About Us
Copyright 2016 DR Media Holdings, LLC
Search
Learn more

J H Barkau & Sons Freeport

1102 East South Street, Freeport, Illinois 61032
Sales: (815) 232-5017

Makes: Used Car Dealer

Showroom Hours: 8:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Excellent
100% Recommend
5.0

141 Lifetime Reviews

J H Barkau & Sons Freeport

Hours: Closed

1102 East South Street,
Freeport, Illinois 61032
J H Barkau & Sons Freeport Info
Hours
Amenities
About J H Barkau & Sons Freeport

About This Dealer | Hours of Operation | Amenities

About J H Barkau & Sons Freeport

Sales/Showroom

Monday 8:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Tuesday 8:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Wednesday 8:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Thursday 8:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Friday 8:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Saturday 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM

Sunday Closed

Service

Monday 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

Tuesday 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

Wednesday 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

Thursday 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

Friday 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

Saturday 7:30 AM - 11:30 AM

Sunday Closed

141 Dealership Reviews
Filter Reviews By:
Lolagal
8/16/2016
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"The best!"

I dealt with Jim first. He was so helpful and understanding for me with the situation I was in. Then I finished up the next day with Pat. Again very helpful and understanding. I would highly recommend them to anyone. And would buy another car from them.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
Littleone21
8/10/2016
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"Understanding "

Very understanding, very helpful, willing to work with you. Very friendly, Doing what it takes to get the job done. Well definitely use them again

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
byebyeBOSS
7/19/2016
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"Another great experience"

Told Pat what we were looking for - very specifically - and 2 days later they found it for us. Great service, clear and quick communication. Fair deals from straight shooters. Will definitely recommend and be back.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
Icare
7/18/2016
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"Awesome service"

The dealership and Pat took care of us immediately when we walked in. We have purchaaed 2 other vehicles through Barkau and have had great luck with them.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
WayneO10
7/11/2016
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"Dream Car"

They had exactly what I was looking for and gave me an awesome deal, they go above and beyond to get you what you want...

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
mwool92
6/25/2016
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"Car Purchase"

My car was just totaled and 2.5 weeks later I got a '05 Ford Focus from Mr. Gillespie. Friendly service and quick sale from Barkau. I will be dealing with Barkau in the future.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
Shelby
6/21/2016
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"Individualized customer service"

Pat and other members of the team at JH Barkau helped me pick the perfect car to help me get through the rest of my school career. Everyone worked together as a team to help me choose a great car and picked the very best financing for my current student status. With a great trade in offer and finding great financing, I was able to get a great car at a great price. Thanks especially to Pat, Jim, and Louis for helping! I enjoyed coming back to my home town area from Chicago to get the best service their is!

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
 
1
PWDx2
6/08/2016
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"Amore, amore, amore! Mi Fiat, Grazie!"

Having just sold my car to a couple in Pearl City, IL my friend giving me a ride back to Rockford and I stopped at J.H. Barkau & Sons to see what they had to offer in used cars. We walked into the showroom to see about test driving a car on the lot and there she was! A beautiful red 2014 FIAT 500 Pop. I drove the car on the lot I had originally stopped by to test drive only to decide I really did not want a convertible. Now, back to that bright red Italian. I went back into the showroom to take a better look. Pat Gillespie and I spent some time talking about the car, but I decided to leave without a test drive. Sitting at home that evening I decided to call Pat and ask if I could test drive it the next day. He graciously said he would hold it for me. Well, that was all it took, one test drive and she was sold! I want to first thank Pat for letting me test drive the car alone, at so many dealerships the sales person has to ride with you which is uncomfortable. Pat was/is the best! I would recommend to everyone to check out J.H Barkau and Pat Gillespie!

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
auntiedispatcher
6/04/2016
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"Wonderful, found a car for me that was more than I expected"

I gave them a pretty tight set of criteria and they came through with a great car. This is the second car I've purchased from Barkau. Very pleased with the service.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
 
1
mark j
5/31/2016
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"contemporary and professional operation"

first purchase from Barkau & Sons of Freeport. This business is a model for any used automobile operation offering a quality array of vehicles supported by a professional staff and a real nice facility. used truck I purchased meets/exceeds my expectations and preforms as represented. I will consider this dealer when making future purchases.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
1
...
1 - 10 of 141 results
Recently Reviewed Employees
Reviews of Pat Gillespie
Pat Gillespie

Freeport Store Manager

81 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews
Reviews of Jim Barkau
Jim Barkau

Freeport Store Owner

28 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews
Reviews of Miles Anthony
Miles Anthony

Finance-Freeport store

26 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews
Reviews of John Corrigan
John Corrigan

Salesman-Freeport Store

17 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews
Reviews of Bob Fleischer
Bob Fleischer

Salesman-Freeport Store

10 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews
Reviews of Bob Reed
Bob Reed

Salesman-Freeport Store

9 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews
Reviews of John Bottoms
John Bottoms

Sales-Cedarville Store

9 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews
Reviews of Louis Lorenz
Louis Lorenz

Sales Manager-Freeport store

9 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews
Reviews of Jeff Jordan
Jeff Jordan

Sales-Freeport store

5 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews

Need a new car?

Cars for Sale By This Dealer
View All Inventory
Used 2008 Chevrolet Impala, $10652
2008 Chevrolet Impala

Price$10,652

Mileage 83,843

Exterior ColorDARK SILVER METALLIC

Interior ColorGRAY

Used 2000 Nissan Maxima, $4252
2000 Nissan Maxima

Price$4,252

Mileage 141,222

Exterior ColorSherwood Green Pearl

Interior ColorBlonde

Used 2010 Chevrolet Avalanche, $28952
2010 Chevrolet Avalanche

Price$28,952

Mileage 73,689

Exterior ColorBlack

Interior ColorDark Cashmere/Light Cashmere

Used 1994 Chevrolet Caprice Classic, $10952
1994 Chevrolet Caprice Classic

Price$10,952

Mileage 69,097

Exterior ColorBlack

Interior ColorGRAY

Used 2005 Buick LeSabre, $6952
2005 Buick LeSabre

Price$6,952

Mileage 144,417

Exterior ColorGLACIER BLUE METALLIC

Interior ColorGRAY INTERIOR

Used 1999 Mercury Grand Marquis, $3952
1999 Mercury Grand Marquis

Price$3,952

Mileage 95,729

Exterior ColorHarvest Gold Metallic

Interior ColorLight Parchment

Used 2011 Cadillac Escalade, $36852
2011 Cadillac Escalade

Price$36,852

Mileage 99,070

Exterior ColorBlack Ice Metallic

Interior ColorCashmere/Cocoa

Used 2003 Ford Econoline, $9952
2003 Ford Econoline

Price$9,952

Mileage 193,299

Exterior ColorOxford White

Interior ColorMedium Flint

The report has been submitted to DealerRater support. To view the status of the report at any time, save this link.