Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Back

Bath Subaru

Woolwich, ME

2.0
36 Lifetime Reviews Review Dealership

116 Main Street

Woolwich, ME

04579

Directions

36 Reviews of Bath Subaru

Sort by Write a review
September 16, 2020

"I question my loyalty to Subaru after today's encounter...."

- bluenomore

I question my loyalty to Subaru after today's encounter. I brought my car in for a 60k service, Maine inspection, to check the battery (as it had needed to be jumped recently), and to check for a cause to a rubbing noise that increased when my speed increased. I got a phone call to authorize battery replacement and a call when the service was complete. On inspecting the car in the parking lot, my husband checked the rear passenger light which he had noticed being out when following me down to the appointment. I forgot to mention it to service, but assured my husband they would see it during the 60k service and state safety check. They did not. In addition, the engine hood latch, which I have difficulty having catch on occasion, also did not close properly when I checked for the new belt, etc, I had just paid for. The latch had been cleaned but did not work properly. For $943.93, I have no confidence in the service I received, and I was chastised and disrespected by the manager and owner of the dealership. This is my fifth Subaru. I have never had such a horrible customer service experience anywhere in my lifetime. This is extremely disturbing when, in fact, a little common courtesy and humble admission of an oversight would have sent me off forgiving a missed bad bulb and a poor judgement call on not calling about the latch. Instead, I now question if my next vehicle will be a Subaru.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Frank Noriega, service manager, as well as the female owner, she did not give me her name.
May 19, 2020

"First of all, there was one very nice person in the..."

- Jim

First of all, there was one very nice person in the service department, a woman and she has been cheerful and helpful every time I talk to her but that is where the positivity ends. Every time I call for help here the people I've spoken to have been rude and abrupt making me almost feel sorry for bothering them. This isn't right. If you call the medical clinic across the river I work, Midcoast Internal Medicine, you will be greeted with kindness and understanding and we will take time for you not treat you like a nuisance just because you are calling with a simple question. Because, guess what, That's my job! My job is to give the best care I can to my patients. Your job is to do that for your customers. I will never get another vehicle from this horrible place again. The worst customer service I've experienced anywhere for anything.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
No
December 20, 2019

"Misrepresented used car, incorrect vehicle accident history"

- emilyeelliott

They sold me a used car for $11,000, which had been in a undisclosed front end accident with damages of $7,000. Their Autocheck system did not show the accident. Carfax showed the accident right away. Bath Subaru first said the accident didn't happen, then said the accident hadn't been so bad ($7000 damages?), then blamed it on the previous owner. They took no accountability for knowing about their cars before they sell them. Bruce (the owner) and Blake Mcelman w(Bruce's to son) were very hard to work with. They tried to give me as little as possible, when this was very clearly their mistake. It took weeks of negotiation to reach an agreement (right down to the 30th day after purchase). They tried to not pay me back for my trade in, instead give it back to me. I had to remind them they own it, because they bought the trade in when I bought their car. Eventually, I returned the car and received my money back. That part they followed to the letter of the law, I got my refund and not one penny more for the complications and extra work this created for me (car shopping for 2 months, one to buy the Bath Subaru used car, one to find it's comparable replacement). They literally would do nothing to make me feel better about my dealings with them. This was a horrible experience, and I am so glad it's over. I would never recommend anyone buy a car or have it serviced at Bath Subaru. They cannot be trusted, if they don't know the history of their vehicles before they put them up for sale.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Robert Newcombe (sales), Blake Mcelman (manager), Bruce Mcelman (owner)
December 11, 2019

"Wonderful sales people"

- Amy

I highly recommend John Harper. The most honest salesman I’ve ever dealt with. No pressure and explains every detail about the car and costs. The service department has always fixed my car to my satisfaction. Sometimes they are booked up for a couple weeks. But they will fit you in ASAP.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
John Harper and Angela in the service department.
August 23, 2019

"Service Department Damages"

- Jason

I brought my Subaru in for a mechanical issue. When I picked up my vehicle I immediately noticed damage on the center console armrest that was not there when I had dropped it off. I spoke to the service manager and she took my car to inspect the damage. After 10 minutes she came back and informed me they don't know what it is and they didn't do it. I called and was transferred to one of the owners, Bruce, who immediately said it's not them. This guy was dismissive, rude, and would talk over me telling me he'll do nothing about it. I've never met an owner who doesn't care about business or thier reputation. I told him someone isn't telling the truth but I am. That was enough and he let me know he's the top, there is no one else to talk to and not come back. This isn't a dealership service department and is ran like nothing more then dishonest, shady, and disreputable side of the road shop. I would highly recommend taking your vehicle to another dealership for service.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Bruce
August 21, 2019

"Poor Customer Service"

- Maine Jim

I received very bad service at Bath Subaru. After traveling two hours for an appointment, I was told they could not see me that day. When I arrived they said they had "moved on." No understand of my needs; no attempt to accommodate me. I was told that I was late like I was a disobedient child. When I said that this was bad service and that I wouldn't be back the owner castigated me for my behavior. They acted like they didn't need or want my business. Do yourself a favor, drive to Bangor, Auburn or Portland, where they want to service cars. I own three Subarus, and I wouldn't use them if I was broken down in front of there dealership.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Service Manager
May 07, 2019

"So Many Rules, I wondered who was working for whom"

- Alan

These people are so anal about cell phone usage, picking up the car after the service is completed and what specific time I will arrive and if I can't come in person, needing to know exactly who will come instead and of course they must have a photo id, and telling me how busy they are. I can see they clearly don't need or want my business.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Mike
May 04, 2019

"Can’t trust them"

- 2125551212

Unfortunately I walked into this dealership and allowed a sleazy salesman there to look into financing. Will never walk into this dealership again. Ripoff ... bland rude and stale people.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Stale and rude
January 09, 2019

"Friendly, intelligent"

- JesseM

Big thanks to the technicians and the sales staff, all very friendly and it's fun to see them joking with each other. Only dealership I've ever had positive experiences with.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Angela and a couple others (terrible with names)
August 10, 2018

"High-pressure car dealership"

- still shopping

When I first met the salesman I inquired about the $500 rebate offer on the dealership's website due to their construction. He said it ended the day before, even though the rebate is still posted on their website. They did agree to honor the rebate. I was not going to buy a car that day and did tell the salesman that he could contact me the following day to discuss a possible deal. I had to work that morning and when I checked my messages, he had called and texted 15 times between 8:11 a.m. and 2 p.m. That's harassment. While I was at the dealership, the salesman sent me over to the sale manager under the premise I would be discussing adding leather to a vehicle, but instead was subjected to aggressive sales pressure to buy the vehicle that day. I will not recommend this dealership.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Doug, George
1
...
1 - 10 of 36 results