About Us
Copyright 2019 DR Media Holdings, LLC
Search
Back
Write a review

Capitol City Buick GMC

4.4

13 Lifetime Reviews

1162 Route 2, Berlin, Vermont 05602 Directions
Sales: (802) 778-0546

Is this your dealership?

...and take advantage of all we have to offer with our Certified Dealership Program.

13 Reviews of Capitol City Buick GMC

Sort by Write a review
June 20, 2018

"Buyer experience with salesman Armel "

- Armel

My salesman , for the Buick I purchased, was Armel. I knew my required features and price I was willing to pay. Armel made it happen, he didn’t pressure me and got me exactly what I was shopping for. He took his time going over how the features and functions of the car worked. He drove the car for me while I was a passenger so I could get a different perspective on how the car handled. I was able to check out the control panel of the car and ask questions. It was a pleasure doing business with Armel and no once did he try and upgrade me or get pushy like some car sales people get. I love the car that I got and would do business with Armel again! I have rated Armel 5 stars for his outstanding salesmanship. He listened to his customer and delivered what his customer wanted. I ranked Friendliness of dealer separate from Armel. I found Management was talking down to their employees which is never appropriate, especially on a sales floor.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Armel
October 03, 2017

"Rushed then dragged"

- Babygirl

My buying experience felt rushed and like I wasn’t doing anything right then pressured into buying the car I had initially only wanted a price quote on. My car wasn’t given a very good trade-in value either. The car I settled with I’m not too happy with and wish I shopped elsewhere because I know I would have gotten a much better deal. Then, after the purchase and all was said and done it had to be detailed because it never was; we waited well over an hour then left without it ever done because I needed to go!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Amell
April 19, 2017

"Mike was great to us"

- Eugene Mcallister

Mike was great to us. He did a good job with our budget and our banker. He even talked to us on his day off to help get the deal done.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Ed Farr
April 11, 2017

"Scott Campbell did a great job"

- Ronald Collins

The car was what we wanted, when we wanted, got a very good price. Scott Campbell did a great job answering questions and providing what we needed.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Ed Farr
April 11, 2017

"I was anticipating on my trade in"

- David Sheridan

Between Allison Brown and Kevin Dunn I was able to get a truck I could only dream about buying.From the start Allison was great to deal with.Not once did I feel pressured or uncomfortable about buying a truck from her and Capitol City.I also got more than I was anticipating on my trade in.TY Allison.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Ed Farr
November 21, 2016

"Awesome Experience"

- Tom Wood

I was very satisfied with my sales person, Scott Campbell. He had very good communication with me and it's nice to see that there are still some salespeople like him left. When I get ready to trade again I will go back to see Scott Campbell.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Scott Campbell
September 22, 2016

"Awesome experience"

- GMC 1

I had a great experience at capitol city, I called ahead of time told them the truck I wanted, when I got there my salesman Josh had it out front waiting for me with a plate on it so I could take it for a drive. When my wife and I got back from the test drive we went over all the figures with Josh and were on our way with my new truck in under 2 hours. I will definitely be recommending Josh and capitol city to my friends and family.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Josh
April 12, 2016

"The ABSOLUTE WORST"

- B

The ABSOLUTE WORST buying experience I have ever had. I bought a 2016 GMC 2500HD on March 18, 2016. They lied to me, and they stole from me. I went down the next day to get the problem resolved after I had gotten home and realized what had happened. It's like I don't exist. It's now April 12, 2016, and no response. I even reached out to the owner Abel Toll, no response. Nice way to treat someone after spending over $50k. Travis does not want to own up to the fact that he lied and stole from me. Just remember the Autosaver Group owns 7-9 other dealerships. I would imagine training is the same through out. If I could give them 0 stars I would. I truly hate giving a business a bad review, as I own one as well, but I was brought up to be honest and have integrity. Something Capitol City GMC and Autosaver Group does not have.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Travis pierce and James
August 26, 2015

"Horrible customer service!! "

- Henry

I purchased a car from this dealership, within a week the heater went and the wipers. Called the sales person many times to get no call back!! Then called the service dept left messages no return call..had the vehicle towed to north point, they had the car 2 weeks, at this time I called several times as well as my daughter we got a run around, no one had a clue!! I will never do business with either establishment again and never suggest anyone to go there!! I am disgusted I purchased a truck as well and in good faith traded it for this car, that has been a nightmare. I'm still waiting for the owners manual that was promised to be mailed to me the day I bought it.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Travis, Alan, Bryson Gray, Pat Reilly, and Leslie
April 30, 2015

"The absolute worst car buying experience in my life!"

