Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Search
Back
Write a review

Capitol Kia of San Jose

2.8

47 Lifetime Reviews

755 Capitol Expressway Auto Mall, San Jose, California 95136 Directions
Call (669) 231-1540

Is this your dealership?

...and take advantage of all we have to offer with our Certified Dealership Program.

47 Reviews of Capitol Kia of San Jose

Sort by Write a review
April 30, 2019

"Horrible experience working with Randy Guzman "

- Divya

This is not a dealership that values customers. If you are buying from this dealership please do make sure NOT TO WORK WITH RANDY GUZMAN. We bought a new Kia Telluride from this dealership last week. Had a pleasant experience working with the sales guy cesar But then comes the finance guy Randy Guzman, he is extremely rude, doesn't care about customers, did not value our time, made it an unpleasant experience. We reported this to the sales guy and took the car delivery and left. Few days later get a call from Randy saying they made some mistake in numbers and want us to come and resign without discussing any severity of the situation. As we were busy we couldn't go as agreed and made sure to inform the sales guy. But we get another call from Randy saying he is going to repossess the vehicle without explaining what is going on. I told him I am in middle of my baby shower and cannot come now. He did not seem to understand. Finally his manager explained the situation and sent someone home to get the signature. The problem was taken care but calling and saying repossess the vehicle without informing what is going on or how urgent the matter is. The tone, the rudeness was unbelievable. NEVER NEVER WORK WITH RANDY GUZMAN. we went back to complain this to manager.. Which again was not taken seriously. Some GUY working there asked us what are you trying to accomplish by complaining??what the xxxx.HORRIBLE DEALERSHIP. NEVER GO THERE.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Randy Guzman
September 19, 2018

"DONT GO !! Terrible after sales service "

- Blue

Purchased new 2019 Kia Sorento, car was filthy and not detailed at time of test drive , after purchase they told me they had lust second key and would send me one next day in the mail . That took another week and I had to take to my local dealer to get it programmed. Very very poor , will not be back and would not recommend to anyone ....

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Caesar and sales manager
November 26, 2017

"Excellent Sevices"

- Hai247

When I stopped by here I didn’t know what kind of car I should to buy. Mr. Jun took me look around many cars and explained very clearly. He is very friendly and professional. Next day I came back doing paperwork and I got my car yesterday.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Jun Kim
January 09, 2014

"**ATTENTION SHAUN DEL GRANDE** **UPSET CUSTOMER SEEKS..."

