Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Back

Volvo of Richmond

Richmond, VA

not yet
rated
19 Reviews

7211 W Broad St

Richmond, VA

23294

Directions

Is this your dealership?

19 Reviews of Volvo of Richmond

Sort by
May 22, 2020

"Stay away "

- 101mph62

The WORST experience EVER, Lied to, taken advantage of and discriminated against!! I purchased a used vehicle, a BMW, on March 28th. During this I work with Joey Devapalan the Sales Manager. Joey informed me the vehicle I was purchasing had a manufactory warranty of 5 years 50,000 miles. During this sales process Joey told me numerous times that warranty was still in place and I had absolutely nothing to worry about. In fact, we spoke about this situation for about 2 hours before I purchased the vehicle and did so based on his reassurance about being covered until April 22, 2021 or 50,000 miles. I then went into the finance and worked with Heidi Wajciechowski. She confirmed with me in and wrote on my sales envelope the 1st in service date of April 22, 2016 and said the warranty expires 5 years from this date. She also circled the date on the Auto Check and said here it is on the Auto Check. I started having some electrical issues with the onboard computer. I called BMW to set an appointment but the warranty had just expired on April 22, 2020 NOT 2021 like Haley said. I reached out to Haley Volvo, never heard back. I took the car to 2 repair shops for inspection. They said brakes were bad, the rear diff was leaking and thrust bushing cracking. I returned to Haley Volvo on May 15, 2020 the mourning I had the 2nd inspection done in writing to speak with Haley. Friday morning at around 10am I stepped inside the showroom. Sales greeted me and was very nice. I explained the situation about the factory warranty and then the issues which should have been covered my not only the warranty I was so posed to have but by the Haley 90-day warranty. Sales then went into the General Manager office, Kirby Fields. I watched them speak and you could see eye rolling etc. Sales returned and said we will take it. I asked what about my manufactory warranty I was told I had? The response was Kirby Fields will fix it. I asked to speak with him, but he refused, I was told he will call you. I was standing there but Kirby Fields refused to see me. No call Friday or Saturday. Monday car goes into service at Haley, calls me and asked what’s wrong with the car. I then ask to speak with Kirby again told he is out to lunch but will call me by the end of the day. Tuesday comes around and get a call from service, they said they replaced the brakes pads but nothing else, mind you they didn’t replace the rotors just the pads. They tell me the rear diff is leaking but that normal and keep an eye on it”. When something is leaking and you need to watch it, it’s not “normal”. I then say it needs to be fixed and service says let us ask Kirby Fields. I get a call back and they say, “nope not fixing it”. I ask to speak to Kirby Fields and he’s out to lunch again. I call the dealership and ask why wont he call me why does he refuse to talk to me, I am told he is out getting a “haircut” but will call me before the end of the day. Wednesday comes and still no call, so I decided to go get my car back. Went to service they bring the car out. When they received the car is was clean but its was filthy when returned to me, not a big deal but shows how i was being treated opposed to other customers. They didn’t replace the rotors and throw new pads on it and ask any brake shop if thats the right way. I then go inside to return the loaner car keys. Explained how upset I was, and they say hold on let me get Kirby Fields. They come back out, “Kirby is in a meeting”. I have never in my life meant Kirby Fields ever, I am not sure if it’s the way I look, the way I dress or any other reason, but he refuses to reach out, talk to me or meet with me. 5 days of no calls, been in person 2 times and he refused to see me. I don’t know if this how Haley does business by just hoping a situation will just go away but this is wrong on so many levels. Someone above General Manager, Kirby Fields, needs to investigate this and do the right thing. People within Haley have told me to write a letter to corporate and file a complaint because this isn’t right, not my words employees’ words

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Joey Devapalan
December 11, 2019

"Bait, Switch and Lies!!!"

- Edelweiss17

Beware of this dealer if you are trying to deal with them online! They show great prices online but when you go to close the deal, they make it impossible! Without going into the long saga, everything was agreed to for days, the salesperson put a hold on the car, no deposit was asked for and the sales manager sold the car from under me! The salesperson nor the manager had the decency to either ask for a deposit to prevent the car from being sold or to notify me the car was sold when called first thing on a Monday morning to find out the status of the deal! Luckily Volvo Virginia Beach had the same unit available and matched the offer without all the hassle. Don't waste your time with this dealer as they will just waste your time and energy! Don't say you weren't warned!!! Additional follow up, the dealer replied on Google with a great BS lie, accusing me of not putting in a deposit. A deposit was never requested from the sales person Riley Shroud or manager Joey Devapalan and could have been put in at anytime as everything was agreed to, and it was their faulty website that delayed getting a credit application completed online and had to be processed manually! How about you get your IT department to fix your website so it works properly? It's not my job to initiate a request for a deposit! They want to cover their rear online to make themselves look good, and are more than happy to tell lies to try to cover up the truth!!! You really can't make this stuff up!!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Riley Shroud, Joey Devapalan
July 05, 2019

"TRULY !!! I had most pleasant experience"

- Eric S. Kwon

TRULY !!! I had most pleasant experience/Wife's car because Alan Whisler/Sales, Heidi/financing MGR, Joey/Pricing MGR and Adam/Product specialist provided exceptional customer service to me during and after the sales process (A-Z Process). I have finally found a dealership that really care about customers. My next car will be VOLVO TOO! Eric S. Kwon

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Alan Whisler/Sales, Heidi/financing MGR, Joey/Pricing MGR and Adam/Product specialist
May 05, 2018

"They sold me a car without a title"

