About Us
Copyright 2016 DR Media Holdings, LLC
Search
Back
Write a review

Gateway Classic Cars

3.8

116 Lifetime Reviews

1237 Central Park Dr, O'Fallon, Illinois 62269 Directions
Sales: (618) 271-3000

Is this your dealership?

...and take advantage of all we have to offer with ourCertified Dealership Program.

116 Reviews of Gateway Classic Cars

Sort by Write a review
November 05, 2016

"Vehicle not as advertised. Very shady company!"

- etcopy1

Bought a vehicle based on Gateways description and pictures 2 weeks ago. I live 1100 miles away, so I was trusting their word. What a big mistake! Vehicle was listed as a "fresh restoration in May 2016". The salesman(Brad at the Tampa branch) assured me this car was in great "show" condition. On arrival, the vehicle barely started, had no turn signal lights, instrument cluster lights, console lights, reverse lights,or functioning horn. Fuse box is completely rusted out. Their description said it had a Holley 850 CFM carburetor, but it a 670 CFM, and it's shot. Transmission, power steering , and radiator all leaking. They attempted to plug up the leaks with gasket sealant. Some linkage under the vehicle was held together with a wire and bent nail. Both exhaust brackets broken. AC and heat had been ripped out of the vehicle. Emergency braking system completely removed. Rear leaf spring broken. Windshield washer system also completely removed. And the engine has a knocking noise. My mechanic gave me an estimate of nearly $7000 dollares to bring this vehicle just up to specs. I forwarded the estimate to Gateway per their request. 2 days later, they called me back and said their is nothing they could do for me. That I signed a sales contract, so I'm just xxxx out of luck. They say it's not their fault the previous owner told Gateway inaccurate information regarding this car. By the way, the previous owner was the car "restorer". And i use this word extremely loosely. I purchased this vehicle for almost $30,000. I didn't purchase a project car. I'm so disgusted with this company and customer relations. And based on other complaints on this website about them, this seems to be a common practice for them. I really hope people who read this shop somewhere else, and pass the word on to friends and family. Gateway Classic Cars is a SHADY, CROOKED , company!!!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Brad Kline/Anthony Freeman
Nov 28, 2016 -

etcopy1 responded

This is how you reply to my previous post? You copy and paste the same lame message saying you didn't want any of these problems to happen. Well, once again, they did. And you still refuse to offer restitution to this nightmare of a vehicle I purchased from you. You say your company is just a facilitator for the vehicle, and that you take the persons word who consigned the vehicle to you that everything thing is great with the vehicle. If he had told you it had 4 wheels on it, but in reality it only had 4, you would take his word and put that in the vehicles description. As it is, you falsely advertised the condition of the vehicle, including the carburetor model that was in it. You showed pictures of the heating and AC control unit in the dash which is false advertising because the heating and AC had been stripped out of the vehicle. When a consumer sees that , he assumes it has heat and AC. Your description did not say it did not have it, but you emphasize that it does by showing a pic if the control unit. Since my last post, the estimate of parts and labor are now up to $9200. A $28,500 vehicle that needs almost $10,000 in repairs when you advertise it was a fresh restoration of the vehicle in May of 2016. What consumer in their right mind would consider this acceptable? To date, no restitution has been made by Gateway of the previous owner. The previous owner who "restores" vehicles to sell consigns vehicles yearly with Gateway, despite the condition they are in. The seller got his money, Gateway got their commission, and I got screwed!!! Anybody even considering purchasing a vehicle from Gateway Classic Cars should steer clear and look elsewhere.

