Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Back

Smith Volkswagen

Wilmington, DE

1.5
45 Reviews

4304 Kirkwood Hwy

Wilmington, DE

19808

Directions

45 Reviews of Smith Volkswagen

Sort by
September 30, 2021

"I purchase a car from this dealership and I told him that..."

- robin.black66

I purchase a car from this dealership and I told him that I was unhappy with the vehicle they did absolutely nothing to try to make things right they basically inflated in the numbers and gave you a nice little song and dance even told me I had to put down a lot of money stating that it was the financial company that told him that but I’m not sure about that so beware this was the worst experience that I ever had

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Cristian,Rick,Matt and Jeff
July 06, 2021

"A once amazing service department now quite the..."

- IanSpahr

A once amazing service department now quite the opposite. I would love to say my complaint is purely because it took 10 days to replace intake runner flap motors on a 2006 Audi A6 Avant, but it isn't. Everything that could have gone wrong did. Dropped off the car on the 22nd with Bobby, a service tech, stating it had a P2006 Engine code and I wanted to get an oil change while there. They stated they would do an engine diagnosis and figure out the issues. Later that day I was told it was the runner flap motors. Asked if that is near the intake valves and was told yes, so I gave them the okay to do the valve cleaning on top of the runner flap motors and oil change as they were already there. Agreed on the work being done and I was told to put down a 500 dollar deposit for the work to be done. All paid. All good. Talk to you soon. 26th rolls around and no word from Smith VW. I call and find out that they were waiting on a gasket and it would be done "early next week". 29th rolls around and still no word, so I call. I was told that day that they were waiting on 1 bolt. And that they most likely had the bolt in house, but never checked during the 3 days. Will be done tomorrow. The 30th rolls around and I get an email, not even a phone call stating that the valves are dirty and need to be cleaned with an extra 517.50 tacked on to the quote. Even though we had already discussed and agreed on getting the valves cleaned. . . At that point I drove down to the dealership to get a better idea of why this was taking so long. The service manager, Jason Willey, was nothing but dismissive, cold, and would not take responsibility. His catch phrase being "What do you want me to do about this?". Didn't even know much of anything of what was going on, what had happened leading to this issue, and also refused to acknowledge it as an issue. I demanded that the extra 517.50 be removed from the invoice. After much headache, that was what was done. When I asked why he didn't chime in when the car had been there for a week sitting, his response was "I deal with 50 jobs a day, do you think I can keep up with them?". Just constant excuse after excuse.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Bobby Service Tech, Jason Willey Service Manager
July 04, 2021

"Poor customer service. My son who is an active Duty..."

- Budjr

Poor customer service. My son who is an active Duty veteran took his car there for a clutch replacement. When he picked it up the check engine light came on in which he took it back to the dealer. They replaced some kind of flapper valve. After driving it for a little bit he noticed a noise that sounded like it was coming from the  clutch. In returning it again was notified that the mechanic took it out for a test drive and the motor "blew up" in which they want him responsible for all cost total close to $10,000. The dealer has insurance for this purpose and I feel they should be responsible for this.would not recommend

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Jason
May 11, 2021

"Don’t buy a car here. Go to another VW dealership if you..."

