Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Back

Chris Polson Automotive

Columbia, SC

1.9
25 Lifetime Reviews Review Dealership

1618 Lake Murray Boulevard

Columbia, SC

29212

Directions

25 Reviews of Chris Polson Automotive

Sort by Write a review
December 04, 2020

"BUYERS BEWARE. They talk the talk, BUT Mr. Poulson will..."

- vietnamvet65

BUYERS BEWARE. They talk the talk, BUT Mr. Poulson will NOT honor his written testimony of "for Quality vehicles, Guaranteed"! I am a 75 year old, Vietnam Combat Veteran, disabled. So this was not my first rodeo, so to speak! I responded to their inter ad, for a 2008 Toyota FJ Cruiser. I explained that I would fly in , over 500 miles, and drive home. Their sales man Mr. Storey assured me that this was the "finest, no excuses" FJ, because Mr. Poulson knew Toyota's better than anyone. Trusting his testimony, 0n April 4, 2020. I purchased the "perfect FJ", which had a broken windshield, and drove it home. The contract included a "we owe form" for the window, promised to be replaced as soon as I got home. On April 8, 2020, every engine warning light came on. I called Poulson's finance manager, Andrew Simpson, who assured me that they would handle it!? I took the FJ to a local, reputable NAPA certified shop, who diagnosed the engine with major issues. Oil sludge from degraded oil had severely damaged the timing chain and ruined the engine. Mr. Simpson requested internal pictures of the engine and the diagnoses. Which was provided. After 60 days of promises to take care of it, and the windshield. I filed a complaint with the State of South Carolina, Department of Motor Vehicles Dealer License and Audit Unit. They sent an Agent Inspector to investigate my claim. The Agent sighted them for untimely submission of title and suggested they honor their contract and replace my window. Had they not intervened, I probably would not have gotten the windshield, let alone a new engine! This process wasted more time. I went ahead and purchased a 50,000 mile Toyota crate engine from Japan. Total cost to install approx. $7,000.00 dollars. After Mr. Simpson quit taking my calls, I started writing certified letters to Mr. Chris Polson, which were never answered. Then I contacted Mr. Poulson's BONDING Co. whose address is available on the public internet. Next, I filed a complaint with IRMO Magistrate Court. and was granted a Court in January 2021. Also, after the fact, I researched the internet and found numerous review complaints against this company. I understand completely that the truck was purchased "as is", however I believe that Mr. Poulson, being an expert in Toyota's, should have known that it had an issue. And again in Mr. Poulson's own words, "rest assured you can be confident about the Quality of our vehicles"! Not, the end!!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Andrew Simpson, Jamie Storey
September 08, 2020

"The vehicle I purchased from Chis Polson Automotive..."

- m.s

The vehicle I purchased from Chis Polson Automotive was/is in excellent condition. There were minor cosmetic damages to the vehicle that were not conveyed in the photos - such as a cracked dashboard. However, upon my complaint - they provided a dash cover. Upon arriving home, my driver side door handle promptly popped off the door; and while the vehicle was advertised as having 5 DVD players, only 3 work. The vehicle was advertised as having never been smoked in. My sister and I both immediately detected cigarette smoke upon the salesman opening up the vehicle which he denied - and continued to deny, even after we drove it for an hour. It wasn't a "smoked in" vehicle, but someone had obviously smoked in it. The salesman and manager were both unprofessional and rude. The manager was yelling at employees, interrupting their conversations with customers, and very loudly conducting business so that it extremely disruptive and rude. I had to call their office SEVEN times to find out if they had sent my title to the DMV. No one would return my calls or check on the status of the title. While I am over all very pleased with my vehicle and glad I have it, I found the customer service horrendous and various items misrepresented and disguised or undisclosed. I will not be purchasing another vehicle from this dealership due to the management and employees and they way they conduct business.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Jayme Storey, Andrew
Oct 05, 2020 -

