Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Back

CarMax White Marsh

White Marsh, MD

not yet
rated
14 Reviews

10201 Philadelphia Road

White Marsh, MD

21162

Directions

14 Reviews of CarMax White Marsh

Sort by
August 27, 2021

"Both of the cars I returned should not have passed..."

- Pigdrt

Both of the cars I returned should not have passed Maryland state inspection. RUDE no one answers the phone good luck getting service. well what else can I say except this was my worst retail experience ever and they left me with a mess with the MVA

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
don't remember
April 01, 2021

"Lied to me about how many accidents the suv had sold me a..."

- Brandy.quade

Lied to me about how many accidents the suv had sold me a suv that was salvaged air bags deployed Flipped the title. They didn't use carfax they used experience which doesn't tell everything. I would have never bought this vehicle let alone one from this company. They don't care about the safety of their customers let alone telling the truth about the history of the vehicles.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Pat
January 18, 2021

"After 4 cars , paid off 2 early they give me a 24. APR...."

- Simmonsdenise13

After 4 cars , paid off 2 early they give me a 24. APR. charger2.9 APR. Paid off early dart 9.75. Not happy at

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Jeff
December 05, 2019

"Worst buying experience ever. Purchase a car from Carmax..."

- Michael_sutton

Worst buying experience ever. Purchase a car from Carmax on 11/20. Returned the car back to them on 11/21 at their request because the center console was frozen( couldn’t control the major function of the car) and electronic glove box kept open. Call for a status update on my car 11/23 was made aware the car was never looked and service is not open on the weekend. Therefore the car can’t be looked at until Monday. Keep in mind no loaner car was offered. Call Monday to follow on my vehicle was left on hold for 45 minutes once they recognized it was me. Called Customer Relations because service was ignoring my call. They promise to reach out to service and call me back, they never called back. Tuesday after being left on hold for 30 minutes, the service tech said the vehicle was ready. I had to pay an Uber to go pick up the car. ( I live 15 miles from store)Once I got there service manager Rob came out and apologized, said my car not ready they had to jump the car and they hear a grinding noise believe it’s the brakes......(so much for there 125 point inspection and Maryland state inspection they completed.) Manager said there going to look at it and give me a call within the hour. Finally offered a loaner, never call me back about my car. Wednesday I called to follow on my car was left on hold again saying the manager would call me when he finished dealing with a customer. Never received a call from the Manager. Call customer relations again, they said we going to call the shop and call you back with an update. Once again they never called back. It was the day before the holiday I called an hour before the service center close and they finally said you car is ready. I picked the car up Wednesday night drove it home and parked it for the night. The next day was thanksgiving morning, the battery was dead, I had to call roadside assistance to get a jump then drove the car to my family house for thanksgiving dinner. While eating thanksgiving dinner my family told me you car hazards lights are on and flashing. I Cut the hazard lights off. Hour later family neighbor knocked on the door saying my hazards lights were on again. This problem continued throughout the weekend. I call the guy Daniel that sold me the car he sent my call to voicemail, I followed up with a text. Daniel never responded. I left a message for the service Manager Rob, he never returned my call. I spend the weekend periodically cutting off the car hazard lights so the battery would not drain. Monday I decided that Carmax is not going to return my call so I’ll make an appointment with service department and just deal with the problem until they can see the car. The Service Department told me the earliest appointment they had was for 12/13. (Keep in mind it’s the 12/1 now.) I accepted the appointment. Monday evening service Manager Rob calls saying he recognized my name on the appointment sheet and requested I bring the car in Tuesday morning at 8. Tuesday morning I drop the car off, Rob said I’m sending the car to the dealer today I will call you later today with an update. Rob never called. Wednesday morning I received call from Service saying “transportation just drop the car off to the dealer today. “ call you with an update this afternoon. No one called back. Thursday afternoon, I called service for an update and spoke with someone name Heather. She went on the say “we just dropped off the car to dealer today.” I’ll call u with an update later. I made Heather aware that service called yesterday and said my car was drop off yesterday. Why is she saying something different.She couldn’t answer me. She was kind enough to tell me what dealer my car was at. Once I ended the phone call with Heather I called the dealer and was made aware that Carmax never drop off a car and they was not expecting a car from CarMax. I called customer relations and spoke with a rep and she apologized like they always do and committed to call me back after they speak with Management. They never returned my car. This is my fourth car purchase from Carmax and my last. What bothers me more then them selling my a faulty car is there poor customer service and lies.

Read More
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Daniel/Rob
October 19, 2017

"‘Inspected’ Car Disaster- Buyer Beware "

- Diva26

Entire transaction has been a disaster. The truck was not thoroughly inspected according to their famous Carmax protocol. There was scratches on the vehicle, rims scratched, 2 number 2 keys given, bumper not aligned correctly, faulty battery etc etc. Was given a loaner car that had a horrid odor. Have been without my vehicle for over a week and have yet to make the first payment. Was even told that my appointment time was different from what was agreed upon. Would not recommend their famous Carmax inspected vehicles! Buyer Beware!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Scott
March 04, 2015

"very pushy and a huge rip off"

- ticked

They offered me $2000 under Kelly Blue Book (the lowest estimate) for my trade which had been appraised elsewhere for over KBB. And were incredibly pushy about the whole process not allowing me any time to consider the offer, They kept telling me that if I didn't make an immediate decision I would lose the vehicle that I was interested in. Over all it was one of the worst experiences that I have EVER had at a dealership. Takes the "used car salesman" stereotype to a whole new level.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
multiple
March 13, 2014

"I can honestly say that my experience with buy my car..."

