About Us
Copyright 2017 DR Media Holdings, LLC
Search
Back
Write a review

Gateway Classic Cars

3.7

139 Lifetime Reviews

1237 Central Park Dr, O'Fallon, Illinois 62269 Directions
Sales: (618) 271-3000

Is this your dealership?

...and take advantage of all we have to offer with our Certified Dealership Program.

139 Reviews of Gateway Classic Cars

Sort by Write a review
July 14, 2017

"23 T Bucket purchase"

- Harley Condra

After an exhaustive on line search, I decided to call Dennis Zawilla at the Wisconsin dealership. regarding a 23 T Bucket roadster in Wisconsin. Dennis was very helpful and courteous and was able to answer all of my questions, I was able to buy the car sight unseen, and have it transported to central Florida. The car had been fairly accurately represented on the picture essay on their site, with only a couple of errors...the advertized 270 HP crate engine turned out to be 290 HP.....even better! The LED headlights were actually halogen, but that's not a big deal either..no complaints whatsoever. The quality of the build is extraordinary. The paperwork turned out to be a hassle free experience, so all in all, I am quite pleased with the car, and my experience with Gateway Classic cars, and Dennis Zawilla's professionalism in helping me through the deal.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Dennis Zawilla
June 26, 2017

"Liars & Thieves"

- Clem Dog

708-444-4304 www.gatewayclassiccars.com April 3, 2016 Subject: Stock #866 - 1967 Dodge Dart Dear Mr. Soliday, I have been writing this letter to you, over the past few months, in my mind. Now I am going to put it down on paper and send it to you. First, the subject car you sold me is nothing more then a selection of junk yard parts that were collected from other A body MOPARS and assembled on a 1967 Dart GT frame. The car was misrepresented by you and Mr. Ferguson (title owner). There is so much wrong with this car that I don't know where to start, maybe at the beginning would be the best place. As I told you in my telephone call, there was no "over-drive unit" in the car, as YOUR dealer description noted. The glove box is also missing. A critical chrome piece that is unique to convertibles, is missing. Oh, aren't pictures just great! They can hide or obscure so many things. And guess what! When I got the vehicle on a lift, there were the blown rear shock absorbers and the leaf springs so fatigued that they could not hold the vehicle in a correct manner when making turns. So, new shocks have cost me $100.00. And new springs with all of the mounting gear/hardware has been around $450.00! Oh, and about those NEW tires, they would be great if they were only the right size. The right sized tires just cost me $450.00. That way the sides would not rub on the inside of the rear fender wells. And talking about fender wells...where are the front fender well braces? Why are the heater hoses plugged on the engine block? Is there something wrong with the heater core? Yes, I'll agree the "chrome bumpers look great", especially the rear one because it belongs on a 1969 A Body MOPAR not this 1967. Oh, and did you know that I'll be spending an additional $500-$700 for a correct rear bumper? Of course you did, you know what these old car parts cost. I do need rear back-up lights! None of the front fenders are correct. And the trunk lid is wrong. What wreck did these builders get them from? There are NO "GT" badges on the front grill, fenders nor on the trunk. As a matter of fact, the Trunk molding is missing. The fact is, that there are NO xxxxx in the body/panels for the "GT" medallions to fit into! And the brakes, yikes!!!!!!! I love one of your comments that you made in a message to me; "This one is exceptionally clean and freshly restored including a new crate motor.". FRESHLY: "Revived or reinvigorated". RESTORED: "To bring back to an original or normal condition". Well, none of that was done, except the crate motor! Today! A new day, I rolled down the passenger window and it fell out of it's track! Well, I was going to change all of the locks anyway, because they don't work. So I'll fix the glass problem when I take off the door panels. Well, I've grown tired of identifying and explaining all of the problems associated with this "1967 Dodge Dart GT Convertible", so I am going to just list everything wrong, damaged or MISSING; Overdrive Unit Missing Front Fender Turn Signal Lights Missing Radio Antenna Missing Radio Speakers Missing Third member Snubber Missing Side Bumpers Missing "Dodge" Emblems (Front & Rear) Missing Tail Panel Missing GT EMBLEMS (4) Missing Front Fender Braces Missing Sun Visors Damaged Rear View Mirror Damaged Rear Bumper Wrong Back up lights & lenses Missing Penstar Missing Glove Box Missing I am never going to forget your, "FRESHLY RESTORED" description....I think I'll keep a copy of that in the dart. Well Todd, I'll end now. There is a lot of work for a 68 year old man to be doing, so I better get started. Anyway, you can guess how I feel about all of this and in this new day and age of the internet and communications, I will be spreading my story. And even the local car clubs will enjoy this story. Yes, I know, I sighed, "AS IS". Oh, by the way....you should of called me back like you promise to. Sincerely and very pissed off,

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Todd Soliday
June 11, 2017

"Great Customer Service and Impressive Inventory"

