Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Back

Team Honda

Merrillville, IN

2.9
44 Lifetime Reviews Review Dealership

4613 East Lincoln Highway

Merrillville, IN

46410

Directions

44 Reviews of Team Honda

Sort by Write a review
November 02, 2020

"I am writing this because I sent a dear friend of mine to..."

- amelialarain

I am writing this because I sent a dear friend of mine to see Steve Whaley, Internet Manager today. I had to make sure he was aware that he needed to clean and sanitize his area and the vehicle before she arrived. She is a cancer patient and needed to make sure of this. I contacted him and he made sure that he understood and followed protocol. Well, my friend drove off in the exact car, color and trim level she wanted. Thank you for going above and beyond Steve, you are amazing.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Steve Whaley
Nov 04, 2020 -

Team Honda responded

This is wonderful to hear! Thank you for sharing this positive experience with us.

August 28, 2020

"Advisor, Amber Basile , only informed me of the..."

- bucdw1

Advisor, Amber Basile , only informed me of the recommended repairs via a web link. I was shocked to find out that the lights on the dashboard were still on. When I asked about the lights, she said I refused the repairs. She NEVER talked to me about the pros and cons of getting the recommended repairs like Honda service departments usually do. I paid for a diagnoses test but Ms. Basile did NOT bother to explain what was found until I complained about the lights. I have contacted America Honda to see if Honda has lower their standards.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
John Cuevas - Manager
Sep 01, 2020 -

Team Honda responded

I am sorry to hear you had a less than perfect experience in our dealership. Keeping our customers and their vehicles safe is a top priority here at Team Honda. To practice social distancing, we have the ability to send the vehicle inspection to our customers via a text message link. This enables each customer to view his or her inspection without having to worry about speaking directly with the Advisor. It sounds like we could have done a better job of communicating this process. We value and appreciate you as our customer and apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused. Please feel free to reach out to our Service Director John Cuevas if you have any other questions or concerns regarding this process. We are here to serve YOU, our valued customer.

August 21, 2020

"I'm writing with a review for the service department...."

- logom

I'm writing with a review for the service department. Being in a vulnerable age group, I have been dreading taking my CRV in for its recommended service appointment due to COVID concerns. I did not want the anxiety and exposure, but also wanted to get the service done before later in the fall or winter. I voiced my concerns to the gentleman who answered my call, and he recommended scheduling the first appointment of the day. I just returned and can honestly evaluate my experience as EXCEPTIONAL. Everyone I saw had masks on, hand sanitizer was readily available at every door and throughout the building, coffee and treats and the children's books/toys had been removed. The two men I dealt with, knowing my concerns, expedited sign in and check out quickly so I had minimal exposure. Overall, I am impressed they heard my concern and worked as best as possible with me to respect my situation. Thank you so much! Mary L. Hobart, IN

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
I don't know their names
Aug 24, 2020 -

Team Honda responded

We are during our best during these times, thank you for the great review Mary!

July 10, 2020

"Scammed by Mike Rainbolt (salesman)"

- jhaydencpt

Bought 2018 Honda Pilot awd elite from Team Honda Merrillville. Salesman told us it had the sensor under the bumper to raise the tailgate with your foot. So we were at the dealership and the salesman got it to work, but then I found out he was secretly popping the tailgate with the key fob in his pocket, it doesn't even have the sensor he was lying. So not only did they lie to us about the feature, they frauded us by making it look like it really had it. They're trying to remedy this by us trading the new pilot in for a brand new one and having payments that are a couple hundred more a month?

