About Us
Copyright 2018 DR Media Holdings, LLC
Search
Back
Write a review

Ackerman Toyota

3.3

90 Lifetime Reviews

3636 South Kings Highway, Saint Louis, Missouri 63109 Directions
Sales: (314) 351-3000

Is this your dealership?

...and take advantage of all we have to offer with our Certified Dealership Program.

90 Reviews of Ackerman Toyota

Sort by Write a review
August 20, 2018

"They only care about the money"

- guy12

This dealership will not budge on price whatsoever. Not even $100. Maybe they knew how badly I wanted the car, but even when shown that the pricing of similar models in the area were consistently lower they wouldn't budge. Don't try to haggle, expect to pay the sticker price. After two days trying to negotiate the price down I walked in with a check hoping that this final bit of leverage would make a difference. And I thought it did, as I was then lead to believe that the amount I agreed to pay would also include the cost of sales tax. I only found out that this wasn't true after I had signed the papers and was talking to the finance manager. This turned into a conversation with the sales manager who seemed angry that I would try to negotiate the price of the car and said he had no recollection of agreeing to the new value, which the sales representative said he had. All in all it felt very slimy and I felt taken advantage of. If they weren't the only people in the area with the car I wanted I would've gone somewhere else in an instant. After I had bought the car I realized I had only been given one key, when I went back to pick up the title I asked for a spare, and they said they wouldn't provide one. Who sells something as expensive as a car and won't cough up the extra bit for a spare key.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Randall
July 27, 2018

"Short and unpleasant experience "

- childress1

Wow. That’s all I can say. I work for another dealer in the service dept there. Our dealer unfortunately doesn’t stock the vehicle I’m looking for so I chose to hit up Ackerman on my way home. I walked in at 7pm on a Friday evening and found a gentlman sitting at the front desk (I would assume a sales manager.) I wasn’t greeted by him or the other 2 salesmen standing there. Said hello and told them what I was looking for. The gentlman, who’s name I never received as he never offered it, seemed very annoyed with me and when I mentioned a vehicle that they did have on their lot, he seemed unbelievable pissed that he had to get up to help me. I ended it right then and there and went and got in my car. I’m usually not one to leave these kind of reviews but wow. Just wow. This guy was not interested in even putting forth a little effort to try to sell me a car. I will never visit or recommend this place to anyone I know.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Unknown?
June 26, 2018

"Bought a car, they refused to fill up the gas tank"

- Bosnian777

They didn’t want to fill up the gas tank, it was on 14 miles till empty,aparently they are saving money, also they won’t send paperwork out of state. I live outside Missouri, they are making me come and pick it up. Which is 400 miles away. Never coming back there again! And not recommending it to anyone!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Meghan Kelly
2.0
Employee Rating is a new feature allowing consumers to rate their experience with individual dealership employees.
April 26, 2018

"There IS an Ackerman Difference"

- MForrest

If you are looking for a 'different' customer experience, go to Ackerman Toyota. I walked into the dealership around 4:30, and I left with my car around 6:00; it was a seamless, succinct, and well-managed process. I had the pleasure of working with Mike Slowski who is extremely knowledgeable and personable. He walked me through every step of the experience answering questions and offering explanations. Do your research, then go to Ackerman for great service, fair pricing, and a no-hassle approach to car buying; it was a great total experience...big thanks to Mike and the entire Ackerman team...including Dave who helped me with financing and the man who so kindly buffed out a door scuff someone gave me on my first night of ownership!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Mike Slowski
July 13, 2017

"Great Representative of Ackerman Toyota "

- Mangan Clan

Tyler serves as a prime example for other car salesmen. He did not pressure us in any way. He was funny, knowledgable, and showed genuine care and concern for our wishes. He even went out of his way after suffering an allergic reaction to a bee sting in his toe! He could hardly walk, but made sure to be at work so he could help our car-buying process go smoothly. Tyler and the other folks at Ackerman were all a pleasure to work with, and we will definitely buy from them again.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Tyler Baker
May 09, 2017

"You better buy NEW"

- VolFan

Well I never do this so I guess you could say the aggravation has gotten to me. Never, ever, ever buy a used car from Ackerman Toyota in Saint Louis, MO. It is by far the worst experience I have ever had when buying a car from anyone. They lied about the warranty, they lied about standing behind their car, and they lied about the car checking out in perfect mechanical condition. Now I have a $1200 bill for an AC that I tested on a 60 degree, rainy day. Between the unreturned phone calls and getting cocky by saying,"Well it has an AC in it doesn't it?" I hope people find out what the name Ackerman truly stands for. Thanks again for your amazing disservice.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Meghan Kelly
1.0
Employee Rating is a new feature allowing consumers to rate their experience with individual dealership employees.
May 09, 2017 -

Ackerman Toyota responded

Our reputation is something we take very seriously here at Ackerman Toyota. Much thought is put into how we handle a customer complaint that is fair to the customer and what is right and not right. We sold this gentleman a $5200.00 car that was sold "AS-IS" without a warranty. The customer knew the vehicle was sold "AS-IS" before he purchased the vehicle. The customer signed a piece of paper that explains that the vehicle was sold "AS-IS". We did everything from a consumer stand point we were supposed to do. This customer lives hundreds of miles away and we were never given a chance to look at the car after the purchase to verify the repair. We were told we had to pay $1200.00 to fix a car that we sold "AS-IS", Our position is that we were upfront and forthright as we are with all our customers....We don't sell bad vehicles.....Our track record indicates that...

