About Us
Copyright 2014 DR Media Holdings, LLC
Search

Amos Minter's

17730 Davenport Road, North Dallas, Texas 75252
Sales: (972) 931-3357

Makes: Used Car Dealer
 
Excellent
100% Recommend

Overall Rating 5.0

31 Lifetime Reviews

Write a Review
Amos Minter's
31 Lifetime Reviews
Amos Minter's Info
Is this your Dealership?
Learn about our award-winning Certified Dealer Program and claim this page.
Is this your Dealership?
Learn about our award-winning Certified Dealer Program and claim this page.

Nearby Certified Dealers

Driversselect

603 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews
Dallas Lease Returns

187 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews
31 Dealership Reviews
Filter Reviews By:
fifty7tbird
6/18/2014
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"Great Experience"

Amos Minter is in the business of restoring mid fifty's Fords and is that one premier facility that pays extreme attention to detail in the restoration each vehicle that is fully restored in their facility. They have an unparallelled inventory of both collector grade and driver grade 55 through 57 Ford Thunderbird's and passenger cars. He and his staff are knowledgeable, friendly and go the extra mile to give service to their clientele. I have personally bought several cars from Minters over the last 30 years and have had nothing but the best experience. Cars were never misrepresented as is common in the collector car trade. They have been nothing but honest and forthcoming about the condition of cars I have purchased from them in the past. Minters have a great reputation and live up to it every time I have dealt with them.. Paul Linford

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Amos and Justin

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
 
3
ericfehrmann
6/17/2014
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"Best Place to Purchase 55 to 57 Early Birds"

I began searching for a collector car a few years ago and found that there are many pretenders out there. Many of the cars are presented as being in excellent restored condition, when they are actually far from it. I watched a Barrett Jackson auction in January 2014 and learned of Amos Minter and his reputation in the world of 55-57 Thunderbird restoration. I visited his facility in Dallas Texas and met Amos and his family. I was treated as an old friend, not just another prospective buyer. Amos did not pressure me to buy, he actually made sure that I really did want the car that I was looking at. I looked at several of his vehicles and test drove a few that I was considering. This was my first foray into owning a collectible car and I had lots of questions, which he was glad to answer. After about five hours of looking and examining several cars, I made the decision to purchase a 1955 raven black Thunderbird. I truly believe this family owned business deserves the great reputation it has earned for honesty and integrity. I would recommend anyone looking to purchase an early Thunderbird to visit Amos Minter's facility before making a purchase elsewhere.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Amos Minter, Amy Minter, and Justin Minter

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
mikespoppy
3/26/2013
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"i decided to buy a 1956 thunderbird.After looking and..."

i decided to buy a 1956 thunderbird.After looking and seeking one all over the country. i chose Amos Minters 55.56/57 t birds.Why?Because i was taught to go to the horses head not the rear! Yes ,it costs more in the beginning but,it saves more in the end.No endless days and weeks, waiting for a shop to get your car redone.If you can find one.All this dealer does is restore these beauties.What more can you ask for? I went through the rigors of trying to get help on other antique vehicles i have owned . It never works out the way you want it .I never flew to dallas and i never met the Minters face to face.I purchased the car because of Minters honesty.My baby bird arrived on march 2Oth 2013.Raven black with fiesta red and white interior.It was perfect.A 57 year old time machine. Thank you mr.and mrs Minter. For anyone reading this report,i truly can say--BUY WITH CONFIDENCE.And if something makes you unhappy,Mr Minter will make it right.He is the Carol Shelby of thunderbirds! Richard pittsburgh,pa

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

amos minter/amy minter

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
 
5
fern.santini.5
12/28/2012
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"I first visited Amos Minter in the spring of 1978. I was..."

