About Us
Copyright 2015 DR Media Holdings, LLC
Search
Learn more

J H Barkau & Sons Freeport

1102 East South Street, Freeport, Illinois 61032
Sales: (815) 232-5017

Makes: Used Car Dealer

Showroom Hours: 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM Closed

Excellent
100% Recommend
4.9

105 Lifetime Reviews

J H Barkau & Sons Freeport

Hours: Closed

1102 East South Street,
Freeport, Illinois 61032
J H Barkau & Sons Freeport Info
Hours
Amenities
About J H Barkau & Sons Freeport

About This Dealer | Hours of Operation | Amenities

About J H Barkau & Sons Freeport

Sales/Showroom

Monday 8:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Tuesday 8:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Wednesday 8:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Thursday 8:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Friday 8:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Saturday 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM

Sunday Closed

Service

Monday 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

Tuesday 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

Wednesday 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

Thursday 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

Friday 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

Saturday 7:30 AM - 11:30 AM

Sunday Closed

105 Dealership Reviews
Filter Reviews By:
Pamela
3/22/2015
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"Excellent Experience"

My husband and I have bought cars from Barkaus even before we were married. We have always worked with Pat and Jim, and they have always given us excellent customer service, always standing behind their word. Both Pat and Jim take the time to listen to our wants and needs with every deal.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
Nichol257
2/10/2015
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"Awesome! Earned another lifetime customer! "

I had a vehicle that I never thought I was going to be able to get out from under (considering the title condition I had no clue about when I purchased the car) And I was recommended to Pat by many of my family members and friends, so I went there to see if I would be able to get into a different car, so I could have a nice reliable car before I started driving to Chicago for my new job. I explained my situation to Pat, and he did everything he possibly could to assure me that he could help me out of this situation. I went in there looking at a certain car, and ended up driving away with a 2014 Cruze that I couldn't be happier with! I have to thank Pat tremendously for helping me out so much. Couldn't of done it without him! Will definitely be a returning customer! Awesome very low pressure sales. He explained to me all the options that we could do, and let me decide which route I wanted to go. Awesome guy! Am very happy with the vehicle I chose. Very good dealership to buy from. They will take care of you as I or any of my family members would tell you. Do not go to any other dealership. I went to 5 before I came to see Pat. No other place can compare.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
deets
1/23/2015
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"best dealer ever"

The staff was real friendly and helpful in helping me pick out the right vehicle I have been buying vehicles from this dealership for quite some time and have never had any problems with them I would definitely recommend this place to get your next vehicle from.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
jess88e
12/29/2014
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"Great experience "

My family has shopped for cars at Barkaus since I can remember and we've always worked with Pat. He's not pushy and works to get you in the car of your dreams ! fair trades & fair prices !

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
Jnagel89
12/14/2014
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"Good quality"

Good knowledgable salesman friendly staff worked hard to get best deal. Worked hard and quickly and topped it off with a quick detail n full tank while signing paperwork.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
loublu08
12/13/2014
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"Always worth my time!"

I just purchased my second vehicle from Pat at Barkau's and I am very pleased with how everything turned out! Pat is always so helpful and cares about what I leave off the lot with. He understands my needs and wants and found the perfect second car for me! I purchased a 2000 Jeep Grand Cherokee back in 2010 and I still have it. Now I've purchased a 2013 Dodge Dart and I'm grateful for all the help I received during the sale. I was even given a loaner car when i forgot to bring essential paperwork! I recommend all of my friends and family to Barkau's and I will definitely be returning for our next vehicle! I should also mention I live in Rockford and I find it's definitely worth the drive for me!

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
butch.damask
11/21/2014
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"awesome! "

these guys went the extra mile for getting me into a car. You understood the issues I was having and worked out a deal to get me through.Jeff Gordon pulled no punches, he was honest and genuine. When I went to pick up the car they even filled up the gas tank for me! Great people to work with.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
crpauls
11/12/2014
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"Great Experience"

Miles did a great job getting me the vehicle I wanted at a good price. All of the staff was very pleasant. He even followed up to see if I needed anything.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
rdwitt
10/30/2014
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"customercentic"

I had not purchased a car in over 17 years. Upon a recommendation from my mechanic to visit and work with Pat, I was pleased with the personal attention making this a fantastic customer experience.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
karen nolan
10/06/2014
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"2012 chrysler"

We have been buying cars and truck from Jim for over 45 years. The Chrysler is great, and chevy truck. Jim does a nice work and also the staff..

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
1
...
1 - 10 of 105 results
Recently Reviewed Employees
Reviews of Pat Gillespie
Pat Gillespie

Freeport Store Manager

61 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews
Reviews of Jim Barkau
Jim Barkau

Freeport Store Owner

15 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews
Reviews of Miles Anthony
Miles Anthony

Finance-Freeport store

13 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews
Reviews of John Corrigan
John Corrigan

Salesman-Freeport Store

13 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews
Reviews of John Bottoms
John Bottoms

Sales-Cedarville Store

8 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews
Reviews of Bob Reed
Bob Reed

Salesman-Freeport Store

7 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews
Reviews of Bob Fleischer
Bob Fleischer

Salesman-Freeport Store

6 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews
Reviews of Jeff Jordan
Jeff Jordan

Sales-Freeport store

3 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews
Reviews of Louis Lorenz
Louis Lorenz

Sales Manager-Freeport store

2 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews

Need a new car?

Cars for Sale By This Dealer
Sort By:
View All Inventory