About Us
Copyright 2014 DR Media Holdings, LLC
Search
Learn more

Germain Toyota of Sarasota

7435 South Tamiami Trail, Sarasota, Florida 34231
Sales: (941) 924-7700
Service: (866) 456-5351
Parts: (866) 521-2170

Makes: Scion|Service Center|Toyota
 
Excellent
92% Recommend

Overall Rating 4.7

341 Lifetime Reviews

Write a Review
Germain Toyota of Sarasota
341 Lifetime Reviews
Call
Germain Toyota of Sarasota Info
Hours
Amenities
About Germain Toyota of Sarasota

If you WANT A TOYOTA, THINK SARASOTA! We also rent Toyotas as we are a Toyota Rent a Car (TRAC) dealer.

About This Dealer | Hours of Operation | Amenities

About Germain Toyota of Sarasota

If you WANT A TOYOTA, THINK SARASOTA! We also rent Toyotas as we are a Toyota Rent a Car (TRAC) dealer.

Sales/Showroom

Monday 8:30 AM - 8:00 PM

Tuesday 8:30 AM - 8:00 PM

Wednesday 8:30 AM - 8:00 PM

Thursday 8:30 AM - 8:00 PM

Friday 8:30 AM - 8:00 PM

Saturday 8:30 AM - 6:00 PM

Sunday 11:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Service

Monday 7:30 AM - 5:30 PM

Tuesday 7:30 AM - 5:30 PM

Wednesday 7:30 AM - 5:30 PM

Thursday 7:30 AM - 5:30 PM

Friday 7:30 AM - 5:30 PM

Saturday 7:30 AM - 3:30 PM

Sunday Closed

Parts

Monday 7:30 AM - 5:30 PM

Tuesday 7:30 AM - 5:30 PM

Wednesday 7:30 AM - 5:30 PM

Thursday 7:30 AM - 5:30 PM

Friday 7:30 AM - 5:30 PM

Saturday 7:30 AM - 3:30 PM

Sunday Closed

  • Million Mile Warranty on all New Toyotas and Scions
  • Complimentary Maintenance on all New or Certified Preowned Toyotas and Scions
  • Exclusive Toyota Express Maintenance Dealer in area
  • Rental Cars onsite as an official Toyota Rent A Car (TRAC) dealer
  • Instant Financing with Guaranteed Credit Approval
  • Shuttle Service
  • Free Loaner Cars
  • Authorized Parts Store
  • After Hours Drop-Off
  • Pet Friendly
  • Cable TV
  • Customer Lounge Area
  • Free Coffee
  • Free WiFi
  • Vending Machines
341 Dealership Reviews
Filter Reviews By:


Reason For Visit
Service

"Toyota resolves issues with tires"

I have a new Toyota Camry SE with under 25,000 miles and I needed 3 new tires. Toyota has proposed to results my issues and I am satisfied with the proposed resolution.

More

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience

Employees dealt with

Brad Konert

Germain Toyota of Sarasota responded to this review

September 04, 2014

We sincerely apologize that you have encountered this situation and thank you for allowing us the opportunity to work towards a resolution. Best Regards, Mike Balog General Manager



Reason For Visit
Service

"UNHAPPY long time customer"

Germain has shot itself in the foot once again with me. I purchased my car new from them and had all service and repair work done by them. I had been satisfied until recently. A few months ago I went in for service. There was something sticky on my steering wheel and I asked for a wet wipe to clean it off. I was told by the young man who was checking me in that I could buy something at their parts dept. I was really mad at the stupidity of his comment. I wrote about it and they apologized. At my next service date I tried to schedule an appointment online. It would not work even though I had previously entered all of my information and had used it before. I could not get anyone to give me an answer as to why it would not work. Finally, about a week later I got an answer that they had "problems" with their computer. I was so tired of dealing with them that I took my car to another dealer for service. Then, this morning when I started my car a light came on to check car with dealer. I decided to try one more time with Germain.. I went in and asked if they could check it on their diagnostic computer at no charge. I was told that it would be $79.00 to do that. I told them that I had bought the car there and that AAMCO and TUFFY will check it for free. No offer was made, just that "I don't make the rules". Well, I took it to TUFFY and the very nice man explained that he would indeed check it for free and only would charge me if the initial diagnosis required more information. To my great relief, it was only a loose gas cap and when it was screwed on properly, the light went out. NO CHARGE FROM TUFFY! This is just an example of the irritating experiences that I have had recently with Germain Toyota of Sarasota. I doubt that I will go back there again unless I am desperate. My next car will NOT be purchased there.

