About Us
Copyright 2018 DR Media Holdings, LLC
Search
Back
Write a review

Subaru El Cajon

4.5

110 Lifetime Reviews

900 Arnele Avenue, El Cajon, California 92020 Directions
Sales: (619) 440-0404

Is this your dealership?

...and take advantage of all we have to offer with our Certified Dealership Program.

110 Reviews of Subaru El Cajon

Sort by Write a review
September 20, 2018

"Go somewhere else."

- Zoicite

It started with taking in my 2015 WRX in for serviced/repairs on Aug 29th 2018 at the El Cajon Subaru office. The car was shooting out hot air and lagging while driving. With the repairs adding up, it made sense to trade/sell the vehicle and get into a lease, it being our only vehicle at this time. We came to an agreement on pricing, and that the Invidia exhaust and galaxy shift knob were to be returned to me, and I would return the stock 2015 parts, extra key, and floor mats to the dealership. This was also discussed with Danny Gonzalez whom wrote these items in the paperwork at signing. Danny had also mentioned they weren't allowed to purchase a vehicle with aftermarket equipment, as it would void the warranty, and would need to be reverted back to stock OEM Parts. So during the past handful of days, Tim kept responding via text that "service was too busy with appointments" to remove aftermarket parts, that were promised to me. I had given many dates I could return the 2015 stock parts, to pick up my aftermarket parts later in the week, with Tims responses of "Service being too busy". Then Tim wanted me to bring the parts in and he would return my parts to my home at a later time. Which is completely unprofessional and doesn't seem like a standard dealership response, nor do I want a sales representative coming to my personal home after hours. Who is to say he takes the parts and "says he returned them to me, to run off with them", I don't know any company that allows their employees to take items to a customers house, extremely unprofessional. On Sept. 18 2018, I again reached out to Tim to bring in the stock parts, as I also had an appointment on Sept. 20th with the technology department for a follow-up, and they could return my aftermarket parts. Tim responded that they "could try, but service was still busy/booked".....then about 10min later calls to inform me they already sold the 2015 WRX with my parts still attached, and it was "too bad" attitude. One concern with these now obvious excuses is service was "so busy", yet they repaired the 2015 to resell it. The ball was definitely dropped in this court. I have since informed Subaru of America of this negative behavior and lack of customer care and service. Seeing as we had an exceptional experience with our past sales guy (Royal Wilkinson), he was courteous, professional and continued to follow-up months after purchase. Being a military community word travels quickly for friends and family searching for quality assistance and service. Seeing as we've financed and purchased Subarus since the early 2000's, this has been a negative impact on purchasing another Subaru after this ordeal. We have recommended this dealership in the past, but won't be doing so in the future. ____________________________________________________ Update: 9/20/2018 @ 1:30PM PST I had an appointment to meet with Tim, but was brought to Tomas's office about the situation. Upon arrival, he was not prepared at all and needed to review the situation again. Tomas' seemed extremely annoyed about my presence and situation and why would I even be upset. After updating him and repeating everything again, he left us in his office for over an hour waiting. He said the GM was "in a meeting" and we would have to wait for them to get done. When he finally did come back, they offered me "2 free oil changes and a shift knob from the back". I asked them if they felt that was an appropriate response, as it was a huge slap to the face. This was yet again a huge inconvienece, waste of time and a waste of gas. I have a maintenance plan, which Subaru of America also confirmed with me later, that covers my oil changes. I've been doing customer service for over 20years and if I treated any of our clients like so, I wouldn't have a job. I also had a follow-up with Connor regarding my technical details in the car. He was the only person at this dealership that apologized and acted genuinely upset over everything and their "offer" presented. Connor also continued to check in on us while we were waiting in the office, to see if we needed anything, or if there was any update on the situation yet. I was able to re-connect with Subaru of America once we got in the parking lot, to update them on today's occurrences. They were also more than apologetic for the lack of care and service from today and were also able to update my location to another dealer, to not deal with El Cajon's dealership. The only reason I continued with ElCajon was that in the past we had zero issues and good service, not sure what went south with their customer service, but it needs to change. Just do yourself a favor, and go elsewhere where customer service is on par, and they actually care about their consumers, not just making a sale.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Tmi Amposta
August 17, 2018

"Great experience"

- happy Touring owners

We were pleased to be able to walk into the dealership and be greeted, not hounded or bothered, by the salesman who answered our questions and showed us what we wanted to see. His name is Jack Manchester and we took a test drive. He was very knowledgeable and low key, no pressure. Basically the Subaru Outback Touring sold itself. We left to check out another car dealership but returned the next day to buy the Outback. Jack made a huge difference in that he was friendly without being over bearing and answered all the questions we asked, without pressing the sale. Taking the test drive sold the car, as it is a high performance vehicle with a lot of class; I learned not to underestimate the Subaru, it is deceiving how high end they are designed and built. Thank you to Subaru El Cajon. We recommend this dealership- and asking for Jack!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Jack Manchester and Conner George
July 05, 2018

"Dishonest! Take your business elsewhere!"

