About Us
Copyright 2017 DR Media Holdings, LLC
Search
Back
Write a review

Gateway Classic Cars

3.9

122 Lifetime Reviews

1237 Central Park Dr, O'Fallon, Illinois 62269 Directions
Sales: (618) 271-3000

Is this your dealership?

...and take advantage of all we have to offer with our Certified Dealership Program.

122 Reviews of Gateway Classic Cars

Sort by Write a review
February 12, 2017

"Awesome 99 Mustang Build"

- mrgcars

Todd and Nic took an extra video I needed to make my purchase of my 99 Mustang a reality. I am in the car business as well and Gateway website pictures and videos are amazing! I received my car from the Illinois store to Dallas, TX in 6 days. Lost sleep all them days....As far as the car....I had to fix the idle air control valve a couple of days after I received it. Other than that, everything else is working fine. I absolutely love my new toy!!! I know it had an expensive battery and the antenna unfortunately it didn't make it to me. Overall it's still a amazing high performance build from the ground up. Awesome Sound System. just vibrates the whole car with the bass. JUST A AWESOME BUILD!! For the owner who sold me this amazing machine! My hats off to you sir! Thank you for the reasonable price! Thanks everyone who helped me. A shout out to Pete! of Rite Transport for calming my nerves down.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Todd, Nic
Feb 20, 2017 -

Gateway Classic Cars responded

We here at Gateway Classic Cars are so happy that you are enjoying your new toy. We hope that it brings you many smiles and many good times on the road.

February 03, 2017

"Flawless purchase"

- iiAtlas

Will at Gateway Classic Cars was wonderful. The group there have an amazing and diverse collection of classics for sale. I happened to stumble on a 1957 MGA which I just had to have. The car was on consignment. I was straight forward with Will and he was straightforward with me. I told him my best offer and he went to bat. The seller countered, I stretched, and away we went! All in about 4 hours from find to purchase - now thats fast! The crew cleaned and prepped the car, and when it came time for the transporter to pick up it went off without a hitch. THANK YOU Will and Gateway Classic Cars for a seamless experience! I have bought a handful of classic cars and this was delightfully simple.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Will Shelnutt
Feb 09, 2017 -

Gateway Classic Cars responded

Thank you, Atlas. The pleasure was all mine. I hope you enjoy it for thousands upon thousands of miles. P.S. We're still waiting to see that photo of you with your brand new ride. ;-)

January 16, 2017

"Very pleasant car purchasing experience "

- Kerry

Getting direct flights to Nashville from Phoenix was very limited so I only had approximately 2 hours from arrival at airport to departure. Upon arrival at Gateway showroom about 30 minutes from Nashville Airport, I was promptly met by Bob Pierce the salesman. Knowiing my limited time, Bob quickly took me to the car and gave me a very thorough overview of the car including a ride along with him on short test ride. He assisted me in finding an inspector and shipping company. After only about one hour at dealership, I was able to consummate purchase of car and leave for the airport. Bob subsequently assisted in getting car picked up by car carrier. Overall I was very pleased with a long distance transaction that was very professionally conducted at all levels. I would highly commend Gateway based on this experience.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Bob Pierce, salesman
Jan 31, 2017 -

Gateway Classic Cars responded

Kerry it was a great pleasure working with you. We here at Gateway Classic Cars Nashville thank you for your business. We hope you enjoy your car for many years to come. Bob

December 29, 2016

"Awesome Video / Huge Disapointment"