- Michele Vespi

I recently purchased a 1951 Chevy Deluxe from Gateway Classic Cars in Chicago. Before making my way from NY to Chicago, I spoke with Brad, Brian and Nic several times - they were incredibly patient, thorough and helpful with every question I had. They were very responsive and truly took great care of me from the moment I arrived in Chicago. Brad ensured that my experience was top notch - I could not have been happier with my experience - and purchase! I highly recommend purchasing your next dream car from them! - Richie

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Brad, Brian and Nic
June 10, 2017

"1976 Lincoln Towncar "

- Sandra Duckworth

I was pleased and impressed with the attention and service I received from Brad, Brian, and Nic. They were patient and very helpful. I am a satisfied customer.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Bran, Nic, and Brian
June 06, 2017

"Nightmare! Run! "

- klanman0

From the start with the Indy location this has been nothing but a nightmare. I am selling my collector cars and I wanted to try out Gateway Classics with my easiest car. Well from the start they were not truthful with how things worked. So once I figured it out with Son(my salesman) he just kept reducing the price that he thought he could get for my car. Finally after going back and forth I decided to get my car back after having it transported there. I did not tell them I have 5 cars to sell. I would never recommend this place to anybody. I even talked with the nation sales manager Chad and he never returned my call after stating he would make this right. Run as fast as you can from this place.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Pronounced Son(indy stroe), Chad from Kansas city.
May 27, 2017

"AVOID GATEWAY SPECIALLY JOHN CULLEN, A LIAR AND THIEF"

- Vista VW Sucks!

Need to sell your car and don't want to deal with the hassle yourself? WELL YOU'D BE BETTER OFF FINDING SOMEONE OTHER THAN GATEWAY TO DO IT. These guys are where the used car salesmen get their bad reputations from. Flat out liars, the managers are replaced on a regular basis. Then they lie to you about everything! Try to dock your pay for consignment fees that you never agreed to. Consignment was free according to the manager at that particular time. Now it comes time to pay me for my car and consignments aren't free, deductions are made. Total BS. John Cullen was the one who lied to me about the sale of my vehicle. I will never return to their place, beware!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
John Cullen
May 24, 2017

"Don't be scared to drive it."

- Robert 340

Bought 55 chevy truck. Caught a flight to Miami and Ubered to where truck was located. Dead battery and would not start. They were going to put starting fluid in to crank it. Going to cruise west coast of Fl. going home. Broke push rod north of Tampa. When the engine was torn down intake gasket was leaking water into engine. Complete rebuild of a 454. Spoke to dealer and sent some pictures and never heard anything back. After 2 months of purchase contacted ebay to see if they could at least get the sales ad taken off ebay. I got bit on this one so if you see something Gateway Classics has for sale, don't buy without checking it out very well.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
John
May 22, 2017

"Putrid People"

- Coaster123

I would send people to Bosnia before sending them to Gateway Classic Cars (Houston) to purchase a vehicle. The employees are not only inept, they are wildly deceitful. Be fully aware that the employees will piss in your ear and tell you it is raining time and time again. They will incessantly contact you during the purchase/payment transaction period then disappear like a fart in the wind once said payment has been made and the vehicle is dispersed. Several individuals fabricated details of the vehicle I purchased that were immediately discredited upon inspection. Be prepared for disappointment at best when purchasing a vehicle here; a more likely outcome is ongoing litigation.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Aaron Duhon, Anthony Freeman, Jeff Youngflesh & George Taper
May 08, 2017

"Good Experience"

- Larry Bell

Company was easy to work with and gave honest answers to condition questions. Financing process was easy and Christopher led me through it as needed. Would purchase again.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Christopher
April 25, 2017

"Know what you are buying."

- Looking for the perfect car

I generally don't write a bad review, but if I was buying any classic car from Gateway or any classic car dealer, I would be going over the whole thing with a fine tooth comb. There were a lot of cool cars available. Some of the cars I would question it authenticity. There were a lot of "repainted" cars. Some of them done really poorly. Specially when they are a "frame" off restoration. I notice on some of the cars, vin and/or door tags were a lighter weight metal... reproductions? Can say for certain, but I never seen so many plate made with metal that was certainly lighter than OEM. I saw a 79 "Bandit"...but wait it was a '77 Special Edition that was in the movies. There was never a "bandit" edition from Pontiac. So that was misleading. Saw some mid-'60s Impala SS's Funny how they were all badge differently. I am not an Impala expert and no one had a good answer for it at the store. I did have a fun time looking at all the cars, and my daughter love it too but not sure if Gateway is the dealer for me. I would need a really solid car with documentation and a bumper to bumper inspection. I understand, we are looking at old car that have been put back on the road, but some of the pricing was a bit too high and maybe an independent inspection would help negotiate the final sale price. Again, not trying to write a bad review, just what I saw last week wasn't doing it for me. Might check back ever so often to see if they have a good car at the right price.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Atlanta store
1
...
1 - 10 of 139 results