Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Back

Capitol Subaru

San Jose, CA

2.7
13 Reviews

920 Capitol Expressway Auto Mall

San Jose, CA

95136

Directions

13 Reviews of Capitol Subaru

Sort by
September 19, 2021

"Kai Senaro is very excellent sale man , Helpful, details,..."

- Tran_christine62

Kai Senaro is very excellent sale man , Helpful, details, I want to give him 10 on my review

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Kai Serrano
August 27, 2021

"Mary, Oscar and Christian are great help. Not yet..."

- Quyen

Mary, Oscar and Christian are great help. Not yet purchased but very pleasant experience.

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Mary, Oscar, and Christain.
May 19, 2021

"All car deal ships are the same! Just want to scam..."

- unhappy subaru owner

All car deal ships are the same! Just want to scam customers by playing games. Never able to give you a cash price for a car! Scam just like every other dealer out there then their Idiot of a finance person Edwin was wondering g why I only buy cars every 10 or 11 years.Praise God that the horrible experience is over with and I do not have to play thier supis games for the next 10-11 years!!!

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Henry and Edwin
November 15, 2020

"I can’t speak to those of you looking for a new or..."

- Corin

I can’t speak to those of you looking for a new or slightly used vehicle. But for those of you looking for a more inexpensive used option I would recommend going somewhere else. Our experience here was extremely mixed. Everyone we interacted with at Capitol Subaru was very friendly and eager to help. No complaints on that front. We did not have a bad car buying experience, however at the end of the day we were sold a lemon that we were unable to return and we are now stuck with a car that has a major oil problem that will cost over a third of the car’s value to repair. Although Capitol Subaru talks about 100% customer satisfaction 100% of the time, in my experience they did not deliver on this promise. My major complaints are: 1. Our sales person was very pushy and pressury at times. 2. When we tried to trade in our old vehicle Capitol Subaru gave us a quote that was half the KBB trade in price and ⅓ what we were able to sell it for in a private sale. They made up a lot of reasons for this that were simply false. 3. We were sold a warranty that was expensive and virtually useless. It did not end up covering the issues we were told it would cover. 4. Our sales person was either not transparent or not aware of the true condition of the vehicle we purchased as well as the limits of the warranty. 5. They employed very obvious sales techniques of “talking to their manager” or “seeing what they could do” to avoid being straightforward and direct with us. They would often over promise and under deliver and blame it on someone/something outside of their control. 6. When we had an issue the general manager avoided my calls and would not reply to my emails. Please learn from my mistakes! Here are my recommendations: 1. Don't get a Subaru between the years of 2011-15 as they have major oil consumption problems. 2. Use the three day window they give you to do a thorough check at a third party shop. Have them run an oil consumption test or a compression check as oil consumption is a major known Subaru problem. 3. Take your time and don’t get pressured by the sales staff 4. Read the warranty carefully. You can often refund the warranty within 60 days so that’s cool but read the fine print and know that they are going to try very hard to weasel out of paying for things. In summary: The staff are very friendly and sometimes helpful. There is an appearance here of 100% customer satisfaction but this felt hollow because we were given a lot of promises and kind words but a terrible product at the end of the day. So if you’re looking for a lower priced Subaru that is over 60k mi. (aka no longer under the Subaru coverage) I would recommend going somewhere else. This is not the place to buy a well used car in my experience.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Vahid, Fernando
November 26, 2019

"My husband and I purchased a 2020 outback limited from..."

