Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Back

Toyota of Berkeley

Berkeley, CA

not yet
rated
8 Reviews

2400 Shattuck Ave

Berkeley, CA

94704

Directions

Is this your dealership?

8 Reviews of Toyota of Berkeley

Sort by
December 12, 2017

"Go to Toyota of Berkeley!"

- GreatPrius

Don't go to another dealership, go to Berkeley! Good people, good location, good service, good cars. I will visit again next time I need a new car.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Khanh
September 18, 2017

"Learned all i need to know about my new car. Great "

- Berkeley01

Best . Come here for new cars. They teach you everything you need to know about your new car. They have someone come out and walk around with you until your familiar.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Melissa, sales team
August 19, 2017

"Stay Away From Toyota of Berkeley!"

- tillithz

In short, stay away from this Toyota dealership, sales, service, and parts departments are dishonest, incompetent, and or unaccountable. There are other words I would like to use but will keep the review how I would like to have been treated, professional. My experience with Khan, in sales was unhelpful. A manager that hides behind a desk and repeats he cant do anything, is a useless position. Timothy Southwick Jr. you could easily eliminate Khan's position and not only save his salary but provide a better customer experience. Every employee at Toyota of Berkeley has the ability to assist every person that contacts you. I was asked to come into the service dept. so they may take pictures of my windshield that was replaced by an outside shop an hour earlier on 8/17/2017. The windshield has a defect inside the glass (it is not on either side) it was installed because the original windshield had already been removed before the blemish was discovered. I arrived at about 2:30pm and was instructed to ask for Jason. He greeted me and began to try taking pictures of the 2" line INSIDE the glass. Took about 10 minutes literally. after which time Jason admitted he wasnt sure why he was taking the pictures and refereed me to Jeremy who is in the parts dept. and knew what was going on. David Sardino greeted me while Jason went to get Jeremy. Sardino made himself comfortable on the hood of my truck with his arm stretched out holding up his chin. I asked him to please lift off of my truck as I am not comfortable with him doing that. Sardino began to go on about all kinds of defects in windshields that he has seen over the years, commenting that When they built my truck the blemish may have been there. I told him that the windshield was just installed an hour ago. He looked embarrassed since he didnt have a clue why I was there. He began to tell me how they may not warranty the windshield or that I may not get this fixed. I explained that if need be I will pay for a new windshield and installation. Jeremy sensing my frustration said that wont be necessary we will warranty it and have it installed at no charge to you, dont worry about it. Sardino was standing there the entire time listening to Jeremy. Jeremy asked for my phone number and name, then said they use two glass companies (Paramount and Quick Glass) and one of them would replace the glass tomorrow afternoon. Jeremy did say that he would try to get the windshield warranted but said to not worry they WILL take care of it and to call him in the morning to verify the new new glass was delivered. I called 8/18/2017 at 11:10am and Jeremy said the glass came in and it was sent to the outside shop. He asked if they called me, I said no but I am on the way to the dealership. When I arrived Jeremy said that Sandino (Service Director) had denied the warranty service (the day before) for the installation but would warranty the glass. They did not call me and tell me that they were now not going to take care of it, nor give me the opportunity to pay for it as discussed the day before. Jason, the assistant service manager, told me very confidently and insultingly, "We will stand behind our decision NOT to warranty the service" I am taken back by this conviction, in todays world everyone else says how their service is reputable and you can count on them. Not Jason though, he is determined to not be of assistance and to insult you while doing it. finally, a tech (JJ) comes by and says if you are willing to pay for it we will install it today. At first I was open to this as the cost of getting a perfect glass and the work done was the single most important piece to me. After speaking with Khan and how he could do nothing, not even contact Timothy Southwick Jr. on my behalf or anyone else to assist I lost all confidence in the dealership. I would be a fool to let them touch my vehicle at this point. Jeremy said the glass would be sent to the outside shop for them to replace. About 20 minutes later, I met the parts delivery at the outside shop. The new new glass was opened and inspected. what do you know, the new new glass has the SAME blemish. I call Jeremy and he says that lots of shops claim the glass is broken from Toyota when in fact it is not. I ask him how likely is it that this time the glass came from Toyota defective. He says he doesnt know. Seriously? The glass was inspected by Toyota of Berkeley at delivery and was found to be defective! I said how much worse would this have been if I paid and let ToB install it, to which he said they wouldnt of installed it. In summary, Jeremy was not honest or unaccountable when he told me not to worry and took my contact info. David Sardino does not respect the customer's vehicle and did not extend the courtesy of correcting misinformation as it was explained right in front of him. Jason while being cocky and arrogant insulted me. I dont expect warranty on service they dont provide, unless they say they will & not to worry.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
David Sandino, Khan, Jason, Jeremy, AJ
January 10, 2017

