Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Back

Bay Ridge Honda

Brooklyn, NY

2.9
1,666 Lifetime Reviews Review Dealership

8801 4th Avenue

Brooklyn, NY

11209

Directions

1,666 Reviews of Bay Ridge Honda

Sort by Write a review
October 15, 2020

"I have a 2020 Honda Civic Sport Touring since November of..."

- Zahfi C

I have a 2020 Honda Civic Sport Touring since November of 2019 and I had to service my car because a transmission issue. The "C" solenoid, with the codes P0760, P0761, P0762, P0763 and P0764, were the main things that I had an issue with. Of course, they saw and mentioned that I had an aftermarket exhaust on, okay, but claimed that voided the warranty and was the issue of the transmission messing up and charged me $1600 to fix the transmission at 3500 miles. Two weeks without a car or confirmation, they gave me back the car, I had to pay the $1600 to get the car, drove it around the block and told them the issue was still there were the car would jerk back and forth constantly and they neglected the issue, told me to "drive around and it'll fix itself since its a new part". So I did, for 1-2 months. I even put the car back to stock with the stock exhaust. & guess what? same xxxx issue. Had a few mechanics look at the car and check engine lights and transmission lights kept coming in so they checked it with their Snap-On scanners/sensors. COVID happened, told them the issue was still there and I was fuming. Told them the exact issue, and then they told me to come back in. I couldn't after my father passed away and I didn't have time during that time because most/all non-essential places closed. Again at 8000~ miles, a week ago, my transmission completely dies on me. Gets towed to BayRidge Honda and they look at my stock car. They how claim that it was "flashed"/modded. They did not give me a chance to understand or speak and claimed that I had flashed it and now they need to see how much more its going to cost me rather than finding out exactly what happened and hearing me out because I did ABSOLUTELY NOTHING because THEY NEVER FIXED THEIR ISSUE 3-4 months ago. They are literally robbing me and thinking and treating me as if I'm stupid. No customer service, no culture, no proper work ethics and absolutely no understanding with their customers. Sales department is okay, but their service team, absolute garbage. I refuse to take car back because they are constantly claiming something one after another and will be fighting back for the 1600 I originally paid for, which was for nothing because nothing was fixed back then either. Now they have the audacity to "find out how much more I have to pay"? Please, to whoever sees this, this is my first car and first experience with a dealership on my own, I advise you to NOT go to Bay Ridge Honda for SERVICE. This place does not give proper service and treat you like a lesser human being. Unbelievable. Plus, all of this was over a phone. Thank goodness this was not in person because I CAN NOT imagine how things would be in person. Do not go to Bay Ridge Honda Service Center. I am warning everyone.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Gaetano Demagly
September 17, 2020

"I can not stress enough how horrible my experience has..."

- Lu69

I can not stress enough how horrible my experience has been from the start with this dealership. They are swindlers and thieves! They have taken advantage of my dire situation from the get go, placed me in a lemon of a floor model and have taken no responsibility for the poor manufacturing of the model I have been leasing. The latest fiasco with this car is the electrical box shorted due to poor manufacturing of the car where water has leaked in...they are taking no fault and leaving with my deductible (thankfully I have excellent insurance). After pretty much admitting this is a factory defect that can occur but then excluding themselves from the situation is without question poor customer service and policy! I have always liked my Hondas but this last experience, especially with this dealership (Bay Ridge Honda - DO NOT GO TO THEM), has turned me away from this make for good!!!! I know what my next car is NOT going to be! My family are all well aware as well are my friends. Social media is next!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Mohammed Ahmed
1.0
Isaiah De Jesus
1.0
John Marino
1.0
Other Employees : Gaetano
August 20, 2020

"I bought my car from this dealer and the experience was..."

- PK

I bought my car from this dealer and the experience was smooth. But, getting ongoing service is a real issue (even for RECALLs). I first could not get my oil changed here because I was misled on how long it would take (I was told half a day and then the service department told me it would be dayS (plural!)). I went to another Honda dealer just to get the oil changed. But then my screens went blank and as I researched online, I saw there was a recall notice. I called to make an appointment and was told the next appointment is September 15th. I asked if it was safe to drive my vehicle with the console black/dead and, without any notice, she forwarded to a voicemail system with no name attached so I am not even sure who I left a message to. This is certainly not how you build customer loyalty. Also, since I scrolled down to the rest of this questionnaire, I had previously asked about home pickup for service and was told that was not an option.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Leo Goligorsky
5.0
August 04, 2020

"Very Poor Customer Service"