Chris Polson Automotive responded

I'm very sorry your experience was not as you expected but also, it's not the norm. We, occasionally, have customers, vendors and others smoke on test drives in vehicles when I politely ask them no to. I'm not sure what the case maybe with the vehicle you purchased but would be happy to check it myself and get it corrected, if the problem still exist. I'm happy to hear my staff took care of things that happened after the sale in a professional manner. We have a lot of vendors in and out, as we do more recon on our vehicle than any dealer. I understand things can get hectic sometimes when so many moving parts in play. I will put my inventory qualify up against anyone's. My name is on the sign because I don't hide behind some corporate or creative name. You know who to ask for if need be, I'm sorry to have to say Covid caused delays with our funding, receiving titles which prolongs DMV processing tags and title in the usual time frame. To make matters worse, we had Spectrum at the time and had no phone for an entire month and internet was spotty. I was informed by Spectrum they only had two business Techs in Columbia. Yes, only 2 in Columbia SC We now have ATT with Fiber Optic internet so please feel free to reach out if I can help in any way. I have to assume the vehicle was very close to OE standards, as I will not let them go live for sale otherwise. Hope you are still enjoying your vehicle and if for some reason your not, again, give me a call or stop by to see what is in stock and I'll be happy to put you in a different vehicle if you feel that is needed. Thank you for your business and I really hope to see you soon. God Bless and Make It A great Day! Chris Polson Chris Polson Automotive irmocars.com 803-407-7677

July 15, 2020

"Dishonest, Unprofessional. Save yourself money and..."

- KARLW

Dishonest, Unprofessional. Save yourself money and headaches by purchasing elsewhere. We bought a car in March 2020 and traded in a car that had a payoff that was $500.00 less. They were to mail us a check for the difference, but still have not sent the check despite numerous calls and promises that the check was sent. Calls are not returned. Sales staff that answer the phone unhelpful. Would never do business with them again and you shouldn't either.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Andrew
Oct 06, 2020 -

Chris Polson Automotive responded

I apologize you were caught in the perfect storm. COVID went into full force after your purchase and caused delays with titles, funding, DMV processing, phone outages for a month and the list goes on, as we all know now. We have switched to ATT&T and now have phone service. If for some reason you still haven't received the difference check of your payoff, please call and let me know. Some things in all the confusing of "we can do this we can't do that guidelines" caused some thing to be overlooked, especially with no phone service to receive your call or message.. I assure you we don't avoid calls and only want your experience to be the best it can when we deliver the best product on market. Thanks you for your business and please stop by or call and I'll be happy to assist with any matter you may have. Make it a great day! God Bless, Chris Polson.

January 19, 2020

"I've purchased several (5) autos from this dealership..."

- Beenhad

I've purchased several (5) autos from this dealership with out any problems, but the latest attempt to purchase another proved to be the worst, most demeaning , underhanded , experience I've ever had in my 78 years of automobile purchasing. I wouldn't send my worst enemy to this "car lot"I'm ashamed my grand daughter had the misfortune and experience to witness this disrespect for honesty.I feel the sales staff are the most dishonest people I've ever had the displeasure of doing business with. As can be noticed by looking at Mr J L Sheallys complaint stated above,also had the same trick pulled on him with the (warranty) program. "Potential buyers Be aware. It's a 2,490 dollar mistake if your not careful. Lawrence E Allard

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Andrew,Joe,Mike
Oct 06, 2020 -

Chris Polson Automotive responded

Mr Allard you know I don't run my business that way and the proof is in the fact you purchased 5 vehicles from me. I know some emotions are involved here because I know you and can sense it in your words. There are more facts to the story neither you nor myself received. I have known you a long time so I have researched this matter to see what happened. I was out with a 6 week neck surgery and recovery at time of purchase but have since looked at all paperwork and notes and don't see or hear in you abusive review what the issue is. Please let me know. Thanks, Chris Polson

November 09, 2019

"Great Service and Honest people"

- Renee

Joe was upfront with every vehicle we looked at. He was able to find what we were looking for. He even pointed out a few minor details on the vehicles, if any, and assured that they would be taken care of. The customer service was down to earth. Second vehicle purchased from Chris Polson and would recommend.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Joe, Andrew
Oct 06, 2020 -

