Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Back

Proctor Subaru

Tallahassee, FL

2.3
407 Lifetime Reviews Review Dealership

1707 Capital Circle Northeast

Tallahassee, FL

32308

Directions

407 Reviews of Proctor Subaru

Sort by Write a review
January 13, 2020

"Poor Service Dept Experience"

- Unhappy customer

In January, brought my daughter’s car in for service. Issues that we shared 1) needed tune up 2) driver window wasn’t working 3) remote starter installed after-market was wired incorrectly. Asked for it to be looked at to see if could easily remove. Person checking us in was very friendly. On Tuesday, recvd call that car was done. This is when I began to get annoyed with our conversation. Re: wiring was told that yes, it was installed incorrectly & there was “damage” done to other systems as result. Damage could only be determined by removing remote starter, reconnecting everything & doing diagnostics. He then attempted to move on in the conversation. I stopped him, concerned that he mentioned “damage to other systems”. I asked what damage. He said they couldn’t know until diagnostics were done. I asked though, what kind of damage might have been done. He then said, they didn’t know if there was damage, but needed to check the systems to see if damage was in fact done. We went around in circles for a minute, me trying to understand was there damage or not…but didn’t get anywhere. Not sure why he was doing this, but handled poorly. Then he mentioned the issue with window was that track window rode on was stuck. They lubricated it & now works fine. I mentioned that the window had intermittently worked/malfunctioned so, asked how we know that this fix was going to work as opposed to it malfunctioning a few days after we leave dealership (which is what happened few months ago when taking it somewhere else). His answer was that track had been stuck & they lubricated it so now it was working; a repeat of the previous response; a non answer. I told him that I understood that, but it has worked & then not-worked before. He repeated the same non-answer. We went back & forth & he finally said that they did what they could & believe it’s fixed. If it malfunctions, we should bring it back. This answer, I understood. It took a long time to get there. What I had wanted to know was that did he think this fix was a bandaid or a permanent fix (best guess). If clearly a bandaid, we would have just replaced window. When my daughter picked up car, as she was driving off, she noticed check engine light was on. She asked agent if checking this out was not part of tuneup. He said no & wasn’t checked because we did not ask for it to be checked. At that point, she called me. I spoke with him. Asked him why we weren’t notified that light was on. He mentioned that he only just saw it himself. He then though, mentioned that mechanic did notice it when the car was brought in. I asked why then didn’t somebody call us & tell us this was the case & to see what we wanted to do? He mentioned again that it wasn’t on list of things we asked to be checked, so they didn’t check it. I mentioned that I’ve never been to a mechanic that wouldn’t call & say, “hey, your check engine light is on, how do you want to handle”. He said he understood but that he only just saw the light. I said I understand, but that he had said the mechanic saw it from the very start. He said that was right, but mechanic didn’t mention it to him & that it wasn’t one of the things we asked him to check out!!!???? This was an absurd conversation. It’s like going to the doctor for a bad cold, doctor notices that your blood pressure is through the roof but doesn’t mention it because it’s not what you came in for. As side note, on my Tuesday call with same guy, In addition to the above, he mentioned that mechanic noticed slight leaking from head gasket. He didn’t recommend doing anything about it because it would be at high cost (which I appreciated) and it wasn’t significant. The point though is that nobody asked him to check this out. But he did anyway & made us aware of this. But not the check engine light? Because it wasn’t on the list?? To make sure my daughter’s car is safe to drive, I should/would have kept the car there to have diagnostics run on check engine light. I have such little confidence in this service department however, that I chose not to do so & had her take it elsewhere. Also, I have yet to receive invoice. The agent, while I was on the phone, said he was emailing it to me. Never recvd. On another note, was charged $119 or so for checking wiring. I have had 5 or 6 mechanics/service depts check this wiring in past. All have said same thing. Wiring of starter is a mess. NOT ONE of them charged us a diagnostic fee. After writing the above to the sales manager, he responded promptly via email, which I appreciated. He said he was forwarding my note to couple of others & that I’d be hearing from someone. I never heard from anyone. My daughter did receive a couple of very formulaic emails (they also called twice, but she works and is unable to talk during the day), offering a discount on service but never specifically mentioning the problems and concerns voiced. Yes, I do expect good service when I go somewhere. This I think, is a pretty low bar. But not met.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Bert Price
Billy Swindell
August 28, 2019

"Professional and friendly without being annoying "

- ryan427

I would absolutely recommend Proctor Subaru service to anyone who owns a Subaru. This is the second Subaru we have brought to them. Billy Swindell is 100% professional and 110% human. He just gets it and we really appreciate that. We've had nothing but thorough work from the techs, detailed descriptions of what was done, and nothing ever done unnecessarily. I've also talked with Bert (Sales Mgr) a few times... another stellar guy there if you need some help. Well done.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Billy Swindell
5.0
Bert Price
5.0
Aug 28, 2019 -

Proctor Subaru responded

This is wonderful to hear, Ryan. Thank you so much for taking the time to share. We appreciate you!

December 03, 2018

"Service department difficulties."