"Rude, inept, and dishonest"

- Toyota of Berkeley is THE WORST

I asked for a ride along when I scheduled my appointment as there was a loud buzzing coming from my brand new truck. I was told when I got there that they were too busy to have a mechanic ride with me and that they would take it out themselves.... SERIOUSLY? I just spent 40K on a new truck and this is my first service.... Anyway at the end of the day they tell me it went out for a drive and there was no noise. HOWEVER. Mileage in the shop was the same as mileage out of the shop on their own paperwork... How do you test drive a car and not add one mile???? Took it to a different dealer and they not only heard the noise but they diagnosed it in 2 minutes and ordered the parts..... DON'T WASTE YOUR TIME WITH THIS DISHONEST AND LOUSY BUSINESS!!!! Toyota has been notified and I have a case number..... Worst experience from a dealer ever...

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Kent Muon and Jose Becerra
February 17, 2015

"Second Rate Servcie"

- Frank

Every time I take my car in I am appalled at the customer service---Whether its the wait time, driving around in shuttle that is so old and rickety that it needs a face lift. Rushing in to have my car there early, then having to wait 30 min for the shuttle is not good business. Offering us a free breakfast around the corner? Also, I am used to having my car washed after a big service... maybe I am expecting to much, but this place is depressing and the only reason I keep going back is because it is the closest one to me...

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
dont recall
October 25, 2012

"Bought my second Toyota from this dealership and..."

- DANNOBLE

Bought my second Toyota from this dealership and Abdul(Sales Rep) in the last 5 months. Very pleased with Sales rep Abdul. Both times he had to dealer trade to get my specific vehicle. Toyota of Berkeley has the best prices in the state. I check 50 dealers in Nor Cal and Southern Cal. NO ONE COULD TOUCH their price. Not even Longo Toyota. Very friendly, no pressure just great deals. GET THE BERKELEY PRICE. Go to Toyota of Berkeley. Ask for Abdul and drive home in a new Toyota at a great price..

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Abdul Hamid
June 01, 2012

"Purchased a used VW this past Sunday, pulled off the lot..."

- ktraylor

Purchased a used VW this past Sunday, pulled off the lot on a completely empty tank of gas with the warning signal beeping at me. Three days after purchasing the car, the engine light came on accompanied with beeping warning signals. I was told that their service department would check it out but there was no promise of whether I would be paying for the service of not. Since the dealership is a good 20 miles from where I live and I wasn't sure if it was a serious problem that would either ruin the engine to drive with it that way or if I would end up broken down on the side of the road, I took it to a VW dealership 2 miles from my house. They discovered an emission valve was at fault and that until it was fixed, it would not pass smog inspections. After contacting Toyota about what I was told, they were smart elics, stating they felt there was no problem at all, that I probably just didn't screw the gas cap on properly and that whether it was 3 days, 3 weeks, or 3 years, I had purchased the vehicle and it was now my problem. I can't believe the way this dealership actually conducts business. If I had known, I would have never bought a vehicle from them. They don't deserve to be in business.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Sam, Michael, Abrey, Angela
July 16, 2004

"I went in on a Wed to get a quote for my 00 Celica. I was..."

- gopalaj

I went in on a Wed to get a quote for my 00 Celica. I was asked if I was willing to sell it on the day itself to which I said yes, provided the number was right. This guy went in talked to his manager, then came back saying they dont have time to look at the car and offer a quote. Fair enough. He set up an appointment on the Friday. Went in on Friday, taking some time off work. I waited around for a while before anyone got around to me. It all seemed a bit unproffesional for a so-called dealership. The first guy I spoke wasnt around, some other bloke called bill blinks came around. Same questions, asked if I was willing to sell the car on the same day blah blah then tells me to come back next week as they are 'busy'. I just dont get it - totally snobbish, doesnt even look at the car. While I understand a used car may not fetch them as much as a new one, they could still have netted a 1.5-2 grand profit from it, me thinks. ssimply put, he was rude and I simply left, livid inside. Chances of me doing business with them - not in a million.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Bill Blinks
1
1 - 8 of 8 results