About Us
Copyright 2018 DR Media Holdings, LLC
Search
Back
Write a review

BMW of San Diego

2.8

75 Lifetime Reviews

5090 Kearny Mesa Rd, San Diego, California 92111 Directions
Sales: (858) 560-5050

Is this your dealership?

...and take advantage of all we have to offer with our Certified Dealership Program.

75 Reviews of BMW of San Diego

Sort by Write a review
September 09, 2018

"If you like throwing money away, then this place is for you"

- dewarsandsoda

I'm keen to support local businesses, but when they seek to take advantage or just downright gouge potential customers, I look elsewhere. Case in point: I was referred to a salesperson, Dan, and I asked for a 36/12K lease quote on $81K X5. I was flabbergasted to receive an astronomical quote of ~$1300/mo with $7K down. Remember, a newly redesigned 2019 model will be out shortly, so you would think that BMW SD has an incentive to move metal. With a few simple clicks, I got quotes from other dealers on more expensive vehicles ($85K+) of ~$980/mo (including tax) with nothing down and only 1st mo and DMV due at signing. That's a staggering $18,500 savings. And, be aware that SD inflates their MF to make more profit on interest. Obviously, BMW SD isn't interested in cultivating a new and LOCAL customer for life. If you're in the market for a BMW, check out Murrieta (Dave T.); Long Beach (Dustin); or Crevier.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Daniel Brummett
Sep 10, 2018 -

BMW of San Diego responded

Hello, I am concerned to hear about your disappointment with your experience with us. I would appreciate the chance to speak with you and get more information. Please email me at chauenstein@penskeautomotive.com. I appreciate your time and are looking forward to earning back your trust in our dealership. Thank you, Craig Hauenstein General Manager BMW of San Diego

July 14, 2018

"Above and Beyond"

- Adelej

Lynn in the business office helped solve Fast Track license plate violation mistake. She went above and beyond her duties with such kind and thoughtful service.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Lynn in the business office
Jul 15, 2018 -

BMW of San Diego responded

Thank you for the great review. We will be sure to thank Lynn for going above and beyond to help you with this situation. Let us know if there is anything else we can help you with. We look forward to your next visit.

June 28, 2018

"These guys are A1"

- Gobmw

Thorough in every way, best BMW service in San Diego. Quick to get us in for appointment, quick to greet us and take us in to discuss work. Car was finished and spotless and on time

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Sean Weaver
5.0
Employee Rating is a new feature allowing consumers to rate their experience with individual dealership employees.
June 27, 2018

"BMW X3 purchase"

- jpandcp

We had a excellent experience evaluating the X3 and making the purchase. Alex Good was very helpful in selecting the features we wanted.. He also arrange to have the car delivered on the day we chose.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Alex Good
January 29, 2018

"Must not need to sell cars"

- GUSTAVO S VIDAL

I'm being generous here. I first inquired online for a 5 series. After literally 1 quick email and call, I stated to the internet sales rep that I would be in that day and ask for him. When I arrived maybe 2 hours later, this rep was gone for the day. No biggie. I worked with a sales person I was assigned to and all seemed well. I told him I was pretty ready to make a deal but I had to run to pick up my son from school. The rep said he would relay the info from me back to the internet rep and both he and the internet rep would get back to me that day with the info I asked for. I was pleased up to that point. The incredible thing is that this dealer must be raking in sales because it has now been a few days since I went in and I haven't heard from either the internet or floor sales rep at all. I take that back. I haven't heard from anyone at all. Wow. Pretty poor if you ask me for a dealership that sells BMW's. I have both reps names but I won't be that customer yet.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Internet and sales floor
September 05, 2017

"Usually good service gone wrong! "

