Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Search
Back
Write a review

BMW of San Diego

2.9

82 Lifetime Reviews

5090 Kearny Mesa Rd, San Diego, California 92111 Directions
Call (858) 560-5050

Is this your dealership?

...and take advantage of all we have to offer with our Certified Dealership Program.

82 Reviews of BMW of San Diego

Sort by Write a review
November 05, 2019

"AVOID their Service department – incompetent crooks"

- ss

I’ve had horrible experience (two out of my three visits) at the service department here at BMW of San Diego – Kearny Mesa. They may have the best mechanics in town but I’m sure the customer facing team is the worst. They are dishonest, they lie, straight up shameless people. I guess nice Service advisors do not want to work with them and would end up leaving. Not worth advertising my experience but please be aware they DO NOT take care of your automobile. They are so capable of bringing damage to your vehicle: scratches, dents, scuffs marks are common damages. They will not take any responsibility and would lie in your face. Please inspect your vehicle carefully before drop off. Avoid their complementary car wash (or at any dealer), automatic wash would ruin your car’s body, paint and finish.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
William Asaro (Service Manager), Arturo Esquivel(Service Advisor)
Nov 06, 2019 -

BMW of San Diego responded

Hello, I am sorry to hear about any service experiences you felt were not to your satisfaction. Given the opportunity, I would like to speak with you about what happened. Please email me at TMoorman@penskeautomotive.com. Thank you, ​William Asaro Service Manager BMW of San Diego wasaro@penskeautomotive.com

November 04, 2019

"Professional and oustanding experience with Lease Department"

- Mara

The lease department and Mike Arsoni was very professional regarding end our previous lease and assisting us in getting a new lease. The personnel is courteous, attentive and knowledgeable. Both processes took only 3 hours and the price was very competitive

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Mike Arsoni
Nov 05, 2019 -

BMW of San Diego responded

We are so happy to learn of your feedback for our team and Mike. Congratulations, Mara! We wish you happy driving and hope you have a great day. Thank you!

September 28, 2019

"Low balling me on a trade in and games"

- Barry

The sales person low balled me on a trade in. He thought I wanted 7k for my car and I told him I wanted 7k if they paid the 3k I owed. Even carmax offered me 10k a total scam. He didnt want to discuss the price and just the payment. Not a professional place. I wonder why the ratings are so low.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Unknown
Sep 28, 2019 -

BMW of San Diego responded

Barry, Thank you so much for sharing your feedback. If you wouldn't mind supplying us with your contact information, we would like to reach out to you to get additional information. All of us here at BMW of San Diego appreciate your comments and we really look forward to contacting you so we can work through these concerns together. Sincerely, BMW of San Diego Management Team

September 26, 2019

"Price Gouging for Service of Vehicle "

- Unhappy BMW San Diego Customer

Charged $1,034 for replacement of 12 volt battery, customer service is poor, they will respond to this review saying they will contact you but they do not. BEWARE OF THIS DEALERSHIP.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
DAVE
Sep 27, 2019 -

BMW of San Diego responded

Ernesto, Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. We take pride in the quality of work that we complete. It is regrettable that the cost of your repairs was more than you had anticipated. If you would like to further discuss your concerns, feel free to contact me at your convenience. Best regards, William Asaro Service Manager BMW of San Diego wasaro@penskeautomotive.com

August 21, 2019

"Mike is an xxxxxxx/ Sales person RUDE"

- Veronica Chavez

He sold me a fraud. The 2019 BMW that he sold me has broken down from an overheat and I only used it for two months. Purchase June 2019 and on 8/16/2019 broke down. Its a used car and done. All the lights from the car went off and did not wanted to turn on.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Sean Weaver
1.0
Other Employees : Mike, William Asaro
Aug 22, 2019 -

BMW of San Diego responded

Veronica, We did sell you your 2019 5 series in June, and unfortunately, sometimes cars do breakdown. We do sincerely apologize for any inconvenience this has caused you; however, we did provide you with a complimentary loaner, and I am glad to say that the repairs on your vehicle are done. If you have further questions, please feel free to contact Will Asaro - Service Manager - at wasaro@penskeautomotive.com. Thank you.

April 17, 2019

"Absolutely zero attention to the buyer."

- GUSTAVO S VIDAL

Wow. 1 year later. I walk around this place thinking about adding a new 3 series to the family. I can't believe I've been here for literally 40 minutes browsing and I have not even been acknowledged or at least even said Hello to. I guess I'll again have to buy from the competition further away. Wow

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Not even one employee said hello.
Apr 18, 2019 -

BMW of San Diego responded

Gustavo, I am very disappointed to hear about the lack of customer service during your recent visit to our dealership. Your feedback is important to us and I would appreciate the opportunity to speak with you directly to further address your visit. Please email me at chauenstein@penskeautomotive.com with your preferred contact information. Thank you, Craig Hauenstein General Manager BMW of San Diego

April 15, 2019

"I had an amazing experience shopping at BMW of San Diego."

- Josh

I was visiting friends and family in San Diego and decided to visit this dealership. BMW of San Diego is a beautiful dealership, and Ryan was super informative and showed me all the great features of the BMW X1! All the staff were so friendly and helpful! I definitely recommend this dealership to everyone.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Ryan
Apr 16, 2019 -

BMW of San Diego responded

Thank you for the positive review and rating, Josh! We are happy to know that your experience with us went well and that you came to visit us. It is wonderful that Ryan was informative and that our staff was friendly and helpful. We appreciate you recommending us and we hope to see you again soon!

September 09, 2018

"If you like throwing money away, then this place is for you"

- dewarsandsoda

I'm keen to support local businesses, but when they seek to take advantage or just downright gouge potential customers, I look elsewhere. Case in point: I was referred to a salesperson, Dan, and I asked for a 36/12K lease quote on $81K X5. I was flabbergasted to receive an astronomical quote of ~$1300/mo with $7K down. Remember, a newly redesigned 2019 model will be out shortly, so you would think that BMW SD has an incentive to move metal. With a few simple clicks, I got quotes from other dealers on more expensive vehicles ($85K+) of ~$980/mo (including tax) with nothing down and only 1st mo and DMV due at signing. That's a staggering $18,500 savings. And, be aware that SD inflates their MF to make more profit on interest. Obviously, BMW SD isn't interested in cultivating a new and LOCAL customer for life. If you're in the market for a BMW, check out Murrieta (Dave T.); Long Beach (Dustin); or Crevier.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Daniel Brummett
Sep 10, 2018 -

BMW of San Diego responded

Hello, I am concerned to hear about your disappointment with your experience with us. I would appreciate the chance to speak with you and get more information. Please email me at chauenstein@penskeautomotive.com. I appreciate your time and are looking forward to earning back your trust in our dealership. Thank you, Craig Hauenstein General Manager BMW of San Diego

July 14, 2018

"Above and Beyond"

- Adelej

Lynn in the business office helped solve Fast Track license plate violation mistake. She went above and beyond her duties with such kind and thoughtful service.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Lynn in the business office
Jul 15, 2018 -

BMW of San Diego responded

Thank you for the great review. We will be sure to thank Lynn for going above and beyond to help you with this situation. Let us know if there is anything else we can help you with. We look forward to your next visit.

June 28, 2018

"These guys are A1"

- Gobmw

Thorough in every way, best BMW service in San Diego. Quick to get us in for appointment, quick to greet us and take us in to discuss work. Car was finished and spotless and on time

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Sean Weaver
5.0
1
...
1 - 10 of 82 results