About Us
Copyright 2015 DR Media Holdings, LLC
Search

Barry's Auto Group

166 Connell Highway, Newport, Rhode Island 02840
Sales: (401) 847-5600
Service: (401) 847-5600
Parts: (401) 847-5600

Makes: Used Car Dealer
Good
71% Recommend
3.8

56 Lifetime Reviews

Barry's Auto Group
166 Connell Highway,
Newport, Rhode Island 02840
Barry's Auto Group Info
Is this your Dealership?
Learn about our award-winning Certified Dealer Program and claim this page.
Is this your Dealership?
Learn about our award-winning Certified Dealer Program and claim this page.

Nearby Certified Dealers

Foley Motorsports

438 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews
Harbro Sales & Service Inc

768 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews
56 Dealership Reviews
Filter Reviews By:
arnold0107
3/22/2014
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"Lou provided the best sales experience I have ever had..."

Lou provided the best sales experience I have ever had when looking for a car. He was professional and got the job done quickly, even with my bad credit. Would highly recommend barrys and Lou to anyone.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

lou campos

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
 
1
Sferrari
1/10/2014
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"purchased a 1968 olds 442 from the dealer. the..."

purchased a 1968 olds 442 from the dealer. the salesperson took a deposit from my amex and told me to mail a cashiers check for the balance. I did just that. in the meantime, the dealer was actively marketing the car on ebay and to other customers (essentially a dutch auction on a sold car). The dealer finds a buyer willing to pay more. The dealer then proceeds to call and ask me to pay a higher price or lose the deal. lost the deal even though we had a deal and I held up to my end of the bargain.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

Kate - actually did her part very well

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
 
1
Krystalmarshall13
1/09/2014
Reason For Visit
Service

"Worst car dealership I've ever been to. They sold us..."

Worst car dealership I've ever been to. They sold us a xxx car that has a 2 yr extended warranty, it started having problems so they ran a diagnostic and said nothing is wrong when CLEARLY there is. Then CHARGED us for it! Either fix it or take your piece of xxx back!

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

Sales manager?

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
 
2
mtoll123
4/24/2013
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"We saw a car we liked on their lot and stopped in. It was..."

We saw a car we liked on their lot and stopped in. It was high pressure and we had a specific payment that we could afford. There wer some small cosmetic things we noticed on the car, a 2008 Nissan Maxima. We took it for a test drive (the sales person Jose was very nice and accommodating and I do not believe our experience was his fault). The test drive was done in a large parking lot and we were not able to take it on the highway. We returned and decided we like the vehicle and were definitely pressured to sign something that night. We haggled on payment and terms. We asked for specific term limit and payment and if they couldn't do it we would leave. They came back with the payment we wanted so we were thrilled; this is about 3 hours after we got there. What they did not tell us was that to get to our payment they added another year to the loan terms. We found that out when we came to pick up the vehicle and sign the paperwork. After much deliberation we decided to purchase the vehicle at the payment and terms. Throughout the process we felt it was very difficult to get a straight answer on the price we were actually paying for the car, rather than the payment terms. We took the vehicle off the lot and got on a brand new stretch of highway on Rt 24. It had just been repaved and was the smoothest road I have ever been on in RI. We hit 60 and the car started shaking, a lot. The dealership had closed so we decided to wait until the next day to bring it back. We got there the next day and they kept telling us nothing was wrong. They had originally told us that they had 4 brand new tires on the vehicle. After looking closer they had not put 4 new tires on the car. We assumed the shaking must be due to bad tires. After a ridiculous amount of time and stress they replaced two tires, but not the rims. The car still shook and we were basically told that they would no longer be doing any work on the vehicle and that we had no more rights to have them fix the car anymore than they already had. We ended up having to pay for another auto shop to work on this vehicle right after buying it... We finally brought it to a friend of ours who is a mechanic and he noticed that it needed new rotors and brakes he also noticed that there was a problem with the transmission. We brought it to a Nissan dealership in East Providence and they agreed the transmission was bad Thank God the transmission was still under warranty. The East Providence Nissan dealership replaced the transmission at no cost to us. They now have a customer for life. If Barry's had really cared about their customers and knew what they were doing they would have looked at the transmission, the East Providence dealership told us that this year and particular transmission have had known problems and that Nissan's warranty covered it. I would not recommend this dealership, they are shady and not upfront. Jose, our sales guy was very nice and was very distraught to see his customers so upset but could not do anything about it. We personally worked with Lucas Barry and he was extremely condescending and made us feel like we were crazy... that there was no way the car they just sold us could have any issues... It was a constant back and forth, nothing upfront and we felt swindled after dealing with Barry's. We also needed to purchase a second car recently and dealt with a Volkswagen Dealership in East Providence. The experience was night and day, they were caring, respectful and upfront, they have customers for life...

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

Lucas Barry, Jose Tavares

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
 
3
gottaplaygamz
8/04/2012
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"Great service. Sales very helpful and friendly. Have been..."

Great service. Sales very helpful and friendly. Have been a Barry's customer for over ten years. I have purchased several vehicles from then. Would definitely go back.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Eric Botelho

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
ChanceORiley27
5/31/2012
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"I spent a lot of time looking on the internet for the..."

I spent a lot of time looking on the internet for the perfect car at the perfect price. When I found the car I wanted, it was in RI, much farther from my own home in IN. It was very important to me that the dealership maintain close contact with me via phone so that everything would be in order when I arrived at the dealership. I'm pleased to say that Kyle, aka Don Flack :-), was incredibly friendly and helpful! He tried very hard to make the sale go as smooth as possible. It was easy to contact him, and he returned my phone calls very promptly. I would buy from this dealership again - which is saying a lot since it's about 500 miles from my home!

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Kyle Reynolds

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
mgempp
5/17/2012
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"I bought a Nissan Versa from Charlie a few weeks ago and..."

I bought a Nissan Versa from Charlie a few weeks ago and am so happy with my purchase! Charlie worked so hard to find the right car me and at a great price. He was so friendly and intelligent and was so quick with the math I swear theres a calculator in his head! I will be recommending Charlie to everyone I know looking for a car at a great price!! Thanks Charlie See you when I'm ready for my next ride!!! BTW GIVE THAT MAN A RAISE!!!! Michelle Gempp

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Charlie Leonard

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
menawrnk123
5/10/2012
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"Kyle Reynolds sold me a used car a few Weeks ago. I was..."

Kyle Reynolds sold me a used car a few Weeks ago. I was happy with the deal he gave me and worked real hard to get me the best payment plan. Hes an island guy who takes his job very seriously, kind,nice and will go above and beyond to make you happy. Thanks again Kyle :) 2011 Chevy Malibu

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Kyle reynolds

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
Pink2005FCHS
5/09/2012
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"Was looking at a brand new Xterra and wanted to upgrade..."

Was looking at a brand new Xterra and wanted to upgrade my existing Xterra. Didn't think it could go the way I want but Kyle made it happen. Thank you Kyle!!!

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Kyle Reynolds

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
sheilaandrog
5/08/2012
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"I went in to purchase a used car, even though he was..."

I went in to purchase a used car, even though he was eating his dinner kyle, jumped right in and gave 110% to assist me, and i was very picky but he didnt give up and didnt push something that i didnt want, and we found the car for me, my experience with Barry's was excellent, everyone was down to earth, and i would recommend them to anyone looking to purchase a vehicle.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Kyle Reynolds

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
21 - 30 of 56 results

Need a new car?

Cars for Sale By This Dealer
Sort By:
View All Inventory