- minnie78

My service professional was more than helpful. There were some communication issues, but those were quickly resolved. My major issue was upon returning the loaner car I was asked by a rental car employee I believe his name was Esteban to move the car from the lane I was in and park it inbetween 2 other cars. He asked me the customer in the middle of the drop off area to park cars. He did not use words instead he used hand gestures as if I was a child signaling for me to back the car up and park it in a different spot. While trying to do so another employee came and informed me that this was not something that I needed to do. I asked him who the supervisor was and was pointed in the direction of Ana. I informed her of what happened and as she tied her hair up she simply said sorry about that. I've had nothing but excellent service from BMW San Diego since 2013 and I was highly disappointed at the audacity that I was asked to basically "park" cars. I understand that everyone has a bad day, but as a company who prides themselves on customer service this was the lowest of the low. I didn't give the service a complete 0 because my service advisor, the service I received initially when picking up the loaner car and the receptionist to pick up my car provided excellent service.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Dave, Esteban, Ana
June 23, 2017

"Positive Experience"

- George Scott

I bought a 2014 BMW 225i from Rich in the certified pre-owned department. It was a positive experience without any problems. A few days later a tire pressure monitor went bad on one of the tires which is not covered by warranty. I had just received a survey on my buying experience so I put on it that went out. BMW of San Diego called me the next day, set me up with a service appointment to fix the problem for free and gave me a (brand new 2017) loaner car all at no cost. They went above and beyond I wouldn't have any issues with going back again.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Rich Certified Pre-Own
May 14, 2017

"poor service department"

- Hao Tang

Their service department is as bad as it gets. Scheduled a routine oil change. I am late when I get there, have to wait for 10-15 minutes before a service people let me drive into the garage. I told them I am late and let them know it is just an oil change. they are OK, checked in the car and ask me to wait in the waiting area. after 30 minutes, another service person showed up, very seriously told me " you know you are you late", yes, I already told the guy check me in. I told him it is just an oil change, he start to embarrass me, " oh, no, we have to do full check, since my technician need to go home, we can not finish", and ask me to leave the car in dealership and come back to pick up in two days, I asked if I get can loaner, he laughed at me, " oh, no, for service like thing, we don't provide loaner, you have to call someone to pick you up", then compare them to a doctor, told me car service is appointment base like doctor appointment. don't understand how an oil change get so complicated. there is a air condition button is broken, I asked if It can get replaced under warranty, he told me all he know is that the button is broken, he doesn't know if it is covered. btw, the car is still under full factory warranty. 3 years old 740. I asked why the guy in the hallway checked me in, I told them I am late, if they had told me they have to go home, I will come back another time, instead of waiting 30 minutes till a so called service specialist showed up and rejected me. when I get there it was still more then a hour till door close. he told me nothing he can do, instead of continuing arguing with him, I decide to leave, the car still in the service hallway without moving forward an inch. I guess they are all eager to go home. don't understand how could they survive. the service person's name is Kenji, he is very rude and careless.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Tenji Timmerman
February 03, 2017

"Rip off alert!!!!"

- Kemcal79

I usually take my car for service in Escondido and have always had a good experience at the Escondido dealership. Because of time constraints, I took my car to the San Diego dealership and had such a bad experience that I felt like I needed to let others know. First, I made an appointment online but even then I had to wait about half an hour just to drop off the vehicle. When I finally saw a representative, she was obviously in a hurry and basically just said, your car needs $600 of service and sign here. When I started asking what services the car needed that would possibly cost $600, she said the cabin air filter ($200) and some "diagnostic" test that was $180. When I asked what the "diagnosis" test was, she couldn't even tell me!!!! At that point, I was suspicious enough to decline the filter and just had the brakes serviced. Good thing! I got the car home and was telling my husband about the crappy customer service. He also thought the price quoted was ridiculous, and he went out to the car to take a look at the air filter. The air filter absolutely does NOT need replaced- it looks practically new. That means, this dealership was going to charge me almost $400 ((!!!))) for things I did NOT NEED. BEWARE of this location and double-check all of their quotes. I get the sense they try and rush you through the service quotes so that you don't have time to really read/think about the services they say you need. Be smart enough to ask them to show you what's going on and you'll save a LOT of money.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Not sure
January 16, 2017

"very bad custumer service"

- jackdemoley1

do not return phone calls , phone rings like 30 times b4 answer if answer ,on gereral to many to mention,not a friendly place to do business

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Sean Weaver
1
...
1 - 10 of 75 results