- Lucky Guy

In my search for a 1934 Ford 3 window coupe I came across one online at Gateway Classic Cars Dallas . I viewed the video and photo's and inquired via email and was contacted by Trey Peck. This is a consignment car so he was able to get answers and photo's I requested. After about a week I made an offer and was then told that if my offer was accepted their policy was to collect a $1000.00 deposit to show good faith to the owner that I was serious about following through with my purchase. My offer was not accepted and I was not willing to increase my offer so that was it and I thanked Trey for his time. About a week later Trey called me and asked if my offer was still good which I said yes and he said he would contact his seller and try to get the price reduced to my offered amount. After much back and forth the seller agreed to sell for my original offer. And I paid what I thought was an earnest deposit of $1000.00 and this is where it gets good. I asked Trey to refer me someone to Inspect and appraise the car and a transport company. Meanwhile Trey emailed the sales documents for me to sign and return and seemed disappointed when I told him I was unable to wire the funds and complete the sales documents until I had the car inspected. I spoke with the Inspector who had nothing but good to say about Gateway Classic Cars and Trey and his manager Gabe so I was disappointed when he told me it would be 4 days before he could do my inspection. I asked him to contact Trey and let him know about the delay. The following Tuesday I spoke with the inspector prior to his prearranged arrival and conveyed some additional things I wanted looked in to. By this time I have spoke with the transport company and am prepared to wire the funds once I get a good report. My phone rang about 30 minutes and it was my inspector telling me that I do not want this car. To my surprise he said as he walked in the dealership and said he was there to inspect the 34 ford that my salesman Trey and everyone else knew was happening that Tuesday morning but Trey was off and as he walked up to the car the hood was up and the trunk was up, the battery charger was cooking the battery as they were wearing out the starter. This outfit had 4 days to sort out any issues with this car and they must have had more important fish to fry than my $75,000.00 deal. These clowns proceed to tell my inspector the car has overheat issues and electrical issues and when the car last ran like crap. I am amazed at how ready I was to fund this deal and get it on the transport I had arranged. I told my guy to conclude his inspection for me and send me a bill. As this was going on Trey didn't answer my call or respond to my email. The next morning Trey sent an email saying he was sorting this out and he called shortly after telling me the owner said he would fix the car. I was told this car had been on consignment there for over three months. I feel so lucky these guys are this unprofessional otherwise I would have been furious trying to unload a car that wouldn't run. When I told Trey that I did my part and was prepared to fulfill my end of the deal had the car been what it was advertised to be and I wanted my earnest money refunded. I waited a few days and guess what "No Refund" so I wrote an email and Gabe responded saying that there are no refunds and the owner is willing to fix the car.... I consider myself so lucky I avoided these people and had I read some reviews other than the ones on their website I would have not given any funds prior to inspection. When I called my bank disputing the charge she referred me to the fraud department after I told her the story so I will get my refund and am going to tell everyone that will listed that their High End Web Site is no more than Lipstick On A Pig. I have emails back and fourth supporting everything in this review.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Trey Peck
December 22, 2016

"Very good, Chicago dealership"

- jada

Nic and Todd are very personable and were helpful with answers to my questions. The car I purchased was compatible with its condition and price. Todd and Nic pointed out some minor faults in the car for my consideration. They helped by recommending a detailer and shipper and I was pleased with the service.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Todd, Nic
Jan 04, 2017 -

Gateway Classic Cars responded

Jada thank you so much for sharing your story. We are always filled with joy when we can help a cusotmer any way possible. We take pride in Five Star Customer Service!!! Please enjoy your new car and thank you for chosing Gateway Classic Cars!

December 21, 2016

"A great experience at Gateway Chicago!"

- 1972buickgs

I have been looking for a car for a long time. When I found Gateway and entered the showroom I was overwhelmed (in a good way!) with the the inventory. Not only how many cars you had but the quality of cars. This made my task of finding a car more difficult. Nic and Todd patiently took the time to show me and answer all my questions about several cars I was interested in. My journey to finding my new classic car came to an extremely happy ending with a 1972 Buick GS. Without Nic and Todd's help I would still be looking for a car. I can't wait until spring to start driving my new car and possibly purchasing another from Gateway! Thanks for everything Craig

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Nic and Todd Chicago
Dec 22, 2016 -

Gateway Classic Cars responded

“Craig, we greatly appreciate your business. Thank you very much for giving us an opportunity to work with you. We all hope that the Buick that you’ve purchased will bring you many years and many miles of fun! We look forward to seeing it will bigger tires and the GSX spoiler!”

