Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Back

Charlotte Volvo

Charlotte, NC

4.7
165 Lifetime Reviews Review Dealership

7040 E Independence Expy

Charlotte, NC

28227

Directions

Is this your dealership?

165 Reviews of Charlotte Volvo

Sort by Write a review
May 13, 2021

"Sam at Volvo Charlotte was great! Extremely..."

- Rob R

Sam at Volvo Charlotte was great! Extremely knowledgeable, very efficient and smooth transaction - easiest new car buying process I’ve encountered in over 20 years. - Rob R

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Sam Rothberg
May 07, 2021

"In our family purchasing a new vehicle doesn’t happen..."

- yantisfamily

In our family purchasing a new vehicle doesn’t happen very often so it is a big event for us. And rarely ever is the vehicle new…it is almost always a used car, truck, minivan, tractor—the point is I don’t like to pay depreciation. So when I’m in the market I’m always researching options, reading up on brands and models, trying to find honest reviewers and reviews, and trying to determine what I’m looking for and the price I’m willing to pay. What am I looking for: good value, reliability, safety, and something fun and engaging to drive. Circumstances have changed since the kids are now adults and off the farm. I can focus on what my wife and I want for a change rather than what we need. All this is to say that we decided on a used Volvo V90 Cross Country. I definitely wanted all wheel drive, a lower profile than an SUV, some off-road capability, and fun…and my wife wanted blue. My mind wasn’t made up until I saw the vehicle for sale on Volvo of Charlotte’s website. It was exactly what my wife and I were looking for…now to deal. You never know how negotiations will go—everything is personality dependent. What will the folks at the dealership be like? Are they interested in me as a customer? Will they negotiate in good faith? Can I trust them to do what they say? In my case, the answer to all of the above was yes when dealing with Volvo of Charlotte. My initial contact was an email exchange with their internet sales manager Christine McCadden. We quickly negotiated an agreed price for the vehicle and she then put me in the very capable hands of sales consultant John Vena. I can say I struck gold…John was amazing as he worked hard to take care of me as his customer. I wanted a couple of modifications to the car and he made it happen while keeping me appraised of progress, sometimes twice a day. Other times he would send me pictures of “my” car sitting outside on the lot and later inside the showroom as they got it ready for me. Transportation was part of the negotiated price and he made sure they contracted with a reliable transporter to bring the car from their Charlotte, North Carolina dealership to my home in south Louisiana. And we love it…I’m retired military and was stationed overseas for more than half my career…at one time spending 6 years in Germany. I owned a used BMW 5-series sedan and drove it, and Audis and Mercs on the famous autobahns—I can honestly say that this Volvo is as good as, if not better, than them all. We are very happy customers and John Vena of Volvo of Charlotte is why. You couldn’t ask for a better person to deal with when purchasing a new or used car. If you are interested in Volvos then look him up—he will definitely take care of you.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
John Vena, Christine McCadden
March 31, 2021

"I purchased a S80 Volvo for my wife from Volvo of..."

- Realtor Steve Hooper

I purchased a S80 Volvo for my wife from Volvo of Charlotte. I did a lot of research to find a car I thought would be perfect for her. I called and spoke with Gary Shaw about the car we were interested and put a deposit down to hold the car till we could get there. We drove the 3 hours from Raleigh and met with Gary Shaw and purchased the car and started our trek back home. About 2 hours into our return trip the possible nightmare scenario happened...all of a sudden warning lights were going off, several including charging failure, service urgent! This could have been another warning story about the dangers of buying a used car . We had paid cash for the car and driven it off the lot. It was ours and Charlotte of Volvo didn't have a legal responsibility to stand behind their car. However, this is where real customer service , integrity and character comes into play. It is easy to get great reviews when everything goes well...but much harder when tested with issues that can happen with any transaction. I called Gary and told him the issues with the car and asked if they would stand behind their product. They did the right thing and treated the issue very fairly with us. They didn't have to... They earned our respect and I highly recommend them.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Gary Shaw
March 08, 2021

"We had a good experience at Volvo of Charlotte. Working..."

- Jason B.

We had a good experience at Volvo of Charlotte. Working with Frederick made the whole car shopping experience easy. He was very knowledgeable and listened to what my needs were. Frederick took the time to answer all the questions we had and he made sure I was comfortable before leaving the dealership. I would highly recommend his service to anyone.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Frederick Gates
March 07, 2021

"I brought my Volvo to Volvo of Charlotte. It spent 84..."