- XpertJoey

I’ve been a customer of Bay Ridge Cars since 2014. Leased two vehicles from Bay Ridge VW in that time frame. On 7/17/20 I was very disappointed in the service I received from the salesperson @ Bay Ridge Mazda. I made a reservation through Mazda’s website to test drive a 2020 Mazda 3 the previous day. Later in that day I was contacted by Mazda to ask if I was contacted by the dealer yet, I told them I was not. Worried that I would not be able to do the test drive on the only day I had available I decided to call the dealership directly. I spoke with Sue who was very pleasant. She took my info & said, someone from sales would contact me. Some time after I was contacted by a salesperson. I proceeded to tell him what I was interested in and the time of 2:30 pm I was available to come in. What happened next seemed strange to me, he asked that I contact him an hour before our appointment to confirm. That seems like something he should do, contact the customer to confirm the appointment. The next day I arrived at the dealership @ 2:20 pm, I arrived there a little early so I could look over the vehicle. But to my surprise the Mazda 3 was not on the floor or in there parking lot. So I had to wait for the salesperson because he was not there. Sue was very nice & told me she contacted him & he would arrive shortly. He finally arrived at around 2:40 with no apology for being late. I was then handed the keys to take the test drive. I drove 1 block & realized the vehicle was set in KM & not MPH. I pulled over and took about 6 minutes to figure out how to change this setting. The salesperson should have checked for this as to not inconvenience the customer. Once I arrived back at the dealership I needed to wait for him again because he was with customers & did not excuse himself to let me know. After about 10 minutes he told me he was with someone and he would need another 10 or 15 minutes. I told him I do not have much time left. He had someone else help those customers so he could deal directly with me. I told him the lease terms I was interested in and the amount I wanted to give at signing. Which was 1st payment, DMV, Doc Fee, and Tire fee, everything else I wanted calculated into the monthly payment. He then took some time away & came back with the numbers. Before he presented them to me I asked him two questions. I asked him about A/C issues that some Mazda 3’s have been experiencing & he stated he knew nothing about that. I then asked about the Mazda 3’s LED combination taillights. I asked which ones were LED & which ones were incandescent. He said he doesn’t know & then proceeded to give me the numbers, just ignoring my question. The numbers were decent but the amount due at signing seemed high because Mazda is covering the first payment. I asked for the breakdown of those numbers & was told he doesn’t know that. I asked for the money factor & the residual value & was told he doesn’t know. I asked if he could speak with someone who does know & he went across the street to get the information because it was the sales managers day off. Once he came back he said these are the numbers with a new & much higher monthly payment & even more money due at signing. I asked how did the numbers change & go up when I just asked for a break down, he said yet again he does not know, these are just the numbers that were given to him. If I would have said yes to the initial offer he presented what would have happened? These actions lack integrity. He had no answers for me. I proceeded to tell him when the sales manager comes in on Saturday, inform him of this situation and provide me the information I requested with an actual offer. I find this situation unfortunate because I still wanted to lease this vehicle. Being a former 2005 Mazda 3 SP23 owner I would certainly enjoy leasing it over the next three years. But the customer service I received from the salesperson @ Bay Ridge Mazda was appalling. There was a lack of knowledge, professionalism & transparency. All things I received in my prior dealings with Jorge Quezada & David Gokhshtein within the Bay Ridge Cars company.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Kennedy
July 07, 2020

"This is long, but worth reading before you chose them. I..."

- The1Adam

This is long, but worth reading before you chose them. I will not use them again. I do not trust them. I bought a used 2013 Mazda (6 speed manual) one year ago from a lot in NJ. I needed state inspection and I wanted a 100,000 mile service - even tho odometer was 99,086. Thought this place was perfect as it is walking distance from my home. Easy to make appt., drop off, and, pick up. Everyone friendly, including Jerry Suarez, the service rep I dealt with. After bailing my car out for $800, I drove the .09 miles back to my home, ran a 2 mile round trip errand, returned and parked. While getting my bag out of the rear seat, I found an unopened bottle of Log Cabin Syrup on the floor. First, amusement, then , suspicion. Since only 45 mins had passed I called Jerry and told him of it. The response, tho pleasant, was outright denial followed by a series of questions of how I could have bought it and I just dont remember. He then claimed to talk to his tech , who I never heard in the background, who also denied any knowledge. Throughout all of this, not even a feigned apology. The conversation concluded with another denial and a chuckle about my donating the syrup. I still couldnt shake the feeling that someone had looked at my sporty 6 speed manual, with dents already on it so no one would notice another small one, and thought, “ I gotta take that out, besides, I need groceries”. I checked the mileage on the car today - 99091. 5 mile difference from the recorded mileage on my drop off. Even with the return from the shop (0.9m) and my errand (2m) I will even generously add .25m for circling the block several times AND round up to 3.25m. That leaves 1 and 3/4 m unaccountable by me, and, an unreasonable distance to think it was caused by moving the car to and fro in the shop. Of course this is all speculation. However, the circumstances are compellingly revealing. Had Jerry even started with an apology before out right denial, I may have felt differently. But to be so dismissive of a new customer who just dropped $800, AND is a Bay Ridge local, brings ones business ethics to question. Draw your own conclusions. As the saying goes “CAVEAT EMPTOR”

