Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Back

City Toyota

Daly City, CA

1.5
22 Reviews

255 San Pedro Rd

Daly City, CA

94014

Directions

22 Reviews of City Toyota

Sort by
September 16, 2021

"This dealership’s rating is far below ZERO. I inquired..."

- Never Again

This dealership’s rating is far below ZERO. I inquired about buying a 2021 RAV4 through True Car. I was immediately emailed by WIL CHO, who told me they had the exact vehicle I was looking for allocated to the dealership and it would be delivered in several weeks. WIL said he would reserve it for me with no deposit required and because we were going through True Car there would not be any mark up on the price. In a time where vehicles, especially Toyota’s, are short in supply and in high demand this sounded great. Fast forward a little bit. I contacted WIL and asked him about pricing and told him that this was my daughters first “adult purchase” and he had the opportunity to be a hero, because we had gotten the run around at other dealerships. I won’t go into those details. Obviously WIL didn’t care about making the customer happy, because from that point on he turned into a different person. He talked down to me, condescending, HE MADE ME FEEL LIKE I WAS STUPID, he was borderline RUDE in the tone he spoke to me! He had no idea I had done my homework. A week or two later sent me an email and said the vehicle we had been waiting a month for was not going to be delivered anymore that I should go find the vehicle somewhere else. What he didn’t know was that I was at the dealership and saw the exact vehicle my daughter had been waiting for. I called and talked to another Toyota representative and told them we would be in to buy the vehicle that had been delivered. They had the exact vehicle my daughter was looking for and they refused to sell it to me at MSRP. They used me to get the vehicle allocated to their dealership and then turned around and told me it was no longer going to be delivered. Once they got it on the lot they told me I could not buy it for MSRP, like originally agreed upon because they would be able to sell it for $4000 more later that day. My daughter was crushed, after having a deposit on a vehicle in Southern California (LONGO TOYOTA) she had gotten her deposit back because Daly City was closer to our home. I would not recommend this dealership to anyone unless you want to be talked down to, treated like dirt and over pay. They have the worst customer service and I would never consider them again, even if they were the only dealership that had the vehicle I was looking for. We contacted LONGO TOYOTA and we are a week away from purchasing a vehicle from them with no mark up. They’ve been great and never mark ip any of their vehicles. Please don’t give them your money.

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
WIL CHO
Sep 29, 2021 -

City Toyota responded

Michelle, I was disappointed to read about your experience. While I believe this was a case of miscommunication, not malice, I regret that you felt treated in a negative manner. We try hard to be honest and transparent and your feedback will be used to help us improve. I apologize for the frustration you and your daughter experienced, we will do better. Thank you.

September 14, 2021

"Called and emailed about a price we found online and we..."

- Ann

Called and emailed about a price we found online and we drove so far to get the car once we arrived they said, oh yes, we have that one but we forgot to mention it has an upgraded security system in which costs more so we can't give you that price. That had no other cars at the lower price, pure bait and switch kept us there forever with a 2 year old a complete and utter nightmare. Drive a few miles and go somewhere else with higher ratings.

Read More
Quality of Work
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Cant remember
September 08, 2021

"They Discriminated us to my wife and my self to Don’t..."

- Highlander

They Discriminated us to my wife and my self to Don’t Services our cars Because we complaint about the Service they Did it, and I Brought my Highlander 2015 and the Service Advisor said to me “Find another Dealer to fixing your cars Because the Manager Doesn’t want to service tour car, you can not Bring all tours cars to City Toyota I called this a Discrimination about my self and My Wife The Two Managers at the Service Department explained the situation they closed the Doors on us Consumer Relation from Toyota Doesn’t Do nothing and explained everything to Him turn his Back too on Us Please Be carefully when you Bring your car to City Toyota because Doesn’t Do the job right and they lied all the time They are good to collect money but they Don’t fixing right Thank you

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Carolina Escorcia
August 11, 2021

"I took my car yesterday a routine check and for my trunk..."

