Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Search
Back
Write a review

Toms River Volkswagen

2.5

101 Lifetime Reviews

256 Route 37 East, Toms River, New Jersey 08753 Directions
Sales: (732) 575-1800

Is this your dealership?

...and take advantage of all we have to offer with our Certified Dealership Program.

101 Reviews of Toms River Volkswagen

Sort by Write a review
August 14, 2019

"Great Service, Amazing Results"

- Arholler95

I worked with John Fields and he was absolutely amazing to work with! Great attitude, awesome results, really works with your situation as a person, and not just a number. I went to other dealers and was turned away because of my trade in, or was being charged double for a monthly payment. John gave me an awesome deal on a lease for a brand new Volkswagen Jetta that included my payoff that was actually affordable!!! If you need a new car, I highly recommend going to Toms River Volkswagen and asking for John Fields.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
John Fields
July 29, 2019

"Takes advantage of customers"

- markeldunn

Came in to purchase a vehicle with a friend, and the sales transaction initially went smoothly. The salesman was nice and was able to provide the vehicle that we were looking for. A few days later, we get a call that there was a discrepancy in the paperwork that was completed, and that we would need to come back in to sign a new contract. We came back in to sign the new contract and the price came out to be a few dollars cheaper than it was prior which was….great. 3 weeks later, we get a call that the plates came in for the vehicle, but that another mistake was made on the paperwork and he would be required to pay an additional $100 on top of the thousands put down on the vehicle originally. I spoke with the finance person who made the error, who also admitted that she made the error, and she stated that she would speak with her manager to find out if there was anything that could be done to reduce the out of pocket expense due to their error. I never received a call back. I called again and spoke with the receptionist who advised that she would pass my message along to Joanne and that she would call me back. Again...no call back. In the meantime, the dealership called my friend in to tell him that he could come pick up his plates and completely bypassed me, even though I was the one who was in communication with them, because English is not my friend’s first language. When he got to the dealership they forced him to pay the additional monies. I called Joanne back, and she simply apologized for not calling back because they got busy. This dealership takes advantage of people, and they prey on people who are not able to speak for themselves due to language barriers. I am thoroughly upset with this dealership and do not recommend that anyone do business with them if they don’t want to be made to deal with all of their mistakes.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Mario, Joanne
July 27, 2019

"Sold me a vehicle under false pretenses"

- pinocavanni

I made a decision to purchase a 2002 Jeep Wrangler from Toms River Volkswagen. The deal I made was for $3400.00 on the road. They informed me the vehicle had mechanical issues so I would be purchasing the vehicle as is. Since they agreed to the on the road deal that told me the vehicle would pass an inspection. Upon getting the vehicle home, my mechanic discovered 3 cracks in the frame. When I questioned the dealer regarding how they were going to tag the vehicle without an inspection, they became defensive and said they would refund the tag and title money but not take their Jeep back. I did not agree to this deal. 5 days later the check for only the tag and title refund was delivered via Fed Ex and they have yet to return my calls. The owner responded to a different review apologizing for the experience and I should reach out to the GM for a resolution. I did, and still no call was returned. Very unprofessional do not buy from them.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Jim Ansbach, Terrence Grawl (GM)
June 06, 2019

"very bad experience "

- TB

there are 2 dealerships with the same address, seems like the same owner. We bought mitsubishi oulander 2019 from Toms River Mitsubishi. Since we purchased vehicle in the beginning of April 2019 it was about 5 times in the service. The first problem was defected engine control unit that cause the car battery to drain. We could not even open the car. The next issue was leaking sunroof that have been repaired twice. And it still leaks. i have all pictures and videos after the second repair, looks like they provide false repair reports that everything was fixed. The case manager from the Mitsubishi headquarters seems did not care that we are having such issues with the new car. We completely unsatisfied with the dealership and the service provided. They sold defected car and nobody care, neither the dealership nor the manufacture. I never had such bad experience before. Never Mitsubishi.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
James Natoli, sales person and Matthew Harris , service advisor
June 02, 2019

"Incredible customer service experience! Highly recommend!"