I first visited Amos Minter in the spring of 1978. I was a senior in college and had saved enough money to take off for spring break. Since I didn't own a car, I rode the bus from Austin to Dallas, and had a friend drop me off at Amos' shop. I was in love with the early t-birds and wanted to learn everything I could about them. Amos spent several hours with me explaining all the differences between the year models, how to tell original colors, etc. It was an afternoon in heaven for a 21 year old girl with no prospects of buying one. I graduated, got my first job, and somehow talked my banker into loaning me the money to buy a t-bird from Amos...for my daily driver. Wat was I thinking? I called Amos to tell him that I was ready to buy a car...finally! He very nicely told me that I was making a big mistake, that I should buy something more economical to drive and maintain, and urged me to reconsider. Practicality has never been my strong suit, but I listened. He was right of course, and my Honda purchase was the right thing to do at the time. Yesterday, my husband and I drove to Dallas and bought the most BEAUTIFUL 1956 Colonial White Thunderbird! We spent hours with Amos who showed us several different cars, explaining the differences between each one, helping me decide on the right car for me. Amy, Justin, and the other technicians were all so helpful. It's been over thirty years, but I know that car will be worth the wait. If your dream is to own a vintage early bird, treat yourself and spend a few hours with Amos Minter. H's the best. Fern Santini Austin, Texas December 28, 2012

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Amos, Amy, Justin

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
 
2
mike58
10/12/2011
Reason For Visit
Service

"I called Mr. Minter a couple of times for his opinion on..."

I called Mr. Minter a couple of times for his opinion on my restoration of 1958 t-bird I was treated like an old friend instead of a rookie trying to figure out what to do next.He was very helpful with information that I asked and expertise opinions If I had a small-bird I would certainly take it to his shop...Thank you Mr. Minter for your help.I still can't believe how friendly and helpful to a complete stranger that just needed a few very important questions answered...Thank you again...Mike

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

mr.minter

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
 
1
Dross
8/22/2011
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"Amos Minter runs an absolutely first-class organization...."

Amos Minter runs an absolutely first-class organization. The team that does the restoration produces exceptionally high quality results that are second to none. Customer service is phenomenal. Amos will go to whatever lengths necessary to make you satisfied and insure that you have a quality experience. The pricing is not a bargain, but fair. I purchased a 1957 Thunderbird as an 80th birthday present for my father. Amos and his team were extremely patient and helpful with both my Father and me throughout the entire process. Due in large part to the comfort level that was provided by Amos and Amy during the transaction along with Bob and Charlie (machanics and delivery crew), my Dad is thoroughly enjoying the thrill and pride of driving/showing a restored version of his first purchased vehicle. This dealer is honest, extremely knowledgeable and fair. I recommend them without hesitation. Don Ross- New Canaan, CT

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Amos Minter, Amy Minter, Bob & Charlie

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
 
2
lnblee
7/25/2011
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"Friendly, professional and honest people. Great service..."

Friendly, professional and honest people. Great service after sale. The price was fair and I love my Bird !! Has all the options one could ask for and the delivery of the car was on time and perfect. Bod and Charles checked me out witht he car and when they left I felt comfortable with all aspects of the car. Would recommend these folks to anyone. G. Lee Griffin. Baton Rouge, La.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

amos and his son plus bob and charles McVea

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
 
2
Tippy2
6/17/2011
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"IN JANUARY 2011 I BEGAN CHECKING AROUND FOR A BLACK 1956..."

