About Us
Copyright 2017 DR Media Holdings, LLC
Search
Back
Write a review

Gateway Classic Cars

3.7

137 Lifetime Reviews

1237 Central Park Dr, O'Fallon, Illinois 62269 Directions
Sales: (618) 271-3000

Is this your dealership?

...and take advantage of all we have to offer with our Certified Dealership Program.

137 Reviews of Gateway Classic Cars

Sort by Write a review
June 11, 2017

"Great Customer Service and Impressive Inventory"

- Michele Vespi

I recently purchased a 1951 Chevy Deluxe from Gateway Classic Cars in Chicago. Before making my way from NY to Chicago, I spoke with Brad, Brian and Nic several times - they were incredibly patient, thorough and helpful with every question I had. They were very responsive and truly took great care of me from the moment I arrived in Chicago. Brad ensured that my experience was top notch - I could not have been happier with my experience - and purchase! I highly recommend purchasing your next dream car from them! - Richie

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Brad, Brian and Nic
June 10, 2017

"1976 Lincoln Towncar "

- Sandra Duckworth

I was pleased and impressed with the attention and service I received from Brad, Brian, and Nic. They were patient and very helpful. I am a satisfied customer.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Bran, Nic, and Brian
June 06, 2017

"Nightmare! Run! "

- klanman0

From the start with the Indy location this has been nothing but a nightmare. I am selling my collector cars and I wanted to try out Gateway Classics with my easiest car. Well from the start they were not truthful with how things worked. So once I figured it out with Son(my salesman) he just kept reducing the price that he thought he could get for my car. Finally after going back and forth I decided to get my car back after having it transported there. I did not tell them I have 5 cars to sell. I would never recommend this place to anybody. I even talked with the nation sales manager Chad and he never returned my call after stating he would make this right. Run as fast as you can from this place.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Pronounced Son(indy stroe), Chad from Kansas city.
May 27, 2017

"AVOID GATEWAY SPECIALLY JOHN CULLEN, A LIAR AND THIEF"

- Vista VW Sucks!

Need to sell your car and don't want to deal with the hassle yourself? WELL YOU'D BE BETTER OFF FINDING SOMEONE OTHER THAN GATEWAY TO DO IT. These guys are where the used car salesmen get their bad reputations from. Flat out liars, the managers are replaced on a regular basis. Then they lie to you about everything! Try to dock your pay for consignment fees that you never agreed to. Consignment was free according to the manager at that particular time. Now it comes time to pay me for my car and consignments aren't free, deductions are made. Total BS. John Cullen was the one who lied to me about the sale of my vehicle. I will never return to their place, beware!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
John Cullen
May 24, 2017

"Don't be scared to drive it."

- Robert 340

Bought 55 chevy truck. Caught a flight to Miami and Ubered to where truck was located. Dead battery and would not start. They were going to put starting fluid in to crank it. Going to cruise west coast of Fl. going home. Broke push rod north of Tampa. When the engine was torn down intake gasket was leaking water into engine. Complete rebuild of a 454. Spoke to dealer and sent some pictures and never heard anything back. After 2 months of purchase contacted ebay to see if they could at least get the sales ad taken off ebay. I got bit on this one so if you see something Gateway Classics has for sale, don't buy without checking it out very well.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
John
May 22, 2017

"Putrid People"

- Coaster123

I would send people to Bosnia before sending them to Gateway Classic Cars (Houston) to purchase a vehicle. The employees are not only inept, they are wildly deceitful. Be fully aware that the employees will piss in your ear and tell you it is raining time and time again. They will incessantly contact you during the purchase/payment transaction period then disappear like a fart in the wind once said payment has been made and the vehicle is dispersed. Several individuals fabricated details of the vehicle I purchased that were immediately discredited upon inspection. Be prepared for disappointment at best when purchasing a vehicle here; a more likely outcome is ongoing litigation.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Aaron Duhon, Anthony Freeman, Jeff Youngflesh & George Taper
May 08, 2017

"Good Experience"

- Larry Bell

Company was easy to work with and gave honest answers to condition questions. Financing process was easy and Christopher led me through it as needed. Would purchase again.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Christopher
April 25, 2017

"Know what you are buying."

- Looking for the perfect car

I generally don't write a bad review, but if I was buying any classic car from Gateway or any classic car dealer, I would be going over the whole thing with a fine tooth comb. There were a lot of cool cars available. Some of the cars I would question it authenticity. There were a lot of "repainted" cars. Some of them done really poorly. Specially when they are a "frame" off restoration. I notice on some of the cars, vin and/or door tags were a lighter weight metal... reproductions? Can say for certain, but I never seen so many plate made with metal that was certainly lighter than OEM. I saw a 79 "Bandit"...but wait it was a '77 Special Edition that was in the movies. There was never a "bandit" edition from Pontiac. So that was misleading. Saw some mid-'60s Impala SS's Funny how they were all badge differently. I am not an Impala expert and no one had a good answer for it at the store. I did have a fun time looking at all the cars, and my daughter love it too but not sure if Gateway is the dealer for me. I would need a really solid car with documentation and a bumper to bumper inspection. I understand, we are looking at old car that have been put back on the road, but some of the pricing was a bit too high and maybe an independent inspection would help negotiate the final sale price. Again, not trying to write a bad review, just what I saw last week wasn't doing it for me. Might check back ever so often to see if they have a good car at the right price.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Atlanta store
April 22, 2017

"1996 Corvette Collectors Edition"

- Kenneth Landry

I contacted Gateway and initially did not get a response, or so I thought, but then remembered that "maybe" I should check my spam folder and sure enough, there was a reply from Nic Thom at the Chicago office, so that error was on me, not Gateway. Before calling I did a little research on Gateway, what kind of volume do they do, BBB reports and responses, and I was fairly impressed. I called Nic Thom and asked about the Vette in question, he was professional and cordial, very polite and so I asked how do I buy it and then how do I get it in Houston. Both were handled quickly, and with little hassle. I could not have been happier if I had been there but Nic put me at ease and everything went smoothly! The car arrived as promised and I was a happy as a kid on Christmas Day!!!! Kudos Nic!!!!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Nic Thom
April 21, 2017

"Don't buy based on description or talking to a salesman. "

- Boogman

I bought a "restored" 1963 ford falcon from Gateway in 2016. The description was misleading to say the least. I realize I bought it without going to Louisville Kentucky which is 1400 miles away to inspect it so shame on me! The 30,000$ in receipts that come with this car were not provided and they blow you off after the sale. It had a 10 yr old battery , old dry rot tires , wind shield wipers not working , Transmision jerry rigged ( totally rebuilt as described)brake drum hoses gone , suspension in need of repair etc.. $4,000 later . GO CHECK OUT THE CAR IN PERSON!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Kenny and Dennis
1
...
1 - 10 of 137 results