- Katie

I hardly feel so inclined to write a review, but from my first phone call conversation to picking up our new Atlas, the team at Toms River Volkswagen was the most impressive, professional, friendly, and knowledgeable group I've ever worked with to buy a car! I have to give special shout-outs to Christina and Austin in sales. If you're in the market for a new car, start with Christina and ask for Austin as your sales rep. Christina was patient and friendly. She answered all of my questions, and made the car-buying process easy! She was exceptionally knowledgeable, as well. Austin was awesome! Since I started the process over the phone, he kept me in the loop the entire time and also made it extremely easy. Austin was a true brand-enthusiast and knew what he was talking about. He said he's owned Volkswagens from the time he was a teenager, which made me feel confident in what I was buying. He was honest, and while Austin works in sales, I never felt like I was being "sold" something or that he was being pushy. I truly appreciated this! Even at the end, he never mentioned a survey or writing a review (no one at Toms River Volkswagen did!), which made my experience even more important to share with others! If in the market for a new vehicle, I HIGHLY recommend this dealership! The prices are right (just look online to see the dealer discounts versus other dealerships) and the customer service is top notch! Thank you, Toms River Volkswagen! We'll be back! And if you're in the market for an Atlas, we just bought the '19 SE Tech, and we have nothing but great things to say about it thus far! And if somehow you get to see this, Austin, Fast Break was a good recommendation for us! Thank you!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Christina Racanelli, Austin Zabilowicz
February 19, 2019

"Do not purchase a used care here!"

- Jman51194

Manager stated car was certified pre-owned but as soon as there was a problem I was told that was not the case. Now I need a new radiator at a cost of $1050 out of pocket. I will never use this dealership again. Thought the manager was sketchy and I should have listened to my gut.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Sales manager
December 29, 2018

"Service charged for work not preformed and lied about it"

- greg1212

Came for oil and tire rotation like last time. I did not believe that my tires were rotated last time , so this time i marked the back tires. After waiting 2 hours i was told that my car is ready. The back tires with the mark were still in the back, I questioned the tech Butler Kevin if he did rotate the wheals. He replayed that he did, then I showed him the marks i made. Hi sad well it is very busy today... that is also the excuse i got why the car was not washed. The service manager was not there, spoke with sales manager got my money back and left. I was going to purchase another car from here soon but this is a third strike with service for me. Time to buy a Honda or Toyota.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Butler Kevin
October 05, 2018

"worst customer service ever!!!!!"

- phyllis

When we arrived we were told to move our car and not park in front. We saw this volkswagen golf tdi on cargurus it stated that it was a 2015 for $ 14995. when we arrived and told them what we saw it for they said yes the price is wrong along with the mileage. the actual price was over $17000.00 and the mileage was 20000 more then it stated. They never tried to help us and spoke with an attitude. I left to make a phone call in my car and my son came up to me and said hurry just leave. Just a bunch of xxxxxxx salesmen. Turned us off from buying a volkswagen

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
cannot remember his name. Threw out business card
September 07, 2018

"Poor customer service"

- Car shopping in nj

Original associate on vacation when we wanted to look at car again. Referred us to Tony. Located a car we wanted. Later called to establish price before giving $500 deposit to bring car in to look at. Said we'd discuss offer and call the next day at 11. He was with customer and would return our call. As of 2:40 no call back. Decide for yourself if you'd like to do business here

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Mike. To y
September 02, 2018

"The best car purchase experience I ever had!"

- signaturefoto

Toms River Volkswagen - the only one dealer who gave me detailed price over the phone. I have tried a few dealers (Honda, Mazda, Subaru, Nissan...) All of them wanted me to come in first. Then I fell in love with Volkswagen Tiguan from the very first glance. I visited Hamilton Volkswagen which is closest to me. I was ready to buy but the manager didn't approve the deal we made with the salesman. I was upset but now I am grateful to him. He saved me $1000! My experience with Toms River Volkswagen is superior. From the first step to the end. Great thanks to Christina, Robbi and Terrance! All of them did a great job. And I am very happy with my new Tiguan.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Christina, Robbi, Terrance.
1
...
1 - 10 of 101 results