About Us
Copyright 2017 DR Media Holdings, LLC
Search
Back
Write a review

Gateway Classic Cars

3.7

130 Lifetime Reviews

1237 Central Park Dr, O'Fallon, Illinois 62269 Directions
Sales: (618) 271-3000

Is this your dealership?

...and take advantage of all we have to offer with our Certified Dealership Program.

130 Reviews of Gateway Classic Cars

Sort by Write a review
April 25, 2017

"Know what you are buying."

- Looking for the perfect car

I generally don't write a bad review, but if I was buying any classic car from Gateway or any classic car dealer, I would be going over the whole thing with a fine tooth comb. There were a lot of cool cars available. Some of the cars I would question it authenticity. There were a lot of "repainted" cars. Some of them done really poorly. Specially when they are a "frame" off restoration. I notice on some of the cars, vin and/or door tags were a lighter weight metal... reproductions? Can say for certain, but I never seen so many plate made with metal that was certainly lighter than OEM. I saw a 79 "Bandit"...but wait it was a '77 Special Edition that was in the movies. There was never a "bandit" edition from Pontiac. So that was misleading. Saw some mid-'60s Impala SS's Funny how they were all badge differently. I am not an Impala expert and no one had a good answer for it at the store. I did have a fun time looking at all the cars, and my daughter love it too but not sure if Gateway is the dealer for me. I would need a really solid car with documentation and a bumper to bumper inspection. I understand, we are looking at old car that have been put back on the road, but some of the pricing was a bit too high and maybe an independent inspection would help negotiate the final sale price. Again, not trying to write a bad review, just what I saw last week wasn't doing it for me. Might check back ever so often to see if they have a good car at the right price.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Atlanta store
April 22, 2017

"1996 Corvette Collectors Edition"

- Kenneth Landry

I contacted Gateway and initially did not get a response, or so I thought, but then remembered that "maybe" I should check my spam folder and sure enough, there was a reply from Nic Thom at the Chicago office, so that error was on me, not Gateway. Before calling I did a little research on Gateway, what kind of volume do they do, BBB reports and responses, and I was fairly impressed. I called Nic Thom and asked about the Vette in question, he was professional and cordial, very polite and so I asked how do I buy it and then how do I get it in Houston. Both were handled quickly, and with little hassle. I could not have been happier if I had been there but Nic put me at ease and everything went smoothly! The car arrived as promised and I was a happy as a kid on Christmas Day!!!! Kudos Nic!!!!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Nic Thom
April 21, 2017

"Don't buy based on description or talking to a salesman. "

- Boogman

I bought a "restored" 1963 ford falcon from Gateway in 2016. The description was misleading to say the least. I realize I bought it without going to Louisville Kentucky which is 1400 miles away to inspect it so shame on me! The 30,000$ in receipts that come with this car were not provided and they blow you off after the sale. It had a 10 yr old battery , old dry rot tires , wind shield wipers not working , Transmision jerry rigged ( totally rebuilt as described)brake drum hoses gone , suspension in need of repair etc.. $4,000 later . GO CHECK OUT THE CAR IN PERSON!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Kenny and Dennis
April 19, 2017

"Not Impressed🤔"

- Phanflier

My Girlfriend and I found a 2013 Corvette at Gateway Classic Cars. Called James and made arrangements to come pickup the car. Do to traffic nightmare in Orlando, they had to stay open late, about an hour for us. When we arrived to look at car, the floor mats were dirty (not vacuumed) and dash was very dusty. You would think a $38,000 would be clean and detailed. We asked James about the 2nd set of keys and he said he would "check" on them. After several calls James told her that they couldn't get the key. When my girlfriend asked him if they would provide one for her, they said NO! You pay cash for a $38K car and they won't provide 2 sets of keys? So she had to spend another $206 for the FOB and another $75 for programming from dealership. Once they got her money no more help. Beware! Nice folks but not as professional as one would assume!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
James
April 16, 2017

"No responce"

- DARYL Karl Pischner

I wrote the Liouville twice about a trade in. They wanted photos. I explained that my photos where on line already just look. But nothing.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Liouville office. 442 olds
April 13, 2017

"WAS COMPLETELY MISLEAD"

