Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Search
Back
COVID-19
Response
  • Home Delivery
  • Service Pickup & Delivery
  • Virtual Appointments
  • Vehicle Sanitization

Bill Kolb Jr. Subaru

Orangeburg, NY

4.9
2,511 Lifetime Reviews Review Dealership
We hope that you and your family are doing well during this extremely challenging period. We hope that you are continuing to take all precautions to stay safe. Here at the dealerships, our service departments are open to help you with essential maintenance to keep your vehicle in good running order. If you would like to take advantage of our new “Prime Pickup” service, we can pick up your vehicle from either your home or essential work place. We will service it for you, have it thoroughly cleaned and disinfected, and return it to your doorstep. If you want to come into our service center that is open too, although there are limited hours so please reach out to your specific location directly. If we do service your car onsite, please be assured that we are thoroughly cleaning and disinfecting our service areas and instructing our technicians on social distancing and other relevant safety measures. We are using EPA-approved cleaning materials through our professional cleaning company and employees are also paying careful attention to cleanliness throughout the day. In terms of sales, we are following the state guidelines in each location where we do business. Generally, showrooms are not open, but we are able to serve you virtually. If you or your loved ones require a new or pre-owned vehicle to get to your essential work place or take care of a family member, we will do everything possible to find the right match for you and make the process as stress free as possible. If we can help with anything, please don’t hesitate to let us know. Sincerely, Todd Skelton CEO Prime Motor Group In 1998 Bill Kolb Jr Subaru opened with a goal to be unlike any dealership before it. Our goal: To make buying a New or Used Subaru a fun experience. To ensure a non-haggle sales experience for our customers, our salaried salespeople are not paid on commission but instead are incentivized on customer satisfaction. All our vehicles come with our 30 Day or 1000 Mile Return Policy, so customers can “Buy with Confidence”. Bill Kolb Jr. Subaru stocks 400+ New and Used Subarus for you to choose from; the largest inventory in the nation. We design our own unique Subarus which are only available at Bill Kolb Jr. Subaru and cannot be found at any other Subaru dealership. We specialize in allowing customers to purchase only those accessories which they really want or need in a vehicle. Accessories such as power sunroofs, custom leather interiors, and custom wheels, are all available for you to personalize your Subaru exactly as you want it. We employ the best qualified Subaru certified technicians in the industry. Our Subaru Service Center is staffed with the highest percentage of Subaru certified Master and A level technicians anywhere. This saves you time and money because “we fix your vehicle right the first time”. Our Service Center is open Monday thru Saturday 6am - 9pm to meet our customers’ busy schedules. Our fleet of 36 brand new service loaner cars is available when you bring your vehicle in for service to keep you on the road. If you choose to wait for your vehicle, you may enjoy the comforts of our new state of the art Service Center. Equipped with 2 customer lounge areas complete with Wi-Fi, a 70” TV and complimentary coffee, snacks and beverages.

252 Route 303

Orangeburg, NY

10962

Directions

By Type

Showing 2,511 reviews

July 05, 2020

"My salesman Gary was very knowledgeable, thoughtful. He..."

- Lalita

My salesman Gary was very knowledgeable, thoughtful. He took the time to go over the features in my new Outback. I highly recommend Mr. Mendelsohn.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Other Employees : Mauricio Escobar
Jul 06, 2020 -

Bill Kolb Jr. Subaru responded

Thank you for shopping at Bill Kolb Jr. Subaru. I am glad to hear that Gary was such a pleasure to work with and went over all the exciting features of your Subaru Outback. We hope you have fun in your new ride!

July 04, 2020

"Surprisingly open, honest, and reliable communications "

