About Us
Copyright 2016 DR Media Holdings, LLC
Search

Gillman Subaru North

18010 Interstate 45 North, Houston, Texas 77090
Sales: (281) 784-1000
Service: (281) 209-4327
Parts: (281) 209-4328

Makes: Subaru | Service Center
Average
43% Recommend
2.9

42 Lifetime Reviews

Gillman Subaru North
18010 Interstate 45 North,
Houston, Texas 77090
Gillman Subaru North Info
Is this your Dealership?
Learn about our award-winning Certified Dealer Program and claim this page.
Is this your Dealership?
Learn about our award-winning Certified Dealer Program and claim this page.

Nearby Certified Dealers

Subaru of Clear Lake

506 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews
42 Dealership Reviews
Filter Reviews By:
ttsanders
7/02/2016
Reason For Visit
Service

"Check Engine light came on 7 days after purchase"

Bought a car from this dealership on June 1. The check engine came on a week after buying my car. Took it back to the dealership to check. Was informed that a new gas cap was needed because gas vapors were escaping....I don't know how that wasn't caught during the multi-point inspection! So I bought a new gas cap. Check engine light is still on! Took it back to the dealership twice!!! We were told to take it to Autozone to let them put it on the machine. WHAT?! What kind of business is that??? Finally yesterday, 30 days, and 2 trips back for assistance was told that it was an "external" part of the engine that was not connecting with the gas line. Informed the service tech that I purchased an extended warranty for the car. I was then told that my warranty was for "internal" parts only. WOW!!! How ironic...I have not had this car for 30 days and this car has only been driven maybe 500 miles! The first car payment has not been made and we are about to spend $600 on service. And to top it all off, was told that they were not going to charge me for looking at the car. Oh...you were going to charge me for something I've been asking you to diagnose for weeks! THEN...the brake fluid light comes on! Why was none of this caught in the multi-point inspection!!! I will not be recommending this dealership to anyone...In my opinion, Gillman is not the way to go!!!

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

Service

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
Arturo Betancourt Jr.
6/08/2016
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"Sold a malfunctioning vehicle with a Buy back Guarantee"

I was sold a dud! I bought a used truck from them that was working well on every test drive. I was told that it had been fully inspected and that everything but the radio was functioning as it should. However, two weeks after the purchase the transmission went out and they didn't want to cover it or buy it back (I have the window sticker proving it had a "Buy back Guarantee"). Also, the GM messaged me on Yelp acting concerned, asking for me to message him so when I did he never replied. I haven't even made my first payment and I have already coughed up $1240 in repairs. DO NOT PURCHASE FROM THIS DEALERSHIP.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

Taylor Anderson & GM

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
osolazo
3/31/2016
Reason For Visit
Service

"Make Sure the Parts Are in Stock"

Made an appointment to have my brake pads replaced. Waited for 3 hours before being told by the service rep that they had just put the last set of brake pads on a different vehicle. You’ll have to come back another day, he said. The rep tried to tell me that they had only anticipated a brake inspection. Even if that was true, why would you not ensure that the part is available in case a replacement is required? Excuses stink and are easy to sniff out when they come from a salesperson. This is the second time I’ve had an issue with Gillman North regarding a part. In September 2014, they installed a passenger’s seat switch on the driver’s seat and gave the vehicle back to me. I’m guessing the guy did not check the motor operation once he finished the job, or, even worse, he checked it, realized he’d screwed up, and had the vehicle returned to me anyway. It took me two seconds to realize the seat had horizontal movement, but no vertical movement. First time, shame on you; second time, shame on me. Too bad there aren’t any good Subaru dealerships in Houston.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

service rep with a fauxhawk

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
syclone13
10/28/2015
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"Overall great experience"

The dealer advertised a great price on a certified pre-owned Subaru on the internet. I was able to set up an appointment over the phone to come up and see it. I drove up from San Antonio, and the salesman MD Hassan already had everything ready to go. He actually came in on what was supposed to be his day off to help me with the sale. They didn't try to mess around with price at all. We did the standard at every dealer add-on process, but they were not pushy. It did take a while to see somebody at F&I - I maybe waited an hour after we had wrapped up everything else. F&I offered all of the coverages that every dealer does, but wasn't pushy at all when I wasn't interested. Overall this was one of the smoothest car-buying experiences I've had.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

MD Hassan

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
FreedomRider59
10/26/2015
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"Excellent Service and Satisfaction"

I want to commend Hassan Esfaoui, my sales rep for excellent service, and attention my husband and I received when we were shopping for cars the other day. He listened to our criteria and our particular needs and kept that in mind the entire time we interacted with him. I could see he is a busy man at work, and was pleasantly surprised that we started working with him right away. Apparently the key to such quick service is to make an appointment to see him ahead of time. Then, according to my experience, his attention is solely on you, the customer. I am very detail oriented, so I did a lot of research on various cars and asked many questions...probably more than most. Hassan was patient and answered all of them. The more I got to know him (for me, deciding to buy just the right car for me is a lengthy process) the more I saw he was genuine, and cared that my husband and I were given the best care and attention possible. I am a discriminating consumer and have never taken the time out of my very busy day to stop and write a review. However, Hassan has a 5 star rating with me and is worth the extra effort to let others know that my experience of him is that he is professional, authentic, honest and wants the best for his customer. Hassan has my vote!