- tjakob

Honestly, the worst car buying experience in my life!! I contacted Capital City Buick GMC last Saturday regarding a "new" 2015 Yukon they had listed on their website. I spoke with a sales associate, Jay T. about the vehicle to ensure it was still available. He confirmed it was. My family and I had been seriously car shopping for about a month and were very ready to buy, however before making the 170 miles trip to Berlin, Vermont from outside of Boston, Massachusetts, I felt I needed to make sure I was not wasting a Saturday for myself, my family, or the dealership staff. I asked Jay if the price on the Yukon was firm, or if there was room to negotiate further, and he assured me there was still room to negotiate. I also told Jay what the specifics of what my trade would be and its condition as assessed by four other dealerships. I wanted to make sure my trade was most likely going to be in the same range as the others. He assured me I was visiting on a special day because they just so happened to have some corporate appraisers on hand to ensure they paid top dollar for the trade. Let me also mention he assured me of two other things; their dealership had NEVER lost a deal based on a trade AND his offer on my vehicle would be just as strong as other dealerships in my area assuming the condition of my vehicle was as described. Based upon these facts, my family and I decided to make the trip to test drive the vehicle. Jay told me he would get the vehicle prepared for our arrival and told me to see the Sales Manager, Travis P. when I arrived. We set an APPOINTMENT to meet with Travis for 3:00 p.m. My family and I drove the 170 or so miles and arrived promptly at 3:00 p.m. My children were very excited about the prospect of a big SUV and looked for it as we pulled n the parking lot. Though told it would be prepared and “out front” when we arrived, it sadly wasn’t. I was met at the door by Jay, who was pleasant and welcoming. He showed us our name on their “VIP Board” and then he went over to Travis as we had discussed. After a few minutes, Jay returned and informed us Travis was unable to see us so we ended up speaking to another Sales Consultant; I believe his name was Scott C.. Scott was also initially pleasant and had a good demeanor about him. He went across the street to a secondary lot and retrieved the vehicle. It was evident no “preparation” of the vehicle took place; it was quite dirty. That didn’t bother me, it was frustrating only because I was again told something that was untrue; that the vehicle was to be prepared and out in front of the dealership upon our arrival. My family and I took the vehicle for a test drive while their “expert appraisers” assessed our vehicle’s value. During the test drive we all heard a loud rotor-like noise come from the vehicle; all windows and the sunroof were fully closed so we were perplexed on what the noise could be. We drove back to the dealership and told Scott about the noise. He stated it was a known issue with that truck and there was a repair available to fix it, they just hadn’t done it yet. Keep in mind this is a relatively expensive, NEW vehicle. In all fairness, Scott did state the vehicle would be fixed if I decided to purchase it. I was just surprised it sat on the dealership lot for many months without being fixed. Scott and I then sat down to discuss all the financial aspects of the deal. While this took quite some time, it was not unreasonably long. Unfortunately however, it quickly became evident I had fallen victim to the exact sales tactic that has given the car buying experience such a bad reputation for the 24 years I’ve been driving; dishonesty and empty promises. Despite Jay’s confirmation they would offer a very competitive trade offer (assuming my vehicle’s condition was as I described it and they did not contest it was not), they failed to even come close to any recent appraisals I had received (including one just the day before). Remember, Jay also told me over the phone the dealership never lost a deal due to a trade. Jay was also dishonest in his statement to me over the phone that the new vehicle’s price was further negotiable; it was not and was told the vehicle was already discounted below MSRP. It became clear we would be unable to agree on terms, nor did I want to at that point after feeling deceived and that my family’s time was not valued. Before leaving, I asked to speak to Travis to politely express my dissatisfaction and frustration over all that occurred. He looked at me coldly and stated it was not their business practice to inform customers of potential trade values or negotiate prices over the phone; this left me feeling he was implying I was not being truthful about my experience with his staff. He also was unapologetic about not keeping his appointment with my family and I. His attitude and cold demeanor said it all that day; this dealership is far more interested making a one time sale, than it is about long-term customer service and satisfaction, and they will do anything, to include lying and manipulating potential buyers, to make a sale. It really is too bad, it was a very nice vehicle and the experience left my family very disappointed, making for a long, quiet ride back to Massachusetts. I strongly urge anyone looking to shop at Capital City Buick GMC to strongly reconsider. I can only base this on my experience, but I simply cannot overstate just how unbelievably unprofessional this dealership appears to be based on my personal experience. I am fairly certain someone from the dealership or their corporate staffers will post a contradictory statement, and perhaps even attempt to discredit this review. Dishonesty is apparently and unfortunately an accepted practice and they wear that distinction like a badge of honor.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Jay, Scott, Travis
1
1 - 10 of 13 results