- Disappointed Toyota customer

I took my car yesterday a routine check and for my trunk damage which resulted in back windshield broken. All the technicians can’t do anything until I pay $950 first for them to fix and according to them it wasn’t the trunk that made the windshield broke but it someone who tried to broke into the trunk. Someone else is stole the trunk stopper and they won’t fix until I pay first. They’re good in selling but not in fixing if the customers has a problem. I’m very disappointed for their service.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Service department
Aug 17, 2021 -

City Toyota responded

We are sorry that the service needs for your vehicle were not more clearly communicated. Unfortunately, we cannot guarantee aftermarket parts nor cover damage from an accident or incident, unless covered by insurance. We have compared your issue with an identical vehicle and cannot see it hitting the rear glass, and all the stoppers are in place. I regret that there was confusion and a lack of communication. I would be happy to answer any questions, please contact me at your convenience. Thank you, Arliegh

July 27, 2021

"Wow, reading those really unfavorable reviews, I had to..."

- sfcharlie

Wow, reading those really unfavorable reviews, I had to double-check that I had gone to the same dealership ... It’s harder than usual to have an excellent vehicle-buying experience in the chip-shortage companion to the COVID plague. And finding a Toyota 4Runner, always in greater demand than supply, is especially challenging. I’ve seen dealers in the Bay Area marking them up $10Km without a hint of guilt or shame. So, my recent experience with Miguel and his colleagues at City Toyota in Daly City was a more-than-pleasant surprise: friendly, upfront-clear about price (which ended being MSRP!), and everything on time. The purchase came at the end of several false-leads with dealerships appearing to offer 4Runners at MSRP, but then adding, when it seemed all the bases had been covered, “of course, there’s the dealer markup. Or, online advertisement for units making it seem they were in stock, while the majority of such 4Runners were eventually revealed to be “in transit” (usually disclosed, after asking for a deposit “to hold it for you,” which they actually never do—if someone gets there before you actually buy the vehicle on which you put down the deposit, they sell it). Miguel was the only one who made that clear upfront and so didn’t play the deposit-on-phantom-car game. Icing on the cake: the physical plant of the dealership looks like the Hollywood version of a contemporary luxurious airport terminal...spacious and architecturally compelling.

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Miguel
Aug 06, 2021 -

City Toyota responded

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your positive experience at City Toyota! We appreciate you writing such kind words and positive feedback for Miguel. Times are strange in the auto market, we are grateful for your patience and understanding as we try our best to find the cars people want at great prices. Communication is key and we are happy to know that Miguel excelled. Thank you!

May 14, 2021

"My husband and I purchased a new Rav4 from City Toyota on..."

- stbfitting

My husband and I purchased a new Rav4 from City Toyota on February 3rd, 2021. We have been customers of City Toyota for over 15 years, both purchasing and servicing two cars. Two days after the sale, we returned the car, because we found that City Toyota had included the costs of several 'extended warranties' which were never discussed and that we never agreed to. This is a deceptive practice also known as 'packing the contract' or 'packing the package'. City Toyota agreed to refund us $5,090, in view of the deceptive practices. We received $1,695 in our account on March 6th. We have received no other funds. We are still owed $3,395. We were told we would receive the funds by the end of March. We did not. We were told we would receive the funds by the end of April. We did not. It seems clear that the word of City Toyota cannot be trusted. We will be taking all future business to a different dealer.

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Wei Chiu
1.0
May 19, 2021 -

City Toyota responded

Stacey, We apologize for the delay in receiving your full refund. City Toyota has fully processed the cancellation and you should be refunded soon. This is a process in which we do not have direct control over. Unfortunately, the process takes time and is not done by a party that City Toyota can manage. I understand your frustration and I am sorry this was your experience after many successful years with us. Thank you, Chris Parras

Jul 06, 2021 -

stbfitting responded

We have now received the full refund promised. We were contacted personally by Chris Parras and assured that two of the employees involved were no longer employed by the dealership.

May 12, 2021

"Purchase of car was ok. The usually salesperson BS like..."

- M Collier

Purchase of car was ok. The usually salesperson BS like "let me go get my manager" and trying to get you to purchase a bunch of extras you don't need. The real problem here is the service center. It's just crooked. They try to evade honoring the warranties on the vehicle. I had to fight to get it covered and then I had to bring my car in 3 times (a total of 5 days!) To get the job done. I've heard them accusing customers of off roading or getting in an accident so they could get out of replacing warrantied parts. Watch out for this place. Also, the auto body department prices are absolutely outrageous. They quoted me $700 to replace one side mirror. Claiming it had to be painted. This was just a straight up lie. My regular mechanic did it for $300

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Service department
January 27, 2021

"This review will echo many other negative reviews about..."