- Scoop

I was pre approved with my credit union and made it clear I wanted a loan with my bank and no where else. Two weeks after my purchase when my loan payment was sent I found out my loan was with another unaffiliated bank at a much higher rate. They told me it was a misunderstanding and they were sorry. There was nothing they could do and that I could refinance with my bank. They had also promised a c edit to pay for the car alarm and only gave me half of what was promised. Dishonest all the way through the transaction. I buy a new car at least every year and deal with different dealers. This experience was the worst I have ever experienced. Take your business elsewhere!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Jason Connor
February 02, 2018

"Easiest purchasing experience"

- ZeroTsum

I originally came to Subaru El Cajon to test drive a Forester, but after more research I decided that the Crosstrek was the car for me. So after doing my due diligence by reviewing prices using TrueCar and Costco, I set about comparing different dealer quotes. Royal Wilkinson at Subaru El Cajon came in the lowest by far. I thoroughly enjoyed the process. Royal was respectful, personable, and above all else, professional. We chatted about his life as a salesman during slow moments in the process, which made the time go by. I would recommend that you work with Royal on buying your next Subaru. He will give you the best deal possible.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Royal Wilkinson
November 22, 2017

"Ask for Royal"

- harrison C.

This is our second purchase from Subaru of El Cajon. Royal took care of us the first time. Everything went on smoothly and painless. He did such a super job that we did not go to anybody else for our second purchase. If you are in the market for a new car then ask for Royal. He will take care of you.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
.
July 28, 2017

"Royal in SALES "

- Ron A

I normally do not write reviews as I hate all the adds that follow. This time however I thought it was necessary. This purchase was my third one from ROYAL at El Cajon Subaru. He was fantastic in getting me a deal that I could not refuse. The finance department was a breeze and took only about 40 minutes from saying yes to getting the keys. On Delivery, this is when Royal on his day off came in and spent over an hour showing me all the details on the car and hooking up my phone etc. It was such a positive experience I will only buy from him in the future.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Finance dept
June 19, 2017

"Poor Customer Service"

- KirbyT

Do not buy from Subaru of El Cajon if you except even the slightest bit of professionalism. Here is my experience which I will try to keep short. All of this took place within two weeks and for one week I was on vacation. I ended up purchasing a used 15 Colorado from Subaru of El Cajon. I absolutely love the truck so my issue isn’t with the vehicle it is with sales, service and managers. After driving the vehicle home I rolled down the passenger side rear window which was followed by loud scratching noises. When I rolled the window up, there were 7 extremely large scratch marks in the tint. I then sent Subaru an emailing letting them know what happened with zero response. I called asking to have this taken care of before I go on vacation because I know they would say I waited to long to say something. Even after telling the customer service gal, service employee and sales team this happened immediately after driving the car home nor did I have a dog or person in the back seat I was immediately accused of scratching the window. I was specifically told “You installed a leveling kit so you probably took the vehicle in the dirt.” Even after giving the service and sales employees my word they still said dirt got into the seal after ownership or my dog scratched it. Even after telling them, I never even opened the door I was accused of damaging the window. Since I was unhappy with the outcome and already out of town I spoke to the sales department. The sales manager said “since you’re out of down we have time to work on a solution.” Which I responded with, "I will be unavailable via cellphone so please send me an email. I land back at LAX at 12:20 so I will pick up the vehicle after I land since I need it for work Monday." The sales manager said okay. During my vacation I never heard from him and when I landed at LAX the sales manager had Sunday off so my keys were locked in his office. After being told my keys were locked in his office there was nothing they can do, I spent at least 45 minutes on the phone with them until another sales team member checked if his office key worked. Wouldn’t you know it did! I drove from Los Angeles to El Cajon to find my window tint still scratched with zero solution. At the end of the days it’s only a $60 fix. For me this was not about the money, moreso accountability. They missed this window seal on their trade in inspection therefore I wanted it resolved. I have since then resolved the issue by cleaning the seal finding debris between the seal and window. The nail in the coffin was 3 separate employees telling me "I'm just the low guy on the totem pole, I cannot make any decisions." I have never dealt with such incompetent individuals. If you want any type of customer service go elsewhere.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Service and Sales
June 09, 2017

"Great!"

- susan92119

Ask for Royal W. Very knowledgeable and friendly. No pressure. Very patient explaining our new Suburu to us. Will definitely go back for our next car!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
finance person
May 27, 2017

"My New Legasy"

- Deby

I was in need of a new car, I met Jack Manchester at El Cajon Subaru and he asked what my needs were and what I wanted in a car and then showed me all kinds of cars to choose. After I found my Legacy Jack made the process of leasing so easy that when I left in my new car I was not all exhausted and spooked about getting a new car that can come when one buys a new car and makes a new commitment.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Jack Manchester
May 24, 2017

"Fantastic Experience!"

- Kengelke

I recently purchased a Subaru Legacy from Subaru El Cajon and had a fantastic experience. The employees are knowledgable and polite. I could not of asked for a better experience while purchasing a new vehicle. Thank you all at Subaru El Cajon!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Royal Wilkinson
1
...
1 - 10 of 110 results