About Us
Copyright 2017 DR Media Holdings, LLC
Search
Back
Write a review

Lia Toyota of Colonie

4.4

137 Lifetime Reviews

2116 Central Ave, Schenectady, New York 12304 Directions
Sales: (518) 374-3700

Is this your dealership?

...and take advantage of all we have to offer with our Certified Dealership Program.

137 Reviews of Lia Toyota of Colonie

Sort by Write a review
December 28, 2016

"Great service center"

- Chris17

I had my sienna van serviced and my experience was great. My service advisor was Robyn Ashley and she was knowledgeable, courteous, and informative. My service was completed ahead of schedule and to my satisfaction. The customer area was also very nice for customers who are waiting for their vehicles. I would absolutely recommend Lia toyota of colonie for vehicle service.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Robyn ashley
December 17, 2016

"Please don't go to this dealership "

- LoveMyTruck77

If you would like a pain-free, stress-free experience buying a car from hones, respectful dealers, please DO NOT go to Lia Toyota! Trying a purchase a car from them was the most stressful experience I had this year- even worse than being rear ended by a seventeen year old. I went to Lia Toyota expecting good service as I actually had purchased two cars from them in the past and thought I would be given VIP status of service. The opposite was true. I called for weeks explaining what I was looking for- a new or slightly used pick up truck in either of the following colors- green, rust, brown, tan or sand. I tried to be as flexible as possible. I called almost every day- from home, from work, from the airport just to be told that they had one in black and one in red. I finally called other dealerships to find out that several of them carried a new Tacoma in the color of sand, which was perfect for me. I let them know I was going elsewhere, which is when they promised they would have the truck in my desired color that week. After several weeks of getting nowhere, (I was now on a time crunch because my son was coming back from college and would need his car, which I had been driving). So, I believed their promise,signed the papers and got the money order from the bank on a Wednesday (after having been their meeting with them both Monday and Tuesday). I had driven my old Toyota that day to work so that I could trade it in on the promise from my mechanic that I would only drive it to work and to the dealership. (The motor had given out completely while I was on the highway and already had to be towed twice to my mechanic. It was on its very last leg). I was sitting calmly in the waiting room of Lia Toyota with all my paperwork and money in hand for an hour with the car dealer passing me by without acknowledging me several times before another dealer finally asked me, "Are you sure that you are getting your car today?". When I asked, it turns out that they "didn't quite have it yet" at which point I gave out a little yelp. I work with special needs children and I am a Mom. I know what a scream is. When I started expressing my frustration, the manger named Frank came out and started to yell at me. I explained that the dealer had lied to me. He said that all dealers lie (which is NOT true because I ended up having a wonderful, brilliant car buying experience with another dealership the following week). It was THEN that they called around to see who had a tacoma in Sand color. They could get one for me in 2 weeks from Syracuse with some miles already on it. No thanks. I have moved on. Please do the same.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Frank
December 10, 2016

"Attempted to do business..."

- Jim

They have a Tundra on showroom floor I really like. I had a 2013 Limited Avalon with 30,000 miles to trade. I asked Tom the sales representative to get me some numbers on trading and I asked him to be reasonable. I own my own business and it's been a very good year. I could easily just pay cash. Before I went I logged onto Mannheim auction reports and looked up my exact car for sale reports and it is selling at Auction for 19,500 to 21,000 depending on color and condition. Mine is Pearl White and flawless. 15 minutes later Tom returned and offered me 16,000 for my Avalon toward full sticker on the Tundra! I was shocked! They were playing games with me and they knew it because they parked a sales manager between me and the door. I told Tom to get my keys... As he was headed for my keys and I was headed for the door the manager jumps in and asks me "Well, where do you want to be?" Rediculous! I want to be somewhere else! That's where I want to be! I was prepared to be very reasonable with them and they were your typical everyday highway robbery car sales people.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Tom, (nice guy), Taller Sales Manager-Dark hair (rude).
November 19, 2016

"Typical dishonest salesmen"

- Jeff Esmellarin

Wanted to buy new 2016 highlander. We were low balled $7500 on our trade in. What they didnt know was that our trade in was valued at kbb price from another toyota dealership. They then tried to sell us a vehicle in a different color even though we wanted the white one which they said over the phone they had. Now all of a sudden they're not sure they have it. Brent and Chris tried to mislead us. Stay away from this dealership.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Brent, Chris
November 11, 2016