- Mark R

This review will echo many other negative reviews about this dealership establishment. They will mislead, lie and bait you in to making the deal only to change the agreements at the last moment. The GM / Wei is the cancer of this poor business practice at this establishment. So don't think any other sales person there or other employee there will be any better because the leadership team there is totally flawed. If you are looking for an honest and fair car buying/selling/trading or service experience, please, please look else where. But if you are stuck going there, please be very careful and they will even not honor things that are in writing because the person at the top, GM/Wei will tell his employees its ok to cheat and lie to their customers as long as the numbers are in favor for the dealership. I would hate to see ANYONE go through the experience that I had with them of deceit.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Wei Chiu
1.0
Other Employees : Joey Davies, Ling Gou
December 31, 2020

"The worst Toyota dealership in the whole bay area. Avoid..."

- Rate your dealer

The worst Toyota dealership in the whole bay area. Avoid this dealership at all cost. They are bunch of liars and scammers. They practice price gouging on parts, service and even sales. They charge way more than any other dealership in bay area. I cant believe BBB has not shut them down yet for their abusive behavior towards public. When you take your car there for a simple service they try very hard to sell you unnecessary services by lying to you that the parts are worn off. If you dont know anything about cars you will easily fall for their scam. Dont even take your car to them for a simple oil change bc it will take them 4 hrs while they told you 1 hr. And when they bring your car to you, you will find nasty oily fingerprints all over your car. If you complain to a manager your complaint goes nowhere and they will tell you if you are unhappy you can go to another dealer. If you value your time, your car and your dignity avoid this dealership like a plaque.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Wei Chiu
1.0
Tracy Brotze
1.0
Cheryl Joyce
1.0
Other Employees : All service and parts managers and employees
August 29, 2020

"WATCH OUT FOR UNFAIR BUSINESS PRACTICE! READ THE REVIEWS..."

- T

WATCH OUT FOR UNFAIR BUSINESS PRACTICE! READ THE REVIEWS HERE AND DO SOME RESEARCH ONLINE, YOU WILL SEE HOW MANY PEOPLE GOT LIED TO. I was at this dealership a month ago to inquiry about a price on a Rav4. The salesman asked "Can you make me a deal on this car?" The salesman said "of course but first how are you planning to pay?" I told him I might do cash down payment then credit for the rest. He then asks me a lot of questions so I ask him, "You are not running a hard inquiry, right? I am in the process of closing a home and I just want the final price." He says "No, No." briefly. So, I thought maybe they have a customer database. He leaves again (4 times at that point) and comes back to ask for my ID. I told him "Are you sure you are not running a hard inquiry?" He tells me "No, it's for the files" or something to that effect. Then he comes back with a paper that had monthly payments. I ask him, how did he come up with this number without an inquiry. He said wait and leaves then calls a manager, Lewis, and when I ask the same question, he says "of course we have to run an hard inquiry. Then I start explaining the whole situation and ask to have it removed from my report. I contact Experian and they told me the dealership can just update as an error and it will be removed. Lewis tells me that he will work on it and get back to me. I trust them and I leave. A week, then 2 weeks, no calls. I keep calling and I am transferred to Lewis but rarely get hold of him. The 2 times I got hold of him, he tells me he is working on it and he'll get back to me. A week, then 2, then 3 weeks go by so I had enough I decide to drive there. I talked to the store manager who tells me that 1- No one is aware of the situation, at least none of the store managers, 2- they cannot and will not withdraw the inquiry. At NO POINT, he said he was sorry for the misunderstanding or say that he was going to retain the salesman or any remorse for the unfair business practice sanctioned by the FTC. DON'T GO THERE AND DON'T GET SCAMMED! I walked in trusting TOYOTA, and they literally lied to me to put me in a situation where I had to buy a car (but unfortunately for them I did not. I bought a Subaru instead.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Wei Chiu
1.0
Other Employees : Jun
Aug 31, 2020 -

City Toyota responded

There truly seems to have been some confusion. Per procedure, City Toyota requested a credit report only after receiving a signed application from you, authorizing us to do so. That signed authorization states: "I authorize dealer and any finance company, bank or other financial institution to which the dealer submits my application ("you") to investigate my credit and employment history, verify my income, obtain credit reports, and release information about your credit experience with me as the law permits". This was done so we could provide accurate pricing and payment information for you to review, as you had requested. I regret there was any misunderstanding as to why we had requested your authorization to pull a credit report.

Sep 15, 2020 -

T responded

I did not agree to a credit check. This is the whole problem. I asked twice if that what he was doing and he said "no, this is for our files."

1
1 - 10 of 22 results