About Us
Copyright 2016 DR Media Holdings, LLC
Search
Back
Write a review

Planet Subaru

2.6

49 Lifetime Reviews

596 Washington St, Hanover, Massachusetts 02339 Directions
Sales: (781) 826-4444

Is this your dealership?

...and take advantage of all we have to offer with ourCertified Dealership Program.

49 Reviews of Planet Subaru

Sort by Write a review
October 30, 2016

"Horrible car dealership "

- Marc86

After doing some online research for the 2015 Subaru WRX I found one listed at planet Subaru . I drove 45 minutes to get there . I went inside and approached a dealer and stated that I would like to take a look at the vehicle and test drive it . He brought me over to his desk and starts talking about trade in value and financing . I thought this was a little odd as I hadn't even seen the car yet but he claimed this was how they do it at that dealership . In hindsight I feel like he was profiling me . The dealer tells me how much my trade is worth after looking on Kelly blue book. He then walks off for about 30 seconds and comes back claiming he looked up the auction price and this is the most he will give me and it's non negotiable . I knew he was lying because he was having difficulties nagivating his computer when he was in front of me ( seemed computer illiterate ) yet when he walked away he was some how able to access the system much faster. When I mention to him that we could start negotiating the price of the car I'm buying, he tells me they don't negotiate selling prices and that the listed price is the selling price . He also mentions that the car is a buy back and will be sold with a lemon title . I pretended to not know what that meant . He claims it was a minor issue with a check engine light coming on . In reality if a car is a lemon title it has serious mechanical defects . At this point I've been there for about 10 minutes . I tell the dealer if we can't negotiate the selling price then I'll have to look elsewhere . He then stands up and ends the interaction. Very rude and arrogant . As a disabled combat veteran (OIF) and a former law enforcement officer I expect a certain amount of professionalism from a car dealer . This is the type of dealer that gives the car dealing business a bad name . 'My intention is to contact corporate office as I believe this dealer broke certain operating procedures set by Subaru corporate offices and at worst profiled me .

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Did not provide his name
Nov 07, 2016 -

Planet Subaru responded

Marc, thanks for visiting and giving us an opportunity to work with you. As part of our "undealership" approach, we offer our vehicles at a great price right off the bat and give upfront trade information. Most of our customers appreciate this alternative to spending all day at the typical dealership arguing with slick salespeople and aggressive managers. (Note that you had all the information you needed to make an informed purchase in only 15 minutes.) We couldn't have become the largest volume used Subaru dealership in the country with high prices or poor customer service, but we do understand that some people are looking for more of a haggle experience than we train our people to offer. Once we arrive at figures with a customer, we don't play any games--so please feel comfortable coming back if our deal is the best you're able to find. Best, Jeff Morrill, President

October 07, 2016

"Poor handling of complaint..UPDATE TO REVIEW"

- mmagidny

I'd always gone to Planet Subaru for most of the service on my Outback, which had been purchased as as Certified Pre Owned vehicle from PS in '09. The last few times there I've had poor experiences and to this point, no one has done a thing other than apologize. The last straw was the rear brake job I went in for this past July. The techs there did the job but never hooked the emergency brake cable back. This is the 2nd time such a thing has happened there at PS. I had to trek back there from Quincy on a Friday afternoon in July (mired in an hour of Cape Cod weekend traffic) and was promised compensation from the Service Manager Matthew. Countless emails and almost 4 MONTHS LATER, I've received nothing but lip service. We love our Outback and planned on coming back next year to trade this one in on a newer model but will not be going back again based on the juvenile handling of my complaint. The Service Manager even acknowledged the issues from the past after researching this (which took weeks after my initial complain) but I've received NOTHING. If anyone in any Management role would bother to contact me, I'd be appreciative and frankly based on my experience with Matthew at this point,shocked if anyone bothered. ***UPDATE*** I did finally speak with the Service manager, who agreed to compensate me for the most recent issue as well as for the past issues. As a long standing customer and fan of PS, I was relieved that they finally agreed to do what I thought to be the right thing.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Matt Ryan. Service Manager
Oct 25, 2016 -

Planet Subaru responded

Thanks for updating the review. We try really hard to satisfy customers the first time but occasionally we need to rectify a situation and then we try even harder under those circumstances. --Best, Jeff Morrill, President

June 01, 2016

"Great people and great service. "

- Gail and Bill

We recently purchased our first Subaru, a Forester, and found that Planet Subaru lived up to its tag line-- "The Undealership." We've purchased many cars over the years, and this was the most pleasant experience we've ever had. We really liked working with Ryan Mak.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Ryan Mak
May 01, 2016

"Looking For A Great Deal On A New Subaru?? Look Elsewhere!"

