Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Back
Start your review of Tom Bechtell.
Tom Bechtell
Tom Bechtell at Serra Whelan Chevrolet
Refer Me
not yet rated

Tom Bechtell

General Sales Manager

Serra Whelan Chevrolet

40445 Van Dyke Ave
Sterling Heights, MI 48313

Contact Me

Hi, my name is Tom Bechtell and I've been the General Sales Manager at Buff Whelan Chevrolet since 1999. I began working in the automotive business in 1984 and was hired in as Pre-owned Manager at Buff Whelan in January of 1998. I'm proud to be a part of the top volume Chevy Dealer in the state of Michigan since 2005! Outside of the dealership, I really enjoy hockey (playing & watching). Like much of the metro Detroit area, my family and I are huge Red Wings fans! Customer Satisfaction is my top priority- please let me know if I can assist you with your future purchase!

Call
Email

9 Reviews of Tom Bechtell

July 23, 2018

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"Great experience at Buff Whelan"

- Mikeb344

I had a great and speedy experience. My salesman Darrin Uhlig and Manager Tom Bechtell were very accommodating and took genuine interest in both the vehicle and cost I had budgeted for. Great experience and would recommend Buff Whelan to friends and family.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

Other Employees Tagged: Alice Fisher, Darrin Uhlig

January 09, 2018

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"Better by far"

- L Soderberg

Tom bBechtell treats everyone as if they are his most important customer. After years going to a different dealership, and 9 + cars, we came across Buff Whelan. A referral from a personal friend. We were so impressed by the way they've delivered our last four cars, that we have referred them to our family and our friends. Unequivocally, this is the best dealership we have ever worked with. We bring our service to them, our oil changes, and when my son gets his first car, we'll be coming to Buff Whelan. If a GM vehicle is what you want, this is the best dealership I know.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

October 17, 2017

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"Equinox lease "

- Eddie56

I was loaned a test drive Equinox for the weekend featuring the options I wanted and the color. Due to the strike at the plant , a new vehicle with what I wanted needed to be picked up at another dealership. It was diligently handled so that I took delivery that day.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

Other Employees Tagged: Pete Stanczak

Oct 18, 2017

Serra Whelan Chevrolet responded

Hey Eddie, We're happy to hear that our team was able to take care of you and get you the vehicle you wanted, hassle-free. That level of customer care is what we're all about. Thank you for your great review, and enjoy your new Equinox!

September 07, 2017

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"Excellent Dealership"

- KLJ2017

Buff Whelan is an excellent dealership with the best deals. I wouldn't go anywhere else! If you're looking for a new car this is your dealership.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

Other Employees Tagged: Theresa Baker

Sep 11, 2017

Serra Whelan Chevrolet responded

Thanks for letting us know how we're doing! We aim for 100% customer satisfaction at every stage of your car purchase, and we’re delighted to hear that you received that. Enjoy your new car!

January 21, 2017

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"Outstanding Chevrolet Dealership and Customer Service!"

- ChevyCruzin

My family and I have been coming here for over 30 years. The Buff Whelan Team has always been very accommodating. I would like to recognize a few of their employees that went the extra mile to help me and ensure I was 100% satisfied with my recent Chevrolet experience: Tom Bechtell: General Sales Manager Sean Forro: New Vehicle Sales Don Tailor: Service Manager Laura Noriega: Service Advisor Keep up the great work, everyone!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

Other Employees Tagged: Laura Noriega, Sean Forro , Don Tailor

Jan 25, 2017

Serra Whelan Chevrolet responded

Thank you so much for those kind words. We are truly humbled to hear that you have been choosing us for 30 years now. We deeply appreciate you and your family and hope to continue to offer you great experiences!

August 10, 2016

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"So much better than I expected!!"

- L Soderberg

I am so happy with Buff Whelan Chevrolet, Rob Scilaf and Tom Bechtell. What they did for me was above and beyond what any car dealer has ever done for me and my family. They shopped my financing and found me better terms than my own credit union. I was over my mileage with 5 months left on my lease. It was my own dumb fault- because I buried my head in the sand instead of calling them sooner. I really didn't think anyone could help me. But they did. I purchased my car instead of a lease- Which I wanted- and my payment went DOWN!!! This is my second car through Buff Whelan. I've already referred my Dad to you, and he already bought an Impala. My dad has purchased only Chrysler for the last 35 years, and he came to you because of my experience but he'll keep coming back because of the great service he received from Rob and the great deal he received from Buff Whelan. Before our friend (who works for GM) referred us to Buff Whelan, we had purchased 6 cars from a different GM dealer. I think they got so used to us coming to them, they stopped acting like we mattered when we went there. Tom Bechtell clearly cared about us. I know that I can go back there anytime I need anything for my car and he or Rob will step up to help. Great service is so rare these days. We're kind of conditioned not to receive it. So when we do receive it, it shines like a beacon. Well done, Buff Whelan. Well done Chevy. You'll be receiving my referrals, my business and my loyalty well into the future!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

Other Employees Tagged: Rob Sielaff, Alice Fisher

Aug 15, 2016

Serra Whelan Chevrolet responded

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with Rob and Tom here at Buff Whelan! Customer service and building relationships is what we are all about here, and we are so glad you were able to experience that first hand and enjoy your time with us! If there is anything else we can do for you, we are always here for you! : )

May 10, 2013

Dealership Rating

"Michelle and the crew made this by far the easiest new..."

