. Regards, Jeff Baker GM 314.635.9372

November 27, 2015

"Bait and switch body repair "

- Dennisgeog

I took my car in for an estimate and was quoted $1000 to fix a scratch I agreed and four days later I get a call saying it would be $2350 instead of $1000 I said no stop and just do what was estimated They refused Due to insurance increases I didn't want to spend over $1000 of the insurance companies money Plaza agreed to do it for $1499 I was satisfied I went to pick it up two and a half weeks after I dropped it off (for a four day repair) I had to call them to find out it was ready They charged me $1699 after quoting the $1499 after quoting $1000 I was so disgusted I paid it Then igot home and discovered they left off a piece of trim I will never go to Plaza again

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Chris. And john
Nov 30, 2015 -

Plaza Motor Company responded

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. Customer service is extremely important to us, so I apologize that you were not satisfied with your experience. Please contact me so that we can discuss how to rectify the situation and restore your faith in our dealership. Mark Austin, General Manager, 314-919-8100

November 06, 2015

"Repair Struts"

- Zione3

Horrible Experience from service of vehicle to management. On September 12, 2015 I called Jim Whelehon service advisor for Plaza Motors I told Jim I was experiencing problems with my left rear body setting on the tire. I told Jim I would have the vehicle towed into Plaza so Plaza could take a look and determine the problem and cost for repairs. Jim called back a couple days later and stated to me that I needed to have my front right and left struts replace and new brakes because they were damage and the cost would be $3,647.32 and by replacing the struts and breaks this would fix my problem so I agreed on the cost and repairs. On September 25, 2015 I picked my vehicle up from service and drove home a week later I started to experience the same problem I bought the vehicle in for. I tried to contact Mr. Whelehon several time even leaving voice mails and never received a call back until I tried for the last time and he answered his phone. I told Jim I had been calling and leaving voice messages and he said he apologize but he had been extremely busy I went on to tell him about my vehicle doing the same thing so he suggest I bring it back in and he would have the same service technician take a look at it while I wait. After waiting for an Jim comes to me in the lobby around all customers to inform me that I need a left rear strut and the cost to replace would be $1,900 this was so terrifying to me after him telling me that my the front struts was my problem and by replacing them would take care of my problem. I even had a customer come up to me and tell me he wasn't trying to be noisy but he overheard our conversation and that was TERRIBLE. I was so upset I ask to speak with the service manager Jim informed me that he could talk to me because he had to catch a flight out of town and would be back until Wednesday and that I should give him a call back on Wednesday. When I got home I called back and ask to speak with the General Manager Mark Austin they transferred me to his voice mail and I left a message. I didn't get a call back until Wednesday with the General Manager Mark Austin and Service Manager Matt Prunty on speaker phone. The General Manager ask me what could he do to fix the problem and I told him to fix my vehicle for what I bought it in for the 1st time. I told Mr. Mark Austin that I paid $3,647.32 for repair and I'm still having the same problem. Mark Austin General Manager nor Matt Prunty Service Manager was willing to take the blame all they kept saying is your vehicle has a lot of mile... so sad for them to say.... miles has nothing to do with them repairing what I brought the vehicle in for. They tried to make a joke and said if I wanted to trade it in and look at another Mercedes they would love to take my trade in. Awful management I would never treat a customer like that I wouldn't be able to sleep at night. Also battling breast cancer and dealing with the terrible service and not being honest has been very stressful ordeal with Plaza Motors. Continuation: I asked Mr. Whelehon why didn't they tell me about the right rear strut when they were servicing the vehicle out and he said the code didn't show up as the right rear strut being damaged then I asked Mr. Whelehon do they only check and repair vehicles by codes. Mr. Whelehon stated they fiscally checked it also. I contacted the repair center who usually works on my Mercedes and they stated if it was fiscally checked they should have known the right rear strut was bad.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Mr. Jim Whelehon
Nov 11, 2015 -

Plaza Motor Company responded

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your visit with us. We apologize for any miscommunication or frustration you have experienced with the service of your vehicle. As you mentioned in your review, we did repair your vehicle, however, unfortunately, your other strut went out. I am available to further discuss any additional questions you may have, if you would like to speak with me. Mark Austin, General Manager, 314-919-8100

September 27, 2015

"what your not told up front you will pay for in the end"

- benzo

TERRIBLE experience. I took my boyfriend's car into Plaza Motors, because we had purchased new rims and tires and we needed the tpms sensors registered to the car. We called days ahead of time and made an appointment, and were assured it could be done. Upon arriving at the dealership I was told that it would be unlikely that the tpms sensors would register since it they after market sensors and not mercedes sensors, but that they would try and see. After an hour, I was told that the sensors were not working, but that if I could come up another day a technician would bring a generic wand from home and see if they could connect them with it. They said it was unlikely it would work, and said if it didn't we would need to purchase new mercedes benz sensors which would cost $800. I arrived the following monday, and was treated with noticably less hospitality. After waiting an hour and a half, the service advisor told me that they were still unsuccessful. He told me I would only have to pay for an hour service fee that we had "talked about earlier" and which was not previously discussed. I asked him how much it would be to install the Mercedes sensors if we purchased them and brought them in ourselves. He said it would be around $150, but that he didn't recommend it. He told me to contact him before we bought them and he could "try and get us a deal." In the time it took him to retrieve the car, so I could leave the sensors magically started working. Well, half working. The tire pressure light went off, but none of the tire pressures were displayed on the dashboard as they previously had with the stock rims and tires. I was charged $165. I was about half way home when the tire pressure light turned back on and the dashboard blinked "tire pressure sensors inoperable." I immediately called the service advisor and he said they had been working just fine when he was in the car. My boyfriend spoke to him the next day on the phone in hopes that he could get a refund of his money and was told that I had been told several times that it would cost $165 just to look at the car, which is an out and out lie. If they would have told me that I would have never have had them try it. Who in there right mind would pay someone $165 when they said it most likely wouldn't work. Today my boyfriend went up to the dealership and talked to the service manager who continuously skirted around the question of whether or not I had been told we would be charged to just look at the car. I will make sure to tell everyone I know how we were mislead, deceived, and overall taken advantage of. I guess the more you pay for the car, the poorer the service you get.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
patrick kelleman, matthew prunty
Sep 29, 2015 -

