Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Search
Back
Write a review

California Motors Direct

1.3

14 Lifetime Reviews

2345 N Grand, Santa Ana, California 92705 Directions
Sales: (714) 515-6100

Is this your dealership?

...and take advantage of all we have to offer with our Certified Dealership Program.

14 Reviews of California Motors Direct

Sort by Write a review
July 21, 2019

"Shady people"

- Dontmesswithmamabear

Liars and lazy mechanics. They’ll sell you messed up cars and don’t really care that you’re driving off with precious cargo in your car (kids) with a heavy leak beneath your new used car that has been “vigorously inspected”. Take your business elsewhere. TRUST ME.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Johnny and Sako
July 02, 2019

"DO NOT TRUST THIS DEALERSHIP"

- Ryan H

DO NOT TRUST THIS BUSINESS. Highly unethical and guilty of fraud. Fraud is defined as "Wrongful or criminal deception intended to result in financial or personal gain." I've recounted my experience with California Motors Direct (Montclair) below: After finding the car I intended to purchase, I started negotiating with the manager, Jonathan. After agreeing to a base price, Jonathan stated that he inputted an estimate $600 for the cost of registration and other fees for a total out-the-door estimate. Though he said, "that was a high estimate and it will be less than that. We don't want to provide a low estimate of the registration cost then have us both find out it's more. So, the total amount will be less than this." It made sense, so I decided to move forward with paperwork. Once I got to the second to last document, the one with the price breakdown information, I saw some peculiar and different numbers than agreed upon. For example, the Base Price that we had agreed upon was a few hundred dollars higher and there were a number of line items for unusual fees. When looking at the registration line item, I saw it came out to be around $250. So, based off of the high-estimate of $600, there should be a difference of $350. However, the dealership had deliberately moved that money into the Base Price and unusual categories. In looking for clarification, I asked the representative helping me. He was a little confused too, and ended up asking Jonathan. He came back with an answer that was, "it's a new software system, it just does that." After asking some additional questions, the representative brought Jonathan over. It ended up being a 45 minute conversation about how it's "just the new software. It's the computer, it just does that and changes numbers." The tactic was to try to plead ignorance on this "new software" and confuse me by pointing at different numbers. I said I was fine to move forward, though just needed to see the numbers he inputted into the system including Base Price that made for the final amount. He refused to show the system. At this time, it was past 10:00pm. Jonathan left and handed me over to three salespeople to "finish the paperwork." I asked the three salespeople for some honesty in the situation. I received dodgy answers for around 10 minutes, then they eventually said "Look, you're a smart guy. You've done your research. This is still a good deal even though we moved some numbers around." I thanked them for finally being honest to the fact that they changed numbers around and then left without a car. However, that does not change the pervasive lying displayed by the manager that has fed into a exploitative culture toward customers. I strongly suspect this happens all the time with other customers and it can absolutely be classified as Fraud.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Jonathan
February 25, 2019

"Cars are terrible!"

- dpclass001

Had a "appointment" for a Saturday viewing of a volt. Got there at 1130, asked for "Gus" he said he was busy but would find someone else to help me. He sat me down and said someone would be with me within a few min. 25min later still no one, so we went out to the lot to look for ourselves. Found the car, it was a complete mess. No where in the pics did it say it had dents and scratches. In fact, it looked like someone went down the whole drivers side of the car with a rack, deep scratches. The passenger side looked ok, but still had lots of imperfections. ON TOP OF THAT, IT WAS MISSING THE PASSENGERS SIDE EXTERIOR MIRROR. We looked for some more Volts and they looked bad. In fact most of the cars on the lot had lots of exterior damages. What a waste of time driving down there. I should of reviewed this place first.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Gus
January 26, 2019

"Their nice, but don't care once its sold. "

- FastLane928

I have purchased a vehicle at the California Motors Direct in Montclair, Ca. I will say that for the most part, the vehicles sell themselves, they have a great selection of luxury vehicles. Their sales personal are nice as they are in most dealers, but at times they don't have much knowledge of the vehicles they sell, their buying process is pretty easy going, although I was in their location for almost 6 hrs. We had dealt with Luis for most of the driving process and "information." When we started the buying process we made sure to fix a few details the vehicle had which included tires, fix a few scuff marks, and detailing. We were under the impression the vehicle would come with two keys as we seen when doing the paper work(wrong keys), I never had the keys with me during the test drive. Jonathan was the personal disclosing the purchase process, he seems to be the main financial administrator, he is the guy to make the deal with. I had to go back for the vehicle a week after for my co-signer to come from out of town, Jonathan told us when we came back, the extra accessories would be completed. We were excited most of the week anxious to pick up the vehicle. After a week of waiting we picked up our co-signer at LAX and went to California Motors Direct to finalize the paperwork, when we showed up, the vehicle wasn't ready, I was surprised, after a few hrs, and finalized papers, they brought the vehicle, we noticed the tires looked almost similar to the previous tires(two-three months of life), the scuff marks were the same, nothing was fixed, they did add an accessory that belongs to the vehicle. We were given only one key, which I felt should have been two because of the keys i had seen laying on the desk(misguided). After speaking to Jonathan, we were able to convince him to get an extra key, we really appreciated it. I was not satisfied with the tires, I have two young boys, and their safety was the reason we chose this vehicle, but we expected tires that we would be able to drive for at least a year. Logm story short, TPMS came up 15 minutes after leaving California Motors Direct from Montclair, Ca. I didn't take it back because I was driving back to AZ to drop off my Co-signer but the pressure looked good. I took it to Lexus of Oxnard, Ca (GREAT SERVICE BTW) to get the recall fixed and a new LCD screen which had a defect. They inspected the TPMS sensor which were good and repressured the tires, we noticed after having purchased the vehicle that the main key they had given us was faulty, Lexus diagnosed it, it had been wet before which is why it didn't function correctly. After three weeks of driving our vehicle, one tires has a gash, weathering and age, I contacted California Motors Direct from Montclair(Jonathan) and told him the issue with my tires and the key. He told me to stop by, which for me is a two hr drive, four total round trip, he said they would see what they can do. I finally went today, after three weeks of owning this vehicle, they didn't replace the faulty key because they had given me one already, one fully functional key, and one that doesn't fully work correctly. They only replaced two tires, with some decent tires. To be honest, I WOULD NEVER RECOMMEND BUYING FROM THEM. They don't invest in their customers, much less their vehicles. THEIR CUSTOMER SERVICE IS HORRIBLE. The people are nice though, but their POLICIES!!! Garbage. One star for the vehicle which is great, one star for Luis, -3 stars for California Motors Direct.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Luis was nice, Jonathan's not trustworthy.
March 19, 2018

