About Us
Copyright 2017 DR Media Holdings, LLC
Search
Back
Write a review

Pugi Volkswagen

3.9

180 Lifetime Reviews

2020 Ogden Avenue, Downers Grove, Illinois 60515 Directions
Sales: (630) 964-9500

Is this your dealership?

...and take advantage of all we have to offer with our Certified Dealership Program.

180 Reviews of Pugi Volkswagen

Sort by Write a review
April 21, 2017

"Great experience buying an internet deal from 500 miles away"

- VWx5

I wanted this car so much, I got on a plane and flew to Chicago from Kansas City to pick it up. For many people I'm sure this would be considered risky business, but once I got on the phone with Mike at Pugi and talked details about the car (remaining tire tread, brakes, service record, etc.) I knew I was working with professionals who built instant trust. I put a deposit down with my credit card and bought a plane ticket. The car was exactly as described on AutoTrader and when I arrived it was freshly washed and polished. Pretty sure they even put RainX on the windshield, as I drove through showers somewhere in Iowa on the way home. Mike and the Pugi crew made paperwork a breeze, handled financing through VW, and even sent me on my way with a nice little parting gift and a cup of fresh-ground coffee. Oh - Mike picked me up fro the Metra stop near the dealership! And as a side note... the thing that made this car special was its hard-to-find manual transmission. In all the shopping and test drives I went through, Mike was the only guy not to ask me skeptically, "are you sure you can drive a stick?" (Man, I miss the VW slogan, "drivers wanted!") I only wish I lived close enough to Downer's Grove to take advantage of their gorgeous service department and car wash. Next time I need a car I'll be sure to check the inventory at Pugi.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Mike Sarovich
February 28, 2017

"bait-and-switch"

- North America

***BUYERS BEWARE***!!! Bait-and-switch tactics are heavily used at this dealership. After shopping, around at various dealerships, I thought I had found a decent deal at PUGI VW, but when I sat down to sign on the dotted line, I was informed that I was not be offered the 60 month 0% interest that was being widely advertised by VW. After complaining, I was introduced to the proverbial "sales manager" (Bill) who proceeded to inform me that if I wanted the 0% offer, the price of the vehicle would go up by $1,000!! I found this deceptive and quite frankly a throwback to old dealership practices of the 80's and 90's. Needless to say, I walked out without a car. I would rather pay a few hundred more elsewhere, but be treated honestly.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Bill the manager
November 12, 2016

"Best car buying experience we've ever had!"

- PF, TF, & KF

We bought a 2017 VW Golf today at Pugi of owners Grove after getting a Internet quote from Rudale Hensley. We have bought many a new car over the last 35 years of marriage and children though this was our first Volkswagen and our first Internet car buying experience. It is by far the best experience we've ever had! After locating the exact car we wanted on the internet and inquiring about an internet quote, I was contacted immediately by Rudale in Customer Care who quoted us a price. We drove 3.5 hrs from Cedar Rapids, Iowa to Downers Grove, IL to complete the deal. Salesman Reynaldo Torres was waiting for us when we arrived at 8:00 pm the car and the deal were there as promised. As the car was for our recently graduated daughter, Sales Mgr, John DePierre, even gave us a sizable "Recent Grad" incentive discount. Raluca Cheregi helped to move the process along as efficiently as possible. We would highly recommend this dealership. We are extremely happy with the price we got the car for and the whole sales experience!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Rudy, Reynaldo, John, Raluca
November 02, 2016

"Quick and Hospitable"

- mmg

After I had a frustrating experience on the phone setting up the service appointment, I found the actual service and the service rep (Adam) excellent. Adam got my car in earlier than expected and it was finished in a timely fashion. I would recommend service and will return.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Adam
October 02, 2016

"Unprofessional people play games"

- BILAL

Unprofessional sales people, play games. They made too much profits I think so after 5 min the women was done and had no cars for sale. Try a different dealership. I'm

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Liz
September 29, 2016

"Great car buying experience"

- Cd123

I purchased a GLI from Pugi VW last week. I traveled 2.5 hours from Peoria to Downer's Grove with my trade after speaking with Reynaldo Torres on the phone. He went above and beyond to make my purchase hassle free and even worked to get me more on my trade. I would strongly recommend Rey to anyone looking for a Volkswagen. As a side note, having an in-house Allstate agent was strange. Be careful not to have any policies pushed on you. Overall good experience.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Reynaldo Torres
September 10, 2016

"The BEST sales department, EVER!!"