More

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience

Employees dealt with

don't remember his name

madmax295 responded to this review

August 26, 2014

I am responding to Mike Balog GM of Germain Toyota of Sarasota regarding his responses. I appreciate his concern for my less than stellar experiences with his dealership. However it really makes me wonder how I managed to get the ONE man in the service dept. who did not get the message that they are not charging any diagnostic fees. Even after I mentioned that I bought the car new there, even after I mentioned that AAMCO and Tuffy do the initial diagnosis for free, the man didn't even have the courtesy or presence of mind to go ask his service manager, he just cut me loose to go elsewhere. I do not want to have to demand to see the GM or the Service Manager every time I go in for service so that I can be treated properly.

Germain Toyota of Sarasota responded to this review

August 25, 2014

I understand your frustration with our lack of customer service and I apologize that you had that experience with our dealership. I too am frustrated as we eliminated any diagnostic fees charged to our customers...I'm not sure why our service advisor didn't follow company policy. It was addressed with all this morning and won't happen again with future customers. As someone with experience in customer service I'm sure you understand that mistakes are made and that a business is defined by its willingness to make corrections. We have 80 different employees with various levels of customer service experience that interact with over 2000 customers per month. I know that every day someone is going to make a mistake. It's how we react and learn from those mistakes that I believe makes us a better dealership today than we were yesterday. We are always striving for improvement, and feedback such as yours is vital to that endeavor. Thank you for being so frank. I would like an opportunity to provide you with the service you deserve moving forward. You have my contact information and know now that I am highly engaged and very responsive to our customers. I hope that makes a difference to you...you have a dealer willing to continuously improve based on their customers feedback and a GM available to you should you need him. Respectfully, Mike Balog



Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"HORRIBLE!!!!! (03/05/2014) I went to the Toyota..."

HORRIBLE!!!!! (03/05/2014) I went to the Toyota dealer of Sarasota with my girlfriend and my dad to make sure we could get a good deal in the new Toyota corolla S. I believe the name of the sales associate that "help" us is Tony Baker. everything start when We were discussing the price of the car, obviously me as the buyer want the best deal I can get and the seller instead of working around my price, he start raising his voice and giving me prices I couldn't afford, putting papers in my face with prices I didn't want. Finally I stand up and wanted to leave cause I didn't like how he was treating me and my family. Then the manager came to work the price with me to see how he could help me out but the sales associate right away stand up and scream " Don't sell them anything " and walk away. He went to the car and took my backpack out of the car and throw it in chair like if it was his property, after how he treated us even IN FRONT of his manager we just left... I had never been treated like that. so disrespectful !!! This sales man couldn't keep calm cause things were not going his way. I am never going back to that dealer again. Daniel Ramirez.

More

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
 
1
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience

Employees dealt with

Anthony Baker

Germain Toyota of Sarasota responded to this review

March 10, 2014

We sincerely apologize for your experience and understand your decision to purchase a vehicle elsewhere. The experience you described is not acceptable here at Germain Toyota of Sarasota and as you can see by the many positive reviews is not a practice of how we treat our guest. We wish you many safe and pleasurable driving miles in your new vehicle and if there is anything we can do for you please do not hesitate to give me a call personally. Best Regards, Mike Balog General Manager 941-893-6701



Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"I would like to commend to your attention Anthony..."

I would like to commend to your attention Anthony Salem.  He provided my wife and I with the best new car buying experience we have ever had and we are senior citizens!!! Anthony called us because of our True Car inquiry.  When he learned that we were in the midst of the very worst new car buying experience we have ever had (a nearby competitor)  he patiently listened to our concerns and helped us develop a strategy for extracting ourselves from a truly wretched situation.  This took two weeks which left us in need of another car in a timely fashion.  Anthony gave us a far better deal than the competitor and delivered the 2014 Highlander just in time!  We are grateful for Anthony's sensitivity, honesty and problem solving abilities and thank you for employing this fine young man!

More

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience

Germain Toyota of Sarasota responded to this review

February 21, 2014

We are sincerely sorry that you had this experience with another dealership. We are pleased that Anthony was able to assist you in a strategy to remove yourself from a bad situation. Purchasing a new car should never be unpleasant. Please let us know if there is anything further we can do to assit you. Best Regards, Mike Balog General Manager



Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"I would like to bring to your attention the exceptional..."

