About Us
Copyright 2018 DR Media Holdings, LLC
Search
Back
Write a review

AutoNation Toyota Libertyville

2.1

112 Lifetime Reviews

1180 South Milwaukee Avenue, Libertyville, Illinois 60048 Directions
Sales: (224) 993-9001

Is this your dealership?

...and take advantage of all we have to offer with our Certified Dealership Program.

112 Reviews of AutoNation Toyota Libertyville

Sort by Write a review
October 03, 2018

"ignores customers"

- no123456789

I saw a truck online. Went to test drive the '07 Silverado w/ tonneau cover. I opened up the tailgate but not the tonneau on the test drive. My mistake. Test drove vehicle. I like it and all seemed fine. On my way home the brakes squealed like a freight train. I removed the front passenger tire and caliper. Brake pads were brand new. In the bed of the truck I discovered a brand new unused wheel hub bearing assembly that seemed big enough for this truck. I live just outside of Milwaukee. I had to drive the truck back down to Toyota because "any toyota dealership" would not take care of it. BS. I was told they would fix the brake issue and try to figure out why the wheel hub assembly was in the bed of the truck tucked behind a wheel well. They also told me they would clean out the bed of the truck since it had rocks, mulch, bottle caps, straws, just straight up garbage in it. I called and spoke with the GM. I asked if this breaks down on the way, I would expect you to pay for the tow. The GM told me "Well its a used car, we don't guarantee anything." Like I went and bought a wheel bearing to toss in the back of the truck. So after an 8 hour round trip they did nothing to compensate me for my time. BS. I was also told "Oh yea we had an employee set that wheel hub bearing assembly down somewhere and he forgot where he put it." Even more BS. How does an employee set down a $200+ part, in the bed of a truck, that has a tonneau cover, behind the wheel well?! I feel like I was treated like crap at this dealership. If I could return the vehicle I would. It is not worth the utter disrespect shown by this dealership and the GM. They have detoured me from ever purchasing anything used or new from a Toyota dealership ever again. I did write an email to complain about the situation. I was told within 24-48 hours I would get a phone call. Well that never happened, to say the least I am not surprised. From what I noticed all the employees standing or sitting around with their thumbs up their butts it's probably hard to find the time. FAST FORWARD TO A FEW MONTHS LATER: I refinanced this vehicle through my own bank because the interest rates Toyota and Wells Fargo wanted was too high. I sent in all of my necessary paperwork for Libertyville Toyota to refund me my GAP insurance which the dealership charges. IT'S BEEN 2.5 MONTHS. LIBERTYVILLE TOYOTA WILL NOT ANSWER MY EMAILS OR ANSWER MY PHONE CALLS. I KEEP GETTING PUSHED OFF AND IGNORED. WORST CUSTOMER EXPERIENCE OF MY LIFE! I DO NOT UNDERSTAND HOW A COMPANY CAN OPERATE BY IGNORING SOMEONE WHO DROPPED OVER $17K AT THEIR BUSINESS. WORST COMPANY EVER.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Nick, Tom H., Michael T., Jim D., Sam Jawad, Joe Syme
October 02, 2018

"Disappointed"

- wowchuk

First the good. They took my car in on a Saturday morning without an appointment to replace a defective front head lamp. On the negative side, the service car attendant advised me that they had washed my car ....they had not washed my car. With my old Highlander I typically go to this dealer 7 to 8 times per year. The service is good but not outstanding. I have come to expect average service!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Carlos
August 18, 2018

"Terrible Service Center"

- indos95

Service representative is unethical about their action they performed. The wheel locks are taken out of the car and never replaced it but representative says they use master wheel locks. They failed to note that I had front and rear dash cam recording the whole incident.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Michael
July 21, 2018

"Go elsewhere"

- unhappy298

After the tire on a loaner car from the dealership went flat on a Sunday, the dealership would not reimburse me for the expense of a tow service to put on the donut spare. Even when they purchased the used Toyota from me and time me they would pay for it. Appear accommodating, but don’t follow through.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Spencer Shlenker
May 28, 2018

"AutoNation Toyota Earns your Business"

- eLew

I would like to recommend to recommend Alfredo Rosales to guide you through your new auto purchase at AutoNation Libertyville. My family has purchases three Toyota’s through Alfredo within the prior twelve months, and each time we found Alfredo to be honest, trustworthy, and upfront throughout the entire purchase process. Secondarily, the GM at AutoNation provides an atmosphere where his employees have the opportunity to earn your business. I am not related, connected, or compensated in any manner with AutoNation Libertyville. They have earned my business and a positive review.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Alfredo Rosales, Jeff Sawyer
May 21, 2018

"Service Department Suck!"

- Gospod1

Their service department leaves a bad taste in servicing their clients. They brush you off with every complaint you tell them, until the car is out of warranty and then all of a sudden they take you seriously when you have to pay 410 for a broken Window. Their Service manager is not willing to help out the customer and blames the customer for the issues. Stay away from this dealer ship really been a very bad experience like pulling teeth trying to get stuff out of this service department.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Service Manager
January 12, 2018

"Don’t shop for a car here!!"