Nov 28, 2016 -

Gateway Classic Cars responded

The car you purchased wasn't built, restored, or maintained by GCC. GCC was simply a marketing medium for a vehicle and we used all of the seller's information to list and advertise said vehicle. GCC released you a vehicle that was running and driving without any suspicion of future immediate failure. Being a classic/antique vehicle, one mechanical in nature, there is no one on this planet that can guarantee a future without problems; even on a brand new car. Everything mechanical has a useful life and will eventually fail. What our company did do was advertise and sell a vehicle that was running and driving without suspicion of mechanical issues as represented in our video of the said vehicle. As a notion of goodwill I did everything you asked me to do and more. I spent a lot of time with you trying to make this matter right. You were offered a chance to inspect the vehicle and or have a third party come in and inspect it for you as we recommend that on our webite. So that you are 100% happy with condition and the vehicles vaule. Again its never our intent for something like this to happen but GCC did all we could to help! Anthony Freeman

Nov 12, 2016 -

etcopy1 responded

You say your company never meant for any of this , but it did! You say you had no knowledge of any issues, which I find impossible to believe, especially since the vehicle will not stop leaking power steering fluid, transmission fluid , and oil. You don't have to be a mechanic to know when there were unreported issues when I'm sure your showroom floor had fluids all over it. Since my last report, I'm now told that now the transmission is going to have to pulled and rebuilt. Add another $1200.00 parts and labor. My estimate for work the vehicle needs ,just to get it to standards, is over $8000.00 . If your company had any bit of of a conscience,they would have at least paid for 1/2 of my repair costs as a gesture of good will and honesty. Or force the person who you sold this car for to pay some restitution for not being honest of his disclosure of the vehicles condition. Your sales manager at the Tampa branch had told me the person you sold this car for has you sell a vehicle or two a year that he restores personally. How can your company ,in good conscience, continue to sell his vehicles knowingly that he does "half xxx "work, then lies on his legally signed disclosure form? What kind of company advertises and represents that are this condition? I have already steered many of my Car Club friends away from potentially doing any business with any of the Gateway branches. How much profit did I potentially take away from your company. If you want me to go away, then take care of this problem ,like you should of from the beginning. Stop hiding behind your signed, legal forms, and do the right thing. I believe in Karma, and your company should too. Do the right thing Gateway Classic Cars!!!

Nov 12, 2016 -

Gateway Classic Cars responded

The car you purchased wasn't built, restored, or maintained by GCC. GCC was simply a marketing medium for a vehicle and we used all of the seller's information to list and advertise said vehicle. GCC released you a vehicle that was running and driving without any suspicion of future immediate failure. Being a classic/antique vehicle, one mechanical in nature, there is no one on this planet that can guarantee a future without problems; even on a brand new car. Everything mechanical has a useful life and will eventually fail. What our company did do was advertise and sell a vehicle that was running and driving without suspicion of mechanical issues as represented in our video of the said vehicle. As a notion of goodwill I did everything you asked me to do and more. It's never our intent for anything like that to happen. And I believe when you and I talked you know that we never want anything like that to happen. Anthony Freeman

November 03, 2016

"Gateway Deserves #1 Rating"

- SBC

Smooth transaction. First time collector car buyer. All calls and questions answered. Car accurately described. I would seek out Gateway for any future purchase. Thanks, Doug

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Nick
Nov 04, 2016 -

Gateway Classic Cars responded

Thank you so much for posting for all to see. Glad that you are most satisfied. And we look forward to handling all of your buying needs.

October 25, 2016

"Above and beyond service!"

- tddawson

I bought a car from Gateway Classics recently, and flew in from out of town to do so. I had looked up the nearest branch of my bank, which appeared to be just 7 minutes away. Once we had agreed on a price, I was prepared to go to the bank to get the funds to pay for the car - only to find out the bank I needed was over 45 minutes away! Nic Thom from the dealer drove me to and from the bank in his own personal car, and we closed the deal. I drove the car home that night!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Nic Thom
Oct 31, 2016 -

Gateway Classic Cars responded

Troy, thank you again for your business. I am glad to hear that you have had a positive experience with our showroom. I hope the Chevelle gives you and your father many years and many miles of fun! If you ever find yourself looking for another classic, be sure to view our inventory!