"First time experience "

- Jlife22

This was my first time visiting a California Motor Direct and probably my last. The reason why I probably wouldn't go back is because they don't have communication and don't man up to their word. I don't remember the guys name but I believe it was James was the one that called around 1 PM today telling me they have the 2007 BMW 328I available. When I arrived to the location asking for the vehicle it wasn't there anymore. I was furious, disappointed and very very upset. I wasted my gas, my time and got my hopes up. I was crushed. When his co worker (Francisco J.) asked if he has asked set me up or talked to me about the 2007 BMW he told him no. So only didn't lie to me but to a co worker. I don't trust him which made me lose trust in the company he works for. If I could put negative stars, I would. Thanks to Francisco, he tried to clean up his mess and did his research to search for another car almost similar as the one James promised me. But no other car was found. So I left empty handed.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
James and Francisco J
November 28, 2017

"No value to customer"

- rahul102030

I went to see a car on last Friday. I wanted to see Chevy Cruize. On website they mentioned as no damage on car. Clean Car Fax. When he ran the report it said that it has Frame Damage. I asked him to show other cars. He asked me whether i am buying in cash. I told him that i will be financing it through DCU. I got pre approved loan. He suddenly lost interest.He told me that all the cars which are out there will cost me around 3k more for out the door price. Please don't go to this dealer.You will be wasting your time.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
I dont' remember name
November 26, 2017

"Defective vehicles"

- commuter

We found a good car with low miles, under kbb value, carfax said everything was great, autocheck even scored it above the max score. I am not experienced with inspecting used cars, and even I noticed the overspray all over the rear half of the car. I also had an expert inspect and confirm my suspicions. I actually considered my experience to be educational as to what to look for in a car with defects that have been covered up. I did not buy it, or even feel comfortable offering a lower price. Also, they were very sleazy, my sales guy was not people friendly at all. I asked him about the over spray and he threw his hands up and said I know nothing about what's been done to this car, all I can do is give you the carfax. And here's the kicker, when I first arrived, I couldn't park in this spot because this man was so livid about the car he just bought, it was sad. Sir I hope you read this, you were right, thanks for the warning.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
James
November 08, 2017

"Scam artists"

- Aliyu Lecky

Every other review pretty much sums it up. They sell junk cars, with bad financing, and overpriced add ons. They are running a scam business, which they are fully aware of and it starts with their management. Gamble if you want too but 1 out of 5 rating says it all.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Carlos
September 13, 2017

"Dmanaged vehicles, multiple added fees!"

- Ac

**They sell DAMAGED VEHICLES** **RUN AN AUTOCHECK, will show damaged to vehicle unlike the carfax record they provide you. They tack on multiple fees on top of their no hassle asking price. They tacked on $995 dealer fee, they state its to maintain the vehicle, oil change, carwashes.. etc. they tack on a transfer fee $695, to get he car to them and to you, to keep you car insured while on the lot? They bump DMV fees, the vehicle I was looking at had a $210 DMV pentality, $585 total from DMV yet they were asking $690. On top of that they tacked on a separate DMV fee of $120, registration of $68 and another smog check (which they should pay) of $38. Then taxes (obviously) but on top of all their fees?! They preach they they are lower than KBB, but after their duplicitous fees they are WAY OVERPRICED for their damaged vehicles. After reading their reviews I ran an AUTOCHECK on the vehicle VIN i was interested in and found the vehicle had "significant front end structural & mechanical damage", this was never disclosed and was hard to tell by looking at the vehicle! Luckily we didn't fall for the extra fees and left their garbage there. BUYERS BEWARE OF MULTIPLE AND DUPLICATE ADDED FEES to their damaged vehicles!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Randy
June 02, 2017

"Horrible "

- Cheriel

I would never in my life go back to this dealer nor will I recommend anyone to buy a car here this car lot horrible service and they have Secret in house financing companies that they don't tell you about then they will find ways to get extra money by doing fraudulent paperwork and activities I have reported all parties involved to every better business and now have seek a lawyer

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Carlos
1
1 - 10 of 14 results