About Us
Copyright 2018 DR Media Holdings, LLC
Search
Back
Write a review

Borton Volvo

3.4

46 Lifetime Reviews

905 Hampshire Ave S, Golden Valley, Minnesota 55426 Directions
Sales: (612) 821-2700

Is this your dealership?

...and take advantage of all we have to offer with our Certified Dealership Program.

46 Reviews of Borton Volvo

Sort by Write a review
September 11, 2018

"Parts / Service - Very Rude "

- Jay4444

We’ve been a Volvo family for over 10 years due to the safety ratings of their cars. Always had great service at dealers too. Today, at Borton Volvo in Golden Valley, was a BIG exception. I stopped by to pick up a part at service counter and kindly asked if it was possible to also return a pair of Volvo wipers blades that we had purchased several months ago, only to find out we didn’t need them. Unfortunately it took me months to make it back to the dealer and the box was bent in several places. The product had never been opened however and thus I thought I would ask. John - the guy at the counter was in a really bad mood - looked at the outside of the box and literally said “You expect me to take back this product when the box looks like this”. Wow. How about first saying something like “I’m sorry but our policy only allows me to return items purchased less than x days ago or if the box is perfect, I would have been fine with that. Needless to say I was a bit taken back by this quick, rude and condescending reply. Knowing this guy was not going to be helpful I kindly said that the product was unused, we’ve been Volvo customers for years and could I ask a manager. This really made him mad, at which point his he said in a raised voice (quote) “UNBELIEVABLE, YOU EXPECT ME TO TALE THIS BACK”. Then I followed him to a manager while he loudly repeated “UNBELIEVABLE!” 2 more times. I felt like a criminal - NOT a customer that spends $100,000 every five years on Volvo’s. Wow, you would think they were losing too much money on the $75 wiper blades and if they were to take at least one perfectly good only back with a bent box they were go out of business! Ultimately a manager provided some relief and took back one of the two wiper blades. Yet, no one - including John - apologized for the extremely rude and unprofessional behavior. The point is that the service was bad - really rude - and it didn’t seem to be all that surprising to the manage. We now have a Lexus. Service was amazing - felt like a really valuable customer and not like a criminal! I’d shy away from this dealership. We will take our remaining Volvo to the other dealer in town! There are many better ones around!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
John in parts
Sep 13, 2018 -

Borton Volvo responded

Thanks for taking the time to submit your review. We can only improve with constructive feed-back. Prior to posting this response I reviewed your purchase history and noted you purchased the returned wiper blades on December 7, 2017 for $59.24. In fairness that's NOT a couple months ago and NOT $75.00. I wish I could post a picture of the destroyed box too. After interviewing John he admittedly said he was having a bad day (it happens to the best). Borton Volvo is happy to service over 50 Volvo 's per day and sell over $600,000 in parts every month to very satisfied customers. I will apologize for our team and hope you recognize from your previous dealings with Borton Volvo this was a very isolated incident. I hope you give Borton Volvo another opportunity. Dedicated to Excellence since 1957... Patrick Sutter President & General Manager

August 18, 2018

"Clear carfax but obvious that it was in a bad accident"

- FtypeBEAST!

***The Conclusion: BE VERY VERY CAREFUL!!!*** I was sold a car that had a clear carfax but it was obviously in a serious accident(s). Not trying to get anyone in trouble but fair is fair... *****The Details***** As someone who buys cars out of state this was bound to happen at some point; but its my duty to the consumers out there to inform you of what happened. I was in the market for a Macan S for my pregnant wife (I told them that) and Borton had one that matched our requirements. The sales rep was very nice and pleasant and involved, after all this was a 50K check that I was writing, not exactly peanuts! The car fax said no accident, I took a leap of faith and bought it. Car arrives and I immediately start noticing certain imperfections. The passenger side front door GETS STUCK a bit on open and close. The door seal on the bottom of that door is DANGLING. I look closer and I see that the door sill HAS BEEN PAINTED AND BADLY no less, you can see all the dust particles that were painted over and the paint is peeled. I start looking all over the car. One of the the back parking SENSORS WAS SHOVED IN so I look into it and its being held in by DOUBLE-SIDED TAPE!! I look more and notice that the FRONT HOOD IS NOT FLUSH, not even close, from both sides with the rest of the body. It was CRYSTAL CLEAR that a bad AFTER MARKET HOOD WAS USED TO REPLACE THE ORIGINAL. I drive it, the speedometer reading is 5 miles over the actual speed of the car!! I reached back out to inform them and the rep said they'd relay the message to the manager but I didn't hear back from anyone. I paid an extra 5k on top of it to get this car fixed. *******My advice, do not buy from them remotely and if you decide to buy in person, take someone with you that knows cars********

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Craig Schow
3.0
Employee Rating is a new feature allowing consumers to rate their experience with individual dealership employees.
August 10, 2018