November 05, 2016

"Vehicle not as advertised. Very shady company!"

- etcopy1

Bought a vehicle based on Gateways description and pictures 2 weeks ago. I live 1100 miles away, so I was trusting their word. What a big mistake! Vehicle was listed as a "fresh restoration in May 2016". The salesman(Brad at the Tampa branch) assured me this car was in great "show" condition. On arrival, the vehicle barely started, had no turn signal lights, instrument cluster lights, console lights, reverse lights,or functioning horn. Fuse box is completely rusted out. Their description said it had a Holley 850 CFM carburetor, but it a 670 CFM, and it's shot. Transmission, power steering , and radiator all leaking. They attempted to plug up the leaks with gasket sealant. Some linkage under the vehicle was held together with a wire and bent nail. Both exhaust brackets broken. AC and heat had been ripped out of the vehicle. Emergency braking system completely removed. Rear leaf spring broken. Windshield washer system also completely removed. And the engine has a knocking noise. My mechanic gave me an estimate of nearly $7000 dollares to bring this vehicle just up to specs. I forwarded the estimate to Gateway per their request. 2 days later, they called me back and said their is nothing they could do for me. That I signed a sales contract, so I'm just xxxx out of luck. They say it's not their fault the previous owner told Gateway inaccurate information regarding this car. By the way, the previous owner was the car "restorer". And i use this word extremely loosely. I purchased this vehicle for almost $30,000. I didn't purchase a project car. I'm so disgusted with this company and customer relations. And based on other complaints on this website about them, this seems to be a common practice for them. I really hope people who read this shop somewhere else, and pass the word on to friends and family. Gateway Classic Cars is a SHADY, CROOKED , company!!!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Brad Kline/Anthony Freeman
Nov 28, 2016 -

etcopy1 responded

This is how you reply to my previous post? You copy and paste the same lame message saying you didn't want any of these problems to happen. Well, once again, they did. And you still refuse to offer restitution to this nightmare of a vehicle I purchased from you. You say your company is just a facilitator for the vehicle, and that you take the persons word who consigned the vehicle to you that everything thing is great with the vehicle. If he had told you it had 4 wheels on it, but in reality it only had 4, you would take his word and put that in the vehicles description. As it is, you falsely advertised the condition of the vehicle, including the carburetor model that was in it. You showed pictures of the heating and AC control unit in the dash which is false advertising because the heating and AC had been stripped out of the vehicle. When a consumer sees that , he assumes it has heat and AC. Your description did not say it did not have it, but you emphasize that it does by showing a pic if the control unit. Since my last post, the estimate of parts and labor are now up to $9200. A $28,500 vehicle that needs almost $10,000 in repairs when you advertise it was a fresh restoration of the vehicle in May of 2016. What consumer in their right mind would consider this acceptable? To date, no restitution has been made by Gateway of the previous owner. The previous owner who "restores" vehicles to sell consigns vehicles yearly with Gateway, despite the condition they are in. The seller got his money, Gateway got their commission, and I got screwed!!! Anybody even considering purchasing a vehicle from Gateway Classic Cars should steer clear and look elsewhere.

Nov 28, 2016 -

Gateway Classic Cars responded

The car you purchased wasn't built, restored, or maintained by GCC. GCC was simply a marketing medium for a vehicle and we used all of the seller's information to list and advertise said vehicle. GCC released you a vehicle that was running and driving without any suspicion of future immediate failure. Being a classic/antique vehicle, one mechanical in nature, there is no one on this planet that can guarantee a future without problems; even on a brand new car. Everything mechanical has a useful life and will eventually fail. What our company did do was advertise and sell a vehicle that was running and driving without suspicion of mechanical issues as represented in our video of the said vehicle. As a notion of goodwill I did everything you asked me to do and more. I spent a lot of time with you trying to make this matter right. You were offered a chance to inspect the vehicle and or have a third party come in and inspect it for you as we recommend that on our webite. So that you are 100% happy with condition and the vehicles vaule. Again its never our intent for something like this to happen but GCC did all we could to help! Anthony Freeman

