Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Search
Back
Write a review

Toyota of Merrillville

4.1

47 Lifetime Reviews

1777 E 81st Ave, Merrillville, Indiana 46410 Directions
Sales: (866) 314-2864

Is this your dealership?

...and take advantage of all we have to offer with our Certified Dealership Program.

47 Reviews of Toyota of Merrillville

Sort by Write a review
April 15, 2019

"My new car purchas"

- cubbiebear77

Demetri and Sean were exceptionally hopeful and prompt with helping the purchase of my vehicle. Highly recommend you stop by the Merrillville store for your Toyota needs. Grade A service

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Demetri and Sean
September 07, 2018

"160-Point Inspection is Insufficient!"

- frustratedbuyer55

I recently had a bad experience at Toyota of Merrillville that I would like to share so that no one else has to go through the same frustration. I drove several hours to the dealership to see a used vehicle that I found online. Upon asking if I could have a mechanic inspect the vehicle, I was told “only if your mechanic comes here.” This should have been a red flag, but I trusted that a Toyota dealership with a “160-point inspection” would not sell a vehicle that needed any expensive repairs. That same week I found out that the vehicle needed approximately $1,200 in repairs and was told that it was unsafe to drive until the repairs were made. Not only did the dealership refuse to make these repairs, the General Manager didn’t even respond to any of my inquiries. When purchasing a vehicle from Toyota of Merrillville, make sure you “bring a mechanic there” and have the vehicle inspected… once you are out the door, don’t expect any sort of response or support!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Ed Early, Mike Bauner
August 03, 2018

"Not what I expexted at all (in a good way)"

- JHanko

My wife and I were searching online for a new Highlander and found that this dealership was the closest (1.5-hour drive) that had the color and options we were looking for. I gave them a call to confirm it was still available and was greeted by Demetrios, who addressed my question without pressing me for a phone number and email address first (the first pleasant surprise). We were looking online for a Highlander for at least a week and had called several dealerships, so we had a general idea of how much the dealers were willing to discount them. Online car shopping has really empowered buyers. No more walking blindly into dealerships with your pants around your ankles. I made a Demetrios a fair offer for the vehicle and was told that he'd ask his manager and get back to me. Within 5 minutes, I got a call back and was told they would accept my offer. I was concise in informing him that I would be coming in that afternoon to see it, I would not need financing of any kind and that I would be coming in during rush hour traffic (IL to IN) and probably wouldn't be in the greatest mood when I arrived. When we arrived, we were greeted by Demetrios and taken to the vehicle, which they had brought inside for us to inspect. After a couple minutes of looking it over, we told him that we would take it. We followed him to his desk, where I immediately noticed that everything needed to complete the sale (owner’s manuals, key fobs, bill of sale paperwork, etc.) were all there. 2 big thumbs up right there for preparation. As we started finalizing the paperwork, I noticed that there was no financing application hidden in there. I even commented about this and was told "you said you didn't need financing". Not once was I asked about financing or asked for a social security number (the second huge pleasant surprise). We finished up the paperwork and presented payment. Within 45 minutes, we were driving off the lot in a brand new Highlander. It honestly could have been 30 minutes, but they demanded they clean it up first. To conclude, this turned out to be a pleasant, completely bull$hit free experience. No hassles. No wasted time. No pressure. I walked in prepared for battle and was genuinely surprised to encounter none at all. Demetrios completely understood our situation was a pleasure to work with. I can't thank him enough for that. The management staff should also get recognition for allowing the sales staff to work without their hands being tied. This is NOT your typical $cumbag car dealership and Demetrios is DEFINITELY NOT your typical $cumbag car salesman. I cannot recommend this dealership and Demetrios enough. I normally would not take the time out of my day to write up a review like this (especially after 4 hours of driving on 80/94 during rush hour), but I have to give credit where credit is due. This was a pleasant car buying experience and I was not expecting that at all. Jeff Hanko Joliet, IL

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Demetrios Volikas
January 11, 2018

"Research, Travel, Buy"

- 15MalibuLady

I contacted this dealer from Chicago to make sure the vehicle I had found on Cars.com was still available. Demetri informed me that it was and had it pulled around and ready for test drive before I even arrived at the dealership. The process was fairly simple and smooth and I left that day with the car.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Demetri
March 30, 2017

"Easy peazie"

- JT

Matt Davis was great to work with. Knowledgeable about the product and honest! Will buy from him again! I got the vehicle I wanted at a great price and the deal I wanted.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Matt Davis
March 27, 2017

"Smooth transaction"

- Liz

This is our 3rd vehicles we purchased from Toyota. Sales person Demetri goes above and beyond for finding the vehicles that we like and fits to our budget . Very knowledgeable and very polite. We are very satisfied with the transaction.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Demetri
March 22, 2017

"Informative, respectful and patient"

- Little red

Made aware of all my options in my price range. Clearly explained all aspects of purchasing a vehicle and all that is available, including an extended warranty policy. Most important Demetri Volikas remained patient and very respectful knowing this was a difficult decision for me. Never felt pressured.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Demetri Volikas
January 08, 2017

"Purchase "

- ad

My brother and I purchased cars within two weeks of each other. He decided to go to Team Chevy. The salesperson was rude and only looking to sell a car. Once the car was sold, the salesman wouldn't talk to him or answer any questions. He has had to service his car multiple times. I went to Toyota of Merrillville. The atmosphere was very friendly, and the people were super nice and patient. Mitch sold me my car, sat with me and answered every question. After the sale was finalized, Mitch was still friendly and patient with the questions I have had since I bought the car. During my scheduled maintenance visits, he continues to make conversation and ask about the car. I could not be happier with my new car.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Mitch Mathis
December 31, 2016

"Couldn't agree more with other reviews!!! Avoid this dealer"

- Dngrs19

Just like the other reviews. They promised a possitive experience and made me drive over an hour to come in. Only to be lied to about a vehicle that they claim was available but wasnt. Ed the GSM was rude and didnt care, all a game to them. It is all about how can they screw there customers. Just need to trick them to get in the door. Avoid them, many other dealerships out there that will give you a better price. Only reason to buy from here is if you dont mind getting ripped off!!!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Ed and Mitch
November 22, 2016

"Just Purchased "

- Mmschara

Mitch made it easy! Love our new Highlander. I highly recommend working with Mitch and Ron. Great customer service and excellent experience. Thanks Again Mitch.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Mitch
1
...
1 - 10 of 47 results