"No Oil Filter Installed on last oil Change"

- ssorenson

We had been using Borton for maintenance on our 2008 S60 car for the last 2 years. Due to time constraints, we went Valvoline for the oil change. They informed us that there was no oil filter on the car and that the probably the last person who changed the oil forgot to install the filter. Borton was the last to perform the oil change and apparently did not include a filter. It just blew me away that the car could run without a filter, but apparently they can. Not only are they expensive, but apparently incompetent.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
DO not remember
March 22, 2018

"Rude and unwelcoming "

- Julia

I recently purchased xc 90 and stopped by because the tire pressure was low, they didn't take time to inspect the tire fully , few days later the tire got low again and it appeared needed to be changed. This cost me twice the time to get it done , if they'd do their job and inspected properly I'd would have to take time to do this again. They refused to give a car wash, it's a $60k car and treated me Iike I came in and asking them Something extra ordinary . The attitude Is bad and rude, unwelcoming - not coming back there

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Brenda Heinkel
1.0
Employee Rating is a new feature allowing consumers to rate their experience with individual dealership employees.
March 16, 2018

"Used car experiance "

- Matt$$$1982

I had a great experiance when I purchased a pre-owned volvo!! I was treated very fairly by the salesman and the sales manager drake. They gave me alot for my trade. And a great price on my purchase. Many thanks M Steffen

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Vad Fridlyand
5.0
Employee Rating is a new feature allowing consumers to rate their experience with individual dealership employees.
Drake Jacobson
5.0
Employee Rating is a new feature allowing consumers to rate their experience with individual dealership employees.
February 27, 2018

"Great experience again"

- Raymond

My 3rd purchase at Borton Volvo and it gets better every time. I get treated so good there, I would never go anywhere else. No phony balogna.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Mark Fuzzey
5.0
Employee Rating is a new feature allowing consumers to rate their experience with individual dealership employees.
Drake Jacobson
5.0
Employee Rating is a new feature allowing consumers to rate their experience with individual dealership employees.
December 29, 2017

"It's worth it to stay with a great dealership"

- lovevolvo

I just purchased my 8th Volvo from Borton. They always go above and beyond to make sure my experience is positive. We have always been happy with the service we receive from their entire team.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Pat
June 04, 2017

"Respectful and Easy to Work With"

- DAVID MUCHA

We worked with Craig and Drake and had a great experience. We bought a used car for my college-aged son and they treated him with respect. Craig worked with him 1:1 and my son felt great about the experience. The car was inspected and repaired and detailed and was ready to go as promised. we will visit Buron again for future cars.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Drake Jacobson
5.0
Employee Rating is a new feature allowing consumers to rate their experience with individual dealership employees.
Craig Schow
5.0
Employee Rating is a new feature allowing consumers to rate their experience with individual dealership employees.
February 19, 2017

"Felt like part of the family"

- burger girl

We recently purchased a used 2016 V60 wagon from Brenda. By far one of the most comfortable and easy purchases we've ever made. The dealership gave us an excellent value on our trade, they made the whole process so easy. It felt like we were part of the family from start to finish. Even when I returned to pick up the plates the staff was welcoming and talkative while I waited. I would highly recommend this dealership for any new or used vehicle purchase. They are very particular about the vehicles they sell and genuinely care about each customer.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Brenda Heinkel
5.0
Employee Rating is a new feature allowing consumers to rate their experience with individual dealership employees.
Feb 22, 2017 -

Borton Volvo responded

Thank you for this excellent review. I’m so happy to hear that we could make you feel like a part of the Borton Volvo family with your recent purchase. I hope you are enjoying your vehicle. If there is anything else that we can do for you, please feel free to contact us or stop in any time. We hope to see you again soon! All the best, Pat Sutter, President and General Manager, 612-821-2777, psutter@borton.com

August 26, 2016

"3 seperate times greatly disappointed with service dept."

- Customer

I was given an estimate for replacing some lights and mirror covers, was handed printout that had the words "total cost" etc. on it, No one told me it didn't include an extra $300 for (mainly) labor. Final invoice says I was contacted and told about a total estimate of $1000. I received no call. Additionally after arriving on my bike at the promised time of delivery, they then inform me that they hadn't started on it yet, causing me to miss work time and have to get shuttled back and forth, then get surprised by the extra $300 charge, etc.. They offered a "service credit" to appease me that wouldn't even cover an hour of their labor. Prior issues included same problem with completion time, missing extra work time, and being sold the car telling me they could fix the Volvo installed GPS mount, later telling me basically tough luck, and writing down that I should use a toothpick or Qtip so it wouldn't flop around. Prior complaints and email to the service manager went unanswered. Emailed my salesman who sends me birthday messages and asked about a new XC-90. No response. I'll never return there.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Brett Dahlgren among others
1
...
1 - 10 of 46 results