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Jerry Suarez
June 26, 2020

"Worst customer service waited like 7 hours and they are..."

- Dhaza7

Worst customer service waited like 7 hours and they are looting and doing fraud with the people don’t even think to go there Thankyou

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Ariana Toshek
1.0
Anthony Galante
1.0
Betty Lala
1.0
Joseph Calixtus
1.0
June 10, 2020

"I paid for warranty, other dealer don't charge for..."

- duran_1212

I paid for warranty, other dealer don't charge for warranty, this is not Fair, I bought low millage car and pay for warranty, no Fair.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Lester
February 09, 2020

"Services department"

- Muhammad Khan

Wound not recommend the services department for car repairs. Took my vehicle for an estimate cost of repair. The services representative names Edwin Chiong lied to me that would be receiving an estimate before he repairs the physical damage to the car. 5 days later he tells me the body shop already partly repaired the car and he gives me an estimate of $1,300 to which I agreed. The day the car is ready to be picked up he charges me $4,000 and tells me there is nothing I can do but to pay. Reminding you I never authorized for the vehicle to be repaired here only took it for an estimate. Edwin the representative not only shamelessly lied to me but also hid the actual cost of repair from me till the last day. Extremely disappointed with the service.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Edwin Chiong
Feb 11, 2020 -

Bay Ridge Honda responded

Muhammad, we do not take feedback like this lightly. We are concerned with the information you have brought to our attention, as we work hard to provide the most honest and professional service. Please reach out to Parts and Service Director, Anthony Galante, at Anthony@bayridgecars.com or 718-680-0202, at your earliest convenience to speak about your experience further.

February 03, 2020

"Jaime Fernandez is a fabulous salesperson. He makes..."

- Danthebroker

Jaime Fernandez is a fabulous salesperson. He makes leasing a car a joyful experience. He is extremely knowdgeable, kind, and relaxing to deal with. Jaime works very hard to meet all your expectations. Sales is a very stressful job, but Jaime doesn’t make it seem that way. Jaime is conscientious and sincere. He is a remendous asset to your sales team !

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Jaime Fernandez
5.0
Feb 04, 2020 -

Bay Ridge Honda responded

Thank you for your kind review! We're glad to see Jaime was able to exceed all expectations of a car leasing experience, and ensured you were entirely satisfied with your purchase. Enjoy your new vehicle, and let us know if there's anything else we can do for you.

February 03, 2020

"Refreshing low pressure sales experience. "

- usernameinuse

I walked in fearing the worst... anyone who has been in a car dealership knows every salesperson is smooth and personable at first and then when you don't want to buy the same day they turn from Dr. Jekyll to Mr. Hyde, and with Sales managers sometimes they skip the Dr. Jekyll act. Not so with Roevelle Gustave. He was attentive, courteous, wasted none of my time, and he answered all my questions without being pushy or making me feel like I was about to be fleeced. Even when he got his sales manager, Robert Shuler, to discuss numbers, Roevelle read me correctly and thus Rob was straightforward with no-nonsense. I appreciated the fact that at no point was I left to sit at a desk alone except for the minute Roevelle went to get Rob. I would recommend anyone who is looking for a Honda to ask for Roevelle and let him know honestly what you are doing there and I promise you will be pleased. I think the best idea is going on a Monday (typically a slower day in car sales) and using Costco Auto to get a fair price from the start is the way to go especially with vehicles that are quality and usually not discounted heavily. Thanks, Roevelle and Rob, this was one of the best car buying experiences I've had yet.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Roevelle Gustave
Other Employees : Roevelle Gustave, Robert Shuler
Feb 04, 2020 -

Bay Ridge Honda responded

We truly appreciate the time you took to share the great experience you had here. We're beyond proud to see that not only one, but two members of our team were the main factors in ensuring you were completely satisfied, and we'll be sure to pass on your kind words to them. Please don't hesitate to reach back out to us if there's anything you need in the future.

1
...
1 - 10 of 1,666 results