- superfly

Mike I asked you on two different occasions if the Challenger was ready to go and road worthy, two times your reply was the same ( quote )" Paul, that is a turn key car and it needs nothing". Here is why it is in No Way Shape or Form a " turn key " vehicle. It would not even pass a highway inspection at all. 1) * No emergency brake = fail 2) no inspection plates cover on the transmission, allowing all dirt and grime into the bell housing and pressure plate housing! 3) * NO HORN - fail 4) No heater! 5) the fuel line was leaking and was joined together in several places , spliced and hacked together. ALL NEW REPLACEMENT 6) * NO windshield arms or blades - fail on the front cross member that goes from fender to fender the Vin was ground off and also ground off on the front cowl the Vin was ground off too. 7) Back brakes were in shambles , replaced hardware and pads 8) Massive oil blow by coming out of the oil filler cap. they put an oil catcher on the car and are recycling it back into the intake air. If the engine was rebuilt it was not by Pro's and they used the oil catcher to hide the blow by. By blow by I mean Oil is blowing by the rings! IS THIS WHAT YOU DO,TELL CUSTOMERS THAT A CAR IN THIS HORRIBLE CONDITION IS "TURN KEY" ? What a joke. I don't know how you could possibly Not known this. THAT IS NOT ANYWHERE CLOSE TO A TURN KEY CAR! Even Tony told my brother and I it was a "turn key " car? I do realize that the car is as is but really. A 39,000 CAR

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Mike and Tony
March 10, 2017

"Went the extra mile!"

- JB

I recently purchased a 1935 Chevrolet from Gateway St. Louis and was very pleased working with Christopher Sheer. After having the car shipped the owner brought in the engine bay covers. Many people would have tossed them out not wanting to deal with them after completing the sale. Not Christopher. He let e know that he had received them and made the trip to UPS to have them packed and shipped. He truely went the extra mile. Thank you, Christopher! This is my third transaction with Gateway Classic Cars and I must say all have been handled professionally with great results. Five Stars!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Christopher Sheer, Brendan Chambers in St. Louis and Cody and Bob from Nashville.
Mar 14, 2017 -

Gateway Classic Cars responded

We are so glad that we have been able to get you what you need three times in a row. Please enjoy that '35 Chevy for many many years to come. Thank you for your business!!!!!

February 27, 2017

"Bad Jokes?"

- Gpiez44

Nic was a great person to deal with. He made us comfortable after being on the road for so long,(but that was our mistake anyway). He even noticed we left in the wrong direction to get gas and led us to the gas station and led us the way to I-80.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Iggy
February 12, 2017

"Awesome 99 Mustang Build"

- mrgcars

Todd and Nic took an extra video I needed to make my purchase of my 99 Mustang a reality. I am in the car business as well and Gateway website pictures and videos are amazing! I received my car from the Illinois store to Dallas, TX in 6 days. Lost sleep all them days....As far as the car....I had to fix the idle air control valve a couple of days after I received it. Other than that, everything else is working fine. I absolutely love my new toy!!! I know it had an expensive battery and the antenna unfortunately it didn't make it to me. Overall it's still a amazing high performance build from the ground up. Awesome Sound System. just vibrates the whole car with the bass. JUST A AWESOME BUILD!! For the owner who sold me this amazing machine! My hats off to you sir! Thank you for the reasonable price! Thanks everyone who helped me. A shout out to Pete! of Rite Transport for calming my nerves down.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Todd, Nic
Feb 20, 2017 -

Gateway Classic Cars responded

We here at Gateway Classic Cars are so happy that you are enjoying your new toy. We hope that it brings you many smiles and many good times on the road.

February 03, 2017

"Flawless purchase"

- iiAtlas

Will at Gateway Classic Cars was wonderful. The group there have an amazing and diverse collection of classics for sale. I happened to stumble on a 1957 MGA which I just had to have. The car was on consignment. I was straight forward with Will and he was straightforward with me. I told him my best offer and he went to bat. The seller countered, I stretched, and away we went! All in about 4 hours from find to purchase - now thats fast! The crew cleaned and prepped the car, and when it came time for the transporter to pick up it went off without a hitch. THANK YOU Will and Gateway Classic Cars for a seamless experience! I have bought a handful of classic cars and this was delightfully simple.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Will Shelnutt
Feb 09, 2017 -

Gateway Classic Cars responded

Thank you, Atlas. The pleasure was all mine. I hope you enjoy it for thousands upon thousands of miles. P.S. We're still waiting to see that photo of you with your brand new ride. ;-)

1
...
1 - 10 of 130 results