- JasminOng

**ATTENTION SHAUN DEL GRANDE** **UPSET CUSTOMER SEEKS YOUR IMMEDIATE ASSISTANCE** **DO NOT BUY FROM THIS DEALERSHIP** **READ THIS REVIEW** I have purchased a fair amount of used and new vehicles in the past 12 years and I have never had such a horrific, degrading, disrespectful sales experience.. EVER. Two Sales Associates, a Sales Manager, and the General Manager at Capital Kia in San Jose have failed at representing the Del Grande group in an appropriate manner, and I urge consumers and the corporation to pay close attention to the details below (in order of each individual dealt with). I was looking to purchase a VW GTI as a gift for my husband. I thoroughly researched all used GTIs available from Santa Cruz to Sacramento and felt that the one Capital Kia had to offer was one that I was interested in test driving. I called, scheduled and appointment, and made my way from Union City to the dealership. Manny (newly employed sales associate): Upon arrival he greeted my husband and we made small talk as we did a thorough walk around of the vehicle. The vehicle had zero body damage but we did point out to Manny glue residue on the interior that looked like it had been left over by a sticker. My husband then test drives with Manny. Zander ("veteran" sales associate): Manny hands us over to Zander because he has another customer. In most countries when you are handed over to be beaten, tortured, and killed they explain the crime you committed in order to deserve such a punishment. I'm not sure what I did to Manny to be handed over to Zander. Zander's insufficient customer service is so extraneous that it must be compiled into a bullet pointed list of its own.. Zander lacked knowledge of our turbo charged GTI (he filled it with 87 octane when it states "91 octane only) on the fuel lid, tried to sell us a maintenance package that did not include the price difference of synthetic oil, and gave us warranty prices for a package that did not include the upcharge for the turbo charger) While driving me to the gas station to fuel up for my test drive, he failed to use a hands free device while talking AND texting on his mobile phone. Not only is that against California law, I'm sure an automotive group has an employee policy in place regarding that. Maybe right next to their views on alcohol consumption while operating vehicles. Basic safety items. Apparently once you sign a contract, your deal is not secure with Zander. While waiting to be seen by finance, another family came to inquire about the GTI and wanted to pay cash. Zander felt it necessary to inform us of this family multiple times 1) Saturday, before we went into finance 2) Sunday, during THREE separate phone conversations when we were working out delivery details for my trade in. My husband finally called him after the third conversation to tell him to stop badgering me 3) Monday, when he came to pick up the vehicle I was trading in. Zander is unable to problem solve, and instead expects his customers to think for him. When we were going over the trade in details on Saturday, I let Zander know that I was unable to access my vehicle but I would be able to bring it in Monday morning. Initially Zander agreed, but Sunday he kept stating "I'm not allowed to hold your GTI unless your trade in is here, technically I can let the other family have your GTI." If that was company policy, you should not have agreed to our arrangement Saturday. If that was company policy, and you had communicated that honestly to me on Saturday, I would have figured out how to make it work to secure my vehicle. I was keeping up on my end of the deal, you Zander, were not. Secondly, when Zander came to pick up my trade in on Monday (1030AM) I let him know to let the car run for a few moments since it had been sitting for six months. He did not listen and took off with the vehicle. As he's driving away he rolls down the window to let me know that the gas light turned on, he doesn't know if he'll make it to the dealership. He leaves anyway, and ten minutes later I receive a text from him "I ran out of gas and I'm stuck on the freeway," insinuating that I am to come out and help him? John (General Manager) : 1130AM I call John, tell him my experience, and let him know I want to be reassigned to a sales person with better customer service, I need to sever all ties with Zander. This is a gift for my husband, I'm dealing with it all while I'm at work. Zander picked up my trade in, did not bring my GTI with him, and so I am without a vehicle. John apologizes and says he'll get back to me. 330PM I call back because I have not heard anything, to which John says "I was under the impression your were coming to pick up your GTI." How would I get there?? Your salesman left me without a vehicle! John then says he'll have someone call me back. Frank (Sales Manager): 345PM He calls, introduces himself and starts banging out details of my loan. When I ask for a breakdown of my trade in, he is not prepared to give them to me. Why would I agree on a monthly payment unless I was knowledgeable of each detail of my loan? I tell him to call me back when he's better prepared. 4PM He calls me "I want to work this deal out for you, because of all you have been through, but how can you work for me?" Seriously? I'm supposed to convince YOU to sell me my car? I tell Frank no, and for HIM to give me his bottom line. We work out our deal and I tell him I'll figure out how to get to the dealership, I will not count on his employees to pick me up. He ends the conversation with "By the way, how old are you, because you sound young?" HOW IS THAT RELEVANT? 7PM I arrive to the dealership with a female friend, Frank greets us and leads us into finance while saying "I'm glad you and I could come to a deal, maybe you can write a Yelp review and mention me." Here you go, as promised Frank Ted (Finance): Ted is the ONLY associate I have not had a problem with. From beginning to end he has been honest and straight forward. I don't need pleasantries, I just need to get the deal done, and Ted was all that. Thank you Ted. Manny: Apparently Manny got called in to seal the deal. After I signed my papers Manny walked me out to the vehicle where I did another walk around. What do I find? A dent on the hood of my once perfect car, covered up in cheap paint that does not match. Manny acknowledges that the dent was not there Saturday. Frank: Is called over to see the dent, but claims it is tree sap, but if it is a dent underneath they will fix it and that I should come in on Saturday. I tell him this is my only car, I'm coming from Union City, will they provide me a loaner vehicle? Frank says no, because they do not accommodate used vehicle customers with loaners. He mentions a yelp review again, asks again how old I am (because he's sure I am younger than his youngest daughter), and tells me it's been a pleasure. Manny: Having had enough abuse for the day, I decide to get going. Manny asks what happened the past two days, so I tell him and let him know I am still upset. Instead of active listening, he flirts with my female friend about some nonsense.. then asks us both to stand in front of the GTI.. because he takes pictures of all his happy customers with their new purchase. 1) I'm not a happy customer 2) My female friend did not sign or co sign for the GTI, therefore she is not your customer and is in no way attached to this deal. Manny, learn to read customers and do not push them when they are already upset. John: The next day I call John to let him know how the pick up of my car went and also about the dent. He seems surprised that Frank even agreed to fix it (?????) and confirmed that he would not find another form of transportation for me. I tell him I am uncomfortable visiting your dealership, is it possible to send my car to your DGDG dealership in Fremont, which is closer to where I live in Union City. He says that it is not possible and to let Frank know when I'm bringing the GTI in. I COULDN'T MAKE THIS STUFF UP IF I TRIED. I could have simply walked away from the vehicle. But I stuck it out and endured the abuse for my husband to have his car. But now his car is 90% perfect and the staff is unwilling to accommodate me for something that happened at THEIR dealership. I signed papers Saturday for a perfect car, and picked up a dented one. Shaun Del Grande made a commitment to his customers called Project 100 "to provide 100% customer satisfaction to 100% of our customers 100% of the time" And in no way did I receive that type of service. I have purchased vehicles from Carlsbad Toyota, Capital Toyota, Capital Honda, Fremont Toyota, and Capital Ford.. I know what I'm getting into when buying from a dealership and what to generally expect. The staff at Capital Kia EXTREMELY FAILS in comparison to all of those dealerships. I am expected to purchase a new vehicle at the end of this year, and was considering a Kia for their awesome warranty, but I won't now. I will definitely tell my friends, family, and everyone I meet of my experience.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Manny, Zander, John, Frank
November 30, 2011

"It was fantastic experience with Elizabeth. She was very..."

