Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Back

Capitol City Buick GMC

Berlin, VT

1.3
20 Reviews

1162 Route 2

Berlin, VT

05602

Directions

20 Reviews of Capitol City Buick GMC

Sort by
March 22, 2021

"I had high hopes for this dealership. I went in recently..."

- Notbornyesterday

I had high hopes for this dealership. I went in recently to test drive a GMC terrain. We eventually agreed on a price for a trade-in, and I let them know that I did not want white and they located a dark gray one. I was set to purchase on Friday of last week. I had gotten financing and my insurance set up and was excited to get the car. The night before at 5 p.m. I got a call from the dealership saying that they couldn't get the vehicle that I was set to buy. They said gmc had pulled it for quality control and that they didn't know when it might be available. I'm a grown woman and a professional. I've never heard of a vehicle that is brand new being sent back to the manufacturer for quality control. They offered me another vehicle that didn't have the specs I wanted in a different color. Seemed like a bait and switch scenario to get another car off their lot. I spent time test driving and calling insurance and applying for a loan and then calling insurance again. I don't do business with people I don't trust. I liked the car but I won't buy from them. It doesn't surprise me that they get terrible reviews here. I'm going to test drive at another dealership.

Read More
Customer Service
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Pierre
May 16, 2020

"Price of my repair was $2000 over other dealerships in..."

- markdfournier

Price of my repair was $2000 over other dealerships in total price. Understanding that there will always be some difference (a few hundred or so); this difference is unacceptable! Upon confronting the service writer and showing him an invoice from another dealer, I was met with argumentative, rude and condescending attitude. I’ve purchased (2) new trucks from them and many Maintenance visits and have always felt overcharged and like “My business” doesn’t matter. They are great if you don’t mind doing expensive repairs with no resistance on your part. They will be great to you as long as you pay their Top Dollar prices. I’ve known others that they have failed inspections for invalid reasons costing them a lot of money unnecessarily! They will no longer get any business from me!

Read More
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Scott Hawkins
April 29, 2020

"Made and appointment to have my truck serviced. Arrived..."

- plamanac

Made and appointment to have my truck serviced. Arrived for the service guy to say it will be 2 hours before we can get to it. Well what was the purpose of an appointment, his answer was drop it off. Not very good customer service, I will think twice before I buy a new viechle from these folks again ,service is the main issue after the sale. But I guess they do not care.

Read More
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Service manager
January 10, 2020

"This dealership should be stripped of its GM franchise..."

- shs92645

This dealership should be stripped of its GM franchise for its unethical business. I drove 4.5 hours to look at a 2017 Regal GS AWD which is listed as a new leftover car. However it is in fact a used car with 4100+ miles, scratches all over rear bumper, noisy brakes and in need of an oil change. If you are a prospective buyer drive right by this place.

Read More
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Scott Campbell
January 09, 2020

"Terrible. 3 Different prices on the same vehicle, same..."

- jerrydallton

Terrible. 3 Different prices on the same vehicle, same Vin #. Brought it to their attention and they definitely looked confused as to how I found this our. asked for explanation got nothing but a run around

Read More
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
From salesman to finance
July 16, 2019

"The WORST CAR BUYING EXPERIENCE EVER IN MY 30+ YEARS!!"

- cjcarden98!@

I would not recommend - DO NOT BUY !! If you Buy here......This place is very unethical & extremely shady. Even the place where I was getting my Financing said these guys had a bad reputation in the local community and had several complaints. I wasn’t able to make the deal because I was finalizing my financing. I thought I was good after I signed my contract and drove off with my 2018 GMC Acadia AWD SLE-1 but that it when the trouble started. Within a week, they called demanding an additional payment of $6000 or that I return the 2018 Acadia. Ally Bank had already sent me my loan packet and payment plan. They falsely accused of not disclosing that my 2014 Camaro RS (fully loaded) was in a previous accident on multiple occasions and threatened me with a police felony charge (I cannot make this stuff up) . I had in fact disclosed this fact by phone on two or more occasions to two different sales people between April 2019 and June 2019. I offered to take back the 2014 Camaro RS and turn in the 2018 Acadia (it was in minor accident the day after we thought we bought it) --then their demands got crazy! We want the insurance claim shifted to our body shop, we want you to pay us and additional $1000 for the swap to void this deal, etc. Very quickly as I had never been through something like this before (by the way, I have bought/sold over 20 cars in my lifetime) I contacted the Vermont State Police. They quickly referred me to the Vermont Attorney General's Office of Customer Assistance. Thankfully, GMC Customer Care came calling at the same time as part of the Sales Survey and I was able to tell them about all of this experience. 18 days later and they have not PAID off the 2014 Camaro Loan as per our sales contract, and meanwhile my Camaro has been sitting on their lot for the last 3 weeks collecting dust and I am overdue on a bank payment due 2 days ago. Better yet, they are still threatening police charges and asking for the 2018 Acadia back after I have registered it in another state and Ally Bank has starting sending me my loan documents. I don't know where this will all end, but know I did nothing wrong other than choose the wrong car dealer.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Seth, Armel, Pat
May 28, 2019

"One star is over rating our experience."

- jpquinn82

We are beyond frustrated and disappointed after purchasing our first GMC truck from Capital City. We have been getting the run around with our New 2017 GMC Sierra being in the service bay 7 times for electrical issues in the last 14 months. This truck has been so unreliable we have not been able to trust driving it more than 2hrs from home. We are being told that the truck "is running as designed" and we can trade it in but for a higher monthly payment since we have negative equity in the truck that we have owned for just over a year (of course we have negative equity in it!). Capital City has not shown us any sign of goodwill to acknowledge the frustration and inconvenience with all our visits to the Service Center. From our standpoint they clearly are not standing by the truck they sold us.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Scott Campbell, Ed Farr
June 20, 2018

"Buyer experience with salesman Armel "

- Armel

My salesman , for the Buick I purchased, was Armel. I knew my required features and price I was willing to pay. Armel made it happen, he didn’t pressure me and got me exactly what I was shopping for. He took his time going over how the features and functions of the car worked. He drove the car for me while I was a passenger so I could get a different perspective on how the car handled. I was able to check out the control panel of the car and ask questions. It was a pleasure doing business with Armel and no once did he try and upgrade me or get pushy like some car sales people get. I love the car that I got and would do business with Armel again! I have rated Armel 5 stars for his outstanding salesmanship. He listened to his customer and delivered what his customer wanted. I ranked Friendliness of dealer separate from Armel. I found Management was talking down to their employees which is never appropriate, especially on a sales floor.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Armel
October 03, 2017

"Rushed then dragged"

- Babygirl

My buying experience felt rushed and like I wasn’t doing anything right then pressured into buying the car I had initially only wanted a price quote on. My car wasn’t given a very good trade-in value either. The car I settled with I’m not too happy with and wish I shopped elsewhere because I know I would have gotten a much better deal. Then, after the purchase and all was said and done it had to be detailed because it never was; we waited well over an hour then left without it ever done because I needed to go!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Amell
April 19, 2017

"Mike was great to us"

- Eugene Mcallister

Mike was great to us. He did a good job with our budget and our banker. He even talked to us on his day off to help get the deal done.

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Ed Farr
1
1 - 10 of 20 results