"Inspection Due"

- pbuck2000

Went to Lia for my yearly State Inspection. Robyn Ashley was my service tech and she was wonderful. Robyn was very thorough, respectful, considerate and professional. Offered other services for my Tacoma as a suggestion but never forced any programs on me. I recommend her for any future service needs I might require.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Robyn Ashley
November 10, 2016

"service center tried to bamboozle me"

- pshepard

Got an inspection on my Toyota Tacoma and guy who did inspection said that I needed new front rotors because they had rust around the area that the pads did not touch. The brake pads were fine and didn't need replacement. I told him that I wanted to get a second opinion from some where else because it didn't sound right that the brake pads were fine but not the rotors. Then he said that I failed the inspection. I paid the $21 inspection fee and left. I thought when you failed an inspection that they remove the inspection sticker and give you a 10 day temporary slip in case you get pulled over. The next day I took my Tacoma to a local mechanic for an inspection. The vehicle passed with no problems. So I paid another $21 for an inspection which was much cheaper than to pay lia toyota of colonie $600 to replace rotors that were just fine.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Nick
September 11, 2016

"Typical sleazy service department tactics"

- RehanM

Be very careful if getting service work done at this place. Typical switch and bait situation. I called ahead asking for the 40k service which is primarily tire rotation, oil and filter change. I had a family member take the vehicle in and they dropped in the extra services that were not requested. Of course, they blamed the person making the appointment as well as their own systems first that the clarity wasn't there of what I had wanted. My family member confirmed in person that all that was needed to be done was the 40k service. So, what's the bait and switch? Well, their own website lists 40k service quite plainly to match up with the Toyota manufacturer's recommendation. THEIR in-person brochure lists a bunch of extras which they claim is the recommended. Since I had turned down their extras at the previous service, they decided to re-add these services at this service. Here's the kicker...they added these recommendations BEFORE they had even checked that the car required them. How could Lia's mechanics even know that the additional services were needed if they hadn't checked the vehicle if it required it? Not surprisingly, they only performed the previous service that I did not request (essentially, the one that costs more) and disregarded the cheapo service work of a cabin air filter change. So of course, they proceeded with their brochure recommendation. I now get why people refer to these people as stealerships. Their general manager (Donato Benevento) was of no help who simply accepted that their technician was right and that he would side with his team member vs. believing a customer. There was absolutely ZERO attempt to make anything right. If you're reading this Mr. Benevento, while you may have attempted to act professional, you failed miserably in this department. Simply saying that there's no point in continuing the conversation since it's not going anywhere doesn't mean that you're in the "right". Your bait and switch program may be what's "standard" at your place but you've lost any future business from me as well as others that may be discouraged of working with your facility. Ironically, YOUR facility was actually not even the closest facility for me but I thought I could trust your location since I've had work performed there in the past. What a big mistake that turned out to be. There's more to the screw ups at Lia Toyota that I won't go into further since the theme/outcome is the same. For prospective customers reading this, you've been warned.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Donato Benevento
September 01, 2016

"sales"

- upset customer

interested in purchasing 40k vehicle. been there 3x and still no car. drove up 2x an hour each way for me, only to be told my car isn't on the lot or delivered yet. I then left a message for a manager and still no return call. go somewhere else where you can get 40k service.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
bill
August 24, 2016

"A very good experience."

- Linda317

Earlier this week I took my car into Lia Toyota for some work and was helped by Michael Roberts. He clearly told me what needed to be done and it was done in a timely manner. He was very courteous and the work was done in a timely manner. I appreciate being treated politely and being informed of all that my car needed. Thank you.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Michael Roberts
August 09, 2016

"Just what I expected ... never again"

- Don

I had 3 recall notices which I wanted to be taken care of. They asked me if I wanted to take care of the inspection too. Against my better judgement, I said yes. BIG mistake. $230 dollars later, for 2 bulbs (well, actually one bulb and one socket re-seated) and an "adjustment" to the emergency brake, we're good (well, we passed inspection anyway). I think their hand is still in my pocket. Once burned, twice smarter. And, yes, I agreed to this. Hopefully, you don't wind up in this situation in the future. BTW ... the last car my wife and I bought was from Lia Honda, a Honda CRV. I guarantee the next one won't be! Once burned, twice smart. And, I have the bill for service in case you want to review it. Just ask. I'd be happy to share.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Robyn
1
...
1 - 10 of 137 results