October 25, 2016

"100% satisfied"

- coupe

Brendan, I would like to thank you for your honesty and being the eyes for me, the 1930 Model A is just as you said and the delivery was right on time. I couldn't ask for any better service than you have delivered, I'm 100% satisfied and have nothing negative to say. I wouldn't hesitate to purchase another car from you and I advise anyone looking at cars on your site that they can feel very comfortable dealing with Gateway Classic Cars. Thank you Don

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Brendan
October 24, 2016

"THE best classic car dealer in the US"

- gomezccpp

This was my first time buying a classic car so I was admittedly skeptical. I looked at their video of the car and thought I must have been missing something . I talked to Brian at Gateway and it sounded too good to be true. But this was my dream car so worst case scenario, I get the car there is damage to an area I missed or something that I didn't think of and no worries I invest in the repairs and still get my dream car at a good price. Price was VERY generous to me, so that was solidifying my idea that I missed something. Until. The 1967 Impala rolled off the enclosed flatbed. The video made it look beautiful but seeing the car in front of me, it was like looking at a genuine Van Gogh in front of me. I couldn't believe it. It looked immaculate, nothing wrong with it. Nada. So, obviously it wouldn't start or something right? Nope. I've been driving it with zero problems for over 2 weeks now. It wasn't as described by Gateway. No, it was WAY WAY better than described. They understated how great it was. And I feel like I'm understating how great Brian and the people at Gateway Classic Cars are. To summarize. The 1967 Chevrolet Impala is, has been, and always will be my dream car. Brian and all the people at Gateway Classic Cars literally helped me realize my dream. They were also the nicest people you could ask for. Very considerate, very willing to work with me, and very fast on their response time. The essence of professionalism. I've recommended them to everyone I know. I'm recommending them to you. You can tell that they not only car about classic cars but that they care about the people buying them. They will treat you right. They will help you realize your dream.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Brian Mitchell
October 11, 2016

"Post Sale Amnesia"

- Disappointed

I recently purchased a car from them. They were very attentive and responsive until the deal was done then they don't remember who you are afterwards. I bent over backwards to get them the payoff check and paperwork next day but when I had questions after the car was delivered they weren't interested in responding. In fact, they completely dismissed one of my questions. They claimed they looked into it but never confirmed anything. Very unprofessional salespeople. Just want the quick sale then they move onto the next person. I won't ever buy from them again! All others beware!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Christopher
Oct 15, 2016 -

Gateway Classic Cars responded

Hello this is Anthony here at gateway classic cars. I have read your review and would love to talk to you about your time spent at our office. We never want to leave a bad taste in any of our customers mouth as we vaule each and ever person that walks through our doors. Please feel free to reach out to me. I'd like to see FIVE STARS!! And a Smile on your face!!!

October 06, 2016

""Professional, responsive to my requests for more info/pics""

- ILUVCARS101

I am in another state far west of Chicago and wanted additional information and pics of the car before I invested in a qualified inspector to go on site and final assess the cars condition. Nic was very professional and responsive to my multiple requests for additional information and pictures that I requested. Nic never made an attempt to hide, or inaccurately spin, any of the extra provided information or pictures. I did not feel I was being misled in any way, nor did I feel pressured at any time. I understand that Brian and Todd were providing support also. Thanks to all involved, special thanks to Nic.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Nic Thom, Brian Mitchell, Todd Soliday
October 01, 2016

"A lot of smoke and lies, told by good talkers. "