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Jack Myers
1.0
Other Employees : mike Rainbolt
April 18, 2020

"Free oil change turned into 407.00 of bogus service I refuse"

- cnccook

I went to get a free oil change and tire rotation the dealership sent to me, not having any issues with car, just time for oil change. While my HRV Was in garage they come to me and say I need my tires balanced and a front end alignment and Differential exchange in rear and the cabin filter was falling apart. Thankfully I am somewhat knowledgeable about cars, nothing on the inspection indicated an alignment or balance was necessary. The vehicle is 2 years old with 15,000 miles. The tire tread depth is even, the tread and wear is good. No shaking, drives in a perfect straight line when hands taken off steering wheel, for quite a distance. There are absolutely no issues or leaking of differential fluid, no indications of any issues there and if the cabin filter truly is falling apart I would not want another from Honda. I thought very highly of this dealership until this incident. Not sure I could recommend this dealership to anyone. They could not answer me when asked why they said all this work was necessary.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Taylor Ramon and Robert Harrison
Apr 21, 2020 -

Team Honda responded

Hello, we are sorry you feel that way after your service appointment but are glad you refused those services. We never want to force something upon our customers. Those services were recommendations straight from Honda for the age/mileage of your vehicle and, as always, do not have to be performed unless you want to.

April 18, 2020

"Unprofessional salesman"

- shopper424

Salesperson Kevin Stanzione stomped away from a sales conversation we were having when he didn't like my reply to his offer. He acted like a child. He said, "That's all" and stomped off to the car and drove off. I've never had an exchange that was so juvenile and unprofessional in a business setting. He is not a good ambassador for the dealership. I would have purchased the car if he would have handled himself in a professional manner. He needs some mentoring and people skills. Like another reviewer, stay away...

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Kevin Stanzione
1.0
Apr 21, 2020 -

Team Honda responded

We are disappointed to hear that you had an unpleasant experience at our dealership. Our staff members always strive to satisfy our customers in a professional manner. If you would like, please reach out to our general manager, Jack Myers, to give some more details about your experience, we don't want our customers feeling this way.

March 03, 2020

"I was driving home from Ohio to Iowa. My civic si broke..."

- aravan75

I was driving home from Ohio to Iowa. My civic si broke down so i had to take it to the nearest honda dealer. Team honda help me fix my civic si. Excelent work & professionalism. Their mechanic is very honest by showing me & explaining to me the problem & showed me how he fix it. Team honda is the place ro be. Their honesty and professionalism surpass my expectations. I highly recomment team honda. Its more than 5star for me its a 10. Special thanks to service guy & the mechanic that fix my car. I apologize i forgot their name. Thak u guys for fixing the clutch on my civic si. Its been running smoothly👍👍👍

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
N/A
Mar 05, 2020 -

Team Honda responded

We are ever so grateful for your review! Your words of encouragement and your assessment of our services and products make us deeply proud of what we are doing. It is indeed our corporate goal to be the best in the market and through our hard work earn the loyalty and love of every single customer.

January 19, 2020

"Great sales, great service, great car."

- CJ

I bought a 2004 Mitsubishi Endeavor for under $5000 for one of my kids. This vehicle is so clean, l was shocked. I asked them to put it on a lift to view the undercarriage, and to my surprise it looked as good as the top. I did notice there was a typical problem with the timing belt, and they had their master mechanic look at it. He changed the timing belt and tensioner within a couple of hours. The SUV looks and runs fantastic. Hats off to Kevin Frazier in sales (Tall Kevin) and Ivy Sanek in service. (And the Master Mechanic Jason) I bought a vehicle under $5000, and was treated 10 times better than the service department at Gurley Leap Mercedes. (With a new Mercedes)

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Kevin Frazier, Ivy Sanek, and Jason (Master Mechanic)
Feb 06, 2020 -

Team Honda responded

Getting reviews like yours ranks among our favorite things! We believe that business is all about people and the greatest compliments we can receive are those that highlight the commitment of our staff to deliver the best possible service.