- Unhappy customer

Reserved a used car online to test drive, had time and date set and they sold car out from under me. Tried to back pedal their way out of it. Shady business!!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Sales girl and sale manager.
August 29, 2017

"Mechanic put a zip tie on instead of the bolt they lost! "

- ricky883

I brought my truck her for Toyotas free maintenance for 25,000 miles. They did 20.000 mile service which includes oil change. They have to remove brush guard to get oil filter replaced. They left oil filter loose leaking oil into brush guard and they lost one of the bolts and put a zip tie in to hold brush guard up on a new truck that had 2o,ooo miles.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
service manager
August 28, 2017

"Customer service worsens AFTER car stolen from their lot"

- drdmnto

AutoNation Toyota Scion Libertyville… where customer satisfaction and loyalty count for nothing! I would BE EXTREMELY CAUTIOUS in having your vehicle serviced here and, likewise, I WILL NEVER purchase another vehicle from this Dealership. Twenty seven days after purchasing a new, never driven, 2013 Toyota Avalon Hybrid from Autonation Toyota Scion Libertyville, we brought the vehicle back to the Dealership for installation of a remote starter installation which was part of the original purchase agreement. At this point, the vehicle had less than 1000 miles on the odometer. The following day my wife was notified that there was a "problem" with the vehicle and that she should contact the Dealer. After contacting the Dealer, we found out that the "problem" was that the Dealer was “unable to locate the vehicle”. Our vehicle had been stolen from the Dealer's lot, a lot in which the Dealer kept its multimillion dollar inventory. We later learned that the Dealer's security measures were grossly inadequate. We were told that they did not have a single security camera on site, either inside their buildings or in their parking lots. In the police report, it actually states that the exact date on which the car was stolen was unknown. In order to pull off the theft, the thief, or thieves, needed direct access to the room, inside the Dealer's building, where their customers' ignition keys were stored. In other words, to steal our car from the Dealer, the thief or thieves had to first steal our keys from the Dealer. How is that for taking “care and custody” of your vehicle! The vehicle was subsequently found by the police 30 miles away from the Dealership in a high crime Chicago neighborhood where, according to the police, stolen vehicles are frequently dumped to be stripped down and sold later for their individual parts. All of our items of personal property, which we left in the car, had been stolen. (The vehicle was subsequently towed back to the police station.) Interestingly enough, when the car was discovered by the police, our own license plates had been replaced with stolen license plates. The stolen plates were held in place with a license plate holder from Schaumburg Toyota and our Libertyville Toyota dealer sticker was replaced with a Schaumburg Toyota sticker, another nearby Toyota dealership. This makes us wonder now if the same thief or group of thieves that stole our car is also active at other Toyota Dealerships. After our car had been recovered by the police, the Dealer could not have pressed harder for us to simply go pick up the vehicle and take possession of it without even a cursory mechanical examination. Basically, their attitude was "What's your problem? Take the car and go home." Amazing! Because our vehicle had been new when it was brought in for the installation of the remote starter, and because we were unable to ascertain how the car was driven by the thief or thieves or what possible damages might be discovered in the future arising from its theft, we requested an exact replacement of the vehicle or return of our purchase price. We were promptly told that Autonation Toyota Libertyville would not agree to do either. We then sought legal counsel and after having spent significant time, effort and money, the Dealer finally agreed to give us $1,000.00 and reimburse us for the cost of our stolen items, but only if we would absolve them of any future legal responsibility arising from the theft of the vehicle, and more importantly, if we would agree not to speak disparagingly of the Dealer or of the events that occurred to our friends, family or social media. In other words, we were offered $1,000.00 HUSH MONEY for our silence! In the end, we walked away from this deal. My wife and I feel that others should hear this story as a warning. People should be able to reasonably expect that their vehicle will be at least somewhat secure when dropped at a dealership for servicing. How many people think that their vehicle in the custody of a dealer is at risk of theft? What would you leave in your car knowing this??? So now, our new automobile has a "stolen but recovered" tag on both our Vehicle Title as well as on a Car Fax report. Each reduces the value of our vehicle. To say that we feel violated, not only by the thief or thieves, but also by the Dealer, is an understatement. We also contacted Toyota Corporation, the manufacturer of our car, to seek compensation for our loss. Toyota Corporation denied all responsibility for the actions of its dealers. Further, Toyota Corporation even stated that it has "no control over their dealers". How convenient! What manufacturer with a strong retail brand image would allow its face to the consumer to be totally uncontrolled in this way??? As a bit of additional information about this Dealer, my family has purchased 5 vehicles from this dealer in the past, and I can tell you that customer satisfaction and loyalty truly mean nothing with "AUTONATION TOYOTA LIBERTYVILLE"” or with the General Manager of this particular Dealer. I would STRONGLY URGE anyone to be extremely wary when having your automobile serviced here. Apparently, in turning over your car keys to them, essentially giving them " Care, Custody and Control" of your vehicle, you cannot reasonably expect your vehicle, or the contents therein, to be safeguarded. Likewise, now every time we drive our new vehicle, we are constantly reminded of how we were treated by this Dealer where CUSTOMER LOYALTY MEANT NOTHING and where CUSTOMER SATISFACTION IS ABSENT ! If you have a similar experience with them, I can assure you that you will NOT be singing, "I love what you do for me Toyota"! There is, however, a good chance that you will be using their other catch phrase," Oh what a feeling!...and what a feeling it is.....INSERT NEGATIVE SENTIMENT HERE !"

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
General manager, service department manager
July 24, 2017

"Took advantage of 82 year old woman"

- Former mechanic

My mother bought her Camry 20 years ago at this dealership and has had it serviced there ever since. Mom's battery died last week and she took it in for repair. The service tech told her the (8 year old) battery was good but her starter was bad. The car has 32K miles and looks like it just came off the showroom floor. $450 later she gets home with her new starter and in the morning it won't start. Same problem as before because it was the battery, not the starter. She took it back in and they charged her $180 for a new battery. Shame on them. Taking advantage of a helpless old woman is sinful.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Service manager
1
...
1 - 10 of 112 results