Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Back

VW of Hartford

Hartford, CT

4.0
60 Reviews

133 Leibert Rd

Hartford, CT

06120

Directions

60 Reviews of VW of Hartford

Sort by
January 04, 2021

"My wife and I just purchased a 2021 Atlas without ever..."

- Ilana

My wife and I just purchased a 2021 Atlas without ever setting foot in the dealership working exclusively with Ty. He was friendly, positive, easy to talk to, and quick to respond via phone call and text. We wanted the car before Christmas but it wasn’t possible, so Ty delivered the car to us to our house where we finished all the paperwork. He answered all of our questions. Best car buying experience!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Ty Curry
November 01, 2020

"Awesome and friendly service. Tylon and Mark were truly..."

- Dwight Godbee

Awesome and friendly service. Tylon and Mark were truly professional. Everything during the process was explained. Tylon was extremely attentive to my concerns. Pleasant experience

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Mark, Tylon Curry
August 18, 2020

"I initially had 5 stars and yes Ty curry is all around an..."

- Cath A

I initially had 5 stars and yes Ty curry is all around an upstanding sales guy who goes above and beyond. My current rating is for the financial department and service I received trying to buy the VW lease. I worked with Mark, I am still yet to receive registration and plates I put money down for a month ago. Had to drop off my vehicle and rent a car out of pocket for inspection, did not offer a loaner. During the credit application he put down the wrong salary, had to literally push for that to be changed. Then he “congratulated” me for the drop in interest rate because of the salary change. xxx?...I am extremely frustrated and upset. You take my money to offer a service and I have to chase for updates. First and last time I will ever do business here and will 100% not recommend.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Mark Gustafson
July 26, 2020

"Best car purchasing experience ever!"

- drewg

Buying or leasing a car can be a dreadful process. More often than not, as soon as the negotiation starts, it feels like a high pressure deal where you’re inevitably getting screwed somewhere in the process. I’ve certainly experienced that, and feel as though I’m on high alert whenever walking into a dealership, expecting it to be a less than fun experience. Ty Curry and the entire crew at VW of Hartford however, were so much different than that, and I now have a new favorite dealership to turn to. I emailed an inquiry about a VW Alltrack on a Sunday when they were closed, and decided to risk it and drive from Brooklyn, NY to Hartford first thing Monday morning not knowing if the car I was looking for was still available. Ty responded to the email as soon as they opened and we spoke on the phone as well on my way up. He said he’d have the car ready for a test drive and even met outside to greet me upon my arrival. He was incredibly knowledgeable on the whole VW lineup, and jumped right in to show me a cool feature on the car I was driving that I knew nothing about. He could not have been a more genuinely nice person, and clearly had a real passion for his job. I knew the general price point I was looking at as well as the car I wanted to buy, which of course made the process pretty straight forward. Once we sat down, there was none of the BS that I’ve experienced at other dealerships, and the back and fourth with the sales manager was quick and easy. We made a deal I was really happy with, and drove back to pick up my car after detailing a few days later. I also received a courtesy call the next day from Ty to make sure everything was perfect. I drove from Brooklyn two solid hours to avoid dealing with another NY/NJ dealership, and I couldn’t be happier with that decision. With few exceptions, I’ve found that buying a car outside of the immediate NYC area is a smart move, and I’d absolutely do it again and would 100% recommend Ty Curry and VW of Hartford for your next car purchase.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Ty Curry
April 01, 2020

"Sales"

- Derron

Ty absolutely was one of the most courteous sales person I have ever met. He went above and beyond to ensure the entire process was smooth and to my liking. I truly feel like he cared about his customers; you won’t feel like another sale and he’s very knowledgeable and is ready and will to share. Learnt a lot. I appreciate the business this store does.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Tylon Curry
November 21, 2019

"Buying on line"

