Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Search
Back
Write a review

University Kia

1.4

30 Lifetime Reviews

6519 University Drive Northwest, Huntsville, Alabama 35806 Directions
Sales: (256) 217-1700

Is this your dealership?

...and take advantage of all we have to offer with our Certified Dealership Program.

30 Reviews of University Kia

Sort by Write a review
August 07, 2019

"Commission before Service"

- Not satisfied

I recently purchased a car from this dealership and I must say I had a pretty decent experience up until it was time to negotiate the deal. I was ready to buy, financing already in place and requested a $500 reduction which would’ve only reduced overall price by $700. My sales rep went to their manager Maurice “I believe that was his name” he came over ask me would could he do the keep as a customer and I ask him for the reduction . He then said he could not there was no room. I then reduce my request to $275 which would’ve brought the total down by just that much and he still refused to do so. My question is where’s the customer service in that anything in sakes just about can be negotiated so to lose a customer over $275 is what I call Greedy and lack of Customer Service. So I would say if you’re looking to get the customer service that we all know could be provided if someone was looking at the big picture not the bottom line

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
2 sales 1 manager
June 19, 2019

"Service Department is awful"

- Experienced Reviewer

I have had multiple bad experiences at this dealerships service department. I would not bring my car here for service. I should have stopped going there before now. Not only do they overcharge for simple services, but they also charged me a $120 to diagnose a rattling noise in my car saying I needed new struts at the time, but I later found out with the help of a friend that it was actually a loose screw. We tightened the screw and the noise went away. I am very disappointed with the service at this location.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Rick
May 09, 2019

"Bought an expensive piece of junk. "

- Elituck81

I recently purchased a new 2019 Kia Sorento less than 2 weeks ago. It has been in the service department over 3 days now. Check engine light came on with an engine warning the day I bought it BEFORE I EVEN MADE IT HOME FROM THE DEALERSHIP!!! Took it up there. I was told the “knock sensor” was bad and needed replacing. They ordered the part, let me know when it came in. Went up there to have it repaired. The service representative told me that it would take 3-4 hrs to complete. I ended up bringing it back a few days later to have them replace the part so that I could leave it up there all day and give them plenty of time to have it ready by the time I needed to leave work. Never heard from them all day. At the end of my work day, I called to see if they were done. I was then told, “oh, yours is the one that won’t be ready until sometime tomorrow.” At this point, they had my car for 6 hrs at least and never called to let me know it wouldn’t be ready that afternoon. I was without a car and needing to leave work to pick my child up at daycare before they closed. They came and picked me up from work, loaned me a car off the lot after I lost it when they told me I would have to pay for a rental. The next day, car is not ready. I was given the excuse that the guy working on it was working on it on and off all day and was getting pulled from my car to work on other cars that were being brought in. Day 3, I get a call at the end of the day saying that my car was repaired, but it ended up being some wires that looked like they had been chewed up by a “creature.” Yes, he said “creature.” Then he asked me if I lived out in the country. He was leaning towards saying that this must have been a “creature” that had chewed my wires after I got home. I advised him that it didn’t matter because the light came on after I left the dealership, before I ever made it home. I was then advised that this was not covered under warranty. The car that was messing up a few miles down the road from buying it was not covered. After I lost my mind at that point, I was told that they would take care of the bill this time, but next time if it was brought in with a similar problem, I would have to pay for it. After the car was “repaired,” I drove it home. Stayed for about 30 min before I left to go eat dinner. Check engine light came on with a warning stating that the engine needed immediate attention. So, as of now, I have had my car for 13 days, it has spent over 3 of those days in the shop, and will be back in the shop tomorrow. I am leaving for vacation in a few days and will now have to deal with a rental car to go out of state in. I feel as though I have made a $40,000+ mistake.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Rick-service representative
April 16, 2019

"Worst dealership ever"