- Ani

I was a first time new-car buyer and did some research. When I finally figured out that I wanted a VW Golf SE, it was nearly the end of August. (Lucky me...turns out it's a great time of year to buy!) I gave the dealership near me an offer that they refused. It was their loss. I gave Pugi the same offer and they took it. Not only that, but their vehicle had nearly $2,000.00 bonus factory installed features. Once I arrived, their attention and care was impeccable. I took a test drive and gave them my check. My amazing experience did not end there. Nor has it ended yet. Both John Depierre and Rey Torres have been available 24/7. Literally. Rey even gave me his mobile info in case I had any questions about my car. In fact, I have had MANY questions and he has answered every single one. I cannot say enough good things about this sales department. Especially Rey. Top-notch customer service and AMAZING experience all around. How many people can actually say that about buying a car? I love my new car and I wish I lived closer to Pugi!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Rey Torres, John Depierre
March 31, 2016

"Great service"

- Arturo Gutierrez

I took my car in for a few repairs and was amazed by the excellent customer service I was given. They were quite booked when I called to make the appointment but they were able to get my car in two days later. Jeremy kept me up to date on the repairs and the service was done in a timely manner. I didn't notice that my sideview mirror casing was missing until I was almost home after picking up my Jetta. I called Jeremy and he asked me to come in to take a look. He saw which part was missing and put the order in, No Questions Asked! That is Great Customer Service! I don't know about other people's experience, but I would definitely recommend Pugi Volkswagen Service.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Jeremy
March 30, 2016

"This is how to run a dealership"

- McG

I want to start out with I'm used to a battle when buying a car. I did not have to do that here. I dealt with Mike Saraovich as my Sales Consultant and the Sales Manager was John Depierre. My 81 year old moms car was getting a bit old so it was time to buy a new car. My buddy had a bought a new VW here, loved it and said give Pugi a shot because he a very bad experience and walked out of a VW dealer off of the 294. I went on Pugis website and saw a Jetta SE that would be perfect for my mom. Lots of cool standard options but nothing too confusing for mom. She is 81 so even CDs still amaze her. I showed her the car on the website, we went to Pugi, Mike said test drive it, mom loved it and we bought it. That was hard. I'm prepared for the new car buying battle and was shocked that buying a car was so simple. Mike shot me a price which was good but you always have to counter which I did. Instead of coming back with a story he said "OK, you have a deal." What? Really? Way too easy. I bring up John because I'm pretty sure he had to OK it, they are both nice guys and I was giving him hassles over his hair not realizing he was our Sales Manager. His hair grows out funny just like mine so after a while it looks like a faux-hawk which my nephews think is cool but can be a pain. Since the paperwork took longer then actually haggling over the price I had way too much time to waste so I was just walking around being a complete pain. When all the paperwork was being done we went into F&I and dealt with Raluca Cheregi figuring this is where the battle will be. Nope, the nicest person you want to deal with. The service department was washing the car so I went over there and talked with the service writers and they were completely cool. Jeremy Gascoigne is on his game. I usually don't write reviews but I could not find one person at this dealership that wasn't cool. Even the guys in parts are nice. In all seriousness I could not find one person who wasn't nice, personable and helpful. Even though this review says Sales (Used) my moms Jetta had 3000 miles on it (clean CARFAX) and they told me when I picked up my moms plates that my factory service was due before April 1st so I was there today for that and ran into all of the people that were there when we bought the car. All still cool as ever and they remembered me after almost a year so I got out all my business cards and wrote this review. How many car dealerships are like that? That's the reason I wrote this. When the guy who sells you a car says "If you EVER have a question about ANYTHING just stop by and we will answer it or show you how it works", well that's the kind of people I want to be doing business with. My mom loves her Jetta SE 1.8T. BTW I don't do Yelp, Google+ or Yahoo (are they still in business?) Those are for restaurants.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Mike Sarovich, John Depierre, Raluca Cheregi, Jeremy Gascoigne
February 12, 2016

"New key. Recalls. Battery replacement "

- Redbird

Jeremy was the first person I delt with in service, he went out of his way to help me with any questions I had, had very nice manners and kind smile??Car was in and out quickly and sparkly clean when ready to go. I also delt with Barry at service department. He went out of his way to find out what needed to be done to use insurance for key replacement. He made phone calls and got back to me just as he promised within the hour. He also got things set up for new replacement battery, Not very many young men these days have intregrty & manners like him?? Thank you Jeremy & Barry I appreciate all your help. Beth

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Jeremy. Service. Barry parts
1
...
1 - 10 of 180 results