I would like to bring to your attention the exceptional treatment my wife and I received at your Sarasota Toyota dealership from Anthony Salem. While all your staff we encountered treated us with courtesy and friendliness, Anthony was our sales consultant, and I feel he deserves special recognition.  Anthony was quick to pick up on our needs and worked exceptionally hard to meet our requirements. As a simple example, I did not like the factory leather that comes in a Venza. Anthony gave me the opportunity to have a leather more to our liking installed in the car. I really didn't like the gray Venza you had on the lot, within 2 hours he located the exact car I wanted and made arrangements to get it to Sarasota.   He listens. Not something you frequently encounter in young people these days! He is of course extremely polite and courteous but also obviously very bright and hard working. I will definitely recommend him to friends whom I know to be looking for a car. I read a business article a while back discussing the success of the Four Seasons hotel chain. One of the principles they use is to hire people with the the right inherent personalities and capabilities first...and teach them the business second. If you've ever stayed at a Four Seasons you know what I'm speaking of when customer service people seem to know what you need before you even ask and yet have a friendly and approachable style in their encounter with you. I think you have this in Anthony Salem. Thank you and your staff for a very nice car sales experience. I look forward to a good experience with your Service. Dept. Sincerely, John Gaddas Venice, FL

More

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience

Germain Toyota of Sarasota responded to this review

February 21, 2014

Thank you for you kind words and your business. I believe the Four Season's has it right, you can teach someone your business but it does take special people skills to provide quality customer service. We are very pleased that you were able to see these qualities in Anthony. Best Regards, Mike Balog General Manager



Reason For Visit
Service

"Took a 09 Camry in for a vibration at idle with foot on..."

Took a 09 Camry in for a vibration at idle with foot on brake pedal - as in sitting at a light. The diagnosis was clean the throttle body, then injectors and oh, by the way one of the rotors needs to turned. Those services were performed with no change in vibration = $400.. My local independent mechanic when presented with the problem immediately popped the hood, had me push on the brake and gas while in Drive to reveal that a couple of the motor mounts were bad. A bit of online research reveals that Camrys are known for this problem. Even Tom and Ray of Car Talk know that the motor mounts fail on Camrys frequently causing a strong vibration at idle with a load on the engine. My conclusion is that I was hustled for the throttle body and injector cleaning because they are costly procedures. Their diagnostic competence was limited to reading the codes, which all were fine anyway. I feel ripped off and will not return again for repair service. I don't trust Germain Service Dept. no matter how friendly they are. After posting this review, I was contacted by the general manager of this dealership and we had a good talk. He apologized for the poor service and has made great effort to rectify the situation. Despite the fact that the vibration problem has only been partially resolved, they appear to have put great effort and expense into repairing the car. A senior mechanic has explained that he has checked the car thoroughly and has done everything possible Nonetheless, I am dissapointed that the repairs haven't eliminated the problem. A vibration that cannot be dampened? Is this model flawed? At 30k miles this shouldn't happen to a top brand automobile. However, the customer service that has been extended to me has been very professional and courteous. I thank them for their efforts. Perhaps this needs to be taken up with Toyota corporate offices. Any suggestions?

More

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience

Employees dealt with

Senior customer service guy

Germain Toyota of Sarasota responded to this review

January 30, 2014

We thank you for the opportunity to work with you to turn your experience around. We have contacted Toyota on your behalf and are working towards a resolution. Best Regards, Mike Balog General Manager

brianxxx1441 responded to this review

January 29, 2014

After posting this review, I was contacted by the general manager of this dealership and we had a good talk. He apologized for the poor service and has made great effort to rectify the situation. Despite the fact that the vibration problem has only been partially resolved, they appear to have put great effort and expense into repairing the car. A senior mechanic has explained that he has checked the car thoroughly and has done everything possible Nonetheless, I am dissapointed that the repairs haven't eliminated the problem. A vibration that cannot be dampened? Is this model flawed? At 30k miles this shouldn't happen to a top brand automobile. However, the customer service that has been extended to me has been very professional and courteous. I thank them for their efforts. Perhaps this needs to be taken up with Toyota corporate offices. Any suggestions?

Germain Toyota of Sarasota responded to this review

January 21, 2014

We sincerely apologize that you feel you did not have a quality experience with us here at Germain Toyota of Sarasota. I would actually appreciate the opportunity to discuss your experience with you as your comments bring great concern to me. If you would please contact me at your earliest convenience or let me know when and how I might contact you I would greatly appreciate it. Best Regards, Mike Balog General Manager 941-893-6701



Reason For Visit
Service

"Not sure who did my actual write up, but everyone was..."

Not sure who did my actual write up, but everyone was fine here. Of all those things you do not like about getting a car worked on, it did not seem like any of those were here! I would give them an '11', as the scale of 1-10 is not enough. Phone reservation, girl that checked me out, the guy who wrote me up... all good. When I need work done I actually look forward to going here for it.

More

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience

Germain Toyota of Sarasota responded to this review

January 14, 2014

How wonderful is that, an "11". We greatly appreciate that. We look forward to our continued relationship. Best Regards, Mike Balog General Manager



Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"I was looking for a new car for my 84 year old mother...."

