About Us
Copyright 2017 DR Media Holdings, LLC
Search
Back
Write a review

Toyota Carlsbad

4.8

706 Lifetime Reviews

5424 Paseo Del Norte, Carlsbad, California 92008 Directions
Sales: (760) 585-4440

Is this your dealership?

...and take advantage of all we have to offer with our Certified Dealership Program.

706 Reviews of Toyota Carlsbad

Sort by Write a review
October 16, 2017

"NOT 110% satisfied"

- joao norton

went to Toyota Carlsbad to BUY a Toyota CHR 2018 and return my Nissan Juke Lease! THEY "took" it but IIIIIIII.IIIIIIIIIIII will have to return the lease?????:(:(:( NOT RIGHT!!!!!!! otherwise, Martin Suarez, Lupi and James= ROCK! Toyota Carlsbad= YOU ROCK! and PLZ, keep it up! just DID NOT LIKE my having to drive to a nissan and return a car/lease TOYOTA CARLSBAD bought! :(:(:( and besides.... MY CHR was NOT equipped with a GPS as I wanted. I was informed the CHR 2018 is "not" equipped with navigation?:(:(:(:

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Martin Suarez and James
Oct 19, 2017 -

Toyota Carlsbad responded

Hi, there! Thanks for leaving Martin a great review! Please contact our Customer Relations Team regarding your Nissan Lease. Thanks, Toyota Carlsbad CR Team wecare@toyotacarlsbad.com

September 25, 2017

"I bought a truck"

- er296v

I bought a truck and the sales rep and finance manager were amazing I will definitely recommend this dealership to any of my friends and family members.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Alex and bob
Sep 26, 2017 -

Toyota Carlsbad responded

Hi, there! Thank you so much for choosing Toyota Carlsbad! We love hearing from our customers! Enjoy your new truck! Toyota Carlsbad CR Team wecare@toyotacarlsbad.com

September 10, 2017

"Poor Maintenance Service Or None At All"