- NZ

Generally, it was a little complicated to explain our situation to the salesperson today. However, Connor not only kept a VERY friendly and COMPREHENSIVE attitude to us from the very beginning to the very end, also he got my point so fast during our communications and that, in fact, motivated me to close the deal sooner than I thought. Specifically, Today both I and my wife drove hours to find an ideal car. Our plan was to try dealers one by one until the most satisfaction outcome occurs. Our expectation is to convince the dealer match the lowest price on cars.com. We thought we have time to bargain because this car basically would be used for winter. We chose to come to this dealer first for two reasons: (1) Last night, cars.com pushed me an email in response to my alert and it said a few listed Crosstrek's prices have just dropped; (2) When I check out the listings from that email one by one, I found this dealer, which has 2000+ reviews with a 4.9- star, which, in my view, is like a miracle. However, the price listed here online was $1,200 higher than one other 4.9-star dealer and $3200 higher than the lowest price on cars.com (involving a trade-in). Therefore, we decide to start with this dealer. When we throw out our research regarding different prices, Connor took our situation very seriously - which helped a lot because we had our demand but we also had our need - and he caught both of them so concisely. By the way, Connor told us that the "reduced price" was probably a mistake by IT person, however, they decided to honor that price for us. When we began our communications, On one hand, Connor tried to convince me very reasonably about the price by comparing in details about the other public offers - honestly I did not compare it myself - I just thought all P trim are same, which were so wrong, and, that comparison did shorten the price gap. Most of all, we were impressed by Connor's method. It was a very open, honest, and reasonable comparison which ,definitely, could speak for itself. On the other hand, Connor accurately understood our need. That made the deal way more effiective and it saved a lot of energy from both sides. It was not a trick but a very efficient communications between us, Connor, and the sales supervisors. I would like to say that usually I do not believe in "the numbers we wrote down on the paper which was brought by salespersons to their managers for 'approve'". But this time, I found a solid common ground beneath both of us - and that provided hope & extra motivation for a potential win-win outcome, which made us feel very lucky and impressive. Such common ground can only be established by trust & professionalism - the service Connor provided us was more than the money we paid for our car - though the other part of mine always told myself that the price we accepted was higher than I expected - with this trust, both of us might be able to step back a little bit, and we would actually be closer to our goal: they want to sell and we want to buy - at a price that work for both. Also, there were many good ideas creatively applied to our case - solved our trouble/deadlock and no harm to both ours' and dealer's interest - well, probably a little bit more benefit for dealer I think :) - But I considered it as an alternative solution which can only be seen/introduced by the smart. It could be Connor's idea, or it could be the teams' idea - either way I appreciated to have the service here at this dealer. (+ When there were concerns for the financial part, Connor invited the financial person to enter and helped us clear the mist - very responsive and much appreciated though I thought the financial burden on us is not part of my original expectation) + (When financing in our case, it is like interest rate was no longer a concern, however, it would be us to pay for it even for only one month - I leave 5 star to Marty here but, with all due respect, I really wish he could help us lower the interest rate a little bit though it would work for one month only - I did not think about this small detail at that time of signing the contract - whereas, it could have felt better if an industrial expert stand in your shoes - typically not very applicable in sales) The rest of today went well because obviously there was nothing else to worry about/concern. Even the heavy rain did not become a problem and we were safe back home eventually, with our new car. I am proud to use the plate frame which says the town's name and dealers' name because I would like to recomamend the quality service from this place and this dealer to others here in the town I live. Subaru is very useful here and remains popular - but it is a pity that local dealers seemed to consider the customer as an "easy money" to make, otherwise why their p trim's price was marked that much higher the cars.com? Even the Amex TureCar and Costco Auto Program would not help to lower the price substanticaly. Respect your customer and that is how the customers would respect you. Sincerely, for Connor (and the team behind him, or say, the professional spirit behind this dealer). Happy July 4th!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Jul 06, 2020 -

Bill Kolb Jr. Subaru responded

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such great feedback! Customer feedback means everything to us and Connor will be appreciative of your five-stars. I am glad to hear that he provided you with friendly and professional service as it is our goal to ensure guests feel confident when purchasing their cars. On behalf of the Bill Kolb Jr. Subaru team, we wish you safe travels in your new vehicle.

July 03, 2020

"Amazing serviced provided by Mel Dixon, who made the..."

- Patoenny

Amazing serviced provided by Mel Dixon, who made the process seamless and stree-free. Very informative, on top of her game without putting pressure and making us feel uncomfortable. 5 star customer service!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Jul 06, 2020 -

Bill Kolb Jr. Subaru responded

At Bill Kolb Jr. Subaru it's our goal to make the car-buying process easy and we are so glad that Mel made this true for you! Thank you so much for rating us five stars. We hope that you absolutely love your new vehicle.

July 02, 2020

"I recently bought an off lease 2017 Subaru outback form..."

- Rahul Patel

I recently bought an off lease 2017 Subaru outback form Bill Kolb Jr. my sales rep was Connor Flood. I tried to buy a car in the NYC area where I live. I had a hard time finding a dealer that was upfront and transparent. I heard great things about Bill Kolb from a friend that lives in Rockland. So I decided to jump on Metro North to Tarrytown and Uber it to the dealer across the Tappan Zee (I did not own a car in the city). Everyone with a blue polo shirt was polite, professional and most of all NICE. Connor was very appreciative that I took the train up and he offered to reimburse me for the Uber. So at this point I was wowed but skeptical. I’ve had bad experiences to say the least… I checked out and test drove two cars. I settled on a very clean 2017 Outback in metallic blue. Perfect weekend car for me and my family. When we sat down, I asked If there are any additional fees added to the price of the car. He said just 75.00 NYS doc fee, tax & DMV. There were no Junk fees. I got the price I wanted to pay which was below internet price. Which was well below the Kelly Blue Book. It was such an easy and stress free experience. Connor was genuine and a delight to work with. My friend came to meet me. As I was talking to Joe, I had mentioned that he was the reason I came to their dealership. He paid him 50.00 for a referral. We were taken back. The car was already purchased and the deal was done. Joe went the extra mile to show his gratitude. Thank you Connor & Joe!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Jul 02, 2020 -

Bill Kolb Jr. Subaru responded

Rahul, thank you for choosing to shop at Bill Kolb Jr. Subaru. It is wonderful to hear that our team was so accommodating and helped you into the perfect 2017 Subaru Outback! We're proud to have earned your business and wish you safe travels!

