Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Search
Back

California Motors Direct - Santa Ana

Santa Ana, CA

1.2
20 Lifetime Reviews Review Dealership

2345 N Grand

Santa Ana, CA

92705

Directions

20 Reviews of California Motors Direct - Santa Ana

Sort by Write a review
August 05, 2020

"Went to test drive a car, we were passed around from..."

- dsearch

Went to test drive a car, we were passed around from salesman to salesman. While looking at the lot there were cars that look like they've been in accidents or at a cheap car auction, a few cars even had some ghetto style clips to keep the bumper on. The car that we looked the lights are not working and the car would not even get into first gear before we even test drove it. Seems like the dealership does not even look at the cars before they put them out and if they do it is a Band-Aid so they can sell. Yes they have a 30-day warranty but it only pays 50% of labor and parts, and let me guess the parts have 150% markup. The only reason I'm giving two stars is because the salesman was polite.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Not sure
July 28, 2020

"Do not buy a car from these people.. they took $312.51..."

- MADMAR

Do not buy a car from these people.. they took $312.51 from my sons bank account to make the first payment because the car was not fully funded. To our surprised Westlake called my son indicating that he was late on his payment. Despite numerous attempts to fix this, no result. But we will file a police report since this is clearly a case of theft since CA motor in Santa Ana Kept the money.. i will be more than happy to join any legal case as a witness in order to assist/help your legal matters anybody has in order to help your case. Companies like these should NOT be in business... i would rate less if it gave me an option!!!!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Carlos Salazar
1.0
Jul 30, 2020 -

California Motors Direct - Santa Ana responded

Hi, my name is Kenny in our Customer Service Department. Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are constantly looking for ways to improve our customer service. I would love speak to you to discuss your experience in further detail. Please call or email me 909-529-5900 / kenny@cmdocx.com. Thank you!

Aug 05, 2020 -

MADMAR responded

I want to thank Kenny for assisting me in this matter. He actally listened and followed thru. He resolved an issue Dave at the Santa Ana office was unwilling to help with for weeks but Kenny took care of it in a matter of days and my son received the appropriate credit!!! Thanks again Kenny!!!!

May 29, 2020

"I am having such a hard time trying to contact the..."

- Vitalina Coria

I am having such a hard time trying to contact the district manager Mr. Arnold. The sales man refuse to give me Mr. Arnold last name. I have a auto fraud case with them . I was advised by the bank to seek legal representation cause they defrauded me with lies and manipulation. I asked if the car was in a previous ACCIDENT I was told it had no previous accidents, NO ACCIDENTS" I drove 3 hours to their Stanton location. Once there a sales man named Gus took over the negotiations, we were there almost 5 hours trying to negotiate with the bank, finally I got approved by Capital one. At the end of signing the paperwork Mr Gus tells me that the car had a minor accident nothing serious he said, that it was only the front bumper and that they replaced it and painted it..with that being said my husband my brother in law and I went outside to inspect the front bumper it look ok, Gus assured me the damage was just superficial, for me not to worry. Trusting what Gus was saying, I bought the car..mind you I was already told that the car had no previous ACCIDENTS..I drove back home 3 hour drive. happy to have the car. But my joy didn't last long a few weeks ago a took the car to the Dodge Dealership in Selma California so they cold fix the AC because it's not cooling. Donge dealership did an inspection on the Dodge charger they tell me the car was in a serious accident with significant damage under the engine.. they told me that the manufacturer warranty would not cover the repairs because the damage was done due to a mayor accident, not a minor accident like Mr. Gus made me believe..Now I'm seeking legal representation so I can get my money back..I have all the text messages where he tells me the car had no accidents. I have all the documentation from the Dodge Dealership where they write their findings of the car, and I have pictures of the damage..my next step is calling the Better Business Bureau and make a report...for the past week I been trying to talk to Mr Arnold to discuss this and he is not answering or calling me back. I made several calls to talk to Mr Soko another general manager but he refused to take my calls. Mr. Gus asked Mr. Soko to take my call but he replied that it was senseless to talk to me because he couldn't help me that the only person that could help resolve this situation is Mr Arnold the District General manager..Mr Arnold has not call me back and is not taking my calls I will not rest untill I get this resolved if they leave me no choice it will have to be in court..