- Kristi.estrada9

My husband and I purchased a 2020 outback limited from Capitol Subaru on 10/30. We planned to finance through the dealership, however, after we left the dealership we went to our credit union to see if they could beat the rate. Our credit union was able to beat the dealership rate by .25%. We immediately called Eduardo in finance and asked him to hold off and that the credit union would Fedex the loan balance by the 4th, he agreed. Eduardo said nothing about having already processed a loan or where he did. To our undersranding we had a loan with the credit union, who was sending a check for the balance of the loan to Capitol Subaru. Today I logged into my Chase account and found a Subaru account and all of the numbers matched the contract we went over with Eduardo at Capitiol Subaru, the contract that we told him to hold off on because we were going with the credit union. We have a confirmation receipt from Fedex that the payoff balance was delivered on the November 4th at 9:10am and was signed for by M. Munoz. I called Capitol Subaru today after seeing this new account on my Chase account, I was not able to speak to Eduardo and was actually put on hold and hung up on after asking for anyone else in finance. I called back and asked to speak to a supervisor or any finance employee. I do not remember the name of whom I spoke to, but the answer I received was completely unsatisfactory. The employee told me that the Fedexed checks remain in a pile until being sent to where they need to go and that this takes time so I should wait 5 more days. This is despite the fact that it has already been 10 days since receiving that payoff check. Furthermore, he could not confirm that the check had even been sent to payoff the unauthorized loan because whoever was able to check was gone for the day. He told me Eduardo would send an email and then get in contact with us. I have no idea what ANY of this means. He did not confirm or fix anything for us. From my understanding I now have 2 open loans on one car, this is 100% unacceptable. Capitol Subaru should never have finalized that loan with, come to find out Chase, and even if they did make a mistake and do so it should have been paid off with the check from the credit union right away and my husband and I should have been notified. If I did not already have a Chase account I would not have known this occurred, thank god I caught the mistake. I will never recommend this dealership this experience has been too horrifying. Getting into minus stars here... My husband and I went in the day after leaving the first review, friday, and saw eduardo in person. He said he noticed the loan had gone through himself that morning.... okay... and he had already called the bank to cancel the loan, but he could not give us any written proof of cancellation yet. He claims he set our loan documents aside when we called from the credit union and then left for a few days off. Apparently, some one else saw the loan and sent it in. So our important personal information was left "out" and some other employee came in and opened a loan without asking any questions? On Monday I received a paper statement of the loan from chase, so I called just to confirm the process of cancellation had been started. A chase representative informed me that no efforts had been made to stop this loan, it appears to be simply, an open loan. My husband called chase again on Tuesday. Turns out the dealership sent the paperwork in THAT MORNING for cancellation. So we are being lied too... I am just absolutely disgusted.... so far Capitol Subaru has: Opened and unauthorized loan Taken zero responsibility for their mistake, 100% unapologetic Mishandled personal information Lied to us Refused to provide us with documentation of any cancellation for the unauthorized loan Stay FAR away from this dealership.

Read More
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Eduardo
July 08, 2019

"Worst experience ever"

- Yt89

We had a horrible experience here. We were made false promises for a deal that would be 30k and zero down. Despite several exchanged texts and calls to comfirm the pricing to avoid wasting our time driving 3 hours here, we were told that it was a "typo" upon closing the deal. Not during the 2 hours we were there, but at closing! I do not agree it was a typo. There were numerous chances to correct that "typo", hence we had multiple texts AND calls regarding the 30k. All of which the salesman confirmed the price. He could have been cleared with us when we arrived to avoid wasting more of our time rather than waiting until he handed the keys to us, before pretty much saying, "btw...its not 30k and you need money down". This was definitely a LIE, a bait to mislead a customer into driving 3 hours just to make a sale. The salesman also never asked if our trade-in had any negative equity, then blamed us for not mentioning it to him! And worst, amongts the numerous times that he left his desk to speak with the sales manager, he never once mentioned his LIE or "typo". The sales manager was unaware of the reason we drove 3 hours there until WE asked to speak with him, explaining why we were not accepting this completely new offer we were given. The sales manager, which was an xxx hole himself, never once apologized for wasting our time. He did not try of offer or help us with our purchase and simply said with a straight face, the salesman is incorrect with the price and we either take the offer or leave. When we told him we could not take the offer, he gave no care and simply looked away and continued on with his papers. It was a total waste of our time. I can forget about the drive, but cannot forgive the dishonesty of the salesman and careless attitude of the sales manager. Please dont lie to your customers and be accountable for your mistakes!!!! DO NOT RECOMMEND THIS PLACE.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Jim Nguyen
October 06, 2018

"Hard to buy a car from this place! "

- mm080500!

This was a very disappointing dealership. THEY ARE L:IARS!!! My family have been Honda people and we heard wonderful things about the Subaru car. We went to check out and were dealt with by a very knowledgeable salesman, Jun, who really helped us get a feel for the automobile and answered all our questions very well. The car felt good and we decided to sleep on it and came back the next day. We test drove it again and checked out many things about it and felt we were ready to pitch an offer. It was never explained to us that this dealership can't haggle and they have their prices set. My husband did plenty of research to find comparable models that were cheaper, but with 10K-20K more miles. Upon our negotiations with the financial manager Maria, we mentioned we were pre-approved with our credit union and stated we had our auto convenience check. We even mentioned the name of our credit union, in which she stated that "we deal with them all the time". Maria went through what appeared to be negotiations as we talked over price. She kept going to ask her manager and coming back, would talk with us some more about a lower price and go back. Finally the head sales manager came over and told us flat out that they are DGDG and they don't haggle and he wouldn't even drop the price $10 if we asked him. We accepted our defeat and went home. We were contacted by Jun again checking up and realized that they had dropped the price after the end of the 3rd quarter. We went back in with a cash down payment and our check once again, filled out information and were ready to purchase. They asked my husband to initial next to paperwork that stated the price of the car + fees. I asked for a breakdown of what the fees were before he initialed. I was told that we would be paying a license fee of 1.25%, taxes and a few other things. We were then asked to provide SSN#s, in which I declined, stating we were pre-approved with our own financing and that they had our licenses and insurance info. The financial manage came out and laid down a "Credit Application", stating they needed our SSN# to verify who we were. My husband asked if we both needed to, and he said "Yes". When I asked why, since we had our auto convenience check and cash down deposit, he stated that I needed a cashier's check with the amount pre-filled in. They hadn't even given us the full amount of what we would be paying, we had all documentation, and I even offered to call my bank and they still wanted our SSN#s. On top of that the new financial guy stated that he didn't know our credit union, after Maria had told us they did business with them all the time. To add to this, they apparently had another upset customer who was cursing up a storm by "being messed with". This was our second time in there, ready to pay at full price, with a bank issued auto convenience check and sizable cash down payment and they still continued to insist upon our SSN#. I know they have a right to ask, but it seemed very shady, the whole deal. My husband and I decided to walk away as screw me once, shame on you, screw me twice, shame on me. I did not want to deal further with the company. It was a great car and I feel sorry for Jun, as he is a wonderful salesman, who is just working at the wrong place.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Jun, Maria, Jesus
July 09, 2018

