About Us
Copyright 2018 DR Media Holdings, LLC
Search
Back
Write a review

Alan Byer Volvo

4.9

11 Lifetime Reviews

1230 West Genesee Street, Syracuse, New York 13204 Directions
Sales: (315) 471-6107

Is this your dealership?

...and take advantage of all we have to offer with our Certified Dealership Program.

11 Reviews of Alan Byer Volvo

Sort by Write a review
December 01, 2017

"excellent experience"

- carguy315

Excellent experience. I wish there was a traffic light out front ahahaha, so much activity going on at this place. It is truly a one stop shop - Volvo has a new car sales, service, and collision shop and pre-owned sales and service all on the same area.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Carrie
November 20, 2017

"New car purchase"

- dmillis1

This most recent purchase at Alan Byer Volvo in Syracuse NY was seamless. We got a good deal and our sales representative Deborah Matticio was a pleasure to work with. Very professional and accommodating. I would highly recommend Alan Byer for your next new or used car purchase.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Deb Matticio
April 15, 2016

"Truly Exceptional Service!!!!!!"

- MARYANN

My car was in Alan Byer's Service recently and I had a outstanding experience. My Service Advisor took the time to explain to me how often my car should be coming in for service and the importance of each service. She truly went above and beyond, I left there feeling confident that Alan Byer's is looking after my best interests. From my advisor Brook right down to the person who cleaned my car it was a great experience. I waited for my repair in their newly renovated waiting room, I was somewhat puzzled how to use the "gourmet" machine. The woman sitting at the greeters desk saw me and immediately came over and explained how to use it to me, also showed me the tv and remote. To my delight there was also a basket of "goodies" which the same woman pointed out to me. My car was returned to me washed and vacuumed, truly impressed by this team.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Brook Whitham, also the Greeter
October 16, 2014

"Car Detailing and Oil Change"

- sarah.testa

They did a GREAT job in a short time and I was extremely pleased with their service and personnel. My car looked almost BRAND-NEW and was all set for the next messy season (summer...).

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Joe Harrington
June 10, 2013

"Unless you purchased a vehicle here or know someone that..."

- dogpaddle

Unless you purchased a vehicle here or know someone that works at this garage don't bring any car here. They do not care, they do not keep any promises regarding time frame of work completion and they up sell every part of the repair process. In the Syracuse area I would find any other European repair center, garage or dealership rather than this place.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
service dept
December 03, 2012

"My experience did not start out well, due to another..."

- ebtek1920

My experience did not start out well, due to another employee, but Mr. Brian Lawton made sure that I left the dealership well satisfied with my service visit. He apologized for the other employees overbearing behavior towards me. My vehicle was over the mileage for its scheduled maintenance, but Mr. Lawton allowed the service to be gratuitous. I did not even have to inform him of my lack of knowledge in the concept of scheduled maintenances.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Brian Lawton
June 24, 2012

"Had wheel bearing go at 30,000 miles- when they replaced..."

- jardieu

Had wheel bearing go at 30,000 miles- when they replaced it they did not replace the lug nuts properly- now 2 are missing sicne they fell off- Called road side assistance They cannot help since they don't carry lug nuts and you can only buy them from the dealer and they are closed nights and weekends

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
service rep
May 25, 2012

"After test driving a C30 in one dealership, I dealt with..."

- adams262

After test driving a C30 in one dealership, I dealt with different Volvo dealers across upstate NY to find the vehicle, options and price closest to what my wife wanted. Paul and Alan Byer were quick to respond, efficient, and answered all of our questions. The only time we visited the dealership was to pick up the car. Paul had all the documents ready to go- took only 10-15 minutes to complete the transaction. Paul then patiently walked us through the features of the car and even programmed my wife's phone into the car's bluetooth system for her. A little thing, but meant a lot. Completely satisfied with my experience with Paul and Alan Byer.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Paul Magdziuk
September 03, 2011

"My husband and I decided upon a 2011 XC60 after spending..."

- SMV

My husband and I decided upon a 2011 XC60 after spending many months researching crossovers and sedans. My husband is Army, and we had a car program available to us in which we could find dealers who give nice discounts to members of the military- sadly, the closest to us was about 300 miles away. Armed with the numbers that the dealers offered through the service, my husband and I went to Alan Byer and worked with J. Barson. After citing everything that I wanted in a car (it was for me) down to the color and packages, Alan Byer met the discount of any of the other dealerships that we would have had to drive hours for. The only complaint I have is that when choosing whether we wanted the heated rear seats or booster seats, the salesman did not inform us that the built-in booster seats were an additional $500, or that they weren't really that necessary (we are starting a family soon, neither of us have experience with car seats and whatnot). The salesman also got us a less than 3% APR, which was better than what our bank was offering, so that was fantastic in and of itself. The wait for the custom made car was about 7 weeks (they do not keep many of the XC60s in stock and the ones they had were not what we were wanting, but there is no fee for custom building direct from the Volvo plant, just a long wait). I called to inquire about military reduction in registration fee to which our salesman replied he was not aware of any (he should have researched this b/c the is in fact one, but only on special plates which we did not want anyway). Overall, they did a great job and we paid a very fair price for a fully-loaded XC60. I would highly recommend to any military family, especially.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Barson
August 03, 2010

"I placed a $500 deposit on a used BMW being sold by Alan..."

- dekaliber

I placed a $500 deposit on a used BMW being sold by Alan Byer over the phone, shortly before they closed for the night. This deposit was verbally made conditional on my complete satisfaction with the condition and quality of the vehicle, since I had at the time only seen it online. The salesperson assured me multiple times that I would be refunded and not be obligated to go through with the purchase should I discover that it's not in the condition I expected. He stressed that they were a "very professional" dealership who would make sure I was satisfied. I did not sign anything. The next morning, I asked the service department of a local BMW dealership to look up the vehicle's maintenance history and discovered a number of serious problems including a piston seizing in the engine and the complete failure of the clutch along with numerous other leaks throughout the vehicle's history. These have since been repaired, but all of this was highly abnormal for a vehicle of this age and mileage, which led me to think that the vehicle had been abused or problematic to start with. This made me dissatisfied with the condition of the vehicle, so I contacted them the following morning to inform them of my decision not to proceed. However, I was still charged for the deposit and I contacted my salesperson to refund it. After not hearing back from him, I ended up filing a dispute through my credit card. Once they received the chargeback notice, a manager there called me to apologize for the mistake as he claimed that they did not realize that the money was never refunded to me. He was understanding and stated that it was a simple oversight on my part, and that he was sorry I had to go through the trouble. In the end, it all worked out -- they sold the car to another buyer, I bought another new car with lower mileage, and they made right on my deposit. Water under the bridge, I suppose.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Chris Williams
1
1 - 10 of 11 results