Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Search
Back
Write a review

West Broad Volkswagen

1.2

143 Lifetime Reviews

9001 W Broad St., Richmond, Virginia 23294 Directions
Sales: (804) 270-9000

Is this your dealership?

...and take advantage of all we have to offer with our Certified Dealership Program.

143 Reviews of West Broad Volkswagen

Sort by Write a review
March 09, 2018

" Clock Spring"

- Kevin

I took my 2012 VW Eos to them for a clock spring failure which is under a recall. They told me that it did not fall under the recall due to the fact that they put a dust cover over the clock spring in 2015. I told the that there is no way the mechanic who did the work could guarantee that no debris got into the clock spring during the 3 years prior to the dust cover being installed. I also told them that the Feds opened up another investigation in Oct 2017 for VW not doing enough to fix the problem with the poorly designed part in 2015. I told the manager at the dealership about this and he said there was nothing he could do. He said that when the dust cover was put on they never got close to the clock spring. I told him that they didn't have to get close to the clock spring because debris had already gotten into the clock spring during the 3 years prior to it being installed. which lead to the premature failure of the clock spring. I don't know if he understood what I was saying or was just blowing me off.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Frank, Store Manager
Mar 14, 2018 -

West Broad Volkswagen responded

This customer brought their vehicle in to our facility with a concern that the air bag light came on. We diagnosed the customer’s concern as a clock spring needing to be replaced. The customer had the 69L2 clock spring cover recall performed at another dealership in March of 2016. The 69L2 stated that if the clock spring was bad at the time of the recall, it was to be replaced. If there were no errors at the time of the recall just the cover was to be installed. At the time of the 69L2 was performed at another dealership, there were no problems found with the clock spring, so just the cover was replaced as per the recall. Then in October 2017, the customer came in to have the takata air bag performed, which we did and that has nothing to do with the clock spring either. The customer issues should not be taken up with us, but with Volkswagen of America.

January 15, 2018

"They Just Don't Care!"

- Kate S

In 2014 purchased a Touareg TDI, from a VW dealership in another state, which regrettably was caught up in Diesel Gate. VW Corporate did pay the Emissions Repair Payment which we were prepared to reinvest in another VW. Family needs changed and we needed a little larger vehicle. Test drove the Atlas which was loaded and comfortable, interested in making a deal. Regrettably, the GM Frank Barksdale felt compelled to make us feel like we should be glad he was giving us any trade-in funds on our low mileage, great condition Touareg. First told us we should be glad we got money from VW by receiving the repair payment. He would be glad to get money. I was glad to get the money, but I was awarded those funds because VW lied and cheated. That decision was made by the courts! I didn't go begging for the funds. Second, he attempted to make his problem mine by stating that "he's had to buy back 2300+ cars." That had nothing to do with our situation. Again, he didn't pay for them, VW had to pay for them in the $14.5+Billion lawsuits. Third, he low balled his trade-in offer by $10K below the fair market value and topped off the discussion with "I have no market for your vehicle." So much for VW standing by their product! And here we were sitting in a showroom under the logos of Maserati, Bugatti, Porsche, Audi, VW, and more. Not exactly cheap cars. We abruptly departed the showroom. Later that week visited two other non-VW dealerships, who gave us better trade-in options and one smack in the middle of the trade values provided by NADA, Edmunds, and KBB. Needless to say, we took the trade and ran. We could have been loyal customers. When living in another state, our family purchased multiple cars from the same dealership because of quality cars and great customer service. Even felt Mr. Barksdale was somewhat sarcastic about our loyalty. His attitude added "salt to the wound." So, left with the sense that we were not important and "They Just Don't Care!"

