About Us
Copyright 2019 DR Media Holdings, LLC
Search
Back
Write a review

Richardson Motors

1.5

11 Lifetime Reviews

1475 John F Kennedy Road, Dubuque, Iowa 52002 Directions
Sales: (563) 582-5411

Is this your dealership?

...and take advantage of all we have to offer with our Certified Dealership Program.

11 Reviews of Richardson Motors

Sort by Write a review
December 06, 2018

"underhanded upper management "

- Mary

As a widow on a tight budget, I spent two weeks working on a car deal with a wonderful young man, Vern, who I highly recommend if you want an honest, trustworthy salesman. That said, after I was quoted a price and informed I could purchase the car the next day after a blower motor was repaired, someone in upper sales management sold it to another customer in Vern's absence! After it had been promised to me! The owner didn't even bother to reply to my email and there was no apology forthcoming from the underhanded salesperson who had to have known the car was being worked on for someone else. Poor Vern was left with the awkward task of having to inform the widow he was trying to help that the best they could now do would be to offer a "deal" on another Ford vehicle. One of the vehicles offered is known for transmission problems and would cost $3000 more than the original deal, and the other would be $6000 MORE! If you absolutely MUST shop for a vehicle at this dealer ask for Vern. Make sure you seal the deal quickly then before upper management decides they'll sell it out from under his nose. Then don't expect an explanation or an apology from either the owner or the salesman if they do.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Vern Vondale
Dec 14, 2018 -

Richardson Motors responded

Hi Mary, we're very sorry for the inconvenience, as it sounds like you and Vern worked hard to find the right vehicle for you. The situation should have been handled differently and we will use this as a learning experience to improve our process. We also appreciate the compliments toward Vern. He will be happy to know that regardless of the outcome, he made a positive impact during your visit.

November 26, 2018

"2014 Honda Pilot "

- Chad78

We purchased a 2014 Honda Pilot. We even purchased the extended warranty. One day, my wife went out and tue car was completely dead. I used a voltage tester to chek the voltage I was getting 3.25 volts. I charged tue battery and retested it. The battery was was fine. I then started the car and tested the voltage on the charging system. I was getting 11.25 volts at idle. I knew that was less than the 12 minimum needed to run the car and that would mean that the battery was going to be constantly loosing charge. I called Richardson motors service department. I explained to them what happened and what I had done and that I suspected a problem with the changing system. The service guy talked to me like I was an idiot, but he did tell me to bring the car in. I took it in, and they come back 2 hours later and tell me all is fine evening checks out. I told him that doesn't make sense. I asked for some kind of explanation of why this would happen. He got an attitude and just told me that things just happen. I explained that this can't just happen because when I need the car I just need it to start. He tells me there is nothing he can do unless it is doing it when I bring it in. I then asked, how am I supposed to have it doing it when I bring it in if it won't start? He tell me well there is much he can do if it is not acting up when they get it and they won't just replace parts because I say there is a problem. Then he gives me a bill for $70 because they had to check. I pay the bill and move on. A few weeks later the same thing happened. I repeat all previous steps. I charged the battery and the car is back and working. I was told again if it is not doing when I bring it in there is nothing they can do. I hang up the phone frustrated as xxxx but move on. This is now the 4th time it has happened and this time it left my wife stranded at the store with my 3yo. I call them and get told the same thing but if I wanted to tow the car to them they could look at it when it is dead. I explained I have the warranty and now I am expected to eat the tow. I just want a car that doesn't leave my wife stranded, so if you want poor service with a lot of attitude. I would say buy a car from Richardson motors. They are great when you have your check book out to buy a new car, but when it comes to standing behind what they sell you, you would be better off going to another dealership. There are far to many dealerships to deal with them again. I will never buy another car from them, and I would reccomend you avoid them like a plague.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Rick
Dec 14, 2018 -

Richardson Motors responded

Hi Chad, thank you for the honest feedback. Batteries and other electronics can be fickle things, which makes it tough to appease a warranty company if we can't produce a failed part via testing. Regardless, we're sorry you're going through this trouble and wish the diagnosis could be more convenient for you. We'd be glad to re-test the vehicle in its inoperable state to get the issue narrowed down, fixed, and get you back on the road.