- jchung60

It was fantastic experience with Elizabeth. She was very friendly and willing to help anything I need. Wonderful person and will do business with her when I need another car next time and I will refer her and capital dealer to my friends.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Elizabeth Czahar
November 26, 2011

"Purchased a new Kia Sorrento. Found the Capitol Kia..."

- rnoelm

Purchased a new Kia Sorrento. Found the Capitol Kia dealsership on the web; we are from out of town and came here because of the substantial inventory of the specific configuration we were looking for, and the promise of a good price. We were not disappointed; we found the model with the exact combination of features (without unnecessary add-ons);the purchase price was very competitive with other locations which we had researched on the web and by phone. The experience was straightforward and stress-free. Highly recommended. We are particulary appreciative of Elizabeth, internet sales manager, who was our initial telephone contact at the dealership, and Mark, the finance manager there. Thank you for your professionalism and efficiency. We came away with an excellent value in the purchase, and were treated very well.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
elizabeth
November 25, 2011

"I was in the market for a car for nearly a month. ..."

- sarahanngarcia

I was in the market for a car for nearly a month. Somewhere along the way, I stumbled onto Heath at Capitol Kia. I let him know what I was looking for. His style felt like help. He e-mailed me links that seemed to meet my needs. I never felt annoyed with sales pressure. Instead, when I would call with questions, Heath was humerous with direct answers without keeping me on the phone any longer than I desired. Most of our association was on line or over the phone. When a arrived at the dealership to purchace my chosen car, Elizabeth and Heath worked together as a team, finding all the information I needed with a can do attitude. The process took longer than I had anticipated, but the wait was comfortable with light hearted, easy-going people around my children and me. The team was transparent and a breeze to do business with. The great experience continued with Mark in finance. Every step was easy and stress free. I felt like everyone took good care of me. Honesty is a core value to me. I don't expect to find it in a a car dealership, but I felt that I could truely trust the whole team.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Heath Ford, Elizabeth Czahr, Mark Hatefy
November 23, 2011

"I can't thank Jason enough for sticking with me and..."

- kdeist

I can't thank Jason enough for sticking with me and making this Internet purchase of the Kia Soul happen. Initially what Jason had to offer sounded too good to be true, plus San Jose was too far away (from the North Bay) to be practical for me to pursue the deal. If it wasn't for Jason's genuineness in convincing me that he really DID have the best offer around, I would have turned elsewhere. His friendly, no-pressure style, kept my attention and ultimately led me to San Jose to pick up the car of my dreams. He was so responsive and easy to work with. Also Ted took good care of us in financing, and we had a very positive experience at Capitol Kia of San Jose.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Jason and Ted
November 22, 2011

"A very friendly helpful staff no complaints my overall..."

- daleaver

A very friendly helpful staff no complaints my overall experience was good. The sales force was understanding and willing to go the extra mile to make me fill comfortable while choosing a new car. I would highly recommend this dealership.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Torres,Beaver
November 19, 2011

"I was trading in my 2008 BMW 328i because times were..."

- BrianAbrigana

I was trading in my 2008 BMW 328i because times were getting hard and the payment was getting hard to pay. I've had a rough life, and I've made some mistakes, so my credit was pretty bad. I had my heart set on a 2012 Optima EX with tech and premium package, but honestly, I didn't think I would be able to be approved with how bad my credit was! Thankfully, Frank in financing did his best to get a loan for me. I had applied at tons of other dealerships before hand and nobody else could do anything for me. Everyone said my credit was too low. Frank pulled through for me, and helped me get the loan for the car of my dreams! The actual person who helped me decide on a car was Susana. She was quite helpful, friendly, and she worked with Frank to get me my dream car! She never gave up on us, and she remained friendly and helpful at every step of the buying process! I really liked that she never made it feel like I was forced to buy something I didn't want to buy. Theodore was the person who helped us finish up all the paperwork at the end. He was friendly, he had a quirky sense of humor, and he explained everything truthfully and thoroughly. He didn't push us to purchase any services that we said we didn't want to buy. He was great! Come to Capitol Kia if you want a stress-free buying experience. I'm going to recommend this dealership to all my friends. If you're looking for a Kia and you leave this dealership off your list, you're only cheating yourself. And no, I wasn't paid by them, haha. Thanks to everyone at Capitol Kia - Brian, Niki, Priscilla, & Cindy!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Susana, Frank, Theodore
1
...
1 - 10 of 47 results