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Ulysses Garcia,
Jun 28, 2020 -

California Motors Direct - Santa Ana responded

Hi Vitalina Coria, my name is Kenny in our Customer Service Department. Thank you for sharing you experience with us. We are constantly looking for ways to improve our customer service. I would love speak to you over the phone to discuss your experience in further detail. Please give me a call at your convenience 909-529-5900. Thank you!

May 17, 2020

"I have called few times trying to ask info about two cars..."

- vegas9

I have called few times trying to ask info about two cars they got , no info and no return calls , very roud and sound like they dont wanna anything but the " sell me that car no Qs ask" , Good luck if u stay n biz much longer with this scaming attitude ...

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
mark and onther roud guy
Jun 28, 2020 -

California Motors Direct - Santa Ana responded

Hi vegas9, my name is Kenny in our Customer Service Department. Thank you for sharing you experience with us. We are constantly looking for ways to improve our customer service. I would love speak to you over the phone to discuss your experience in further detail. Please give me a call at your convenience 909-529-5900. Thank you!

February 24, 2020

"I paid a $500 deposit on a Sunday and was asked to bring..."

- Stolenidentity

I paid a $500 deposit on a Sunday and was asked to bring in a cashiers check for the remaining balance of $10,676. Monday I went to the bank to secure the cashiers check however the banking information I gave to this dealer was used to electronically remove $10,676 from my bank account! The dealer insisted they did not do this and demanded a cashiers check if I wanted to buy the car which I placed a deposit on. So, a random thief got my banking info and electronically stole the EXACT amount I was withdrawing in the form of a cashiers check? HAHAHAHA. This dealer, or an employee of this dealer, was identified by my bank as the culprit that took the funds with a fraudulent electronic check. My bank put the funds back and went after the culprit. Buyer beware as this is blatant identity theft and and egregious misuse of consumer trust! I bought the car with a cashiers check after the bank replaced the stolen money and the fraud department went after the culprit. The manager, salesman, finance manager all insisted no one from the dealer did this in spite of my bank telling me exactly what happened. I even tried to give them the benefit of doubt and suggested it was a mistake. Nope, insisted the above referenced persons, Nope they continued to state, Nope they insisted they were innocent, even with the Banks evidence. Clearly the fraud department at the bank will manage this but again STAY AWAY or NEVER give them any identifying information!!!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Christian, Gus
Jul 11, 2020 -

California Motors Direct - Santa Ana responded

Hi Stolenidentity, my name is Kenny in our Customer Service Department. Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are constantly looking for ways to improve our customer service. I would love speak to you over phone to discuss your experience in further detail. Please give me a call at your convenience 909-529-5900. Thank you!

September 17, 2019

"HIGH POWER MANIPULATION TACTICS BANKING OFF THE VULNERABLE "

- TheyRSmokeNMirrors

This dealership needs to be shut down. They act as if they are all about quality, integrity, honesty and transparency, but they are opportunists banking on the consumers who have limited options due to low credit scores. I was under the impression I was getting a 2015 Kia Optima @ $9,999 Vin# 5XXGM4A73FG487286 if I paid for it in cash would be $11,999 out the door and if I financed it the end price would be $14,000 due to my credit score. I trusted David was being genuine and when signing the paperwork I was rushed through it and when asking questions the response was "that doesnt apply to you, just sign here" so I did.. While driving the vehicle home I noticed the vehicle felt like it was just put together and was about to fall apart. So I looked over all the paperwork and not only did the paperwork state in several areas that it had unibody damage, but the price went up to $18,000 and the paperwork they gave me was altered. I brought the vehicle back and David still charged me $500 to restock the vehicle. I not only took pictures of each original piece of paper I signed, but have text messages along with the original ad vs. the altered ad they printed out and put in my file and am filing a complaint with the BBB. I will post all photos on the BBB website right along side the Blackfish Capital finance co they use that is most likely an inside source as the BBB states they are a two man show and not accredited by the BBB.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
David, Allen
Jul 11, 2020 -

California Motors Direct - Santa Ana responded

Hi TheyRSmokeNMirrors, my name is Kenny in our Customer Service Department. Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are constantly looking for ways to improve our customer service. I would love speak to you over phone to discuss your experience in further detail. Please give me a call at your convenience 909-529-5900. Thank you!