IN JANUARY 2011 I BEGAN CHECKING AROUND FOR A BLACK 1956 THUNDERBIRD SIMILAR TO ONE I OWNED IN THE LATE 50s. I QUICKLY LEARNED OF THE EXCELLENT REPUTATION AMOS MINTER OF AMOS MINTER T-BIRDS IN DALLAS HAD IN THE CLASSIC CAR INDUSTRY. I LATER FOUND OUT HIS REPUTATION WAS RIGHTFULLY EARNED. HIS KNOWLEDGE OF THE 55-57 T-BIRDS IS AMAZING, HIS RESTORATIONS CONTINOUSLY SET RECORDS AT MAJOR AUCTIONS. I CONTACTED AMOS BY PHONE AND BRIEFLY TOLD HIM WHAT I WAS LOOKING FOR. AMOS TOOK THE TIME TO ASK ME SEVERAL QUESTIONS ABOUT WHAT I WANTED IN A CAR AND HOW I PLANNED TO USE THE CAR. HE HAS A GENUINE INTEREST TO UNDERSTAND EACH CLIENTS DESIRES AND MAKE RECOMMENDATIONS FOR CONSIDERATIONS. MANY OF HIS QUESTIONS I HAD NOT EVEN THOUGHT ABOUT. HIS DESIRE IS TO MATCH HIS CUSTOMERS WITH A PERFECT CAR FOR THEM. HE TOLD ME ABOUT A 56 BLACK T-BIRD HE HAD WHICH HE THOUGHT I WOULD LIKE. I VISITED HIS DEALERSHIP AND WAS AMAZED WITH THE WHOLE FACILITY--A VERY PROFESSIONAL ORGAINIZATION. I LOOKED AT MANY CARS, ESPECIALLY THE BLACK 56 HE HAD MENTIONED ON THE PHONE. HE WAS RIGHT, I LOVED THE CAR. HE SHOWED ME EVERYTHING ABOUT THE CAR, GOOD OR BAD, AND WE TEST DROVE THE VEHICLE. HIS REPRESENTATION OF THE CAR WAS EXACTLY WHAT IT WAS. HE REVIEWED ALL EXTRA OPTIONS WITH ME, RECOMMENDED SOME AND NOT OTHERS, AND CAME UP WITH A CAR EXACTLY AS I DESIRED PLUS AN ITEM OR TWO HE RECOMMENDED. AFTER I TOOK DELIVERY OF THE VEHICLE I QUICKLY LEARNED THAT ALL OF HIS RECOMMENDATIONS TO ME WHERE PERFECT AND MADE THE CAR MORE ENJOYABLE. SINCE DELIVERY I HAVE CONTACTED HIM SEVERAL TIMES WITH QUESTIONS AND HE ALWAYS TAKES THE TIME TO FULLY ANSWER MY CONCERNS OR SOLVE MY PROBLEMS. HE REALLY CARES ABOUT HIS CUSTOMERS AND THEIR ENJOYMENT OF THEIR CARS. MY EXPERIENCE WITH AMOS MINTER COULD NOT HAVE BEEN BETTER. HE CAN BE FULLY TRUSTED AND WILL WORK HARD TO MEET EVERY CUSTOMERS DESIRES AND NEEDS. I NOT ONLY HAVE AN EXCELLENT VEHICLE FOR ME BUT I HAVE A NEW FRIEND WHO CONTINUES TO HELP ME WHEN ASKED.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

AMOS, AMY

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
 
3
westay43
4/10/2011
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"Amos Minter is THE premier 55-57 Thunderbird restorer and..."

Amos Minter is THE premier 55-57 Thunderbird restorer and dealer in the world. He knows these cars better than anyone else and his work is the best. He is honest, reliable, and a great person to do business with. I just bought a 55 T-bird from him and would do so again. I recommend him very highly. Wes Taylor

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

amos bob charlie

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
 
1
tomer
12/14/2010
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"My experience with this dealership has been phenomenal...."

My experience with this dealership has been phenomenal. Amos is a personable guy, passionate about the Early Birds, and well deserving of his stellar reputation. My assessment of this dealership, and this review is pretty much a carbon copy of the other reviews posted here. The organization Amos has built over many years is the best in the business, as far as I can tell, and it will be easy to see why, if you contact him. He is likely to answer the phone himself, and then spend 30 minutes with you answering all of your questions, no matter how ignorant or repetetive they are. He is totally free with information that would take years for the average person to uncover on his own. You would think he might be protective of "trade secrets", but he is smarter than that. He knows that a informed prospect is likely to become a wise buyer and a satisfied customer. I'm sure he has many repeat customers for this very reason, not to mention the fact that the product of he and his craftsmen's efforts is consistently of superior quality. This is not just I saying this, his peers, exuberant customers and his collector car auction results testify also. It was a fine experience for me to visit the dealership, observe the staff at work and look closely at many of the fine Thunderbirds they have for sale. I never heard: "no we can't look at that" or: "don't get too close to that one". More likely was: "climb in there and see how it feels". Wow, just an amazing priviledge with these beautiful cars and the group of talented people dedicated to preserving them for the rest of us to enjoy. This is kid in the candy store stuff. Anyone considering adopting a 1955, '56 or '57 Thunderbird would be wise and well served for having contacted Amos Minter Thunderbirds early in the process. For years I have carried a little reminder card in my wallet bearing this simple sentence: "The best always costs less". Enough said. Tom R.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Amos, Amy, Justin

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
 
3
1
...
1 - 10 of 31 results

Need a new car?

Cars for Sale By This Dealer
Sort By:
View All Inventory