- ausable3

WOW: Did I make a mistake buying from Hartford Volkswagen! I bought a 2014 Beetle TDI convertible. Paid $18,000.00 out the door + Delivery charges of $600.00. 1. The gas tank flap was broke. Took it to local dealership and they did reimburse the $50.00 deductible, only after going to Volkswagen customer service. I was without the car for two days. 2. It had scratches in the clear coat. Erin Alaimo’s (sales person) answer “you saw the pictures “. They didn’t show the scratches. 3. The cover for the top that is standard from the factory was missing. Erin’s answer “I didn’t tell you it was with the car”. Really $300.00 replace cost to me. 4. The wind screen that came with the car wasn’t there, even the holder is missing. Erin’s answer “We only have to give you the tools and the book to be certified”. Replacement cost $525.00. 5. When I took it in for the gas flap, I told them the car had a front end shimmy, and they told me the tires are 5 years old, with 29,000 miles on them and should be replaced. And the car is certified!! 6. When Erin sent the paper work and all the information, she included a copy of the original window sticker. Of coarse, I was lead to believe that the items in the paper work would be included in the car. When it wasn’t, Erin said, “You asked for the window sticker “. No I didn’t, she sent it with the paperwork. Totally misleading. I called Brien (The sales Manager). He never returned my calls. The one time he answered the phone he told me “I would talk to Erin”. He never talked to me or returned my call after that. This is what they call a CERTIFIED used car! I would NEVER buy from Volkswagen of Hartford! I learned three lessons: 1. Never buy a car online, without seeing it. 2. Certified by Volkswagen means NOTHING. 3. Never trust Volkswagen of Hartford. I hope my review helps others from being cheated as I have been.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Erin
May 07, 2019

"Easy to work with, customer centric"

- dgainsboro

I just took delivery of certified pre owned VW GTI from Ty and Brandon. We collectively handled the whole purchase except for delivery over the phone. Tyler was knowledgeable about the product and worked on my behalf to arrive at a fair deal. Brandon stepped in at my request to close the help close the deal. They were both prompt and responsive to my timeline and facilitated a seamless delivery process. I would certainly recommend any one in the market for a new or CPO to check out VW of Hartford.

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Tyler Curry and Brandon (Sales manager)
September 30, 2018

"Awesome dealership "

- Greekgirl23

This was my first time buying a car and when I went to VW I fell in love with the one i looked at. Ty explained everything about the car,was very knowledgeable about everything. From taking time to show me the car to calling and making sure everything was good really made me happy. It was such an exciting day for me and him Mark and John were incredible. I’m very happy to have purchased my car there. Ty you rock the house, I’m buying my next car from you.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Mark, John
May 17, 2018

"EXTREMELY HIGH CHARGES FOR service at VW service dept"

- Be nice to all skin types

I went in for a bulb change and regular service however the service charges were unreasonably high They chatge $30 to change a bulb costing $5 60 I also agree with the previous reviewer that they have the worst charges for an oil change ($80) and Robert at the service desk was not helpful and was very rude to say the least and he even told me not to come back. No matter what this was not the right way to treat a customer!!! I come here all the time but today's experience was the wprst I have experienced at VW Harford. .

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Robert Wadrop
March 19, 2018

"Uncompetitive prices with unresponsive management "

- nickdav13

Friendly, fast, service with uncompetitive prices. Went in because I desperately needed an oil change. The three Langan VW dealers in the area had a deal for full synthetic and filter for $69. VW of Hartford was $79. Though $10 is not the end of the world, every dollar counts. I kindly asked if they would match however they wouldn't nor could they explain the price discrepency. I sent a friendly email two weeks ago to John, the GM, just letting him know about the situation. I mentioned that everyone has a smartphone in hand these days, making price comparison easy and staying competitive would probably bring in more foot traffic. I never received the respect of a response back. The service I received was fast and friendly from the lower level however it seems as though management leaves something to be desired. Staying competitive and caring about the customer coming in, not just the money in their pocket, can make or break a business.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Service department
1
...
1 - 10 of 60 results