July 21, 2019

"Shady people"

- Dontmesswithmamabear

Liars and lazy mechanics. They’ll sell you messed up cars and don’t really care that you’re driving off with precious cargo in your car (kids) with a heavy leak beneath your new used car that has been “vigorously inspected”. Take your business elsewhere. TRUST ME.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Johnny and Sako
Jul 11, 2020 -

California Motors Direct - Santa Ana responded

Hi Dontmesswithmamabear, my name is Kenny in our Customer Service Department. Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are constantly looking for ways to improve our customer service. I would love speak to you over phone to discuss your experience in further detail. Please give me a call at your convenience 909-529-5900. Thank you!

July 02, 2019

"DO NOT TRUST THIS DEALERSHIP"

- Ryan H

DO NOT TRUST THIS BUSINESS. Highly unethical and guilty of fraud. Fraud is defined as "Wrongful or criminal deception intended to result in financial or personal gain." I've recounted my experience with California Motors Direct (Montclair) below: After finding the car I intended to purchase, I started negotiating with the manager, Jonathan. After agreeing to a base price, Jonathan stated that he inputted an estimate $600 for the cost of registration and other fees for a total out-the-door estimate. Though he said, "that was a high estimate and it will be less than that. We don't want to provide a low estimate of the registration cost then have us both find out it's more. So, the total amount will be less than this." It made sense, so I decided to move forward with paperwork. Once I got to the second to last document, the one with the price breakdown information, I saw some peculiar and different numbers than agreed upon. For example, the Base Price that we had agreed upon was a few hundred dollars higher and there were a number of line items for unusual fees. When looking at the registration line item, I saw it came out to be around $250. So, based off of the high-estimate of $600, there should be a difference of $350. However, the dealership had deliberately moved that money into the Base Price and unusual categories. In looking for clarification, I asked the representative helping me. He was a little confused too, and ended up asking Jonathan. He came back with an answer that was, "it's a new software system, it just does that." After asking some additional questions, the representative brought Jonathan over. It ended up being a 45 minute conversation about how it's "just the new software. It's the computer, it just does that and changes numbers." The tactic was to try to plead ignorance on this "new software" and confuse me by pointing at different numbers. I said I was fine to move forward, though just needed to see the numbers he inputted into the system including Base Price that made for the final amount. He refused to show the system. At this time, it was past 10:00pm. Jonathan left and handed me over to three salespeople to "finish the paperwork." I asked the three salespeople for some honesty in the situation. I received dodgy answers for around 10 minutes, then they eventually said "Look, you're a smart guy. You've done your research. This is still a good deal even though we moved some numbers around." I thanked them for finally being honest to the fact that they changed numbers around and then left without a car. However, that does not change the pervasive lying displayed by the manager that has fed into a exploitative culture toward customers. I strongly suspect this happens all the time with other customers and it can absolutely be classified as Fraud.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Jonathan
Jul 11, 2020 -

California Motors Direct - Santa Ana responded

Hi Ryan H, my name is Kenny in our Customer Service Department. Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are constantly looking for ways to improve our customer service. I would love speak to you over phone to discuss your experience in further detail. Please give me a call at your convenience 909-529-5900. Thank you!

February 25, 2019

"Cars are terrible!"