Plaza Motor Company responded

Thank you for your feedback. Customer satisfaction is our number one goal, so I am disappointed to hear that you are unhappy with your experience. My service manager Matthew greeted you when you came in and you mentioned that you needed the TPMS sensors registered. Matthew noticed the aftermarket wheels and TPMS sensors on the vehicle and explained that it probably wouldn’t work, but we could hook it up the SDS machine and try it. Once it was agreed to go ahead, we mentioned that the cost would be an hour labor even if we couldn’t get them to register. My service team tried and it seemed like it registered the aftermarket TPMS sensors. We charged for the labor that was incurred. When the sensor came back on, after speaking with Patrick, we agreed to try and register the TPMS sensors again with a generic TPMS tool, at no additional charge. When we tried, the same issue occurred. At this time it was mentioned that the vehicle would have to have OEM TPMS sensors to fix the problem. When your boyfriend returned on Saturday the 26th, it was explained to him we tried twice already and we would hook it up one last time and try to program the TPMS sensors, at no cost. Before leaving, it was once again mentioned that if he wanted to purchase the sensors and have someone else install them, we would program the factory sensors at no charge. My team would not install the sensors because if you try to dismount the tires, it will scratch the black wheels and we would not be responsible for that. The tires that had been purchased through mail order came pre-mounted on the rims that were purchased and it is very hard to get the tires back off once they have been mounted. If you would like to speak with me further about this issue, perhaps I can answer any additional questions you may have. Mark Austin, General Manager, 314-919-8100

August 10, 2015

"Customer Service Needed!!!!!"

- Ms. BMW

On June 17, 2015, I bought (cash deal) a pre-owned 2004 BMW 530i from Plaza Motors of St. Louis. I decided to have the car's headlights cleaned and detailed due to a yellowish tint covering the glass. I also decided to purchase new floor mats and a BMW emblem for the front of my car. I was instructed to go to the service center, where I was told it might be hard to find floor mats for a car that “old”. The BMW emblem was given to me in a small plastic bag with screws inside. I was told I could try and put the emblem on the car myself because no one had time to do it at that moment. Now, my first BMW purchase experience gets even worse. When I brought my car back the next day for the headlights to get worked on, a service consultant named Mark asked what time was my appointment, and did I have a ride because it would take a couple of hours. I said “no”, and Mark then said “you can wait in the lobby.” After leaving Mark’s office, I was approached by another sales consultant named Paul Badgett. Paul immediately introduced himself to me and asked me if Mark had mentioned the service codes that my car key flagged that needed maintenance attention. I stated "no". Paul took me to his office and explainedto me how to read my car key codes. Paul managed to get my car into the service department that same day and provided me with a rental car. He put the new floor mats in the car and also put the BMW emblem on the car for me. Paul is the kind of employee you build a company around. It’s people like him that tip the scales. If Plaza BMW staffed every dealership with this caliber of customer service mastery, I'd buy from no other. I hope you will take the time out of your day to find a way to recognize an employee who is definitely an asset to your company and someone I feel your other service consultants could learn from. Sincerely, Ms. P

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Paul Badgett
April 01, 2015

"Buying tires and service work -all in one easy trip"

- Wolly

Tonia Zellmer took care of all our needs. She guided us through buying new tires that were priced competitively and OEM standard, She also scheduled a service for the same day. We aappreciate this as we travel over one hour one way to Plaza

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Tonia Zellmer
Apr 02, 2015 -

Plaza Motor Company responded

Thank you for the 5 star review! I'm happy to know that you had such a wonderful experience with Plaza Motor Company and we hope to help you again in the future. Best, Mark Austin, General Manager

April 01, 2015

"Prompt & Courteos Service"

- Carmen

Prompt & courteous service for one-year maintenance service for my 2014 Mercedes 300 class at Plaza Motor Company 11830 Olive Boulevard Creve Coeur, MO 63141 Tanya a serviceperson deserves kudos!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Tanya
February 08, 2015

"Mercedes Benz Quality All Around"

- c-class-STL

I've purchased several cars from the Mercedes group at Plaza and always have my cars serviced there. Staff provide friendly first-class service whether they're selling a new car or keeping current cars in top shape.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Joe Sapienza and Tom Gordon
Feb 10, 2015 -

Plaza Motor Company responded

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your visit to Plaza Motor Company! We are so pleased to hear that you are a repeat customer. If there is ever anything you may need, please do not hesitate to reach out. Mark Austin, General Manager, 314-266-5469.

1
1 - 10 of 25 results