July 01, 2020

"BEST EXPERIENCE AS A NEW CAR OWNER"

- ashleyravioli

After my first car got totaled, I decided to switch over to Subaru as it's one of the safest makes on the market. Bill Kolb wound up having what was unknowingly my dream car (WRX) - a 2016 buyback that works perfectly. Not only did the car seem brand new in every capacity (gas, inspection, wash, interiors, etc.) but working with the staff was superior. Juan was by far the most sincere employee; I had difficulty with my insurance company giving me money back for my totaled car but Juan was extremely patient and understanding and was sure to check in every few days to ask how everything was going and to reassure me that my car was waiting for me. I was also impressed by his memory! He had even remembered to ask about the new job I recently attained. If you ever need to reach out to Bill Kolb Subaru, I highly recommend working with Juan. Glowing experience! Paul also broke down all my financial information to me comfortably and understandably which made purchasing my first car super easy and super rewarding. He was even able to knock some discounts onto my warranty - something I really wasn't expecting going into the dealership! Overall, amazing dealership, amazing experience. (And during these pandemic times, the lot and office was kept very clean and maintained appropriate social distancing.) 10/10!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Jul 01, 2020 -

Bill Kolb Jr. Subaru responded

Ashley, thank you for trusting the Bill Kolb Jr. Subaru team to get you into a new vehicle. I am happy to hear that Juan and Paul treated you with the friendly and professional service that we aim for. It was a pleasure to work with you and we wish you safe travels in your Subaru WRX!

June 30, 2020

"Dream car AMAZING EXPERIENCE ALWAYS GET MY SUBARUS HERE !..."

- Huntlaura34

Dream car AMAZING EXPERIENCE ALWAYS GET MY SUBARUS HERE ! Wonderful and friendly staff. Always willing to help in anyway they can. ! Will def get my next one here as well

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Jun 30, 2020 -

Bill Kolb Jr. Subaru responded

Thank you for continuing to support Bill Kolb Jr. Subaru. It made our day to hear that our team consistently provides you with the excellent service that we strive for! We look forward to taking care of you next time.

June 29, 2020

"Excellent experience, honest and transparent. Sales..."

- Tazbeach3

Excellent experience, honest and transparent. Sales person Gary Mendelsohn very pleasant to work with. Hassle free and very timely experience. Pleasure to be treated respectfully

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Jun 30, 2020 -

Bill Kolb Jr. Subaru responded

It's fantastic to hear that you received the five-star service you deserve at Bill Kolb Jr. Subaru! Thank you so much for stopping by to share this feedback about Gary. We hope that you absolutely love your new vehicle.

June 29, 2020

"Professionals and Knowledgeable "

- jtwomey678

Connor Flood was very professional and took the time to go over the details of the transaction. Would highly recommend him. Paul Spiegel was very helpful with additional details.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Jun 30, 2020 -

Bill Kolb Jr. Subaru responded

Thank you for the review! We are so glad you enjoyed working with Connor and Paul here at Bill Kolb Jr. Subaru, and we will certainly let them know that you appreciate their help!

June 29, 2020

"With the pandemic in full effect, I was well treated...."

- Keeley-327

With the pandemic in full effect, I was well treated. Even service at my local dealership was great. Thanks for a great sales team and an all around brand. I am a proud Subaru owner. Thanks again

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Jun 29, 2020 -

Bill Kolb Jr. Subaru responded

Thank you for taking the time to leave us this review! It was our pleasure to work with you here at Bill Kolb Jr. Subaru, and we hope to see you again sometime!

June 28, 2020

"Thank you "

- Happy customer

Honestly I dread car buying. but dealing with Mel Dixon at Bill Kolb Jr. made the process easy. From the first phone call, the ease of setting up an appointment, ability to test drive two cars Mel professionally accommodated our requests and provided us with all the information we needed to make an informed decision. We found her trustworthy and fair. We never felt rushed or pressured. Thanks again.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Other Employees : Nick Harvey
Jun 29, 2020 -

Bill Kolb Jr. Subaru responded

Thank you for taking the time to leave Bill Kolb Jr. Subaru such a stellar review. I am glad to hear that Mel provided you with such a seamless experience. We look forward to seeing you next time and hope you are loving your vehicle!

31 - 40 of 2,511 results