- mcfall.meg

Don’t buy a car here. Go to another VW dealership if you want a VW. I had THE WORSE experience I have ever had. For the past 7 years, I’ve bought multiple cars here, had all of my service done here and referred friends who have purchased cars as well. My Jetta spontaneously came on with an EPC light so I had it towed to the dealership. I got a call back that the timing chain had been stretched and the bill was 4100, the service guys made it out to be my fault over the phone... I HAVE HAD EVERY SERVICE DONE WITHIN THE INTERVAL AT THAT DEALERSHIP. After looking into the warranty I was sold under the pretense the car would be covered for anything but regular maintenance, it was a lie. The car did not even have 90k miles, wasn’t even half way through its financing and never had a light on the dash until that ride... eh oh actually went away after restarting the car. After doing research on the issue, I came to a class action lawsuit against VW for the vehicle for the exact problem... except it didn’t cover the 1.8L engine. Knowing I’ve been working with this dealership over the past 7 years, I gave them the opportunity to sell me another car and work a deal out with me through Kevin, who sold the Jetta and warranty that broke down to me. I was told there is no deal, no incentive and my car was worth 1500. After speaking with the finance manager Jeff, I looked into other dealerships and found a more expensive car, for a lower payment, with the same interest rate with less down and my car was traded in for 3500, the deal would not be matched by Smith VW, so I went with the better deal. The other dealership, came to tow the Jetta from Smith VW, and they would not give up the keys due to bill for a check engine light (which was not on by the way just the electronic power control, and it was not on when the car was towed in). This bill was 131 which is ridiculous to me. I’ve been inside the dealership and speaking with the service guys for days, no balance was mentioned, the car was never worked on, they knew it was a trade in. But rather than calling me to tell me about this bill, the tow driver was sent away and the dealership for the trade contacted me. Who does business this way! Wouldn’t you call the customer and let them know they have a bill or take the payment?? My next call was to Jason Smith, the general manager of the dealership. He did return my call, however I was at work so I called back when I was off. The receptionist who I might add is the only woman employed there, would not let me know when the general manager would be in next or if he works weekdays, leaves by 5, nothing. How do you operate a business this way? None the less, the finance manager Jeff called me back and said to come in and see him. So today I went in, paid the bill because I just want to be done playing the games, and dealing with the horrible service. So I spoke to Jeff, who had nothing to say but sorry you had a bad experience. I WILL NEVER BUY HERE AGAIN NOR RECOMMEND ANYONE TO. You trust a business, get screwed, and it’s sorry about your luck it was your fault. There is NO accountability here, stay away.

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Jason, Jeff, Kevin
September 09, 2020

"Car buying process was a breeze thanks to sales managers..."

- Jlynne65

Car buying process was a breeze thanks to sales managers Jeff and Matt, and the guys in the service department are always helpful whenever I have an appointment!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Jeff Kessler, Matt Stevenson, Tony, Henry
August 26, 2020

"Horrible Sales Department. They don't return calls at..."

- Customer Service Expert

Horrible Sales Department. They don't return calls at all! I will never return for anything!! Almost feels like you're begging to buy a xxxx car! I didn't, I went elsewhere!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
unk
April 22, 2020

"Rude staff, poor prices, horrible service"

- jack00000

From the first day I visited here to the day I made the mistake of buying my Jetta from them, the employees at Smith have been rude and unhelpful. I went through with the deal because it seemed great at the time, but after that, my experiences here have been nothing but horrible. Whenever I try to contact them on the phone I get a rude secretary who more often than not hangs up on me. Their service prices are outrageous and they make the car-buying experience one to avoid. Overall, I would recommend taking your money elsewhere. Cook Volkswagen in Bel Air has been wonderful to me the times I have gone there for warranty work.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
I do not know their names
April 16, 2020

"Today I called for the price of an oil change for my vw..."

- Mai

Today I called for the price of an oil change for my vw beetle & they wouldn't give me one.I will go to Pep Boys.

Read More
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Texted with customer service
March 20, 2020

"Poor customer service !!! Atlas is less than year old..."

- Awooddski

Poor customer service !!! Atlas is less than year old and they said radiator had a hole in it and would not fix it! So got my insurance involved and they agreed to cover it. Felt like service was very inexperienced with handling insurance . If I didn’t make calls they would still have my car. My car was there for two weeks and they never offered loaner .On the day they said my car would be ready, I still had to wait an hour at 4 o’ clock when I was there to get !!!! They had all day to fix and still could not have it ready at 4:00!! Then they had to verify that my insurance was paying them. Felt like I was inconveniencing them. Will not be going back !! I am writing a letter to corporate . This encounter was not what you would expect with a year old 40,000 car, or for that matter any new car you purchased there.

Read More
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Toni
February 05, 2020

"DO NOT GO HERE! THEY WILL LIE TO YOU "

- McMill

I recently went to this location looking to lease a new 2019 Jetta, and the customer service was not up to par, they are extremely eager and will do anything to misguide you to get a sale. The Sales Manager Jeff & Sales Consultant Justin quoted me a price for a new lease, the day I went to sign paper work they stated that the price has suddenly changed and they would have to give me a different rate for 39months instead of 36months which we previously spoke about. They wasted my time and ran my credit to come back with a crooked deal! DO NOT GO TO THIS DEALERSHIP! They will lie to you and are not trustworthy. I wish I read the views before I came here.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Jeff Kessler, Justin White
1
...
1 - 10 of 45 results