- Jeff929

They call it "No Haggle" undealership! Give me a dealership who wants badly to sell vehicles any day of the week instead! They set prices both new and used OVER other respectable dealers in the area and say they are priced fairly. Says them!! People do your homework online and in person and you will see a real difference in pricing. Save money and your time and go elsewhere.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Deb
May 02, 2016 -

Planet Subaru responded

We really do want to sell cars! Our approach is to price our vehicles aggressively from the get-go, because we've found people are pretty savvy about comparing prices online and prefer not to spend hours in a dealership arguing with salespeople in a high-pressure environment. This approach has allowed us to become the biggest seller of used Subarus in the country, and one of the largest sellers of new Subarus in New England. It's not for everybody, but if we chose the more conventional style we wouldn't enjoy our jobs very much and we would lose a lot of the customers who want an alternative to being tackled as soon as they get out of their car! --Jeff Morrill, President

January 31, 2016

"The Un-dealership not for the reasons you'd expect"

- Stewy1985

I went to Planet Subaru because the Legacy I wanted was selling out in transit and this was the only dealership that had it. I filled out a request online and no one got back to me. So I filled out another one and talked to a woman named Deb who was nice. I made an appointment and Deb handed me off to a kid named Ryan. Thought it was odd, but whatever. Ryan was very nice and knowledgeable. They won't budge on price and undervalue your trade-in. I was ok with that because Subaru was offering a low incentive plan. So I drop a deposit and when I go to pick up my car, I have to deal with the haggling from finance. Even when I had a perfect credit score, the financial assistant gave me a loan from Rockland Credit at 1.99% (Not the 1.49% Subaru was offering). I should have run then. Also, their promotion for their "Passport Program" is going to cost you...........a lot. Their typical oil change runs you are $165 with a 30k tune up at $590. They won't tell you that in finance, though, in fact when I asked their financial person didn't know anything about the passport program. In short, if you want a new Subaru and this dealership is local to you, come with your own financial plan or apply via the Subaru site. If you want a specific car and it's only at that dealership - you could probably wait.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Ryan, Deb, Matt
Feb 03, 2016 -

Planet Subaru responded

Stewy1985, First of all, thank you for buying a car from Planet Subaru. Second, thank you for identifying Ryan as a kid. Now 31, he is starting to feel his age because he never gets carded at restaurants and he’s delighted that someone thought he was really young! Back to your purchase. Regarding the interest rate, Subaru of America does offer have promotional rates for shorter terms (e.g. 36 months). Many people aren’t able to pay off a loan that quickly so they choose a longer term at a slightly higher rate. In this instance, we have a variety of banks and we try to find you one with a rate as close as possible to the Subaru's advertised “teaser rate.” Regarding the Passport Program, many of our customers see a lot of value in the program, and we have returned well over a million dollars in benefits to our customers on the program. Of course it’s not for everyone…we sell cars all over New England and some cannot drive so far for service. Others don’t want to follow the recommendations for service, just changing the oil and hoping for the best (though this strategy has costs down the line, such as tires wearing out quickly without rotations). We work very hard to give our customers good value for their money. We have grown to be one of the largest Subaru dealerships in the country and we didn’t get to this position by overcharging people. While we realistically can’t get to 100% customer satisfaction, that’s not going to stop us from trying. If we can make amends, please call me at 781-826-4444 or email me at jeff@planetsubaru.com. Best, Jeff Morrill, President.

September 18, 2015

"Building Relationships"

- NJRose

I have been buying and servicing my cars at Planet Subaru for over 15 years. I have recommended Planet to friends and family. Why? Earning customer trust and providing quality service is what I see as their ‘mission statement’. It is the reason why, despite moving 800 miles away, I schedule my visits to Boston to include family, friends and Planet Subaru. Brett, Matt, Nicky & Matt – are awesome. There are other dealerships closer to where I live that I could go to for service. I tried them, which is why I keep going back to Planet.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Brett, Matt, Nicky and other Matt
August 16, 2015

"Total clueless salesperson and dealership"

- why?