- PreviousCustomer47

Whether deliberate, or inadvertent, this service shop has become very shady and lost a long time customer. The previous visit, I went in for a timing belt change, dropped the car off running smooth. Paid for service, got notified power steering pump was leaking, and picked up car, immediately noticing the car running funny. Was told it was due to my o2 sensor malfunctioning. Replaced the o2 sensor myself, then returned here. Now, it's because all my vacuum hoses are dry-rotted. Okay. Dropped off car to replace dry-rotted hoses, with no problems to my power steering (aside a "leak" that had to be small, because fluid levels never changed). Paid, then started my car. Sounded great, except now I have a failed power steering pump, that I wasn't notified about, and just happen to fail while under their care. During all this, they could find my power steering pump had the tiniest leak, but didn't notice my radiator was cracked and leaking all over the place, which I discovered and fixed myself. Another previous visit, they told me my clutch was malfunctioning. Paid them to replace it (unnecessarily btw), to be told the problem may be with the master cylinder. The actual problem found by my own research was an issue with the welds at the firewall, of which, this shop wouldn't touch and couldn't recommend anyone. Couldn't find a local to fix that problem either. Repeatedly, even before these events, I have discovered new problems with my car, which didn't exist when I dropped it off, and, these new problems weren't disclosed to me as a change of state between drop off and pick up. I will not bring my car here ever again and I will advise everyone to stay away as well. There is no fixing this relationship, or this review.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
AJ Walker
November 20, 2018

"Great experience for my first Subaru"

- alex

I bought a new Subaru Forester Sport from Proctor Subaru. The experience was very positive. It was a low pressure experience with fair pricing and terms overall. I shopped around at many other dealerships and found Proctor's price to be the most competitive. I would highly recommend Proctor Subaru and Austin (our salesperson).

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Austin Archibald
5.0
October 06, 2018

"Unprofessional with a take it or leave it attitude "

- Disappointed customer service

It started with a phone call to the dealership about an online Pre Owned Subaru. The salesperson was (Austin) nice but the total experience went down hill from hello. We told them up front we were pre approved from another Subaru dealership so they new we were buyers and by the way we drove three hours to get to the dealership We never met the salesmanager We met the finance xxx manager who thought he was cool with his statement of it's all black and white. Anyway they sent in to get financing with Subaru. The rate was a little higher than we thought but they then told us our payment was 425 a month with 2000 dollars down. Hmmmm the other dealership got us approved with Zero down and a higher priced Subaru for 585 a month. This just told me the proctor Subaru was priced way above book value The finance manager came into the office after we asked to speak to him and said to my wife. Oh you have Red Flags All over your credit Wow what a great delivery idiot to tell a women buyer that. But he never said what could we do to sell you this Subaru or how about another one for less money to lower your payments or a lease on a new one. Nothing just here are the facts black and white So he let us walk out and didn't try to sell us anything. Still no salesmanager interaction at all. No follow up calls at all I recommend you don't buy from this group as they employ smart mouth un educated people with no manners

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Austin Archibald
5.0
Ron Modzelewski
1.0
Other Employees : A real manager should be involved in all transactions sold or not. Shows that they don't really care about business anymore.
June 26, 2018

"Sales force is FAR better than their horrible service dept."

- PO'd Nole

I would NEVER take my 2010 Forester back to Proctor Subaru. After 3 swings... they're OUT. What a bunch of con artists! Frank Johnson, sales, is a super straight-up guy. I'm sorry he has such a bunch of liars and thieves in the service department to back him up.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Frank Johnson
5.0
Billy Swindell
3.0
Blane Tatum
1.0
Jun 27, 2018 -

Proctor Subaru responded

We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused. We take all feedback seriously, whether good or bad.

June 07, 2018

"Service Department techs are sloppy in their work"

- Dr. Bob

We love Proctor Honda. Unfortunately, we have not found their Subaru dealership to be very outstanding in the service department. The techs check off items that they do not inspect. The previous oil/filter change had the cabin air cleaner checked when in fact it was filthy. On this last oil/filter change, the tech overfilled the engine by about 1/3 of a quart and checked the box that there was 34 psi in the tires which is not factory spec. I routinely set them at 30psi for all four tires and that is where they were when the car was returned to us. The tech had advised my wife that the oil reminder had been reset and it was not. I had to call Proctor to get instructions on how to clear the code. Would recommend taking your Subaru over to Proctor's Honda store where there techs do a more thorough job.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
AJ Walker
3.0
Jun 07, 2018 -

Proctor Subaru responded

Dr. Bob, We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused. We take all feedback seriously, whether good or bad. Would you like me to have a manager contact you?

April 06, 2018

"Great service"

- Moosedogger2

Took my 2017 in for service yesterday, as always great and timely customer service. It is always a plesanent experience dealing with Proctor’s from purchase to maintence.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
AJ Walker
5.0
May 03, 2018 -

Proctor Subaru responded

Thanks so much for sharing this, and thank you for choosing Proctor Subaru!

March 01, 2018

"Great service!"

- Rose Wakeman

Took my Outback in for 37,000 service check up, and as always, was very happy with the service. The employees in the service dept. at Proctor Subaru are pleasant and helpful. They explain everything that was done, and tell you what to expect at the next service visit.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Tony Badia
5.0
Billy Swindell
5.0
Mar 06, 2018 -

Proctor Subaru responded

Thank you for taking the time to share this review, Rose! We are glad to hear you had a great experience. Thank you for choosing Proctor Subaru!

November 22, 2017

"Great service team at Proctor Subaru"

- Dennis

Over the years, I've found Proctor Subaru's service team to provide consistently exceptional service. The front office is staffed by courteous and clear communicators. Billy, AJ and Tony are all pros. They make sure you know what service is going to be performed and how long it is expected to take. If a new wrinkle is found, they ask you for authorization before making further repairs. They follow up by explaining the results of the service and don't just hand you a bill. If you need a pick up or drop off, their drivers are courteous and friendly. The waiting room is immaculate and stocked with plenty of refreshments. When the car is ready, it is cleaner than when I brought it in. Excellent operation.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Tony Badia
5.0
Billy Swindell
5.0
AJ Walker
5.0
Ron Modzelewski
5.0
Other Employees : Tony Heiberger
Nov 28, 2017 -

Proctor Subaru responded

Thank you so much for taking the time to share this, Dennis. We appreciate you and we are glad to have you as part of our Proctor Family!

1
...
1 - 10 of 407 results