- Maxwell802

I brought my Volvo to Volvo of Charlotte. It spent 84 days total in their shop for a vibration issue. After all of that time, they sent me my car back saying the vibration was "commercially acceptable" and they couldn't figure it out. So now, I grab my coffee in the morning and pour in my cream and sugar, place it in my cup holder and the Volvo shakes/stirs it for me. Thanks Volvo, what a cool feature. Commercially acceptable feature, that is.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Eugenia
January 30, 2021

"I worked with Jeremy and got a new XC40. He came and..."

- Vette

I worked with Jeremy and got a new XC40. He came and picked me up for my delivery. It was an excellent experience. He even let me check the car fit in my garage before purchasing

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Jeremy Mieczkowski
January 28, 2021

"Frederick Gates was great to work with. Professional and..."

- George

Frederick Gates was great to work with. Professional and responsive at every step in the process, and very knowledgable of the vehicles. He even went out of his way to bring a car to our home when getting to the dealership was not a possibility.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Frederick Gates
January 09, 2021

"I had a most pleasing experience when purchasing my 2017..."

- jimsu234

I had a most pleasing experience when purchasing my 2017 Volvo from John Vena. He familiarized me with the car's electronics, he arranged for my rental to be picked up at the dealership and he arranged a temporary tag so I could drive home. John even called later to see I had gotten home safely. What more could you ask for!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
John Vena
January 03, 2021

"We had a most pleasant experience yesterday first Jimmy &..."

- asrush1961

We had a most pleasant experience yesterday first Jimmy & then Gary. What a wonderful group! We found the car online. Drove from South Carolina. This had to be the least stressful most pleasing car buying experience I personally have ever had. I appreciate the honesty and sincerity and transparency of the dealership and its employees. The best car buying experience I have had. Thanks again to GARY and Jimmy!!! Sincerely, Anna S. Rush PS. LOVE my XC60!!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Gary, Jimmy
December 30, 2020

"If you are in the market for a new Volvo, there are..."

- jdw

If you are in the market for a new Volvo, there are plenty of other dealerships within the Carolinas that are worth the drive. My initial visit here lasted 10 minutes and was horrible from the start. We were not helped for the first 5 minutes and once we were, the sales person suggested three times that we should leave and go buy a mini van instead. My husband and I both left with the impression that he felt we could not afford the vehicle (we can). I was upset when leaving, almost to the point of tears, so I called the store. I spoke with the assistant GM who was livid and apologized. We took a day off work with a 5 month old to go look at cars... that is not a FUN thing to do... so you should know we were serious buyers! The next closest dealership to us is about 40 minutes away so we knew we'd either need to go back to Volvo of Charlotte or drive a little bit. A few weeks later, we decided to give Volvo of Charlotte another chance. We knew we wanted a new Volvo XC90 and didn't want to drive the distance to a different dealership. We worked with a different sales person who was extremely knowledgeable and friendly. Unfortunately, they did not have anything on the lot that met our requirements but we shared those requirements with the sales person, with hopes they'd receive new inventory soon. We went home and did our own research, finding the perfect car at another dealership less than 100 miles away. We shared this car/dealership with Volvo of Charlotte who, after several email exchanges over the course of a week, agreed to have the car brought down for us to look at and hopefully buy. We secured a babysitter and grabbed the checkbook to head back to Volvo of Charlotte on the agreed upon date. Well, that morning, we received an email stating they did not get the car from the other dealership and that it would be a few more days before they could. Well we already had the babysitter so we called the other dealership. They had the car and we agreed on a purchase price over the phone within a few minutes (including trade-in). We decided to drive the 90 miles and boy, was it worth it! The car was ready when we arrived and the transaction was easy. They shared with us that this car was headed to another dealer in another state... NOT Volvo of Charlotte. It became very clear that Volvo of Charlotte had not in any way had contact with this other dealership and had no intention of getting the car on the date we agreed on. Normally I would feel that us driving to the other dealer was not fair to Volvo of Charlotte... but given everything we went through, they did not hold up their end of the deal and didn't deserve to sell a car to me. We also did not speak to the other dealership until the day we purchased the car, allowing Volvo of Charlotte a fair chance to secure the transaction. To add a cherry on top... the following week, we received an email from Volvo of Charlotte stating that they (finally) reached out to the other dealership who no longer had the car... and inquired with us saying, "any idea??". A passive-aggressive note because they knew we purchased it. All this to say, drive the extra distance and do not go to Volvo of Charlotte. There were MULTIPLE mistakes made with MULTIPLE people at Volvo of Charlotte, so much so, that it cannot be a 'fluke' or an 'off-day'.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Sam, Alton, Greg
1
...
1 - 10 of 165 results