About Us
Copyright 2015 DR Media Holdings, LLC
Search
Learn more

J H Barkau & Sons Freeport

1102 East South Street, Freeport, Illinois 61032
Sales: (815) 232-5017

Makes: Used Car Dealer

Showroom Hours: 8:00 AM - 7:00 PM Closed

Excellent
100% Recommend
4.9

117 Lifetime Reviews

J H Barkau & Sons Freeport

Hours: Closed

1102 East South Street,
Freeport, Illinois 61032
J H Barkau & Sons Freeport Info
Hours
Amenities
About J H Barkau & Sons Freeport

About This Dealer | Hours of Operation | Amenities

About J H Barkau & Sons Freeport

Sales/Showroom

Monday 8:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Tuesday 8:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Wednesday 8:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Thursday 8:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Friday 8:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Saturday 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM

Sunday Closed

Service

Monday 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

Tuesday 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

Wednesday 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

Thursday 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

Friday 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

Saturday 7:30 AM - 11:30 AM

Sunday Closed

117 Dealership Reviews
Filter Reviews By:
arniebinning
8/15/2015
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"Best dealer around"

Just bought my 8th or 9th vehicle from them. Always deal with Pat Gillespie. Always a pleasant experience to shop there. They sell very reliable cars and trucks and no matter age or mileage, they look like new inside and out. Will always buy my vehicles there

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
robbie80
8/14/2015
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"Had a great experience buying from Miles. "

Miles is great to work with. He is very knowledgeable about all the vehicles and always gets you the best deal. I would definitely buy from him again.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
DebbieW
8/03/2015
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"First Time Car Buyer"

My daughter's first time purchasing a auto on her own. They took the time to explain and talk to her about each auto she looked at. Nice to have a dealership that treats their customers with honesty and respect no matter their age or price range.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
mikeanddarla
7/29/2015
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"Very Nice Dealership to work with!"

We had been looking for a very long time for a certain vehicle, one that is not made any longer. Found one here at Barkau in Freeport. Drove up to test drive after working with Pat via phone and email. Pat was fantastic to work with. Had a few things to address but Pat took care of them professionally. Decided to take a chance and purchase, very pleased that we did. A few things on the truck to fix after purchase, but was mostly expected, overall a very positive experience for our family, would not hesitate calling up Pat in the future and buying our next car there. Just under two hours to drive one way, but one of the best experiences we have had buying a car in a long time! Mike and Darla W.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
Trace R
6/28/2015
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"Great dealership, treated right!"

I purchased a used vehicle with a trade in, they gave me a no haggle price that I was very happy with and I pulled the trigger without a thought. This was a long distance transaction but they were so good, I will shop here again!!! thanks, Trace R.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

There were others there on Saturday that helped out, it was appreciated...

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
pamisue
6/22/2015
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"Car buying made easy"

I really want to thank John Corrigan, Jim Barkau, and Miles Anthony, for making car buying such a pleasant experience. I had to replace my car after it was totaled in an accident, and was very concerned with what I would be able to find. John Corrigan was very helpful in the process of finding a great fit. I love my new Mercury Mariner. I have bought other cars here previously, and knew I would get great service. I would highly recommend J H Barkau & Sons to everyone I know.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
sarahsnobl
5/27/2015
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"amazing service"

This is the second time I've purchased a vehicle from barkau in freeport il and couldn't be more satisfied with the car or the service I received

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
jax123
5/23/2015
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"Above and Beyond"

I truly feel that I made a great decision with the help of Pat, Louis, Colin and Miles. They went above and beyond to make sure my vehicle purchase was a positive one.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
ninja650r
5/20/2015
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"I got another great deal from John Corrigan."

It was time for a new car so i gave John a call. I knew i would get another great deal.I was happy with the price of the car and the amount he gave me on my trade in. I will buy from Barkau's again.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
carr dan123
5/14/2015
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"used car"

Very helpful friendly and honest from the moment we walked in until the final paper work was signed the service was excellent I would definitely be a return customer

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
1
...
1 - 10 of 117 results
Recently Reviewed Employees
Reviews of Pat Gillespie
Pat Gillespie

Freeport Store Manager

66 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews
Reviews of Miles Anthony
Miles Anthony

Finance-Freeport store

18 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews
Reviews of Jim Barkau
Jim Barkau

Freeport Store Owner

17 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews
Reviews of Bob Fleischer
Bob Fleischer

Salesman-Freeport Store

8 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews
Reviews of John Corrigan
John Corrigan

Salesman-Freeport Store

17 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews
Reviews of John Bottoms
John Bottoms

Sales-Cedarville Store

9 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews
Reviews of Bob Reed
Bob Reed

Salesman-Freeport Store

7 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews
Reviews of Louis Lorenz
Louis Lorenz

Sales Manager-Freeport store

4 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews
Reviews of Jeff Jordan
Jeff Jordan

Sales-Freeport store

3 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews

Need a new car?

Cars for Sale By This Dealer
Sort By:
View All Inventory