Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Back
Start your review of Joe O'Connell.
Joe O'Connell
Joe O'Connell at Dunning Subaru
Refer Me
not yet rated

Joe O'Connell

Service Manager

Dunning Subaru

3771 Jackson Road
Ann Arbor, MI 48103

Contact Me

Dealership Experience

2 yrs, 10 mos

Industry Experience

26 yrs, 7 mos

Call
Email

8 Reviews of Joe O'Connell

April 17, 2020

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"We had issues communicating initially, but they really..."

- vaalessi

We had issues communicating initially, but they really should exceptional customer service hopping to it in resolving my concerns promptly. They went above and beyond the call of duty.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

Other Employees Tagged: Lowell Dunning

March 09, 2020

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"Lying about the maintenance plan!"

- sun harry

I bought the Subaru Anytime maintenance plan from them and renewed it every 2 years, but 1.) they did not do the major maintenance Subaru recommended/required at the 30-month and 2.) they lied about the coverage of the maintenance plan and tried to "make" money from me!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Mar 09, 2020

Dunning Subaru responded

Sun, please give me a call in regard to this issue. Our customer's complete satisfaction is our goal. Thank you! Lowell Dunning 734-622-9103

November 14, 2019

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"Dunning always does a great job maintaining my 12 year..."

- pshalis

Dunning always does a great job maintaining my 12 year old Camry. They check it over thoroughly and give a detailed summary. I’d like to keep my car another 12 years and that may happen with their excellent service.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Nov 14, 2019

Dunning Subaru responded

Thank you so much for sharing this 5-star review! We appreciate your business and look forward to serving you again. Thank you for choosing Dunning!

Nov 14, 2019

Dunning Subaru responded

Thank you so much for sharing this 5-star review! We appreciate your business and look forward to serving you again. Thank you for choosing Dunning!

October 30, 2019

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"Bringing my vehicle to Dunning Subaru was hands down the..."

- jose

Bringing my vehicle to Dunning Subaru was hands down the worst customer service experience I have ever had. I originally brought my Subaru in on 9/14 because of a noise coming from my suspension. I also asked if they could replace my puddle lights and volume control. Between parts being delayed and Dunning breaking a spring in my steering wheel, it took them 9 days to "fix" my car. When I picked up my car on the 23rd, I noticed the alignment was way off with the steering wheel being very off centered. Mind you, my alignment was not off when I brought it. If it would have been, I would have asked them to fix it. I brought my vehicle back in and Aaron told me nothing was wrong with my car but I could pay $100 to have my steering index checked. After pressing him on my alignment issue, he said that it was like that when I brought it in and I just forgot it was like that. So not only was my car in worse shape, they also had the guts to tell me it was my fault. After picking it up again, the vehicle started shaking after going over 40 mph. When I mean shaking I mean it felt like the wheels were going to fall off. I decided to call Joe' O Connell and he insisted the alignment was fine but could check it out for $100. Joe also told me it must've been like that when I brought it in. I then asked him why they wouldn't mention a bad alignment to a customer and he said they don't mention small issues to customers (which right there sounds shady). On 10/8 I get a call from the general manager John Taylor and he ends up defending his employees and insisting there would be no way they could've messed up my car, but that I could pay $100 to check it out. I finally gave up on Dunning and brought my car into two places to get second opinions. Both Washtenaw Auto Care and Main Steet Motors SAID MY ALIGNMENT WAS VERY OFF! Dunning will never get my business again and if anyone else has a very poor experience like I have, make sure to report these guys to the Better Business Beauru and the Michigan Secretary of State office of Investigative Services and Subaru Corporate so they can't keep getting away with screwing over customers.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No

Other Employees Tagged: John Taylor , Aaron Stewart

November 30, 2017

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"Dishonest and hostile"

- Very Disappointed 1st time Subaru buyer

I experienced what was in my opinion a very dishonest communication between what their service manager noted as drivability problems, what he told me he would communicate to Subaru of America, and his actual communication. In a subsequent follow-up conversation with John Taylor, their General Manager, was belligerent and hostile. Further, he employed language which I have not seen since junior high school. I will never consider again purchasing a Subaru, especially from an organization whose senior management (service and the general manager) was wanting in terms of integrity and simple professional behavior. Separately, one the pricing side they were more than $1000 over nearby Subaru dealers. I strongly suggest you comparison shop.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No

Other Employees Tagged: John Taylor

Dec 07, 2017

Dunning Subaru responded

Thank you for your review. We have sent this over to management and will be looking into this right away.

January 13, 2017

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"Service department quality "

- ZopaG

Six years ago had bad experience with service. Purchased 2017 outback recently. Must say it's finest car I've ever owned. Took in for door edge moldings. Wife picked car up. When I saw car was upset one was crooked. Called back to complain. Talked to service manager Drew. He told me he would come to my home and see. Also would order new moldings. We set following Tuesday to pick up car. On Tuesday there was big snow storm. Figured he would call and reschedule. Nine in morning he knocks on door. Show him car in garage. He takes care of problem. It was just a little crooked. Must say I'm a perfectionist. My outback is perfect. And so is the service department. THANKS So MUCH DREW. Never ever would I expect that. I'm 65 years young. Owned many cars. But never would have expected this. AWESOME

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Mar 24, 2017

Dunning Subaru responded

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience with Drew! We're glad to have exceeded your expectations, as we take customer service very seriously. We hope you continue to enjoy your Outback!

May 10, 2016

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"How to build customer loyalty from the start"

- Ray Hough

Brand new Impreza, tiny little fit-and-finish problem: metal-to-metal popping noise when driver's door opened or closed, 1/4 inch place on edge of door where finish was rubbed away. Did they just tighten the hinge, give the door a touchup, and send me home? No! They sent the car to a body shop to be fixed right, at no charge under the new-car warranty. They gave me a loaner for several days, and it was a Forester! Again, no charge. As a first time Subaru owner and a first-time Dunning customer, I'm very impressed. As a small-business owner myself, I can see this: Service Manager Drew Gwinn made the decision on how to fix my car, without consulting anybody else (like finance guys in the back office). That means the Dunning company trusts him and his judgment. I admire a business that knows the worth of its employees..

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

Other Employees Tagged: Dave Scicluna, Sales

January 21, 2016

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"Excellent and quick"

- RAY032061

I had the oil changed in my and the tires rotated. They were finished so fast that I wondered if they had really rotated the tires, but the marks in the winter muck on the lug nuts proved they had. Good, polite service.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Mar 21, 2016

Dunning Subaru responded

We’re so happy to hear that you had such a great experience with us. Customer satisfaction is our number 1 priority at Dunning Subaru. We’re here to serve you. Your friends at Dunning!

1
1 - 8 of 8 results

Dealership Inventory (340 Vehicles)

used 2017 Jeep Grand Cherokee car, priced at $19,500

2017 Jeep Grand Cherokee

$19,500

used 2019 Toyota Camry car, priced at $16,500

2019 Toyota Camry

$16,500

new 2021 Subaru Legacy car, priced at $29,606

2021 Subaru Legacy

$29,606

used 2014 GMC Terrain car, priced at $10,225

2014 GMC Terrain

$10,225

used 2019 Kia Forte car, priced at $12,150

2019 Kia Forte

$12,150

new 2021 Subaru Impreza car, priced at $30,738

2021 Subaru Impreza

$30,738