- Disgustedowner

I had a horrible experience with multiple problems the first time I purchased. They lie and when caught, it takes far too much time to try to reconcile. They'll keep your vehicle for weeks if they have to pay for repairs. Because of Mr Wallace, I thought I would have a positive experience the second time. He wasn't interested in me, only a nice profit. I told him and others not to run a credit report to anyone but KIA because I was only interested in the 0% finance offer. Well, just checked my credit reports a year later to find they ran multiple hard inquiries, knowing I told them not to. So now my Equifax score which was 825 now has nosed dived because of so many hard inquiries. Equifax says University Kia can fix it but they are refusing, covering their ineptness with "she signed a credit application." These people have no sense of right, no desire for satisfied customers. They just want to make as much as as possible, never worry about correcting their blunders. Save your sanity. Go to another dealer. Footnote: After filing my complaint, having them respond by hiding behind the"credit application" excuse, they still refuse to correct the problem.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
R Wallace, Arthur, Derek, etc, etc
February 07, 2019

"Disappearing Act"

- NeverAgain

Charlatans! These guys tell you what you want to hear to lure you in, and then when it comes time to close, It's another story .You let them know what your price is and they get all of your information and run your credit, they tell you that you are approved, and then try to sell you something that's way above your budget.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Rodney and Cedric
February 04, 2019

"If you want things done right, Don’t GO to University Kia!!"

- Juju15

I took my car in last week because my window regulator failed and they told me that my window shattered. I have the extended platinum warranty (waste of money). They kept the car for a week, and wanted me to pay $375 for another window and $100 for the deductible. I was told that the deductible covers the diagnostic. When I tried to speak with the manager he didn’t care to listen to the problem at hand, and days later avoided me when I came in to more problems. Long story short, I didn’t let KIA repair the window. I took the car elsewhere. I paid $175 total. I had my car back the same day. Turns out the window was NOT broken and did NOT need to be replaced!!!! Stay away from this dealership!!! All they do is lie and collect money. If I could give them NO STARS that would be my rating.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Kerry, Arthur
January 31, 2019

"Just want return a phone call "

- lisa01

I call all day for Arthur a manager to call back , another whole day has past , still haven’t called back. I call about 4:30pm I talked to.,a Maurice he told me that he would call me back meter call this is another manager. They are so unprofessional there I would not recommend no one to go and buy a car from there. From the service department to the managers to the warranty’s they are all full of xxxx, and all they do is sit there playing with there phones. After I couldn’t get any one to call me back I went up there they were all there playing with there phones, but have the people answering. the phone lying , like they just stepped out that place is a joke

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Author , Maurice ,Lenny
October 20, 2018

"Beware of Shady Business Tactics"

- Bpender

I've never written a bad review before, but University Kia used a "bait and switch" tactic today that I would consider at least unethical and possibly illegal. University Kia had a used vehicle listed on several websites, and they confirmed the price of the vehicle both over the phone and in person. After we test drove the vehicle and were prepared to purchase it, the floor manager informed us that the price had gone up $600+ and that they would not honor the listed or quoted price. They also would not honor their ongoing promotion of $500 off a new or used vehicle, though the vehicle should not have been excluded from the deal. If their price on a vehicle seems lower than neighboring dealerships, it is probably too good to be true. I'd recommend making a purchase through one of Huntsville's more reputable dealers.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Zack, floor manager
October 20, 2018

"Bait and Switch "

- Dpender

BAIT AND SWITCH is the name of their game. I came to see a car they had listed and had a verbal agreement on a price with Zack (nice guy) we decided to go grab a coffee to think about it and when we came back they wouldn’t honor the agreed upon price. I thought they were joking at first but the sales manager came out and was extremely rude and very demeaning to me, my wife, and my father. I had a print out of our agreed upon price from their website and another from CarGurus but they refused to honor it. On top of everything they wouldn’t honor their “coupon “ of $500 off from their website. I STRONGLY RECOMMEND that you AVOID this dealership in it entirety, at least until they change their management.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Sales Manager
July 14, 2018

"worst decision I've made in dealerships "

- disappointed

Traded my nice Dodge Dart for a KIA Optima that was way cheaper quality. I was lied to about my trade in. They didn't even clean the car and the car was a loaner that I was not told about. Will never go back!!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Corey Lewis
1
1 - 10 of 30 results