May 09, 2017 -

VolFan responded

I was told repeatedly that it had a warranty and realized it didn't when I signed for the car, not because they told me at purchase, but rather told me they misspoke when I called. The issue with the car was a bad AC but I bought it on a cool day so neither myself or my buddy could tell. It needed a new compressor and clutch assembly and I have taken it to 2 different mechanics, one of which was a Toyota garage. Meghan, the sales rep, looked me in the eye and said everything had met Toyota standards or it wouldn't be on the lot after I questioned her about another issue. The fact is they had an oppertunity to meet me halfway and chose not to. They say they stand behind every car purchase, but apparently this only applies to new. To top this off, if you have a complaint with this dealer, would you want them broadcasting the ins and outs of your purchase to try and regain the upper hand in the review? I told them if it had went down a week after purchase I wouldn't say anything to them as I took the risk, but the car description had air conditioning listed, which unfortunately for my pocketbook it clearly does not.

January 15, 2017

"Very good experience"

- MJM

Ray was a very pleasant person to work with. No pressure on the sale. He answered all of our questions. Showed me all the features on the vehicle. Just made it as easy as possible to purchase a vehicle.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Ray Trout
5.0
Employee Rating is a new feature allowing consumers to rate their experience with individual dealership employees.
December 20, 2016

"Non-pushy Salesman"

- nehechow

I arrived around 7:30 pm on a Wednesday, unaware that their hours changed in the winter. John Johnston helped me out anyway and test drove two vehicles with me. He asked me my price range and didn't show me anything that didn't fit into it. This was the second car that I have bought at this dealership and I'll continue to go back there as they've always treated me fairly.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Johnston, John
December 07, 2016

"Harassment and abusive"

- bigrustyjc

Update 12-15-16: After several calls, it was decided that it would be best for all parties for me to return the car and receive my down payment back. All of this did happen without any further issues. I had a chance to speak with the Finance Manager and he was respectful and explained the bad situation and how it happened. Turned out to be a miscommunication that I can understand how it happened. I appreciate the time he took to explain the situation. I told him that there were no ill feelings toward him. As I explained to the Finance Manager, the personal attack and the blatant disrespect the GM showed me during this process is the heart of the reason why this situation exploded and ultimately ended the way it did. That part of my original review remains unchanged. Original Review 12-7-17: Stay as far away from this dealership as you possibly can. They don't care about you, only your money. I have had nothing but issues with them. If there is a problem, even if it's one they created, be ready for harassing phone calls less than 10 minutes apart. The GM only cares about money and will talk down to you, belittle you, and be down right disrespectful. There are plenty of other Toyota dealers, find a different one to do business with. I wish I had.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Brian Hacay
Dec 21, 2016 -

Ackerman Toyota responded

This situation holds to the cliché, “You can’t win for losing.” 1. The lender required verification from his wife, hence the phone calls. “Bigrustyjc” wouldn’t allow the lender to talk to the wife (whose name was also on the loan). He was upset that our finance manager was calling and leaving messages for his wife to call the lender. “Bigrusyjc” wanted to speak FOR her, and the lender was not ok with that. 2. “Bigrustyjc” complained to Toyota (not our dealership) about something on the vehicle. He never spoke to his salesperson or a member of Ackerman Toyota. So, our General Manager tried to call him to attempt to resolve the issue. “Bigrustyjc” was mad because he got “more” calls. 3. Given the issues with this situation: not being able to call to resolve the issue, couldn’t get financed because lender wasn’t able to verify the wife’s information with her, (Our GM offered for “Bigrustyjc” to return the car and we could part ways. He accepted this offer). Sadly even this resolution didn’t satisfy “Bigrustyjc”. It is always in our best interest to make sure our customers are happy with their purchase and their experience at Ackerman Toyota. In this case, it was impossible; every attempt we made to help just made him angrier.

Jan 02, 2017 -

bigrustyjc responded

I wanted an explanation from management why my wife and I were getting calls 9 minutes apart rather than giving us an appropriate amount of time to respond to their request to contact them to resolve the issue. A simple explanation and apology would have been sufficient. However, the GM never seemed interested in hearing my concerns and explaining what happened and fixing the issues. He was only concerned with my wife contacting the lender immediately and ignored my multiple inquiries as to specifically what he was going to do to address our concerns. After I told him that it was unacceptable for us to be contacted twice in a 9 minute span and 5 times in 2 hours, he suggested that I was being too sensitive... The GM said "You are a grown man. You need to grow up and not be so sensitive." I hung up on him at that point and contacted Toyota management.

October 03, 2016

"Great customer service"

- Rmschwartz93

Meghan was extremely helpful in helping me figure out what car was the best fit for me. She didn't try to pressure me into anything and was great to work with.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Meghan Kelly
4.0
Employee Rating is a new feature allowing consumers to rate their experience with individual dealership employees.
1
...
1 - 10 of 90 results