July 01, 2019

"STAY AWAY"

- meshell3444

, in short took my car in per American Honda to get my right half shaft looked at on a 2017 Honda Civic Si on a recall they had. It didn't include the SI but since I was only a few thousand miles outside of the factory warranty they said they would see what they could do to accommodate me. Took it in, they wouldn't cover the part because of modifications on my car which I said I understand but I need the part go ahead and order it. My car also had a couple recalls so they said they would go ahead and take care of those too while it was there. Oil change because gas was leaking in the oil and software update. Come time to get my car when they are done and there are charges for $430.56! They charged me for the filter for the oil $7.30 and supplies and hazardous disposal of oil $27.19 (mind you this is a recall) then charged me $134.99 for looking at my car that American Honda told me to take in to get looked at. Plus my part which I don't mind paying I needed it ordered. Part comes in they ordered the axle not the half shaft, then proceed to tell me that I TOLD THEM it was the axle they didn't even look at the half shaft! UUUMMM excuse me I was bringing it in for the half shaft which is connected to the axle so when I tell you there's an issue with the right half shaft axle and you yourself talked to American Honda and are looking at the specific part due to a recall why would you say YOU TOLD US IT WAS THE AXLE!! So, lets get this straight you charged me $135 to NOT look at my car but to say you told us it was the axle and so we ordered it. So I ATTEMPT to return the part because I need the half shaft, they won't return it because the BOX is damaged! Not the part, it is unused, untouched, in the same package it came in! So you can't return a $250 part over a 10 cent box?? No but what we can do is send it to Honda and see if they refund us and if they do we will then refund you in 5-6 weeks! Are you being serious right now! I said that is not an option, the parts manager Larry then proceeds to forcefully push the box at me and said you have two choices keep it or wait to see if I get refunded to refund you. Then tells me it's been over week since I received the part, yes my son works 12 hour shifts 7pm to 7 am he couldn't come til he had a day off and now I'm here cause it's my money that paid for this! He says well your here now you couldn't bring it! Okay Larry I have 6 kids and a job and I shouldn't have to take time out of my day to come fix a mistake YOU ALL MADE! So here's the resolution, we will order the half shaft, exchange this part and now you can pay an extra $127 price difference for the half shaft. Great the exchange works for you because you will return it and get your money back while I'm still forking out money! Glad it benefits you! Great customer service! I'll never go back there! I wouldn't advise my worst enemy to deal with those people!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Larry Parts Manager and John Service Manager
January 21, 2019

"used vehicle broke down 2.5 weeks and 60 miles from purchase"

- unsatisfied customer

DO NOT PURCHASE A USED VEHICLE FROM TEAM HONDA!!!Purchased an 08 ford taurus with 72,122 miles on 12/14/18 internet price 5895 "As Is" biggest mistake ever. The manager asked what he could do to for me to walk out with the car. I said 5700 out the door. Done. Within 2.5 weeks and around 60 miles on the car, it started running rough. Mechanic said #3 cylinder not firing. 500 plus dollars later, turns out the computer is not firing the cylinder. It will be 1000 plus labor. Went back to TEAM Honda, same manager said we can trade it in. He showed me 2 vehicles,an 07 and 08 with 123,674 and 136,638 miles at internet prices of 6150 an 6300. After a few hours of looking at each vehicle they asked me which one I liked. He came back stating that it would be an addition 1,964.50 and 2125.00 for the vehicles. Needles to say i was very irritated at this point. The money for my taurus came to 4842.12 from the 5700 out the door, so they took off roughly 1050 off the internet price to meet my 5700 out the door. The trade in for the car they were to give me was 4500. So immediately I lost 342 dollars. They expected me to pay full internet price for either of the 2 vehicles they offered. Again, my mistake for buying an as is vehicle but I expected them to do something to help out a customer. I hadn't even picked up the title at this point. They never made any effort to fix or look at anything. Hence my review. So instead of paying them an additional 2000 for a different vehicle that might break down after I leave, I am rolling the dice with a new computer. Sorry for the rant but this is my only recourse...

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Marvin Kimbrough
1
...
1 - 10 of 44 results