I was looking for a new car for my 84 year old mother. Yes she still drives. She had a 1992 Buick Century with less than 48K on it, but it was reaching the end of its life..finally! I had been to a competitors dealership for a similar car. I was truly turned off by the competitor's sales approach. There I met one sales rep, drove a car, then another rep "partner" and then came the "Hi I'm the manager" routine. I absolutely hate that sales approach. He ultimately said to me that perhaps there really wasn't a new car in this size at our price point for my mother. (originally we were looking at a 2013 demo, At the end he offered a new leftover 2013 vehicle at the same price...still well beyond what we wanted to pay and they really didn't want the used car) So, I thanked him and left, having been totally put off by the approach. I felt like I was back in the early days of car sales again. I had previously looked at other cars in the lot at Toyota with my mother, which she liked. She also has an older Camry at her New York home which she also loves. So I returned the next day to Toyota. I met Brenda and we looked at a few cars on the lot. I told her where I was on price and told her that I had looked at her competitor's cars. I told her it would be cash deal and I would return with my mother and that I would not "shop" her number around with other dealers if she gave me a fair price. We returned, my mother drove the car and we liked it. She liked Brenda's approach and we did not get the "here's my manager routine". I also offered to throw in the used car to get the deal done at a fair price, so we did need to meet the used car guy (but it was quick and painless). He gave us a very fair price for our car and we arrived at a price we could live with on a new 2014 Toyota Corolla LE.(not a 2013) We then saw Monte to complete the tag transfer and the paperwork. Monte was great also. He did not try to push us into any financing. He did ask if I was interested in a lease. After considering the options, my mother's age, amount of miles she drives, and the amount of the payment (fairly low) we decided instead to lease for a 3 year period. As a result my mother was able to lease a new, safe, fully equipped 2014 Toyota Corolla LE for the same agreed upon price and our car (which eliminated any additional payments for taxes, first lease payment etc.). It made life simpler for her without having to spending a lot of her cash, and also avoided large finance payments. In short, I was happy, my mom was happy and I think the dealership was happy.... and I think they made a few dollars on the deal as well!!! I would most definitely return to them and refer friends to them as well

More

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience

Employees dealt with

Brenda Jayne

Germain Toyota of Sarasota responded to this review

January 14, 2014

Thank you for such a wonderful review of Karen and Monte. We greatly appreciate your Mother's business and we will continue to take very good care of her. Best Regards, Mike Balog General Manager



Reason For Visit
Service

"Service was outstanding. Robert attended to everything...."

Service was outstanding. Robert attended to everything. All questions were answered, and all services were done as promised. Cost was very appropriate for the service

More

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience

Employees dealt with

Robert Unger, A Service Manager

Germain Toyota of Sarasota responded to this review

December 09, 2013

Thank you for allowing us to provide you with your service needs. We greatly appreciate your business and your kind words regarding your experience with Robert. Best Regards, Mike Balog General Manager



Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"I went to Germain Toyota to meet with Cory Fong.Cory was..."

I went to Germain Toyota to meet with Cory Fong.Cory was recommended to me by a family member who bought a car from him.Cory tried very hard to locate the car we wanted.The sales Mgr. Jeff Johnson was also very helpful and upfront with us.Even though we bought the car from another dealer (who had the exact color my wife wanted) Cory called and wished me well.I would recommend him to any one looking to buy a Toyota

More

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience

Germain Toyota of Sarasota responded to this review

November 27, 2013

We wish to congratulate you on the purchase of your new car. We are sorry we weren't able to assist you at this time. If we may be of service to you in the future or if we can assist you with your service needs for your new vehicle please do no hesitate to give us a call. Best Regards, Mike Balog General Manager

1
...
1 - 10 of 341 results
Germain Toyota of Sarasota Germain Toyota of Sarasota Germain Toyota of Sarasota Visit GermainToyotaofSarasota.com! New Inventory Used Inventory Germain Toyota of Sarasota Visit GermainToyotaofSarasota.com! Monthly Specials
Recently Reviewed Employees

Mike Hyndman

Sales Consultant

18 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews

Robert Unger

Assistant Service Manager

16 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews

Cory Fong

Sales Consultant

5 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews

Thomas Smith

Assistant Parts Manager

4 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews

Daniel Caruso

Service Advisor

3 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews

Mike Balog

General Manager

2 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews

Josh Jones

General Sales Manager

2 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews

Matthew Yee

Sales Consultant

2 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews

Anthony Salem

Sales Consultant

2 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews

Rebecca Gonder

Warranty Clerk

1 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews

Need a new car?

Cars for Sale By This Dealer
Sort By:
View All Inventory