Chris Polson Automotive responded

Thanks for you kind and honest review. It's hard with social media to make everyone happy as 98% are very satisfied. However, there is a small percentage I can't even satisfy with my 2nd to none hand picked inventory. Hard to get happy customers to leave a review. Impossible to prevent the 2% none can please from leaving bad ones. Sad part, a vast majority of the time it not the vehicle, personnel, service after the sale or anything we did wrong. It usually comes from assuming their credit is better than they expected, down payment or they simply cannot buy . We solve transportation needs so we want to help everyone we can. My reputation stands above all or any bad reviews so thanks again for the bright spot with your Positive review, Chris Polson Chris Polson Automotive irmocars.com

July 31, 2019

"Terrible customer service"

- jlshealy

This company is a joke. I purchased the extended warranty that they offered, then realized within a few days that it was not going to benefit me at all. I reached out to the warranty company a few days after purchasing my truck and informed them that I'd like to cancel the warranty, since they have a grace period for the cancellation, I was told I would be refunded completely. Unfortunately, I had to contact Chris Polson Automotive to start the cancellation process. I called them, told them what was going on, asked if I needed to sign anything,(they said no) was told I would be getting a return phone call...I didn't. So I called the following week...same story,same lies. I called again a couple weeks later..."oh the salesman for the warranty company is on vacation, I'll get back to you when he gets in town", what do you know...NOTHING AGAIN. Called back again.."I'll handle it today, call me back around 4pm", called back, no answer. This is so unprofessional, and disgusting. These people claim to be this amazing dealership, but you don't even have the basics for customer service covered. I have reached out to the warranty company again, and I'm hoping THEY can help me get this resolved. It's such a shame, because I really enjoy the vehicle I purchased, and you guys were easy to work with. I'm so irritated about this warranty BS and lack of communication/ basic customer service skills, that I'd never recommend this place to anyone. (Forgot to mention all of the unanswered emails that were sent to them as well!!)

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Andrew, Joe
May 16, 2019

"Will lie about car's condition & not stand behind the sale!"

- Crook Caller

Bought a vehicle that per Chris Polson himself said had never been in an accident & upon the first repair to have the radiator replaced (3 days later) found out it had been in a front end collision! Immediately after the purchase, called back concerning a brake light issue & was told I that instead of replacing bulbs myself, I should have driven back 35 miles to have 3 bulbs replaced & would not even offer to pay for the bulb! When the vehicle ran hot three days later, called concerning the deductible on the sorry warranty they also sold & they wouldn't even consider paying the deductible! Should have taken the piece of junk back, but thought it best to never deal with their sorry excuse for honesty & customer service again!!! In fact, I try to take alternate routes when in that area to keep from seeing them!!!!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Chris Polson
Oct 06, 2020 -

Chris Polson Automotive responded

I try to be nice but that is a lie! I brought you back in after you made us aware of the issue and put you in same vehicle with of a much higher trim level with sunroof and leather for no extra money to do the right thing. I can only assume you wrote this before you tried to handle this the way I did when made aware of the issue. Because a car has a busted or leaking radiator doesn't mean its been in an accident. I still took appropriate actions to keep you a happy customer. Please remember, when you say bad thing before you give someone a chance to help, to go back and make thing right with reviews. As for avoiding me we were at same desk? I'm confused and again can only assume you wrote this before i took care of you above and beyond when made aware.

Oct 06, 2020 -

Crook Caller responded

Went back with complaints, was told what was stated in the review by the supposed finance manager, never offered any type compensation or updated vehicle, Carfax did indeed show front end collision, paid warranty deductible myself & had the radiator replaced out of my own pocket. You & I never sat across from one another at any desk! The review was written after the stated events & the vehicle has since been long gone at a considerable financial loss but with a valuable lesson learned!