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Frank Barksdale
October 14, 2017

"Theft at West Broad VW Service Center"

- David Glosser

I am writing about a pattern of theft when leaving your car for service. I’ve been robbed twice during two separate service events. I maintain a small bound service log on every car I own. I had the first one stolen 3-4 years ago from their service staff. But this week I had forgotten about that event and sure enough my second one was stolen. This time they took the oil change schedule sticker off as well, because it was not theirs!. I can’t fathom to what reason they visit your glove box and remove a step by step maintenance record of your vehicle? Pretty pathetic and not what I want from a service team. So long West Broad VW!!!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Not sure
October 28, 2016

"Great service and exquisite Customer Service !!!"

- rease234

Had a awesome experience at this dealership. I was approached by Christopher Gold in the sales department and he was very helpful in finding the vehicle that was for me. He was friendly, had a very good sense of humor and he answered all of my questions. in addition, my experience at VW on broad was a really good experience, and meeting Christopher Gold added to the great experience that I had at this dealership.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Christopher Gold
June 30, 2016

"Poor Service and Even Poorer Customer Service"

- fsmith11653

Dear Sir, We are writing to you to express how disappointed and troubled we are with the service we received from your service department on our 2004 Jetta. Several weeks ago, our 2004 Jetta, would not start. We phoned to your service department and had the Jetta towed in. We were advised that the Jetta needed a new Instrument Cluster. After agreeing to the service (and a $1,000 + later), we picked up the car. Upon driving the car home, we noticed that (1) odometer reading was over 400,000 miles (2) the clock was not re-set and (3) the radio was locked out. When we brought the car into the shop. it had approximately 115,000 miles on the odometer. This can be verified by the oil sticker on the windshield from March, 2016 and also from the Inspection done in September, 2015 We phoned the service department and were first told that the mileage came from the computer reading. We were also told that this department gets many cars in with 300,000 – 400,000 mileage ( like this was the case with the Jetta). Your service advisor told us she would check into this issue and get back to us. Within 24 hours of picking the car up, the generator light came on, it went off, then air bag lights came on and off and finally the car completely died in a major intersection. We immediately phoned and were told abruptly that we could have the car towed in at our expense and they would look at the work they had done, but we were, of course, responsible for any other work. There was never any mention from your service department that they were sorry we were in this predicament or concerns about our being so inconvenienced. After the car was towed back in, we insisted that your department get to the bottom of the odometer situation, While this has finally been taken care of ( after 10 days) by replacing the instrument cluster with another new one, we are totally frustrated with this entire situation. We are now being told that the car needs an alternator. We will have this work done by someone else and then will sell this vehicle, a vehicle that we have spent over $4000 on in the last 18 months. We did try and phone you and left a message regarding this situation but have not received any return phone call as of today. What is disturbing is that the odometer issue was always treated by your service staff as “ no big deal.” By changing the odometer setting to over 400,000 miles, you returned to me a car that was now worth a few hundred dollars as opposed to the few thousand dollars it should have been worth But perhaps most troubling is the fact that we were never phoned during this entire process to acknowledge that there was indeed something faulty with the first service we received. We were in the market for a new car, and VW was on our list, however, we certainly would not purchase one now, especially after these service issues. Volkswagon of America has received some very poor press as of late, and we would think that it would be in your company’s best interest to strive at offering the best service possible in an attempt to and try to rebuild your product’s image. As small business owners ourselves for over 35 years, we felt compelled to write directly to you and make you aware of this situation. We know that if we treated our customers in this manner, we would not be in business very long.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Greg Reynolds
May 13, 2016

"Very easy to deal with"

- mikeindc

I live in the Washington DC area and was recently in the market for a loaded VW Sportswagen. I contacted many of the dealers in the DC area and most of them were uncooperative. They generally didn't want to deal with me unless I came in, etc. Michael Hayes of West Broad VW was extremely easy to deal with. He was responsive and very willing to deal and discuss by phone and email. He recognized that I knew what I wanted and what a fair price was. Since I was not in the area, we did almost everything by phone and email and it made for a very easy visit. The car was ready for me to pickup and he spent quite a bit of time explaining how everything operated. Everyone on the sales team was very professional and a pleasure to deal with. I have been buying cars for 40 years and this was the easiest and most pleasurable experience I have had. I highly recommend them

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Mike Hayes
May 09, 2016

"Great car and great dealership."