"Arranged to go look at a used car"

- sugrajo

I had been emailing with salesman Andrew for a couple of days, and we had discussed my coming down to Salem from Portland on Sunday to look at and hopefully purchase a particular used car. I specifically asked about the logistics of coming on Sunday: could I get financing from On Point Credit Union on a Sunday? Insurance coverage from Geico? Yes, yes, yes! Andrew made it very clear that Sunday was an awesome choice. I called the dealership Saturday night to make sure that this was the plan, and was told that Andrew was busy, but they would make sure to get my message to him: I would be arriving in Salem at 2:30 on Sunday. I arrived at 2:30 on Sunday, to be told that Andrew doesn't work on Sundays. Ok, so they gave me to an intern named Ricardo instead. The price of the car was now suddenly $1000 more than it had been online, which was weird. Ricardo took me for a test drive and he was a nice guy, but to to every one of my questions, his answer was, "I'm not 100% sure about that...." I get it, he is an intern and didn't know the answers, but it was frustrating to spend 1.5 hours with a person who couldn't answer a single one of my questions. When we got back to the dealership they told me I'd be working with Jusitin, the sales person. While I waited for him, I went on the Capital Subaru website to get the "internet price" of this car, which was going to presumably have been less than the published $18,000. Justin showed up with an invoice stating that in order to buy this car, I would need to pay almost $20,000. Part of that was DMV fees, but not all. I explained that I needed to negotiate from the posted $18,000 price rather than the new price of $19,000. There was no talk at all about the "internet price", which should have been less than $18,000. I proposed a price of $16,500, based on regular dealership mark up, and the fact that the car had been on their lot for 80 days without a price drop. I fully expected to negotiate from this, moving up/down as needed in order to come up with an agreement. Justin came back a few minutes later and told me that based on the fact that this car had been on the lot fo 80 days, it had already dropped in price as much as it was going to. That was incorrect--my resources showed that it hadn't dropped at all in price in 80 days. I showed them other cars I was also looking at that were not only cheaper but were certified used cars, to no avail. Justin then said that the only thing he could do was to give me $100 to help with the DMV fees. No counter-offer, no attempt to meet me halfway at all. Come on, guys, this is a negotiation!!! They took my $1500 price deduction offer, countered it with a $100 deduction not in price but for the DMV fees, and wouldn't budge a dollar more than that. So, I walked. Too bad---I liked that car, and was willing to play ball. Capital Subaru was not willing.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Justin, Ricardo
Jul 09, 2018 -

Capitol Subaru responded

HI. Did you visit our Capitol Subaru store in San Jose, California?

July 01, 2017

"Refuse to sell when not buying additional services"

- fc7737

Agreed on the price to purchase a 2017 Forester. When we declined to purchase additional warranty and service at finance, they refused to sell it to us with the agreed price and claiming it's too cheap. What a waste of time.

Read More
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Oseas Lopez, Sammy Siyoum
Jul 03, 2017 -

Capitol Subaru responded

We are sorry to see that you didn't have a great experience with us. Can you please send your contact info to socialmedia@dgdg.com so that our GM can reach out to you directly? Thank you!

October 26, 2016

"They Upsold me on Services That They Cannot Fulfill"

- Newsreporter2016

Capital Subaru upsold me on services they cannot do and knowing unable to work on non subaru's and sold me a car with a problem. Subaru service mgr knowing that they can only fix subaru's and non subaru vehicle's cannot be serviced on. Any electrical testing must be done off site. Capital Subaru will rip you off with service packages that they cannot fulfill. There way is to buy the vehicle back to cover up the issue.

Read More
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Service Manager
1
1 - 10 of 13 results