About Us
Copyright 2016 DR Media Holdings, LLC
Search
Back
Write a review

Lia Toyota of Colonie

4.5

134 Lifetime Reviews

2116 Central Ave, Schenectady, New York 12304 Directions
Sales: (518) 374-3700

Is this your dealership?

...and take advantage of all we have to offer with ourCertified Dealership Program.

134 Reviews of Lia Toyota of Colonie

Sort by Write a review
November 19, 2016

"Typical dishonest salesmen"

- Jeff Esmellarin

Wanted to buy new 2016 highlander. We were low balled $7500 on our trade in. What they didnt know was that our trade in was valued at kbb price from another toyota dealership. They then tried to sell us a vehicle in a different color even though we wanted the white one which they said over the phone they had. Now all of a sudden they're not sure they have it. Brent and Chris tried to mislead us. Stay away from this dealership.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Brent, Chris
November 11, 2016

"Inspection Due"

- pbuck2000

Went to Lia for my yearly State Inspection. Robyn Ashley was my service tech and she was wonderful. Robyn was very thorough, respectful, considerate and professional. Offered other services for my Tacoma as a suggestion but never forced any programs on me. I recommend her for any future service needs I might require.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Robyn Ashley
November 10, 2016

"service center tried to bamboozle me"

- pshepard

Got an inspection on my Toyota Tacoma and guy who did inspection said that I needed new front rotors because they had rust around the area that the pads did not touch. The brake pads were fine and didn't need replacement. I told him that I wanted to get a second opinion from some where else because it didn't sound right that the brake pads were fine but not the rotors. Then he said that I failed the inspection. I paid the $21 inspection fee and left. I thought when you failed an inspection that they remove the inspection sticker and give you a 10 day temporary slip in case you get pulled over. The next day I took my Tacoma to a local mechanic for an inspection. The vehicle passed with no problems. So I paid another $21 for an inspection which was much cheaper than to pay lia toyota of colonie $600 to replace rotors that were just fine.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Nick
September 11, 2016

"Typical sleazy service department tactics"

- RehanM

Be very careful if getting service work done at this place. Typical switch and bait situation. I called ahead asking for the 40k service which is primarily tire rotation, oil and filter change. I had a family member take the vehicle in and they dropped in the extra services that were not requested. Of course, they blamed the person making the appointment as well as their own systems first that the clarity wasn't there of what I had wanted. My family member confirmed in person that all that was needed to be done was the 40k service. So, what's the bait and switch? Well, their own website lists 40k service quite plainly to match up with the Toyota manufacturer's recommendation. THEIR in-person brochure lists a bunch of extras which they claim is the recommended. Since I had turned down their extras at the previous service, they decided to re-add these services at this service. Here's the kicker...they added these recommendations BEFORE they had even checked that the car required them. How could Lia's mechanics even know that the additional services were needed if they hadn't checked the vehicle if it required it? Not surprisingly, they only performed the previous service that I did not request (essentially, the one that costs more) and disregarded the cheapo service work of a cabin air filter change. So of course, they proceeded with their brochure recommendation. I now get why people refer to these people as stealerships. Their general manager (Donato Benevento) was of no help who simply accepted that their technician was right and that he would side with his team member vs. believing a customer. There was absolutely ZERO attempt to make anything right. If you're reading this Mr. Benevento, while you may have attempted to act professional, you failed miserably in this department. Simply saying that there's no point in continuing the conversation since it's not going anywhere doesn't mean that you're in the "right". Your bait and switch program may be what's "standard" at your place but you've lost any future business from me as well as others that may be discouraged of working with your facility. Ironically, YOUR facility was actually not even the closest facility for me but I thought I could trust your location since I've had work performed there in the past. What a big mistake that turned out to be. There's more to the screw ups at Lia Toyota that I won't go into further since the theme/outcome is the same. For prospective customers reading this, you've been warned.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Donato Benevento
September 01, 2016

"sales"

- upset customer

interested in purchasing 40k vehicle. been there 3x and still no car. drove up 2x an hour each way for me, only to be told my car isn't on the lot or delivered yet. I then left a message for a manager and still no return call. go somewhere else where you can get 40k service.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
bill
August 24, 2016

"A very good experience."