So I just had the absolute worst dealer experience ever. Went to planet subaru to look at a car. The first time I went they were seal coating the driveway and the car I wanted to see was "out back" in the service area and and I couldn't even go see it. When I tried to look at a different car the salesperson said,"We don't give test drives unless we think you are really going to buy it." Seriously? These are $30k subaru's, not $60K + sports cars. He didn't even think about trying to show me the car at all, just came out with that idiotic statement. Just unbelievable. I should have taken that as an omen. But I went back the next week and the salesperson truly was totally clueless and thought that was a good thing, absolutely refused to even pretend to try and negotiate, when we brought up prices in other parts of the country he actually laughed about buying a car and having it shipped. Seriously claimed that thier "internet prices" are so great people come from around the country. Ah no, your internet prices are literally the highest in the country, anyone with half a brain can check that on cars.com. I've read about arrogant Subaru salesperson, but holy crap this guy was treating subaru's like they were Ferrari's. I mean seriously, I traveled almost an hour to visit, treat me like I am a human, not someone who has zero clue. I bet this place will be in trouble within the year. This place makes the black plague look good. If you want to meet an amazingly clueless arrogant salesperson, go there. Seriously makes me want to never even think about Subaru, even though I've been a gigantic fan for 15+ years. Honestly what type of imbecile actually laughs at someone they are trying to sell something too?

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
eric urbanowicz
Aug 24, 2015 -

Planet Subaru responded

David, sorry to hear you didn't have a good experience. Regarding the test drive on the first day you came in, we were doing asphalt work that day and had packed many cars in our shop so they would not come in contact with the sealer. But you took the opportunity to drive the car after the asphalt work. There are a few circumstances where we don't offer test drives, but it is rare. Regarding the prices, we keep our prices very competitive with area Subaru dealers, but it is true that we cannot necessarily offer a car at the same price as a dealer could in, say, Nebraska, where business costs are lower. We pledge to give you reliable information and honest, upfront, pricing, but we cannot always meet every budget. If there is anything I can do to make amends please contact me directly at 781-826-4444 or jeff@planetsubaru.com. --Jeff Morrill, Owner

August 13, 2015

"Integrity of Service in question"

- Carol S

New Forester in for a windshield. Used their glass company. 2 bad installs by glass co. Third one put in by a service tech that looked like a child did it. Cut my car down to metal. Had to have $2000.00 worth of body work done. Glass co. had to pay for everything. Won't find me there again.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Brett Quinn Service Manager
Aug 24, 2015 -

Planet Subaru responded

Carol, we arrange glass replacements at Planet Subaru for our customers as a courtesy. We don't get a commission or a fee or anything. We just want to make it easier to take care of multiple needs on the same day. In your case, the normally excellent glass company that has done good work for many years (and replaces the glass in our personal cars too) just did a terrible job. I'm really sorry that you were inconvenienced. --Jeff Morrill, Owner

October 17, 2014

"Best Car buying and BEST CAR on the PLANET ! "

- pjs4skates

I just got my second Forester form Planet ! Best Car buying experience and BEST CAR on the PLANET ! Seriously -I would never get anything but a Subaru and never get one from anyone else ! It's an hour drive for me -- But it's so worth it ! Friendly, honest and for the second time - Deb Brewster put me in the car of my dreams ! I couldn't be happier - If I won the lottery I'd never go anywhere else - or buy anything else! It's a DREAM MACHINE ... with all the bells and whistles - things I never dreamed of.... Drove in and out in my new Forester same day ! She even had the Color choice I wanted ! The HUGE Panoramic moon-roof and leather heated seats was my main preferred option - but It came with the back up camera, bluetooth option and 32 mpg...... I feel safe and oh so happy ! pjs

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Deb Brewster and Nic
September 13, 2014

"Service Department did right by me"

- CJL420

These guys were very honest with me. I brought my 2003 Forester after being told by another dealer that my engine needed replacement. I realized right away that the other dealer was magnifying the problems and trying to scare me into buying a new (or used) car from them. Without telling them the assessment of the other dealer, I asked the Planet Subaru service center to check out the same concerns. Yes, they did charge me $100 just to look and diagnose these issues but, I found their assessment to be far more thorough and reasonable. During my most recent visit, I had a vibration issue I needed diagnosed as well as a leaking differential seal that I had repaired myself but, was convinced I had botched it. I told Matt right from the start that if the seal was in fact still leaking, to just replace it. Matt called back, four hours later, to tell me that the seal was not leaking and they had positively identified the issue causing the vibration problem. Again, this cost me $100. Matt seemed disappointed that I didn't give the go-ahead for them to complete an $850 brake job. My point is that like most, if not all, dealerships it was a pricey affair. However, a lot of dealerships would have told me the seal was leaking just to get the extra $200 out of me. On other occasions, where I was doing my own repairs, the parts department has helped me with small discounts on expensive parts. A few times a technician would even offer warnings or special instruction. When the situation calls for dealer service, I am happy to choose and recommend Planet Subaru

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Matt
1
...
1 - 10 of 49 results