Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Search
Back
Write a review

Poulin Auto Sales

1.8

126 Lifetime Reviews

473 E Barre Rd, Barre, Vermont 05641 Directions
Sales: (802) 476-8159

Is this your dealership?

...and take advantage of all we have to offer with our Certified Dealership Program.

126 Reviews of Poulin Auto Sales

Sort by Write a review
February 09, 2019

"Customer Service"

- Rob

First Thank you Wade for helping me out when my car needed an inspection that had expired a couple months previously. I got pulled over and was given a warning, Wade got me car into service with out an appointment and saved me money from a ticket. Service was fast and friendly and very helpful explaining what my car needed and may need in the future. Thanks for everything!!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Wade Baldwin
May 20, 2018

"bad deal"

- nowayman

havent had car 2 weeks and already a $300.00 repair. found out there was a 143 mile difference from when they got at auction till the day i purchased . temp reg says 6/3/18 to 9/30/18 and i got the car in may. when told about the repair acted like they didnt remember me. remember i only had bought the car 2 weeks prior. we never recamend to anyone

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Matthew Elliot
1.0
Charay Beard
1.0
April 13, 2018

"lairs and cheats "

- millostar

we got our car there. they promised to handle registration fees. they didn't when i called the manager "J" yelled at me for raising my voice. horrible experience WON'T RECOMMEND TO ANYONE!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Jay
January 28, 2018

"Not so good"

- Daveerica2

After going there to purchase a truck was told I was all set an the truck was waiting for me get there and they don’t even have the truck in there inventory being desperate for a truck they found me one and after doing the paper work 3 times months later it was mine paid 1500 dollars for a warrenty that they lost after 10 months my engine was blown asked an asked about the warrenty never to hear back do not go there !!!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Ernie
October 04, 2017

"WASTE OF TIME!"

- J198700

After a week of back and forth with paperwork to get an approval, I was asked to come to Barre because they said they could get an approval and it wasn't a "false hope". I had made it clear the cars I was interested in and they still couldn't give me an answer if there was a FOR SURE approval but still wanted me to go there, which is over an over drive. I stressed that I didn't want my time wasted and had kids I had to plan for etc. I finally went there and after an hour drive, an hour of sitting and waiting they told me they just couldn't get an approval anywhere close to what I was looking for, which would have been fine except for the fact they had me come all the way there and made it seem like they had everything approved BEFOREHAND for something I wanted or "comparable", just to have wasted hours of my time, gas and time with my kids. VERY UNORGANIZED AND UNPROFESSIONAL. WASTE OF TIME!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Charay Beard
1.0
Stephanie Nadeau
1.0
March 31, 2017

"Sold Car Out From Under Me"

- Rip D Phuckoff

These guys are terrible. They promise you the world then sell your dream car out from under you. Its sad that Colby and Travis need to make a living like this. Looks like Colby has moved on to smaller and worse things since my run in with this company. Oh yea and even if you contact management they will do nothing....just wait for the GM's response below, should be a good laugh.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Norm Poulin
Stephanie Nadeau
February 02, 2017

"Don't waste your time "