March 14, 2019

"Chris Polson Automotive Unreliable"

- Dee

Had appointment to buy a certain car. Texted back and forth with dealer and talked on phone with for them for 2 days concerning purchase. Dealer well aware we were coming to buy car in cash. Took 40 minutes to get there, only to have agent tell us car had been sold 45 minutes before.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Mike, Robert
Oct 06, 2020 -

Chris Polson Automotive responded

We would love to hold cars for everyone who says they are coming with cash but I would have been out of business along time ago as only about 25% show up and can buy. We have to sell a vehicle when a buyer is there ready to buy, It's that simple. If I didn't sell it to him then he would be upset. I have to take the customer who is front of me ready to do business, as you would too if in my position. Sorry it didn't work out but as they say. It must have not meant to be. Thanks for looking, however, and we will always try to make it up since you feel you were misled.

February 22, 2019

"Unethical place of business "

- Cargal

I wouldn’t even give Chris Polson one star. We bought not one SUV but TWO SUV’s from this unethical place off business. We drove from Charlotte to Columbia to purchase these SUV’s on 2 different occasions which is about 1 1/2 hours away. My husband did the paperwork and was told numerous times that their cars are in pristine condition and are well checked over before selling them. Far from the truth! The second day of driving one of the SUV’s all the dashboard lights came on along with the passengers window not working properly. This all happened while driving to pick up our Grandchild who lives approximately 45 minutes from us. We were scared to death to drive it back home with all these lights on. We immediately brought it to our mechanic in Charlotte as we did not trust driving it 1 1/2 hours back to Chris Polson. Our mechanic found numerous issues with the vehicle and was quite astonished it was sold in this condition. I tried calling the Manager but only the Sales person would return my calls as he kept telling me he would speak to the Manager. Finally after 3 days the Manager finally returned my call. I went over all the issues with him and was hoping he would come to some compromise with me. He absolutely refused to even meet me half way and then when I told him I was going to write a review he HUNG up on me...how unprofessional! I would recommend not doing business with this unethical place of business as it is apparent that all they want to do is move vehicles off their lot. I’m sorry this is so long but I wanted to get across to anyone thinking about purchasing a vehicle from them as to what to expect. By the way on that second day we had to pay over $500.00 to fix an evaporation issue, the passenger door had to be opened as there was a plastic piece broken causing the window not to work properly and all 5 tires plus the spare tire TMPS were broken. P.S-Today all dashboard lights went on in the other SUV...so here we go again.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Robert, C J James
Oct 06, 2020 -

Chris Polson Automotive responded

I will find my initial response to you absurd reviews you post and post it or anyone can go to a real review location GOOGLE and see my response. YOU never came and your husband took them to Jim Hudson Toyota to have his mechanic of choice check them out. Thumbs up other than TPMS sensors and it was explained to you husband by ME we don't replace TPMS sensors, Its a racket and we can tell if a tire is low. The reason all of your dash light came on. as it turns out , you didn't tighten the gas cap so evaporation emission light came on. Lesson AGAIN! When a Toyota check engine light comes on it will disable ABS and traction control until problem is corrected for your safety. It doesn't mean something is wrong with each light that is illuminated. Your husband was very happy, as he should have been, because he picked two of he nicest 4runners we had at the time. We never saw you ever! I only continue to respond to your continued barrage of reviews, when you were not even involved in the transactions! Your husband is who I feel for. It's like you didn't' vote but wanna complain about who was elected. Final response to this review as I have nothing left to say but you bought 2 4runners one of the best if not the best vehicles ever built and ya still ain't happy, Why I feel for your...Enough said. God Bless and only hope your bitterness will grow sweet in time. Chris Polson

July 26, 2018

"Awesome seevice"

- Rhett0225

Very friendly and helpful people. Couldn't be happier with the customer service. I pointed a few things out about the truck that was a little off and they fixed it right up before I bought it.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Don Cook, C J James
Oct 06, 2020 -

Chris Polson Automotive responded

I'm so happy we were able to help and thanks so much for you time and honesty leaving a competent review, as most customers won't take the time. Thanks again, Chris Polson

1
1 - 10 of 25 results