Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Back

Pohanka Hyundai of Fredericksburg

Fredericksburg, VA

2.8
432 Reviews

5200-A Jefferson Davis Hwy

Fredericksburg, VA

22408

Directions

432 Reviews of Pohanka Hyundai of Fredericksburg

Sort by
October 06, 2021

"Service department only, I cannot speak of the sales..."

- Rachel

Service department only, I cannot speak of the sales department. I have taken two vehicles for oil changes here. I was there at 6 when they opened both times. 1st took three and a half hours. Second took 4 hours. So be prepared to wait a good while. My real issue is that they are not very knowledgeable about the vehicles that hyundai sells. I took my car in for an oil change and an issue with the interior ambient lighting of my car. I was told I would need an appointment for the ambient lighting issue. Their next appointment was a month away. I took that appointment. It was for 7am even though I'm pretty sure the techs don't actually get started until 8. At 8:37 the tech comes back with my car and tells me my car doesn't come with ambient lighting. I know it does, it used to work and it happens to be a standard feature for that car. I tried to show him a hyundai forum where other people have had the same issue. He didn't care. He took the car back again and said he did a reset and that again that didn't come on my car. The service writer also stated that my car doesn't have this feature. So I must just be crazy because it worked before! So I left there, went to another hyundai dealership and without an appointment, they fixed the problem within 20 minutes and had me on my way. I think that the techs and the service writers should take a few minutes with their customers, maybe spend a little more than just a minute or two researching the issue with their car instead of saying that their car didn't come with that. Completely ridiculous and unprofessional.

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Nicole Reedy
1.0
July 16, 2021

"Between myself and my family members, we have purchased 5..."

- sprtluvr82

Between myself and my family members, we have purchased 5 vehicles in the past from Pohanka of Fredericksburg. In the past, they had great customer service. However, after this last attempt at a purchase, I will not recommend this location nor buy from this location again. My husband, myself and my father-in-law went in to purchase a vehicle on July 1st for my father in law and were prepared to pay cash on the spot for the car. We were working with a salesman named Afshar. My father in law was looking for some features and color on the car and they did not have one in stock with the features and color he wanted. They were able to find a vehicle at another location with the features, but not the color. We were told if we put a deposit of $1000, the car would be put on a truck and delivered within 2 days. If he didn't like the color, we could get the deposit back the same day. We put the deposit down right away after we clarified twice we would for sure get the deposit back the same day if we didn't like the car. Two days later we called Afshar to see if the car had come in (Saturday). He said no but it should be there Monday. Monday comes and we contact him again. He said it's still not in but should be there the next day. We called again the next day and was told the same thing. Wednesday (6 days later) comes and we call again to check on the car. At that time, Afshar advises the car was sold to someone who paid $5000 over asking price. We were upset enough about that, but then told him we'd be coming by to get the deposit back. They had already cashed the deposit check for a vehicle we never even saw. We were then advised since we did a deposit by check, we couldn't get the check the same day and it would need to be sent from corporate to them and then mailed to us. I told Afshar I didn't want it mailed to us and we would pick it up at the dealership when it arrived. He said it would be there in a day or two. Two days later we called to see if it came in and were told another couple of days. Each time, he would put us on hold and "check with his manager". The same trend as the vehicle arriving. After checking multiple times and getting the run around and getting the managers voicemail when trying to contact him instead, we finally asked for corporates number. Only then was the manager put on the phone with us. To his credit, Sam did follow up with us and get us the deposit back, but it was 2 days after we contacted him and 16 days after the deposit was made. We literally had no vehicle option and had to wait 16 days to get our money returned.

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Afshar, Sam
June 21, 2021

"After receiving very poor customer service yo8on my..."

- Diana

After receiving very poor customer service yo8on my Hyundai from Pohanka; I am still being haunted by excruciatingly bad customer service. They tacked a "Warrantee" on to my car note. (After I specifically asked them not to.) Now despite numerous attempts to the contrary, they refuse to honor this bogus, expensive Warrantee. As a matter of fact, at this point, they won't even return my phone calls. Buying a car from there was a mistake that I will be paying for for several years. I must now go over their heads and contact Hyundai directly.

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Esmerelda
May 20, 2021

"If I could do a minus star I would. My daughters 1st..."