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Hassan Esfaoui -Internet Sales Manager

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
TM91
10/19/2015
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"I will never consider this place again"

We found a car that was perfect for our needs and was very well priced. We drove over an hour to test drive this car and start the long process that is buying a car. At first everything was great, very professional and relaxing. It was a bit later in the evening so we weren't able to get a response from the bank that night but we were assured they would start on it again the next morning. We hadn't heard anything from the salesman, Hassan, by lunch time so we called to check in on the process. We were told that their finance person didn't arrive until noon and was about to start working on it. Seriously? So a few hours went by and they finally called to let us know what other paperwork they needed faxed to them. Then, another couple of hours went by and they needed more paperwork. We were hoping it would go through so we could pick it up that night because we wouldn't be able to go in the next day and they would be closed the day after that. After waiting literally the entire day, and most of Saturday, we received a phone call to inform us it went through and all we needed to do was sign papers in finance and pick it up. However, we are an hour or more of a drive from the dealership and there was no way we would make it in time before close. So we told Hassan we would be there first thing Monday morning to finish and get the car. We woke up extra early to drive through terrible traffic for over an hour to be there at opening, only to find out he sold the car to someone else! We asked, and it turns out he sold it not even an hour after he called us to say we got approved! What kind of business is that? So because it took so long to get the deal to finance on Friday, we were unable to pick it up on Saturday. We spoke to him at around 7:30 and the car sold at 8. So two days we waited and sent over paperwork and we even told them we would be there early Monday to get the car. I find it distasteful that they would turn around and sell the car, knowing how much time we had invested, mainly due to their finance department, also knowing that they had a deal and would only have to wait one day for us to return. One day, I might add, that they were closed! If that is the way they do business, where customer service doesn't matter and it's about selling the car to whomever is already standing there and can get it off the lot as soon as possible, then that is their prerogative. However, after all of that, I would have at least hoped they would have the decency to call us back that Saturday and inform us that they chose to sell to someone else. Especially since Hassan knew we were driving over an hour to get there, and that we were coming at opening time. In fact, he had another salesman call us for him, after we were already standing in the dealership and learned he sold it! How very inconsiderate! That to me, is unprofessional and rude. Business is business, I understand that, and yes I was disappointed about the car, but I wasn't flat out insulted until I showed up to find that not only did they not care enough to wait one day for us, but they didn't care enough to even give a simple phone call or text to keep us from wasting a huge amount of time! Not to mention that now our credit has a taken a hit and yielded nothing! So now we have to find another car and do it again! Lord knows it will not be from this place. I will never even consider doing business here again.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

Hassan Esfaoui

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
Dawson
10/08/2015
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"Super happy with quality and efficiency of this dealership"

My first Subaru purchase and I couldn't be happier. I stopped in later in the evening and had no problems getting quality service from everyone here. Friendly, professional, and not pushy. With the help of the team @ Gillman I was able to find the car I wanted with the options I wanted and was in and out in less than 4 hours.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

MD Hassan, Storm, Aaron

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
smile_cme
4/04/2014
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"Best Experience I've Had"

I purchased a 2014 Subaru BRZ just 5 days ago. There was no high pressure, no sales gimmicks, and very courteous staff. The financing was the most organized I've ever seen. Was in and out of the finance office in 15 minutes. The salesman went out of their way to find answers to my questions. I also experienced speed responses to my emails. It was the most pleasant experience in buying a car at Gillman's. No haggles, no stress, no disappointments, just the way a dealership should work. Thanks for a wonderful experience.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Patrick Clausen/Trent

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
 
1

Gillman Subaru North responded to this review

April 08, 2014

Thank you for purchasing your vehicle at Gillman Subaru North and thanks for the GREAT review! We hope you enjoy your new Subaru. Let us know if you have any questions.

kfuller12
3/31/2014
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"when I arrived at the dealership I came with two friends,..."

when I arrived at the dealership I came with two friends, hadnt planned on buying a car that specific day, only wanted my friends to go with me on a test drive to see if they liked it or approved of the subaru forester, as much as I did! (was a very rainy gloomy saturday) I live almost 2 hours away from Gillman and I have a subaru dealer near me, JK Subaru about 10 miles away from my home. i went there to test drive a car but feel that they did not want to deal with me. I actually had to wait.... to GET waited on there...but, not at Gillman Subaru....Felicia Cooley came right up to me and my friends and was not pressuring or pushy at all! I actually wanted to speak to her and didnt mind...as opposed to other dealerships that i had been to and i have been to ALOT of them, for the past month since my car accident that totaled my paid for car! like i said, i didnt go there that sat. to buy a car but after i drove the subaru forester again my mind was made up, i wanted the car and sat right down and felicia went to her sales mgr and there wasnt any haggling and in not too much time we came to an agreement and i left that evening with my new subaru! they made it easy and painless haha...and were very nice people to deal with!

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Felicia Cooley

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
 
1
jkh72
2/14/2014
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"I bought a certified used Honda CRZ just last month! It..."

I bought a certified used Honda CRZ just last month! It was a lease vehicle and still had original warranty. My issue is that they promoted how they had a certain "point" check system for all their certified cars. Just this week a service light came on so I took my car in to have the synthetic oil changed at a nearby place. They promptly told me that there was not enough transmission fluid to even register on the dipstick. What? One month after it was all "checked" and its totally gone? We can only get the fluid at a Honda dealer as well.... go figure. I called Gillman to report this. How can this car have passed fluid inspection? It could have been a transmission nightmare! They said bring it in and they'll fix it. I live 200 miles away. My point is it should never have happened in the beginning. This is my third Honda and I have one more child to buy for before college. I will NOT be returning to Gillman.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

Tony

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
 
1
1
...
1 - 10 of 42 results

Need a new car?

The report has been submitted to DealerRater support. To view the status of the report at any time, save this link.