- Ecmutum

I called in regards to a truck for 14k I was gonna buy for my wife. Spoke with a nic Thom, very nice, very professional. I was about to pull the trigger on the sale when I decided to do a google search for reviews. 4/5 stars seemed to be common which is good ! I however like to read the bad reviews and noticed that only the good reviews were from people who went there and bought the car off the lot, the bad reviews were ALL from outside buyers who live far ! Coincidently, I looked up this truck again to stare at its beauty which I've been doing all morning, suddenly the price was now 15595.... $1595 dollars higher!? I've been eye balling this truck for easily a month. I called nic who swore to me it's "always been that price" but stated he did update it today but never changed the price ...... i knew he was lying and am trying to contact the owner directly. So if you do buy, go directly to them, otherwise if you live far like me, it's just not worth risking that much money. This is an honest review please heed everyone's warnings about the integrity issues here.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Nic thom
Oct 06, 2016 -

Gateway Classic Cars responded

Erick, when you had let me know that you saw the vehicle listed at a lower price, I abandoned all of my other tasks to get to the bottom of what was going on with this vehicle to try and get things sorted for you. You told me in our phone conversation that you had a screen shot on your phone of the vehicle listed at $14,000-even. Our pricing guidelines specify that any vehicle listed below $50,000 must be listed at a number that ends in “95” (e.g. $13,995, $15,595, etc.). This can be verified by checking any of the other 1400+ vehicles listed in our inventory. When I requested the screen shot that you had of our listing posted at that dollar amount to confirm this was on our website, and it was the correct vehicle, you then informed me that you did not have a screen shot, but that you had a web link, which was no longer functional. You then sent me a screen shot of a text chain showing a picture of our truck, with no pricing. These vehicles are in our showrooms on consignment, and we have specific pricing rules which we follow very strictly. One of these rules is that the price of a vehicle can only go down. If the vehicle had ever been listed at $14,000 (or the correct $13,995) we would have no reason to raise the price to $15,595. As I had explained on the phone, the reputation of the company that I represent, as well as the livelihood that I make from it, are not worth the $1595 difference in price. In addition, you expressed an intention to offer below the list price. With that in mind, the listing price would have had no bearing on your intended offer, and I agreed to take your offer to the seller regardless of the list price, as I thought it to be a fair offer. I still would like to come to some sort of agreement with you on the vehicle, but I wish that you had given me an honest shot to help you purchase this vehicle. - Nic Thom

September 26, 2016

"This Place Gets your money and then Does not want to speak. "

- scott2314

I just got a car from this place 2 months ago. They do tell stories for sure and my Guy was Todd. Funny the day after I paid for car he went on vacation and never spoke to me again. Be careful of the Videos and the pics they take. They use lighting that tends to hide half of the problems. If the car is real nice they take outside Video and pics. If it has problems they tend to do inside from what I have learned. The lights hit the cars way different inside. They never told me the car had rust on it. He said the pain was driver quality but of course did not mention the rust the car had hidden under the pain and coming threw the paint. Like many others on here they said the car was an AC car but the pump was in the trunk LOL The best thing I found out later of course is that Todd told me If i came to pick up the car I would have to Pay local sales taxes. He said if I had shipped it I would not have too. I asked if I could just pick up on my own trailer and he told me the same deal. Well I guess I new already that was shady but went with it and found out later they do not want you there. That is why they get the $1000 deposit that is no refundable. Be careful and go there to check out car first is what I can say. The car I got is not bad but at the rust issues. same time they did not tell me about most of the things wrong with it including all

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Todd
September 10, 2016

"Flawless, from beginning to delivery."

- Gordo36

Let me begin by saying that I am 80 years old and thought I was done with collector cars, of which I have had several. I had a 68 Camaro new from a local dealer in 1968, but when I saw the one advertised in the Chicago Gateway Classic car site, I really wanted it, and blue is my favorite color. I dealt with Brian Mitchell mainly and I must say he did an amazing job from start to finish, keeping me informed and sending all the information I needed for a wire transfer. The woman who wired the money for me said the information that Brian supplied was the best she had ever seen to send a wire transfer. The transporter Brian chose for me was excellent, picking up the car a day before they said it would be picked up and delivered in two days. Amazing! Gordo from NJ

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Brian, Nic & Todd
1
...
1 - 10 of 116 results