Nov 12, 2016 -

etcopy1 responded

You say your company never meant for any of this , but it did! You say you had no knowledge of any issues, which I find impossible to believe, especially since the vehicle will not stop leaking power steering fluid, transmission fluid , and oil. You don't have to be a mechanic to know when there were unreported issues when I'm sure your showroom floor had fluids all over it. Since my last report, I'm now told that now the transmission is going to have to pulled and rebuilt. Add another $1200.00 parts and labor. My estimate for work the vehicle needs ,just to get it to standards, is over $8000.00 . If your company had any bit of of a conscience,they would have at least paid for 1/2 of my repair costs as a gesture of good will and honesty. Or force the person who you sold this car for to pay some restitution for not being honest of his disclosure of the vehicles condition. Your sales manager at the Tampa branch had told me the person you sold this car for has you sell a vehicle or two a year that he restores personally. How can your company ,in good conscience, continue to sell his vehicles knowingly that he does "half xxx "work, then lies on his legally signed disclosure form? What kind of company advertises and represents that are this condition? I have already steered many of my Car Club friends away from potentially doing any business with any of the Gateway branches. How much profit did I potentially take away from your company. If you want me to go away, then take care of this problem ,like you should of from the beginning. Stop hiding behind your signed, legal forms, and do the right thing. I believe in Karma, and your company should too. Do the right thing Gateway Classic Cars!!!

Nov 12, 2016 -

Gateway Classic Cars responded

The car you purchased wasn't built, restored, or maintained by GCC. GCC was simply a marketing medium for a vehicle and we used all of the seller's information to list and advertise said vehicle. GCC released you a vehicle that was running and driving without any suspicion of future immediate failure. Being a classic/antique vehicle, one mechanical in nature, there is no one on this planet that can guarantee a future without problems; even on a brand new car. Everything mechanical has a useful life and will eventually fail. What our company did do was advertise and sell a vehicle that was running and driving without suspicion of mechanical issues as represented in our video of the said vehicle. As a notion of goodwill I did everything you asked me to do and more. It's never our intent for anything like that to happen. And I believe when you and I talked you know that we never want anything like that to happen. Anthony Freeman

November 03, 2016

"Gateway Deserves #1 Rating"

- SBC

Smooth transaction. First time collector car buyer. All calls and questions answered. Car accurately described. I would seek out Gateway for any future purchase. Thanks, Doug

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Nick
Nov 04, 2016 -

Gateway Classic Cars responded

Thank you so much for posting for all to see. Glad that you are most satisfied. And we look forward to handling all of your buying needs.

October 25, 2016

"Above and beyond service!"

- tddawson

I bought a car from Gateway Classics recently, and flew in from out of town to do so. I had looked up the nearest branch of my bank, which appeared to be just 7 minutes away. Once we had agreed on a price, I was prepared to go to the bank to get the funds to pay for the car - only to find out the bank I needed was over 45 minutes away! Nic Thom from the dealer drove me to and from the bank in his own personal car, and we closed the deal. I drove the car home that night!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Nic Thom
Oct 31, 2016 -

Gateway Classic Cars responded

Troy, thank you again for your business. I am glad to hear that you have had a positive experience with our showroom. I hope the Chevelle gives you and your father many years and many miles of fun! If you ever find yourself looking for another classic, be sure to view our inventory!

October 25, 2016

"100% satisfied"

- coupe

Brendan, I would like to thank you for your honesty and being the eyes for me, the 1930 Model A is just as you said and the delivery was right on time. I couldn't ask for any better service than you have delivered, I'm 100% satisfied and have nothing negative to say. I wouldn't hesitate to purchase another car from you and I advise anyone looking at cars on your site that they can feel very comfortable dealing with Gateway Classic Cars. Thank you Don

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Brendan
1
...
1 - 10 of 122 results