- SandiC

If I could do a minus star I would. My daughters 1st time buying a vehicle on her own, and It was a disaster! Not new but new to her! Her first car made it across town before the check engine light came on and the car stalling. While in the process of getting put in her 2nd car, the previous owner of the first car contacts her and tells her she had the same issues with that car! She had purchased it, spent money on fixing it, just to return it herself! They told her it would not be resold with the issues! So my daughter was put in her second car. Within a week, check engine light came on and drinking antifreeze like crazy. Take it back and their mechanic reset the check engine light. My daughter knew they just reset the light. The car is taken to Radley Chevrolet and was told by their mechanics that it needed an engine and catalytic converter. Pohankas mechanic said Radley Chevrolet was wrong and reset the check engine light once again. Once again my daughter comes to pick up her car for the check engine light to come back on in Pohankas parking lot. The car was taken back to Radley Chevrolet and this time the mechanic used a camera and video to prove the car needed a new engine! At this point my daughter received a rental to use. Mind you she had been getting rides to work this whole time and her first car payment is due in 3 days. She got use of a rental for about 1 week. Almost 3 weeks without her car! What came of this? They paid off the note on her car, is giving her deposit back (can take up to 7 days) and let her leave without a rental to go to work and pay her bills! My daughter is hard working and sometimes works 3 jobs just to help others! I always taught her to buy what she could afford which has been used cars from family members. She finally saved her money and built her credit just to get screwed by the very 1st car lot she went to. Beware of this car lot! You could do better buying a car on the side of the road vs them. Apparently their mechanics just know how to reset check engine lights vs actually diagnosing and repairing issues. The owner wouldn’t even look my daughter in the face today. Coward! I hope no one in his family is taken advantage of like my daughter was. So now she is without a down payment and a car for another week? I am happy my daughter maintained a good attitude at the dealership. I wouldn’t have. My daughter was raised to treat people the way you want to be treated! Sounds like the owner should do the same. FYI don’t reply for my daughter or myself to contact you. You have almost a month to make this right!

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Sales-Service-Owner
April 22, 2021

"One of the reasons I bought from this dealership was the..."

- daniellenfoster01

One of the reasons I bought from this dealership was the promise of regular maintenance. I’ve been turned away multiple times now when trying to have my car serviced. Beware pretty words and empty promises.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Milton Brooks
1.0
Jared Fleeman
1.0
Nicole Reedy
1.0
April 21, 2021

"I had a great experience with test driving, researching..."

- jrsmth34

I had a great experience with test driving, researching all the aspects of my vehicle and everyone from Haqil my salesman to Ron, Sales Manager, Sam, General Sales Manager to Matt, Finance Manager all were exceptional and made me feel important and treated with me the utmost respect. After the purchase, Haqil has made sure to stay in contact with me to answer any questions I may have about my new 2021 Pallisades Calligraphy. Thank You!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Haqil Ahmad
March 18, 2021

"Hi Roman, I promised I would write a lousy review for..."

- Stoplyingtocustomers

Hi Roman, I promised I would write a lousy review for both your service and your dealership. Here it is... RUN, DONT WALK FROM THIS DEALERSHIP!! This dealership does such a bait and switch. They advertise a really low price and when you contact them, they start adding all the charges back in including the freight charge that is already on the window sticker....so they are trying to charge you twice. That is just the tip of the iceberg. We offered 2k over they false advertised price because we knew what game they were trying to pull. Still, they were rude, unprofessional and instead of saying that they could not meet the price I had from another dealership, they dragged it out and even though I cc'd the GM who name shares the name of the dealership did nothing to either save the deal or reprimand his sales staff....that would be you Tim Pohanka. I found a lovely dealership that negotiated a fair price for the car and we were never treated rudely or falsely advertised to. I love our new car and you will too but just don't go to this dealership. Honesty and customer service is a no go here!!

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Roman Stanakzai and Tim Pohanka
September 11, 2020

"They are all about getting your money and not providing..."

- Patel

They are all about getting your money and not providing you a quality service I bought my vehicle 3 months ago and I still don’t have my tag Susan Sisson in tag department never answer my call not impressed with any department they are a joke please pay few dollars more but take your business elsewhere trust me you will get less headache.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Kingsley
November 23, 2018

"In the market for a car"

- Goodtimes03

I was looking for a car for the last month.could only get to the dealership on the weekends cause of my job.I was contacted by Celsey Sutton.She knew the inventory ,searched for all I needed in a car is professional,orderly and keeps you in the loop and stuck with me for a couple of weeks until I was able to make a purchase.I went in thinking I could only get a used car but happily drove away in a 2019 Elektra.Thanks to the whole team for getting me Rollin in style,a smooth process and the green tea from the waiting room! I'll share with friends and family in the market for a car....Go to Pohanka and trust Celsey to guide you through! Thanks a bunch-Floyd Lucas

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Celsey Sutton
August 14, 2018

"Sales Manager ignored my request."

- jmw1000

Buying my college aged daughter her first car. After alot of research decided on Hyundai because the car has great reviews. We arrived at the dealership and were greeted by sales person Joanna. I explained to her we were not interested in financing as I had a check from Navy Federal and my hard budget was $15,000. I asked not to be shown any vehicle we couldn't be out the door at that price, including all taxes and fees. She brought the sales manager over, MATT HIMES. He said he had a couple cars he wanted us to see and I told him the same thing regarding my budget. He said it made no sense to talk about numbers if she doesn't like the car. We drove the 2 cars, an Accent and an Elantra. My daughter said she'd be happy with either. We returned to the dealership and the sales person went to get the numbers from the manager. She didn't look happy walking back over. She set them down and showed the Accent was $800 over my budget and the Elantra was $1,600 over budget. Needless to say I was beyond angry. They had just wasted 2 hours of our time. As we were leaving, I shouted more than a few choice words in his direction, because he was too much of a coward to come face me himself. Bottom line, MATT HIMES IS A SLEEZE BAG! We got my daughters car, the Accent she wanted, but we shouldn't have had to drive 70 miles to another dealership to get it.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Joanna Coleman, Matt Himes
1
...
1 - 10 of 432 results