- Alahuro

Michelle and the crew made this by far the easiest new car purchase I have ever made in my thirty five years of driving. The prices she quoted me were the best I could find and the offer they gave me on my trade in was way more than I expected for a vehicle with over 100k miles on it. I highly recommend Buff Whelan and Michelle to anyone looking to buy a new Chevy.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

Other Employees Tagged: Marty Kavanagh, Michelle David

August 15, 2012

Dealership Rating

"My regular Dealership was having trouble getting my new..."

- Amy Bedow

My regular Dealership was having trouble getting my new car over to their dealership lot, and I needed my car urgently. I researched the invitory of several Dealerships (3) close by me to see if they had the make and model that I needed, and Buff Whelan had two on their lot, so I went there to get that car from them, because I could not wait. I was led to 'salesman' Chuck Culyba, and showed him the three written out-the-door pricing quotes I received from the three different dealerships- every one of them were alike as far as the price, they only differed by about a hundred dollars, either up or down. My first priority was getting my car; I had no problem paying a little more just to take ownership right away. However, Chuck's quote was $768 OVER the highest quote I received. I called my regular preferred Dealership and asked my salesman what it was that Buff Whalen was missing- maybe one of the discounts, for example. He replied and said,"I don't know- you are eligible for all the discounts- all I did was crunch the numbers, and anyone can do that!" So when Chuck Culyba came back to the desk, I went through all of the discounts with him, one by one, and they did add up just as my preferred Dealership's had, so that wasn't it- Buff Whelan was simply pricing his cars higher to begin with- much higher than the MSRP. Chuck Culyba showed his manager the three quotes I had gotten from the other dealers, and basically said, "I gave you OUR price; take it or leave it". At this point, I gathered my things and proceeded to walk out the door, but I passed the manager's office on the way out, and decided to ask him myself, Tom Bechtell, the manager, told me that my preferred Dealership was lying- he went on to say that the reason my Dealership hadn't gotten my vehicle was because they realized he quoted it too low, and was 'stringing me along' so I would go somewhere else eventually and they would get out of honoring his quote! He then made a phone call, with me sitting there, to the supposed District Head Manager to ask if my dealership had even requested my car to be sent there, and he said, "Yeah. I didn't think so." He also told this District Head Manager what the name of the Dealership was, and check them out for pricing mistakes!!! I butted in and said I had two more quotes from different Dealerships that were almost identical to my Dealer's price, and he bad mouthed all of them!! I didn't know what to think or what to believe- so I said I would pay their higher price, just to get it over with. I sat down again with Chuck Culyba to complete the deal. We started going through the papers, and we were right in the middle of it, but I had a very bad feeling about Buff Whelan- so much so, that I told Chuck Culyba I couldn't do business with Buff Whelan period. Something just stunk about the whole thing. I walked out of there and the next day, I went to another Dealership that had the vehicle that I wanted on the lot. They even gave me a better deal than my preferred Dealership, not that it mattered anymore- I just wanted my car!! My advice would be to stay as far away from Buff Whalen as you can- they are sharks. These guys are the sleaziest bunch I have ever come across in my 30 years of buying and owning cars. I felt dirty just talking to them. I hope this helps someone!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No

Other Employees Tagged: Chuck Culyba

Aug 31, 2012

Serra Whelan Chevrolet responded

I must apologize for you recent experience at Buff Whelan. I understand you were using the GM Employee purchase program. This means pricing is very simple – the price is located on every invoice and all GM dealerships must use this price for the employee purchase plan less any rebates that apply and authorized by General Motors. The price we quoted included all rebates that were allowed and followed the rules set by GM. The quote included the USAA rebate which was available to your spouse; meaning the vehicle titling had to include his name. The price you showed us by a competitor included an “internet” rebate of $500 which GM states there is no such rebate. General Motors is very strict regarding the rules for the GM Employee Vehicle Purchase Program – visit www.gmfamilyfirst.com for specific details. Click the “Get Answers” tab located toward the bottom of the home page. The complete set of rules and guidelines are listed in and easy to read PDF format. It states if a dealer were to price a vehicle outside of the rules, the dealer, as well as the eligible employee, risk sanctions-including future loss of privileges (2 years per violation) against the eligible employee, retiree or surviving spouse, repayment of monies, and/or termination of employment, in addition, legal action may be commenced for any rule infraction. GM performs routine audits at dealerships to ensure compliance is being followed properly. We, at Buff Whelan Chevrolet, will always follow the rules required by General Motors. We take pride knowing the rules GM has set forth, and abiding by the rules helps us, we believe, to set us apart from others that may mislead an eligible employee that perhaps does not fully understand the program and that could potentially risk the above stated in GM’s guidelines. We take great pride our dealership and our employees. Our foundation is based on our integrity and relationships; we always strive to provide upfront, honest communication with each and every customer so they, also, have the knowledge should they not be familiar with all the facts. Hope this helps clear up some of the misunderstanding and/ or misinterpretation in this particular case. Thank you. Kerry Whelan

May 18, 2012

Dealership Rating

"I chose 5's for all fields because I have been pleased..."

- awoodruff

I chose 5's for all fields because I have been pleased beyond expectation with every visit to Buff Whelan. The atmosphere is extremely friendly and non pressuring. Sue, Alice and Tom have gone well beyond the extra mile to make sure that my wife and I were completely satisfied with our purchases as well as our service visits. I recomend Sue and Buff Whelan to everyone i know.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

Other Employees Tagged: Sue Chio, Alice Fisher

1
1 - 9 of 9 results

Dealership Inventory (1 Vehicle)

used 2018 GMC Sierra 1500 car, priced at $31,950

2018 GMC Sierra 1500

$31,950