- toyocam

Who knows your car better than Toyota? Not Toyota of Carlsbad! I want to let everyone in the surrounding area know to BEWARE of Toyota of Carlsbad. The frontline staff there is great, but It seems upper management is the problem. Instead of trying to resolve the customer’s issue(s), the first thing they do is see if you always had maintenance done at their center. I believe management has a very arrogant and cocky attitude due to the high volume of automobiles that come in for service. That is why management just considers people as numbers instead of loyal customers. I am writing this in regards to the bad experiences I had at the Toyota of Carlsbad dealership. I would be doing myself, Toyota of Carlsbad and other customers a disservice if I do not make a complaint. Being a loyal customer of Toyota of Carlsbad for many years, I feel that they screwed me over. Management wants you to be loyal to them, but they are not loyal to their customers. I have tried to rectify both situations I had with Toyota of Carlsbad’s management, but I got nowhere. On 07/02/16, I took my 2009 Toyota Camry XLE in for a 65K mile service and 17 point visual inspection. They only recommended that the brake and transmission fluid be flushed. They also were going to charge me $75.00 just to replace my positive battery terminal and clean it. On 02/11/2017, I took my vehicle in for an oil change. The service representative recommended that I get the 70k mile service. She explained to me all the things that were going to be done. After the service was done is when I started experiencing issues with my vehicle. My car was pulling more to the right instead of driving straight. The car was shaking when I would brake and the steering wheel was making weird clicking noises. I decided to look under the hood to see what the issue was and discovered that my power steering and brake fluids were way below the minimum level. My windshield wiper fluid was almost empty. My oil fluid was even low. I have been paying for these maintenance services, and little to nothing was being done. The multipoint inspection only noted corrosion on my battery. If Toyota of Carlsbad was doing inspection checks like they were supposed to, they would have made me aware of these issues I am currently having. Toyota of Carlsbad knows not keeping proper routine preventive maintenance on a vehicle causes major problems. Being a loyal customer, I have always had my vehicles serviced at Toyota of Carlsbad. I called other dealerships in the surrounding area just to be sure of protocol. They all refilled the fluids during the mile service checks. I paid for the services to be done, but I had to do them myself. Why on earth would Toyota of Carlsbad leave my vehicle unsafe like that? I contacted the Toyota of Carlsbad dealership a couple of times and did not get a response back. I attempted to resolve my complaint directly with the parties involved, but nothing got fixed. I went through this before with them over my 4Runner, so I went on their website and filed a complaint. I then got a message from one of the customer relations manager. At first the conversation seemed sincere, but then things got sour real fast. Instead of taking responsibility for the dealership’s negligence, the customer relations manager tried to shift the blame on me. These problems occurred because the Toyota of Carlsbad dealership failed to do their job properly. I thought she was very rude, unprofessional and insensitive. She was not listening, letting me speak and was talking down to me. At the end of our conversation, she told me “good luck” with an arrogant tone. After that, I received an email from the general manager of Toyota of Carlsbad. I told him about my experience with his dealership. He never replied back. I contacted Toyota Corporate and they told me to try and resolve the issues with the dealership. I told them I did, but did not get anywhere. One of the Toyota Corporate representatives tried to mediate with Toyota of Carlsbad’s management team. He was very helpful in trying to rectify the problem and put me in contact with a couple of people in management of Toyota of Carlsbad. I spoke to a couple of friendly service representatives and the service manager. Nothing got resolved and I feel that the service manager could have offered me a better deal based on all the issues I had with their dealership. On 07/18/2017 I took my car back in to get inspected properly. They told me it will cost over $8,500 to get my car fixed. I was in disbelief and feel RIPPED OFF that a 2009 Camry with 70,000 miles could have all these problems. The 2009 Toyota Camry is said to be the worst model made that has many mechanical issues and Toyota knows this. A couple of years ago, the issue with my 2002 Toyota 4runner was worse. The service department did not do the maintenance correctly and my rod went through my engine block. They had to rebuild my engine and did not even want to cover the cost knowing it was their mistake. Toyota of Carlsbad did not give me my money back or offered me any deals. I had to pay for the towing of my vehicle a couple of times because there were issues even though they did repairs on my truck. I even had to pay for most of the cost of the repairs because the general manager at the time thought I should. The frontline staff all knew it was wrong and thought I was an outstanding customer for not getting upset about the situation. I was in the military at the time and just kept it professional. My door locks is another issue that is unjust. Not too long after I purchased the car, the door locks started acting up by not locking and opening. I have contacted Toyota numerous of times about it, but they claim there is no recall on the defective door locks although they are aware of the problem. There is no coincidence that all the door locks can just go bad almost at the same time just as the premature power steering issues. I have also searched on the Internet and found out that there are a lot of other people experiencing the same problems I am. Toyota is supposedly known to consistently make the highest-quality cars with the fewest defects of any competing manufacturer, while using less man-hours, fewer on-hand inventory, and half the floor space of its competitors. Is this really true? I use to believe this, but now I do not. Even though I am currently disappointed in Toyota and dissatisfied with their service, I would like for my issue to get resolved. The quality of repairs and service were poor. There is always supposed to be service after the sale in order to keep customers satisfied. The first time I did not make a complaint. I regret it! After these two events, I do not trust the Toyota of Carlsbad dealership anymore. This has been one horrible customer experience! Toyota should strive to provide “World Class Customer Service” and exceed the expectations of their customers. This is no way to treat military members, veterans or any customers around here in the community! This is why I want to warn other Toyota of Carlsbad customers to BEWARE! People need to make sure that the service they are paying for is actually done. If that means inspecting the car after every maintenance service, then so be it. To resolve the problem, I am asked that Toyota of Carlsbad offer a simple apology and cover the cost of the required repairs if any needed (see below). I did not ask them to pay for everything. I just ask them to meet me half way based on what they did to my 4Runner, the poor service on my Camry and disrespect I received from their dealership. I think this is fair and reasonable since Toyota of Carlsbad has overlooked basic duties. I look forward to your reply and settling this matter amicably. Thank you for taking the time to read this letter. Cordially, Highly Dissatisfied Toyota of Carlsbad Customer Things I am paying for: Clean throttle EFI $162.00 L front shock $908.00 Brake Fluid $162.00 Transmission Fluid $280.00 Brakes (pads & rotors) $560.00 Air Filter (engine/cabin) $104.00 Battery & Hold-down $230.00 Strut Control Arms $1,700.00 Replacing Positive Battery Terminal & Cleaning Battery $75.00 Things I want Toyota to cover: Alignment (offered for free by Service Manager) $600 discount (offered by Service Manager) Power steering rack $2,359.00 (complaints) Door locks $1,527.00 (complaints) Steering shaft $483.00 (complaints& recalls)