- Audrey B

Think twice before buying a used car from Moore Volvo—and then go somewhere else, regardless the deal. I purchased a used 2016 Mini Cooper and paid in cash. I was told that I would have the title mailed to me in 10 days from the DMV . What Moore Volvo neglected to say was that they did not actually have a title, nor did they have the ability to request a duplicate. Their staff had purchased the car from a third party and then their high school office girl shredded literally dozens of titles. This is not an exaggeration or an overstated example. It’s their actual explanation to me when I got a notice from the DMV telling me that I could not get a title. The fact that Moore Volvo shredded titles (albeit accidentally), however, did not stop them from selling the cars. I guess they just thought that they would figure it out as they went. Think about it. If you are considering buying a car from Moore Volvo, ask them if they have the title, and whatever they answer may or may not be true (weirdly enough I actually asked that question because I didn’t know the process of how titles are handed over). To their way of thinking, what they didn’t know about their own paperwork, did not make them culpable. They actually said that too. I bought my car in March, as I said, paying in full cash. In May, I still did not have a title. What I did have was a whole lot of phone calls. It seems only fair that Moore Volvo should knock the price down a little for selling a title-less car, one that I spent hours and hours fruitlessly trying to track down. I even followed their request and went with them to the DMV, waited for an hour, but even after all that, I walked away with no title. When I got to the counter, after a back and forth conversation that lasted thirty or forty minutes, the DMV agent actually suggested filing a complaint against Moore Volvo. And what did Moore Volvo offer? I think nearly any consumer would think it only fair to be compensated for weeks, literally weeks spent trying to track down a record of what they sold me, for my stress, for my helplessly trying to get what I paid for. It seems reasonable to ask for several thousand off the asking price or an extended warranty. The General Manager never once called to offer help or to apologize. He never initiated any suggestion that they would make things right. When I called and suggested that they offer an extended warranty or a discounted price, he said the most that he could do was to offer to detail the car. There are multiple things wrong with that. 1. The car was nearly new (only 7,000 miles) and it did not need detailing. 2. The value of that is about $300 to a customer and at a cost of maybe $150 to Moore Volvo, which pretty much sums up what they think a customer’s time is worth --$150 off for 6 or 7 weeks of stress--and 3. I would never leave my car to be worked on by Moore Volvo considering that they could not even change the sticker from my old car to my new car without making a mistake. Yes, that’s right. They put a sticker from 2011 on my new car and sent me on my way. I think I’ll pass on their “detailing.” They had one customer rep who was nice and tried her best, but overall, I would say steer clear of Moore Volvo. They did not appear to care that they did not have legal documentation for what they sold me. When I bought my car, I watched as some other unhappy customer stood yelling at the general manager. Little did I know that I would later understand exactly how that guy felt. My message is clear: Stay away from Moore Volvo. My experience was they fell short when it came to handling the legal paperwork for ownership, and the General Manager not only was not apologetic about that, he simply talked over me on the phone when I tried to get his help. Moore Volvo--never again.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
General Manager
July 22, 2013

"Service is always performed on time, at or below..."

- RAnderson70

Service is always performed on time, at or below estimated cost and done correctly. The service writers are friendly and accomodating. there is a free shuttle to take me to work and pick me up from work to bring me back from the dealership.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
MIke, JD
April 11, 2013

"I bought a new car here in 2001. The service managers at..."

- crewsjohnw

I bought a new car here in 2001. The service managers at Volvo are pleasant. However, I suspect the service managers are being led by misguided dealership values. The dealership as whole does not strive to balance business results and customer satisfaction. It's all about profits here. Mark ups are way too high. There's too little dealership focus on cost of ownership and, over time, they alienate their customers. Our V70 was constantly in their shop so either their quality of work is very, very proor or the volvo car itself is a lemon. The dealership does not try to make things right. They just keep charging outrageous prices for service.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Various service manager
August 15, 2012

"This dealership is extremely competitive on pricing, so..."

- ballardb

This dealership is extremely competitive on pricing, so much so that I have purchased two cars from them without sacrificing personal service and commitment from the sales staff. The service department is professional and competent with wervice work or repairs occuring on time without any issues, at the price discussed up front. I value the service department so much, that I drive seventy miles to visit them, bypassing a Volvo dealership that is sixteen miles away, that has few attributes and corporate culture that I've described above.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Just about all service advisors and two sales staff
July 24, 2012

"Michael Pleace went above and beyond by resolving an SRS..."

- katereedy

Michael Pleace went above and beyond by resolving an SRS warning light issue. Knowing I was headed out of town, he pressed to have the car looked at in a timely manner. Excellent quality support as usual. Thanks Mike!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Michael Pleace
July 07, 2012

"Mooers Volvo is the epitome of professionalism and..."

- msphelan

Mooers Volvo is the epitome of professionalism and service. I purchased my Volvo from Mooers last year, and they have been exceeded my expectations in every way. Perry was a friendly, no-pressure salesman who located the exact car that my wife and I wanted at a great price. There were no hidden costs, and the service has been completely hassle-free. The Service Department is knowledgeable, friendly, and they have your car ready on time, every time. I recommend Mooers to all of my friends and family.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Perry Drewry, Steve Loyd, Mike Yeatts
May 07, 2012

"Most of the time, the dealer is the last place you'd want..."

- mvandermark

Most of the time, the dealer is the last place you'd want to take your car for repairs. Not in this case! Mooer's is all about customer service, honesty, and quality. They listen to and honor your specific requests, they point out issues they discover during servicing, and never push unnecessary service/parts. When they discover issues, they always estimate when replacement/repair will be needed rather than insisting that it be done immediately if not required. I cannot imagine taking my car anywhere else!!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Mike P. & Mike Y.
1
1 - 10 of 19 results