- Lointel

I can honestly say that my experience with buy my car from Carmax was stress free. I called in to speak to someone about getting financed for a vehicle and it took less then 30 minutes to get approved. The Sales guy called me back and gave me the entire breakdown as to how much i was financed for what my car payment would be and the interest rate without me walking into the dealership wasting my time. I located the car I wanted which was in another state I paid for the car to be shipped to Maryland without having to walk into the dealership. Carmax sent me weekly updates via email letting me know the status of my transfer and when it will arrive for me to test drive. With me going thru the entire process I only went into the dealership twice once to test drive the car and second to drive off the lot with the car. Adam and he other co workers worked together to make sure I had the best experience in buying my car and I thank him and the entire carmax family for making this the best experience possible.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Adam
April 03, 2013

"To be absolutely honest, my wife and I only went to..."

- samjetta

To be absolutely honest, my wife and I only went to Carmax to test drive a bunch of used cars with the intention of buying the one we liked somewhere else for cheaper. We did find cheaper cars but returned to Carmax for our purchase and would do so again without hesitation. The biggest reason is this: While their used pricing is on the upper end of the used market value spectrum, their cars are as close to perfect as they get. And you have 30 days to make a list of everything that's not perfect and have it fixed. Here is a small example but representative of the whole experience: after deciding at Carmax we wanted the Nissan Pathfinder, we went to 4 Nissan dealerships to look at 'Certified Pre-owned' Pathfinders and found that, while a little cheaper, most were missing floor mats, manuals, DVD remotes and cup holders -- all items which those dealerships offered to sell us but not include. Not a single car we test drove at Carmax was missing any of those things. In fact, when purchasing a car, they give you a notice advising you that they guarantee a car manual and will purchase or reimburse one if your car does not include one. 3 days after our 30-day Carmax warranty expired, the car began making a squeaking sound. I called, ready for a fight. The service advisor's exact words were, "Do you really think we would turn you away 3 days after your warranty expired?" He laughed, told us to bring it in and they fixed it for free, along with 2 other preemptive things they noticed (rear hatch shocks and a tire pressure sensor). All under warranty. I do highly recommend you get financing somewhere else because their percentage rates are insanely high (our sales person even warned us of that, which is another thing I love). The Carmax way is "this is the price, take it or leave it," which takes some getting used to, but you are in great hands.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
About 6 months ago, can't remember
September 07, 2012

"I don't even know where to begin with reviewing my wife..."

- CPinkham

I don't even know where to begin with reviewing my wife and my experience with this Carmax.... For the first week after buying our truck here we were recommending them to everyone, but then the headaches started. They did our financing paperwork wrong and had to refinance a week after picking the car up raising the monthly payments and that's just where it begins. The effort to get the car registered and titled took two and a half months because of errors on their part.... They would send us the wrong paperwork, send us the right paperwork signed in the wrong places, send us the right paperwork not signed, had to retitle the truck in their name to get some of it figured out, and then still sent us messed up paperwork again. To make things worse for that 2 and a half months I had to stay on them with two or three phone calls a week and would get told yes we sent that paperwork to you overnight, only to find out that it hadn't been sent. I finally got to the point where I had to ask for tracking numbers because I was getting mislead, or lied to depending on how you want to look at it, too much. When I called and asked to speak to managers I was rerouted through the office phone lines to different offices and people trying to "help" me without letting me talk to the managers on duty and when I was lucky enough to get someone I was all but once brushed off and treated like I wasn't important. The only thing that seemed to motivate them was the fact that I constantly threatened to bring the truck back if they didn't straighten things out. To make matters worse since my wife is in the Army the truck was being titled in another state, and their delays and mishandling of everything resulted in us having to drive for a weekend to show the truck to the tax office in that state because they wanted to check for fraud since Carmax had sent them paperwork with conflicting info, and we had to pay a late fee to register the truck, and needless to say a weekend with missed work on my wife's part plus gas and expenses for the trip weren't cheap. We thought the cooperate commercials gave a great new face to the company, it's just too bad that they don't show that face to the customer when you walk through the doors!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
dealt with too many to list them all.......
July 01, 2011

"Purchased a Ford Explorer in January 2010 (car is a 2006..."

- dmpoust

Purchased a Ford Explorer in January 2010 (car is a 2006 model). Salesman was extremely easy to work with, and since the family was together, allowed lots of questions, and everyone was able to drive the car to their satisfaction. Financing, review of the Auto Chex report, and overall sales experience was excellent. We did make note that the one electric power folding rear seat did not work, and it was corrected a couple of days later, at no charge of course. While CarMax is somewhat higher in price than other dealers, the car I purchased was very well taken care of, and really no surprises after 1 1/2 years of ownership. I would definitely purchase again from CarMax. The experience was stress free!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Jason Hash
1
1 - 10 of 14 results