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Management
Sep 14, 2017 -

Toyota Carlsbad responded

Hi, there: We have received your feedback on our other Social Media sites and have asked you to reach out to us so we can assist you. Please call our Assistant Customer Relations Manager, Mark B. Steinlauf at 760-496-2321. Thank you, Toyota Carlsbad CR Team wecare@toyotacarlsbad.com

September 01, 2017

"Great experience "

- ES

Had a seamless experience buying as we enter the holiday weekend. Moe was awesome in getting everything set up and ready to go as I was coming from out of town.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Moe
Sep 01, 2017 -

Toyota Carlsbad responded

Hi, there! Thank you for sharing your experience! It's great to hear Moe was awesome! Have a great weekend! Toyota Carlsbad CR Team wecare@toyotacarlsbad.com

August 29, 2017

"Car Buy"

- SammyM

Worked with a friendly, knowledgeable sales person (Patrick). He provided good options to test drive and explained the benefits of each. Managed us through a simple and easy purchase process.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Patrick Carr
Sep 01, 2017 -

Toyota Carlsbad responded

Hi, there! Thank you for choosing us to make your new purchase! I'm not surprised to hear about your experience with Patrick, we are the relaxed and friendly place! Enjoy your new ride! Have a great weekend! Toyota Carlsbad CR Team wecare@toyotacarlsbad.com

August 20, 2017

"New purchase"

- Tar1kim2

Salesperson was very friendly, knowledgeable, and most of all patient and calm. Staff very helpfull and very speedy process. Very large selections of vehicles and models.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Moe, Elma
Aug 21, 2017 -

Toyota Carlsbad responded

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us! Enjoy your new vehicle! We appreciate you choosing Toyota Carlsbad! Have a great day! Toyota Carlsbad CR Team wecare@toyotacarlsbad.com

August 14, 2017

"Repeat Customer"

- ToyotaRepeat

Bought my 1997 Camry here in 2000, and still have it. Bought 2001 Tundra here 3 weeks ago. Both great experiences - will come for next car.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Natalie Sanchez - email, Yazdani? sales
Aug 17, 2017 -

Toyota Carlsbad responded

Hi there! Thank you for your amazing review! We are so happy that you have great experiences with us, and we look forward to seeing you again soon! Best, Toyota Carlsbad CR Team

August 04, 2017

"Prompt and thorough."

- Ravbob

My only negative is that the Service folks remove my 'safety' settings which means I have to figure them out again. Not the 'end of the world,' but annoying and unnecessary.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Chase Wiegenstein
Aug 07, 2017 -

Toyota Carlsbad responded

Hi, there! Thank you for your feedback. Your settings should not be removed! Please contact us so we can take care of that for you! Toyota Carlsbad CR Team wecare@toyotacarlsbad.com

August 01, 2017

"I Feel Ripped Off"

- UnhappyJH

Boy oh boy do I feel ripped off. I was sold a tire replacement package when I bought my used car from Toyota of Carlsbad. I ended up with flat tires 3-4 weeks after I bought the car and guess what? The warranty doesn't cover road hazards. It appears to only cover defective tires from the factory. This wasn't the impression I was given when I purchased this. Molly in the service department is clearly trained to let me pay $800 for new tires, but find a way out of the warranty. Took her less than 10 minutes to do that I'd say. Ivan Mendelson the General Manager and I exchanged messages today. I just want my money back for the fake tire warranty. I doubt he'll do anything for me at all. My customer satisfaction level at this point is ZERO. I still love my Prius but this dealership may not warrant your business. Think twice. Consider Mossy in PB. Another customer in the service center tells me he feels that they are more straightforward and honest with service issues...

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
GM Ivan Mendelson
Aug 03, 2017 -

Toyota Carlsbad responded

Jeff: We appreciate that you brought your concerns to our attention and we understand that the general manager was able to find an amicable resolution for you. We do strive to satisfy our customers and understand that good communication is an important aspect of the relationship. Thank you for your time, Toyota Carlsbad CR Team.

August 01, 2017

"Toyota Carlsbad Service - new key"

- John G

I went in for a replacement key after losing mine. I interacted with 5 different employees and all were very pleasant and polite. The lounge area was clean and well stocked with complimentary water, snacks, and fresh coffee. An overall pleasant experience.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Dave
Aug 03, 2017 -

Toyota Carlsbad responded

Hi! Thank you so much for your review! It's great to hear you were assisted and enjoyed our lounge! Enjoy your week! Toyota Carlsbad CR Team wecare@toyotacarlsbad.com

1
...
1 - 10 of 706 results