- 02paperweight

Poulin Auto sure does stand by their motto: “changing the way you feel about buying a car”. We feel misled, taken advantage of, and treated with complete and utter disrespect by the staff at Poulin. We went into this dealership looking for a reliable work truck. We left the dealership with a truck that we will be lucky if it lasts us 6 months, never mind the life of the loan that we had to take out to purchase it. Charay Beard and Travis Bailey are the employees that we dealt with through the entire process. Charay is the sales professional and Travis is the general sales manager. When we asked her a question she would always answer it. When she did not know an answer, she would go and ask Travis Bailey. That being said, we knew upon purchasing this truck that the following were repairs that we would have to pursue: the radio was still locked (a fix that Charay had promised to fix prior to purchase), the shifter needed work, and the doors didn’t lock (We were told by both Charay and Travis that all we had to do was get a new key made it would work no problem – we did this and still the key does not work). We both asked Charay prior to the purchase of the truck “Is there anything other than the list above wrong with the truck?” Her answer to us was “No.” Had she not known the answer, Charay should have asked just like every other question that she did not know the answer to. Below I want you to see, so that you know as the reader how Poulin sells vehicles to their customers. This is a list that since we purchased the truck on 1/28/17 (5 days ago) of significant problems with the truck that needs repair: · The horn did not work (This is a safety issue). · The emergency brake does not work · There was NO fluids in the transfer case (Since we have filled it, 4 days ago the transfer case has leaked over a quart onto our driveway) · The door locks will not function at all. · The front shocks were gone · The plow’s push plates are lose and one is cracked therefore unsafe to plow with. · The wiring harness on the plow is damaged · Power steering pump has a significant leak (We had asked Charay after our initial test drive why there was power stearing fluid in the center console and her answer to us was “I don’t know”) · The tow hitch is cracked · Rather than repair the fuel / brake lines properly – they have patched in rubber hoses throughout the system. · Ground wire under the hood has arced out to the point where the cable has melted, broken, and is now hanging. You also should know that this vehicle was Poulin’s delivery vehicle and was used to plow their lot for an extended period of time. Knowing this – Charay, Travis, and the rest of Poulin are well versed in the problems that the truck has. We were lied to on multiple occasions when asked what was wrong with the truck. It has now been 5 days since the purchase of the truck. We contacted Travis to discuss our concerns about this truck that was sold knowingly “as is” to us as a complete piece of crap. We listed everything off to Travis. Throughout the entire interaction, Travis only told us that they didn’t know about these issues. This is a complete lie because this has been their delivery/plow truck for years. This conversation ended with no resolution. We then called his boss, Stephanie Nadeau. Stephanie is listed on the Poulin Auto site as the CFO of the company. We were placed on hold for a couple of minutes and then TRAVIS BAILEY gets on the line. We called within seconds of Travis hanging up with us and he intercepted us from contacting Stephanie and would not allow us to speak with her and the call was rudely ended by Travis hanging up on us midsentence. We were not rude or disrespectful and Travis still chose to hang up on us. Travis is an extremely unprofessional general sales manager. Had they been forthcoming with the issues that the truck has, we would not be in the situation that we are now. In addition, had they been more receptive to our multiple attempts to address the issues and concerns we would not be stuck with an unsafe vehicle. We are now stuck with a $10,000 paper weight. It my not be new. But we still spent 10k and that's a lot of money to spend only to be lied to. STAY CLEAR POULIN AUTO. Age and mileage aside we were lied to buy the charay and Travis. A test drive wouldn't show a lot of these issues. We are aware we could have gotten a second opinion on the truck and didn't. I used poulins service department in the past and vas impressed. I didn't feel the need to take the truck anywhere else. Lesson learned. The fact of the matter is poulin is far from honest.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Charay Beard
2.0
Other Employees : Travis bailey
Feb 02, 2017 -

Poulin Auto Sales responded

I'm sorry you feel this way about the vehicle you purchased here. Please keep in mind that you did purchase a 15 year old vehicle with 130K miles, as is, as seen. You also did take the truck for two test drives on different days and were encouraged to take the truck to an independent garage for inspection. We did inform you before you purchased the vehicle of what we knew was wrong with the vehicle, the door lock not working and the radio not working. With that said, after you signed off on the truck, I did pay for new struts and the horn repair without hesitation. When you called today, instead of saying thanks you were VERY DISRESPECTFUL and EXTREMELY RUDE to me over the phone. I am truly sorry you feel like you got an unfair deal but as stated before, you bought an as is, as seen 15 year old truck from us that has over 130K miles. You did take it for multiple test drives. No one hide anything from you and I did repair a few items with no questions asked. I would be open to talking to you again, in person if it would help the situation.

December 07, 2016

"Unprofessional Would Be Giving Them A Compliment"