December 19, 2017

"Service Inspection not thorough at all"

- Justin Reynolds

Found my truck leaking fluid the day after I had the oil changed and supposedly an inspection was done but for as much as it was leaking I feel like there is no way they inspected anything.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Service
August 22, 2016

"Went the extra mile"

- Cube guy

After searching online for this car I was directed to Richardson motors. My phone call to sales department hooked me up with Tim Vath. I had explained that my Interest in this car was very sincere. He asked what my requirements for this car to be what I wanted. All the features were there except a backup camera and monitor. Tim went straight to the manager for approval to be included with our final offer. Explaining how I traveled by rent a car to test drive and buy this car. Approval was made. When it came to financing Justin Hendrickson went the extra mile with finding a bank to finance me when the issue of working my current job was a slight problem because I had worked there less then 90 days. He made the deal happen and I was greatfull to both Tim and Justin for getting this car on the road and me behind the wheel. Great job fellas.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
(Tim Vath ). ( Justin Hendrickson)
July 16, 2016

"One star sounds about right"

- customer

The other review here that's one star sounds about right to me. I have never bought a vehicle here, but a couple different times have taken it in for service. Both times the wanted to literally charge me TWICE what other services offered, and the second time they were entirely rude about it. The guy just got up and walked away without saying a single word to me when I told him I wasn't going to have my car fixed there. I've posted a similar review elsewhere, and the thing that makes me maddest is that their response is just a bunch of excuses about how they can't do anything differently. I work in a field where you use feedback as an opportunity to improve your work. But they have learned nothing from their negative reviews and just create a bunch of reasons why they are the way they are.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
A guy in the service department
May 12, 2016

"Pushy liar"

- unhappy customer

Don't trust this place. They are perfect con artists. They act all nice until they very end, were they push you into a sale that you didn't want to make and then change the pricing. I ended up paying a lot more for they vehicle I got then I was told and then also given a lot less for the vehicle I traded. I also did not want to use their banks, I had my own. They ran my credit anyway and now I get tons of phone calls, emails, and mail from banks soliciting my business. They definitely sold my information! I have never been so pressured into doing anything in my life! I regret ever stepping foot onto this car lot! If you are smart, do NOT EVER go near this place!!!!!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Mike Sullivan
June 24, 2014

"Absolutely pleasant experience"

- jerrymek

Ryan honoured the price promised and made sure that I had an absolutely memorable experience. He had good knowledge and was quite understanding and did a wonderful job.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Ryan
May 04, 2013

"What can we say Adam was great?he came out in the pouring..."

- Bkstra480

What can we say Adam was great?he came out in the pouring rain to help us.he was always very professional aswered all our questions.tookthe time to explain all the different options each car had. Let us test drive many cars. We would recommend Adam to family and friends. Everyone at richardsons made us feel welcomed. Thanks Adam for your time and patience. Rick and Bonnie Stratton

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Adam tigges
April 09, 2013

"My husband and I were pleased with the friendliness and..."

- toothfairyemily

My husband and I were pleased with the friendliness and attention to detail Richardson gave us. We got the vehicle we wanted in a timely process. The transaction was seamless from finding the car I wanted to making that car affordable with my trade-in. The guys at Richardson never treated me like a "girl looking for a car" when I came in without my husband. I appreciate the dealership and will now send my friends and family to Richardson Motors to receive courteous, caring customer service.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Adam, Dennis, and Ben
January 11, 2013

"I have never purchased a new car from a dealer. This was..."

- thennings

I have never purchased a new car from a dealer. This was my first time to spoil myself on something nice. I new a few options I wanted and the price limit I had. Adam Tigges treated me like a king, going above and beyond what I was looking for, and getting me a great bargin. No pressure at all, made me feel comfortable threw the entire process. If every sales rep they have at Richardson's is like him, I recommend this dealership 100%. I thank him and Richardson's for a great time and will definately be recommending them business and will consider them in the future for my families needs. Tim Hennings

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Adam Tigges
1
1 - 10 of 11 results