- Paul

I decided to buy a 2016 Audi A6 3.0T after doing exhaustive research. It was a smart decision. This car is fast, stylish, road hugging, and beautifully appointed. I bought at West Broad Audi and the entire customer experience was low key and first class. These guys are professionals - sales, service, finance. Diego Vizcaino helped me navigate the process and he was all I could ask for - knowledgable, engaging, and attentive to detail. You want to find him and put him to work on your behalf. All in, this was a positive experience and I would recommend the Audi brand and the West Broad Audi team.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Diego Vizcaino
September 16, 2015

"They sold me a lemon"

- this8120

Less than six months after I bought a 2009 Jetta sportwagen and 300 miles after my expensive warranty expired, many things went wrong with the Jetta almost simultaneously. Jeana Gordon in the service department gave me a quote of nearly $7000. I bought the car for $9000. The general manager has not returned my phone calls. I've left two voicemail messages for him. The man who sold me the car, Michael Fetty, referred me back to the service department when I called him for help . He said sales and service are two totally different units and he can't help me. I want my money back. I want a different car. This is my third Volkswagen in 20 years and I've never had such bad service. I owned the other two Volkswagens when we lived in a different city.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Jeana Gordon, Michael Fetty
September 13, 2015

"Treat you like crap after you buy"

- JHolmes

The car buying process was fairly painless and satisfying. That may not be a reflection of West Broad VW as the associate that sold me my car was a guy I knew from the past because he worked at AT&T so we already had something in common to break the ice because he helped me before. However, my issue with West Broad was after buying my car. Unfortunately I feel as though their customer service only runs the course of you paying and signing your name on the dotted line. I should've known better than to go with them over Priority when the manager gave me a hard time over a safety kit that was supposed to come with the car and wasn't. He was really willing to lose a sale over a safety kit! Fortunately my sales associate kept his promise and had it waiting for me a few days later. My biggest issue with them was the service I received in the West Broad Collision center. After experiencing horrible service where my car was damaged while in their care and having to pay for what they broke on my car (read the full story on my review for West Broad Collision Center) I sought to speak to the manager over top of the shop manager at the collision center. A few days after getting my car back I received an automated email from the branch manager MARK PARHAM. It contained a bunch of information about how if I wasn't happy with the service to give him a call because he cares about my experience blah blah blah. Well I did I called him numerous times and he never answered. Left a message and he never returned my call. Went up to the West Broad VW and he was at lunch. Came back at 2pm to see if he was back from lunch but he was in a "meeting" said he'd come out in 15 minutes and I was left sitting there for an hour before I realized he was never coming out. I have no clue what this guy looks like or if he even exists. What startled me the most was how protective of this guy the associates were. No one made eye contact with me not even the guy that helped me with the money portion of the buying process when I bought my car. It felt cold in that show room like I wasn't wanted or welcomed. I paid for my car in cold hard cash, no financing. I deserve respect well after buying my car. Don't give me great service to get the deal then treat me like crap later. Unfortunately that's exactly how I'd summarize my experience at West Broad VW. Long story short, take it from me and spend the extra 1,000 at Priority or even Browns if you're in the market for a VW, it really is worth the extra money for customer service that lasts beyond the initial buying process. Don't allow yourself to get to a place of feeling used or mistreated like I have with them. Will be taking my car to priority for servicing in the future (which they offer for free when you buy your car through them).

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Mark Parham
August 11, 2015

"Used Car"

- Virginia5411

West Broad VW is awesome!! Sometimes car buying can be a headache, but not when you deal with these guys. They made the process simple and easy. They truly are a No-Hassle dealership. The Sales Managers were great and really made me feel at home. I was in and out in no time, and got a great deal! Thanks again guys, and you will definitely have more business coming from me and everyone I know!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Sales Managers
1
...
1 - 10 of 143 results