- Unsatisfied

SOLD A VEHICLE THAT STILL HAD A LIEN ON IT AT DMV, PUT DEALER PLATES ON MY VEHICLE, ATTORNEY GENERAL GETTING INVOLVED & I WOULD LOVE TO TALK TO THE MEDIA. On September 12, 2016 I went to Poulin Automotive Sales located at 1795 Shelburne Rd, South Burlington, VT 05403 and met with Lea Macomber, the Salesperson who had contacted me via telephone. I test drove a 2011 Jeep Compass with Ms. Macomber that was blue, 5 speed, and had a little over 90,000 miles on it. I immediately enjoyed the Jeep and expressed an interest in purchasing it. Ms. Macomber put a Dealer Plate on the Jeep and informed me that I could take the Jeep for the day and go do some errands while they secured the financing that I would need to obtain the vehicle. Ms. Macomber also informed me that I could take the Jeep home for the night and return the following day to finish the paperwork. I was extremely appreciative that the Dealer let me take the vehicle so that I could go to the bank and take care of the errands that I needed to complete. As a matter of fact, when I returned to the Dealership; the following day, September 13, 2016 I brought Ms. Macomber two huge potted plants and a “Thank You” card as a kind gesture and this is also a manner in which I show my appreciation for individuals when I feel that they are being kind to me. I signed the remainder of the paperwork that was presented to me by Ms. Macomber and I was on my way. One week later, I received a phone call from my finance company, Credit Acceptance PO Box 513 Southfield, Michigan 48031; who confirmed all of my information, stated I would receive my payment book in the mail, & gave me my account number of 84364361 (See attached copies of Car Payment Booklet & Payments made). I received the Car Payment booklet from Credit Acceptance at my residence shortly thereafter. Approximately two weeks later, my daughter, Megan who was a college student at Plymouth State University informed me that she was receiving disturbing messages on her Facebook account from Ms. Macomber. Megan explained to me that she felt very threatened by Ms. Macomber because she stated that she did not sound right and was not able to accurately express the reasons why she was contacting her. I informed Megan that perhaps she was contacting her because I had mentioned that there was a possibility that sometime before Christmas she too would be interested in purchasing a vehicle. Megan immediatly informed me that she did not think that was the case as Ms. Macomber mentioned coming to her school to “pay her a visit.” As a parent, I did not like the sound of what I was hearing and instructed Megan to block her telephone number. Shortly thereafter, my Mother received a call from Ms. Macomber claiming that “I HAD STOLEN THE VEHICLE FROM THE DEALERSHIP” and that I was in big trouble. I explained to my mother that it appears that this woman has alot of problems and I showed her the paperwork that I had in my possession. One document was titled a “WE OWE” contract. Since I was not trading in a vehicle and I had made sufficient payment, it was typed in the middle of the paper that “All obligations have been fulfilled at this time.” Another paper that I had was the Vermont Department of Motor Vehicles Temporary Registration and the other document that I remember was the paper with the Finance Company, Credit Acceptance Corporation, however; there was a large discrepency that I noticed between the amount paid on this contract. I apologize in advance for not remembering exactly, however; these Documents were in my vehicle in a folder when my vehicle was taken by the Dealer without my knowledge. I had phoned my finance company in regard to making a payment and the representative informed me that I could set up recurring payments from my bank account which would cost no additional fee. This is what I decided to do and therefore, my first payment, the October 2016 Payment was sent to the finance company from my bank account. On November 08, 2016 I drove back to my apartment to take care of a few things and I also wanted to cast my vote for the President of the United States. Upon retreiving my mail, I became concerned when my new registration and plates did not arrive so I contacted the Department of Motor Vehicles via telephone. I was informed that they never received any paperwork regarding my purchase of the vehicle and that my Jeep had a title which was ATTACHED TO A LIEN HELD BY THE PREVIOUS OWNER. The individual on the phone informed me that would have to be resolved before I could purchase the Jeep so I began to suspect that something abnormal was going on. I also received a letter from the finance company stating that they were cancelling my agreement at the request of the dealer and that I should make further payments to Poulin. Now, I knew something very bizarre was taking place and I needed to get to the bottom of it. Upon learning of this information from the DMV, I went online and put the VIN number in the Computer on several different cites. I paid nearly $30.00 for one report from CarFax which detailed information for a 2011 JEEP CHEROKEE/PATRIOT with several different options that my car did not have. There was also a discrepancy with the mileage. I have no idea if this is even the correct VIN for the car. The car listed was Pearl Black and my Jeep Compass was blue. Please do not go to this dealership to purchase a car because these practices are not legal.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Lea Macomber
November 28, 2016

"Crap Crap Crap Holy Crap!!!"

- S. Moody

6$ inspection, yay right. Our car was fine...we just had it looked at by mechanics at a certified (local) dealer- they replaced the brakes and went through the car to be sure that I would pass and get a great rate at Poulin Auto for a 6$ inspection. Upon arrival for my appointment it was pushed back 1 1/2 hrs, and when they got to it an 18 year old kid took off in our car NOT TELLING US and was gone for 15 minutes. Needless to say, they came up with a $1,000 in needed repairs one of which was a "terrible oil leak" in their words along with needing 4 new rotors. *REMINDER* The certified dealerships mechanics who replaced our front pads and put it on a lift for us said they would pass it for 40$, but being the penny pincher state of mind I was in, I thought these guys couldn't and wouldn't pull this on us. The car is great. We get home, look in our parking lot for any signs of oil leaks and we find none. Keep in mind, the car has been parked in the same spot in the same way for 6 months. We decided to park the opposite way, wait it out and see what happens. Well guess what? There is a minor leak now. When I called them to explain this they were absolutely manipulative and unwilling to see my side of things while totally not giving me a straight answer on why a child took our car without telling us or offering us to come for 15 minutes. This place is a sham. I've heard the stories of the family, the shady cars, the disregard for the consumer(s) but I wanted to find out for myself before I formed my own opinion. Now I may not be able to prove they did something to my oil tank, but they did. I live.2 miles from the barre location and HAD a certified legit company run through it all before I went there. xxxx xxxx xxxx. Now I will go on Google, yelp and Facebook and tell the world. Barre's finest....

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Matthew Ballard
Matthew Elliot
Barry Paquette
1.0
October 07, 2016

"NOT WORTH THE TRIP"

- 4lici4

In need of a vehicle YESTERDAY, we called in advance about 2 specific vehicles... they said they'd have everything ready for us (this being our 2nd time here, we figured it wouldn't take too long) Upon our arrival they decide to tell us that the car we had our heart set on, was just pulled from the service line (as if they didn't know when we called in advance). After that, we were basically pushed to try and test drive overpriced vehicles we weren't interested in AT ALL. 6 hours later, they are still "waiting for the bank to call" as their finance liason is having a blast in another office climbing up and down laughing at their techs through a window. HIGHLY UNPROFESSIONAL HIGHLY UNORGANIZED FALSE ADVERTISEMENT WASTE OF TIME

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Norm Poulin
1
...
1 - 10 of 126 results