- dpclass001

Had a "appointment" for a Saturday viewing of a volt. Got there at 1130, asked for "Gus" he said he was busy but would find someone else to help me. He sat me down and said someone would be with me within a few min. 25min later still no one, so we went out to the lot to look for ourselves. Found the car, it was a complete mess. No where in the pics did it say it had dents and scratches. In fact, it looked like someone went down the whole drivers side of the car with a rack, deep scratches. The passenger side looked ok, but still had lots of imperfections. ON TOP OF THAT, IT WAS MISSING THE PASSENGERS SIDE EXTERIOR MIRROR. We looked for some more Volts and they looked bad. In fact most of the cars on the lot had lots of exterior damages. What a waste of time driving down there. I should of reviewed this place first.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Gus
Jul 11, 2020 -

California Motors Direct - Santa Ana responded

Hi dpclass001, my name is Kenny in our Customer Service Department. Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are constantly looking for ways to improve our customer service. I would love speak to you over phone to discuss your experience in further detail. Please give me a call at your convenience 909-529-5900. Thank you!

January 26, 2019

"Their nice, but don't care once its sold. "

- FastLane928

I have purchased a vehicle at the California Motors Direct in Montclair, Ca. I will say that for the most part, the vehicles sell themselves, they have a great selection of luxury vehicles. Their sales personal are nice as they are in most dealers, but at times they don't have much knowledge of the vehicles they sell, their buying process is pretty easy going, although I was in their location for almost 6 hrs. We had dealt with Luis for most of the driving process and "information." When we started the buying process we made sure to fix a few details the vehicle had which included tires, fix a few scuff marks, and detailing. We were under the impression the vehicle would come with two keys as we seen when doing the paper work(wrong keys), I never had the keys with me during the test drive. Jonathan was the personal disclosing the purchase process, he seems to be the main financial administrator, he is the guy to make the deal with. I had to go back for the vehicle a week after for my co-signer to come from out of town, Jonathan told us when we came back, the extra accessories would be completed. We were excited most of the week anxious to pick up the vehicle. After a week of waiting we picked up our co-signer at LAX and went to California Motors Direct to finalize the paperwork, when we showed up, the vehicle wasn't ready, I was surprised, after a few hrs, and finalized papers, they brought the vehicle, we noticed the tires looked almost similar to the previous tires(two-three months of life), the scuff marks were the same, nothing was fixed, they did add an accessory that belongs to the vehicle. We were given only one key, which I felt should have been two because of the keys i had seen laying on the desk(misguided). After speaking to Jonathan, we were able to convince him to get an extra key, we really appreciated it. I was not satisfied with the tires, I have two young boys, and their safety was the reason we chose this vehicle, but we expected tires that we would be able to drive for at least a year. Logm story short, TPMS came up 15 minutes after leaving California Motors Direct from Montclair, Ca. I didn't take it back because I was driving back to AZ to drop off my Co-signer but the pressure looked good. I took it to Lexus of Oxnard, Ca (GREAT SERVICE BTW) to get the recall fixed and a new LCD screen which had a defect. They inspected the TPMS sensor which were good and repressured the tires, we noticed after having purchased the vehicle that the main key they had given us was faulty, Lexus diagnosed it, it had been wet before which is why it didn't function correctly. After three weeks of driving our vehicle, one tires has a gash, weathering and age, I contacted California Motors Direct from Montclair(Jonathan) and told him the issue with my tires and the key. He told me to stop by, which for me is a two hr drive, four total round trip, he said they would see what they can do. I finally went today, after three weeks of owning this vehicle, they didn't replace the faulty key because they had given me one already, one fully functional key, and one that doesn't fully work correctly. They only replaced two tires, with some decent tires. To be honest, I WOULD NEVER RECOMMEND BUYING FROM THEM. They don't invest in their customers, much less their vehicles. THEIR CUSTOMER SERVICE IS HORRIBLE. The people are nice though, but their POLICIES!!! Garbage. One star for the vehicle which is great, one star for Luis, -3 stars for California Motors Direct.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Luis was nice, Jonathan's not trustworthy.
Jul 11, 2020 -

California Motors Direct - Santa Ana responded

Hi FastLane928, my name is Kenny in our Customer Service Department. Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are constantly looking for ways to improve our customer service. I would love speak to you over phone to discuss your experience in further detail. Please give me a call at your convenience 909-529-5900. Thank you!

1
1 - 10 of 20 results