- Linda317

Earlier this week I took my car into Lia Toyota for some work and was helped by Michael Roberts. He clearly told me what needed to be done and it was done in a timely manner. He was very courteous and the work was done in a timely manner. I appreciate being treated politely and being informed of all that my car needed. Thank you.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Michael Roberts
August 09, 2016

"Just what I expected ... never again"

- Don

I had 3 recall notices which I wanted to be taken care of. They asked me if I wanted to take care of the inspection too. Against my better judgement, I said yes. BIG mistake. $230 dollars later, for 2 bulbs (well, actually one bulb and one socket re-seated) and an "adjustment" to the emergency brake, we're good (well, we passed inspection anyway). I think their hand is still in my pocket. Once burned, twice smarter. And, yes, I agreed to this. Hopefully, you don't wind up in this situation in the future. BTW ... the last car my wife and I bought was from Lia Honda, a Honda CRV. I guarantee the next one won't be! Once burned, twice smart. And, I have the bill for service in case you want to review it. Just ask. I'd be happy to share.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Robyn
August 03, 2016

"My Camry came with baggage"

- Warrior83dc

I was referred to Vince Nguyen by a friend at Lia Infiniti. His service was great; attentive, informative, knowledgeable, and friendly. I walked in not wanting to buy that day and he locked me into a great deal I couldn't say no to. We signed the prelimary papers and scheduled the pick up for Monday. Four days later when Monday came I received a call that the finance paperwork had not gone through yet and we pushed the pick up to Tuesday. Tuesday everything began as planned. The lady at the greeting desk( whose name I didn't catch, but was exceptional) ran us through all the neccesary trade in and purchase paper work except for the official financing agreements in all of ten minutes. It subsequently took over two hours to get into the business manager's office from that step. We weren't waiting for anything or anybody except Nick Simeone. Two and a half hours later when he finally came out to greet us I expressed my dismay to him and his response was "Sorry, I had an eighty year old couple in here before you guys and they couldn't even sign anything." As we got into discussion about the extended warranty I said with this price it makes the warranty only four dollars a month prior to doing the math based on my downpayment. He said " Vince did that for you for having to wait so long. For everybody else its normally about 18 dollars a month. " After doing the math in front of him factoring in my downpayment it came out to $20.50 per month for the extended warranty. Once I became aware that I was directly lied to and made a fool of I was very upset. Still expressing my frustration with the situation I said I don't want the warranty I just wanna sign the papers and get out of here, but I want Vince to bring in the paperwork for the free oil changes we'd agreed upon for the excessive wait which Nick became angry about and told me "Look we can stop this deal right now if you're not happy here we dont have to go through with this because clearly youre not gonna be satisfied." All this was said in front of my mother who came with me to pick up my first brand new car with no cosigner based on my credit and negotiation skills. I was treated with disrespect, lied to and screamed at over a process that could have taken only a few minutes, but dragged on for hours. I was extremely happy with my experience with Vince and love the new Camry I purchased however I don't know that after this experience that I would ever go back to Lia Toyota because no customers should be treated like that. The bad apple spoils the bunch.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Vince Nguyen, Nick Simeone
August 02, 2016

"Great leasing experience!"

- maggiesdad

Went to Lia to look at corollas.We had previously bought a Rav4 and a Matrix from Lia and found the experience to be both easy and painless.My wife thought my Matrix was getting a bit worn,though at almost 10 years and 150,000 miles it still ran well enough.I decided to lease for the first time and noticed that Lia had some nice lease deals online on corollas.We were checking out a Corolla LE Plus when a Mr.Harrison Kendersky rolled up on a golf cart and told us about the car and said he could give us a really good deal on a lease.And he did.A really great deal!The whole process was very smooth and before you knew it my wife and I had a beautiful Corolla with an excellent lease and no money down.Mr.Kendersky even threw in some nice mats and set up my phone with the car's bluetooth and explained how the Voice Action worked.The employees at Lia are why we come back and Harrison Kendersky is no exception.We were grateful for all his help.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Harrison Kendersky
July 23, 2016

"Oil change and tire rotation "

- Pinky

Lia Toyota is the best place to buy a car. I bought my car from them 5 months ago, great service and people who work there are well experienced. I brought back my car for Oil change and tire rotation. Steve Ogaard was very helpful and gave us an excellent service for our car.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Steve Ogaard
1
...
1 - 10 of 134 results